In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 565 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fabulous tour--a must for the Outlander fan! Gerry is a great tour guide who is not only knowledgeable about Outlander but also about Scotland and Scottish history. We had a wonderful time visiting the TV filming sites and hearing some insider info Gerry knew. Best tour we took while visiting Scotland--well done Gerry!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful castle! Lot of see and tons of history. Made for an unbelievable day!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was super funny. Not really scary more history oriented, which we appreciated. Great for those who appreciate history!

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip...Rabbies is a great company and really make the trips entertaining.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Although the tour was somewhat informative I found it to be on a high school level of information. I would have preferred more history of the castle inhabitants over a dissertation of the Nasties Also a little more information about the small doorways and alley ways.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour with Optional Edinburgh Castle Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

There was no time given to take photos. Quickly moved from room to room, so we have no visual memories of this tour. Good presenters, but they need to make sure people have a little time to take photos. This experience prevented us from booking other tours with this company while we were there.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great day out well worth seeing

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was interesting to find out things that are not commonly know about the Royal Mile. Although after several days of visiting Edinburgh my feet were aching nothing to do with this tour by-the-way. It is worth every penny!

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour with Optional Edinburgh Castle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

interesting - well lead and learned a lot!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour company had organised the tour well. The guide, Mike was cool! The whole trip was beneficial and amazing!

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

i am a big harry potter fan and really happy to be there

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was wonderful , plenty of time to see and explore. Well worth the money will book again

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it. Always try to start off travels with dinner at a Hard Rock Cafe. Voucher is easy, ordering easy, priority seating .. Which can save Hoyt's ... Great food. Loved it and all the friendly staff.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Buying the tickets online was easy and I was glad we did there was a lengthy line to purchase tickets inside the castle. Amazing castle to visit and would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We first did the 45 minute guided tour which I'd highly recommend. We learned a lot and made the rest of our tour much more meaningful.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was quite interesting, however quite a bit of time was wasted by the two actors.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Joined our bus after a little confusion about pickup times! Once on the bus the commentary was informative. The drive out to meet the boat was a little quiet with not much to look at. However once on board the boat, the trip just got better, the weather played an important role as the Sun really did shine, the boat trip along with the views and the very informative commentary were excellent. The onboard bar added that little extra of a beer or wine whilst enjoying the Firth of Fouth!

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very informative tour, well done to the guide. The guide was very important during our visit down in the Vaults as on our own we wouldn't have understand what we're seeing.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We enjoyed thus tour but were disappointed as we booked a ghost tour and it turned out to be just history. The crypts were interesting but we could have seen them in half the time.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Great views of Edinburgh. Castle is impressive as it should be. April is a tough time in Edinburgh, which is when we went, very wet, cold, and windy. Perfect Scottish weather. Not as long lines which made it particularly great.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

No problems at all

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message