• USD ($)
  • English
In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Booked this tour for myself and my grand daughter.Bit disappointed that only 5 people showed up. However the guys did a fantastic job and despite the rain they made it a real fun and interesting experience. My granddaughter who is ten had a great time and loves telling everyone she got her hand chopped off for begging and that gran is really a witch. Well done guys, would definitely do another one. Great fun.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With the use of your "voucher", I was able to bypass the ticket line and go right into the Visitors Center to get my entrance ticket. I did not know this before I got into line, but a ticket agent spotted the voucher and told me where to go, so I did not have to stay in that line. I was offered the auto tour or a guided tour, and with so much to see and learn, I opted for the guided tour, which run about every hour. I was not able to stay with this tour, as I got too tired and due to an previous injury at home, I opted to continue on my own. Lots of steps. The room where the Crown Jewels are kept was extremely hot. Very interesting and informative picture murals as you walk up to the crown room. No photos in crown room, not even without flash, guard on hand to enforce this rule. It took me between 2-3 hours to explore the castle and eat lunch, then I opted to visit the Princes Park and the Cemetery. Luckily, buses and taxis everywhere. I was exhausted, but great to see the old castle with all its history. It truly is a "Castle in the Sky."

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Especially the Scottish Crown Jewels. We had a nice lunch at the tea room.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

One day tour. Driver was excellent.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

excellent and very informative

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really good fun and interesting evening walk. Toojm us to a part of the old town we probably wouldn't have walked around otherwise. As it was summer it wasn't actually dark but that didn't matter. In the dark I expect the atmosphere is even more spooky. The jumper ooters made my husband jump out of his skin every time! Great value for money

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was pouring with rain the whole way through our tour but we barely noticed as the guide kept us so interested and entertained. He was very knowlegeable and entertainig and the history of Edinburgh is very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed tour. Tony was a great guide. Gave lots of information and presented in Avery entertaining but informative way with a very good "feel" for his audience's needs. Gave us honest appraisal of the places available for us to eat with an awareness of the differing needs of different passengers. Tailorered the tour to the weather and the interest of the group. Great tour and a good variety of different places to see

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I enjoyed this tour immensely, as I have always been fascinated by Ancient Rome. I enjoyed the walk up the hill at Hadrian's Wall, although beware that it can be quite a steep climb. However, you don't have to walk up the hill if you don't want too.

It was cool to go to the England/Scotland border and be able to stand in both countries at once. There is a large stone that shows where the boundaries are. It's a nice spot to take photos.

We stopped in several cute little towns, and we were able to see several abbey ruins.

My tour guides name escapes me at the moment, but he told us many interesting stories as we drove.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a very different side of Scotland/England, as well as for any history buffs.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great views, clean, and helpful staff.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip! Wonderful coverage of Scotland - especially Skye. Our guide was perfect - great knowledge, interesting anecdotes, very patient with some difficult travelers. He made the trip enjoyable - really appreciated his attention to detail, responsiveness to individual needs and desires. Loved it

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Convenient instead of queuing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was pouring rain for our entire tour. Tour guide was very entertaining, however it was very uncomfortable for everyone walking around soaking wet. Do this tour on a sunny day!

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message