In a city world-famous for its festivals, there’s some stiff competition for Edinburgh’s most popular event, but each August over 200,000 onlookers gather in the grounds of Edinburgh Castle for the annual Military Tattoo. The most patriotic event on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The high point of my trip! A very knowledgeable driver/guide with stories to spare. The Edinburgh Tattoo seats were excellent. One day was not enough to take it all in. Next time I'm taking a multi-day tour.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tony was a great tour guide, informative and always added a joke or two. Tour of the Famous Grouse was great, the whole tour was really interesting. The Tattoo was one of the highlights of our trip, excellent position in the stand and great to catch up again with people on the day tour.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The value of this day tour which includes the Military Tattoo in the evening is fantastic. Tony, our tour guide, was full of amazing stories and really gave us insights into Scottish history. The visit to the Whisky distillery was very interesting, as were the other stops on the way (Wallace monument, Dunkeld). Even though we were running a bit late, this still left us plenty of time to have dinner at a pub on the Royal Mile before queuing for the Tattoo. Entering the show ground was amazingly well organized as are the seating arrangements. Our seats were great, in fact there seem to be no seats with poor visibility. The whole show was spectacular, including the illumination of the castle and the fireworks at the end of the evening – in other words: Don't miss it!!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hello from Ausrtalia !
i'm sorry I am late returning this review,our experience was fantastic,our driver Andy was great,
we enjoyed every part of the trip,and the Tattoo was brilliant
thank you .

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Always wanted to attend this Military Tattoo, but I'm glad I did it as part of a day trip....got such great insights into Scottish history and the Scottish scenery along the route was lovely. Our tour guide / bus driver was quite friendly and knowledgeable, and made the trip such fun. Was a bit disappointed that although we made the trek to the Wallace Monument, we were not allowed to enter / climb to the top as our tour bus had to leave the site before 10am (the opening time for the monument) to keep on schedule. Additionally, it was deemed too muddy and risky for us to hike the waterfall, which I was really looking forward to seeing. But aside from these shortcomings, we really enjoyed all the other sites visited, especially the tour of the whiskey distillery and the free whiskey samples :) We made acquaintances with so many on our tour bus, and as we all sat in the same row at the Tattoo, by the end of the day we felt like a large group of international friends , and the great display of song, dance and military drums was the icing on the cake!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The location of Viator's local tour company was good and they were very organized, in general. There was a little mixup or maybe traffic causing the bus to arrive a little late, but otherwise it was very smooth. The guide was very good, especially considering she was also the driver. The combination of a great day trip in the countryside, then an evening at the fantastic Edinburgh Military Tattoo was a terrific value. Our seats at the Tattoo were much better than I expected!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was excellent and the guide very informative as well as being witty. The whiskey tour was a must, very good and again we learnt a lot. What can I say about the Tattoo, awesome, still watching the recording on TV. The seats we received were right in the middle of the stands and had a perfect view, the atmosphere was out of this world.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Tattoo was the highlight of stay in Edinburgh!! I had worried that we have to stand in line for a long time before being seated. However, the Tattoo is so well organized that from the moment we began lining up until we were seated took approximately 15 minutes. It should be said that there were virtually no bad seats in the event. What a pleasant surprise!! Then, the show itself... it was a first rate demonstration of phenomenal marching and musical skills!! It is a not to be missed opportunity of a lifetime! Kudos to all who organizes, performed, etc.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The Tattoo was amazing, well worth the whole trip to Scotland. The bus tour was rushed and the air conditioner in the bus broken, very uncomfortable. Beautiful sights.. Glad I was not driving, the traffic was terrible during the festival

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great fun, thought I was going to see stirling castle but never still a great trip the Tattoo is worth every penny.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a beautiful sunny day when we went on this trip. We saw the beautiful Highlands and came across a wedding on the River Braan near an old cathedral that added to the experience. We walked along a racing river to a beautiful falls. At night we saw the Edinburgh Tattoo. It rained the whole time but it did not stop the great performance. It was really beautiful. The seats were full. The rain did not stop the people from coming. It was good time had by all.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The weather and the sights were really good. However, the tour guide was knowledgeable no doubt, but very difficult to understand. The Military Tattoo was the best part of the tour!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

When we booked for the Tattoo we were concerned that we would have poor seats. We need not have worried as our seats must have been nearly the best in the house- and what a great show! The tour however could have been better. It is a shame we could not have stopped for a while at Stirling Castle instead of ‘spying it’ in the distance as we drove north (your description of this part of the tour gives a misleading impression).

Much too much time was spent at the distillery and not enough time was spent in Dunkeld. We did not take up the additional distillery option so were left in the car park in ‘the middle of nowhere’ to fend for ourselves for two hours or more. Time that could have been better spent exploring the pretty village of Dunkeld.

We were not able to walk to the waterfall, but that was due to circumstances outside the control of the tour operator.

On the positive side the tour took us past some lovely Scottish scenery and the guide/driver was excellent.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Donna P
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

What an absolutely wonderful way to see as much of Edinburgh and the surrounding highlands in a short time. The tattoo was a fantastic experience. Our seats couldn't have been any better. I would not only recommend this tour, I would definitely take it again. Our bus driver / tour guide was a lively character, keeping us entertained as well as sharing the history ofnthe area. It was not apparent at all that he had only been on the job for six months. I only knew because as we were chatting I asked how long he had been on the job. I give only four stars because we got a late start due to miscommunication and missed the waterfall.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The trip was interesting especially the whiskey tour (additional). and the military tattoo was fabulous.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message