• USD ($)
  • English
In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 479 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Booked this tour for myself and my grand daughter.Bit disappointed that only 5 people showed up. However the guys did a fantastic job and despite the rain they made it a real fun and interesting experience. My granddaughter who is ten had a great time and loves telling everyone she got her hand chopped off for begging and that gran is really a witch. Well done guys, would definitely do another one. Great fun.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With the use of your "voucher", I was able to bypass the ticket line and go right into the Visitors Center to get my entrance ticket. I did not know this before I got into line, but a ticket agent spotted the voucher and told me where to go, so I did not have to stay in that line. I was offered the auto tour or a guided tour, and with so much to see and learn, I opted for the guided tour, which run about every hour. I was not able to stay with this tour, as I got too tired and due to an previous injury at home, I opted to continue on my own. Lots of steps. The room where the Crown Jewels are kept was extremely hot. Very interesting and informative picture murals as you walk up to the crown room. No photos in crown room, not even without flash, guard on hand to enforce this rule. It took me between 2-3 hours to explore the castle and eat lunch, then I opted to visit the Princes Park and the Cemetery. Luckily, buses and taxis everywhere. I was exhausted, but great to see the old castle with all its history. It truly is a "Castle in the Sky."

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Especially the Scottish Crown Jewels. We had a nice lunch at the tea room.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely amazing!!! This tour was fun, funny, and very informative.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fantastic experience. Highly recommended for all ages!

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I love Edinburgh castle!! Amazing view of the city on the top of the castle

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver Neil changed the itinerary so we visited Hadrian's Wall and Vindolanda. Both were excellent!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great idea to pre purchase the ticket, we went straight in when it opened,joined the first free tour and had a good look around before the crowds arrived. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it the guide was excellent she was witty and smart and very helpful! We added the castle tour a must see!

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Interesting tour, beautiful landscape and exciting stops and explorations in both countries.
BUT: What made our trip so delightful was our driver Al. It was an honour to be his passenger. He continues to make an impression on us. He is the incarnation of the ancient Scottish nobleman.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

One day tour. Driver was excellent.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was just an entrance ticket, so not much to say. Be sure to trade your voucher for tickets before trying to enter at the gift shop outside the entrance. Also pick a Monday. The day we went, so did thousands or more of others. The pushing, shoving, and crowds standing in front of things made for an experience we could have done without. Probably worth it, if you pick an "off day".

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The castle and guided tour where great only wish we had a little more time there.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Another great experience and a must see on your list.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

While we thoroughly enjoyed St Andrews the time there was limited to 3 hours - much too short given the drive time. The other stops didn't warrant the additional travel time as they lacked compelling things to see or do. Better to drive straight to and from St Andrews and allow sufficient time to take in the varied destinations it has to offer.

Doing what: St Andrews Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message