In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 802 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Avery U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A must if you love history, spectacular viewseven when it's raining and the most entertaining guideAly P! The only disclaimer would be to wear comfy walking/hiking shoes and be very careful, the path can be a bit slippery.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I have always wanted to visit the Edinburgh Castle. It definitely lived up to my imaginings. I would recommend seeing this piece of history to everyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Stanley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I highly recommend this as a first tour when you arrive...it is a great overview of the city. Loved it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

rose.m.howell7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Is a self-guided tour. The castle and grounds are very interesting! Everywhere are helpful signs. My friend and I enjoyed visiting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Melanie J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent! My 12 yo thought it was fantastic. Guide was great. Funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Abigail H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour - guide was really funny and engaging and we learned a lot. Definitely recommend for anyone interested in the darker side of history. Price includes a booklet going into the stories in more depth, which we both enjoyed reading later on. Few jump scares though so if you're a nervous one then watch your back, but it's really not that bad. Loved it and would definitely go again :

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Friendly and knowledgable guide, interesting and beautiful tour, small group which was great.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fab tour guide. Really interesting.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Natcball31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very funny and a bargain for the price. Lots of information shared. Really enjoyed and would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Ethel S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Fun tour. Guide was very good and bus nice and cozy on a cold night. Stories were great. I liked that there was not any of that pop out and scare the crowd - stories were enough.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Geraldine L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I was expecting a guided tour or the audio tour already included in the price of the ticket. There are free walking tours available in the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Gabriella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Andrew is definitely the best guide ever! Charming, knowledgeable, kind as so very funny. He made this trip just wonderful. When Andrew spoke he made Scottish history come alive. Can't say enough good things about this tour and Andrew! By the way, the sites were interesting and the accommodations were very nice as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

NAN USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a neat Castle. Entry was easy with the pre-printed tickets. Took the Edinburgh bus on your own from the cruise ship. Had no problem walking to castle entrance. Took us about five to six hours to tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Carol Allen United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was wonderful!!! Being an obsessed Outlander fan this was just a dream come true. Highly, highly recommend it!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

paul g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Lovely time looking round this castle plenty to see plenty of toilets a shop a cafe and we went straight to the front of the que as we had already booked our tickets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Liam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We both enjoyed the tour - guide was excellent highly recomnmend

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

clare s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was amazing, learning about Edinburgh's history, whilst inside the vaults. The guide was fantastic. She made it interesting, and she certainly had the knowledge of the vaults. Well worth the money. My husband born in Edinburgh and he learnt loads! 10/10

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Ian H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable tour around Edinburgh, where you get to try a variety of treats from several establishments. The Brownies from Bibi's were delicious, and the Fudge from Fudge Kitchen on the Royal Mile was decadent. We made the most of the discoveries by returning to Coco Chocolate the next day for a warming hot chocolate, and also bought souvenirs which suffice to say didn't last long in both the Fudge Kitchen and Hotel Chocolat!!.
Our Tour guide Stephanie was a gracious host, and the owner of Lickety Splits was highly entertaining. If you have a spare couple of hours and a sweet tooth, then this tour is definitely for you!!

Doing what: Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour

Panat C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This will speed up the wait time. :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Johanna T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

we loved it. We got so much good chocolate. And the guide was good

Doing what: Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour

Madison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Spent several hours wandering around the castle on my own. Getting into the castle was easy and I didnt have to wait since I bought the ticket online. Much better than standing in line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Donna N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour of this historic landmark. Our guide was great. Views of the surrounding area were spectacular.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

Peter J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

As always, great visit. 2nd time visiting and will visit again. Need to visit again as both times were under tight timelines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

LuAnn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Gillian was an absolute delight! The tour was interesting, informative and filled with smiles and local color. Thank you so very much for a delightful experience!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message