Haunted and historic, Edinburgh is one of the best places on the planet to celebrate Halloween in true spooky style. With a history stretching back hundreds of years, plus its towering tenements, cobbled alleys and underground vaults, it’s little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

alicia.m.martel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was hilarious! We had a brilliant time on this walking tour! Our guide, Adam Lyal deceased was phenomenal and very funny! There were a couple moments of jumpiness but it made the tour that much more enjoyable! We laughed the whole time. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Edinburgh, which was awesome! We saw some beautiful sights and even tho it was still light out - it was a great tour! I would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Esther B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guides were funny and entertaining!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

acstrachan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the price, fast track and easy to use

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

AWOL and Igor aka Burke and Hare transported us through a spine tingling broom ride of a haunted tour of Edinburgh by dead of night. Atmospheric, a must!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very enjoyable, and the young men leading the tour put a lot of effort into making it so. It might not be everyone and #39;s cup of tea as it is given a comedic twist but our family loved it.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so interesting, really learnt a lot about early Edinburgh. Our guide was brilliant really got into the time period. The underground is amazing to think people actually lived down there.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG this is fantastic, the guys really get into role playing throughout the tour. The ride at the end wow really gets your heart pumping but in a great way. Highly recommend this tour, and definitely skip the line as the lines can be very long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Darren D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very informative tour. The guide was excellent and knowledgeable. This is not a long tour. You will essential move through a half dozen excavated chambers as the guide passes on historical context. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Sharon S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

guide was outstanding

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

JoHanna W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was okay, it wasn't spectacular. We enjoyed the history of it, but it wasn't a ghost tour fyi.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Tim D United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Fun, but not as good as most others we took.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Darren D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This turned out to be pretty whimsical. A couple of college students attempting to mix historical context with juvenile humor. It appeared the attempt was to appeal to all ages. I think it is moderately successful, but still not really what I was expecting. That being said, my 16 year old daughter enjoyed it. The route itself was good with the exception that we didn't end where we started, which was a bit disorienting. Overall if you have a free evening, this isn't a bad way to spend it.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Ana J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not the greatest tour. The guide was very nice and knew lots of historic details, but being an underground vaults tour, honestly, I expected more of a tour about the vaults instead of a lecture underground about the life above ground.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Dave A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

If I could give this 0 stars, I would. While there were a couple bits of information that were helpful, it was not worth the hour of my life I gave. We also had the 2 high schoolers that the previous post had. I still can't believe we stayed for the entire tour...

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

eva52489

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hilarious and informative. Very fun!

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Jay M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

My wife and I thought this could have been modified a bit as it was really filthy and the stories about throughing human waste out the windows wasn't needed.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Christopher Brereton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent alternative way to spend a night in Edinburgh that is both hilarious and informative. The vintage bus environment and conductor / guide provide an excellent atmosphere to make this tour a very rememberable evening. The tour guide provides a very interesting and hilarious character which portrays Edinburgh's in a light comedic manner while still staying very informative and accurate. Would definitely recommend this tour as it had me smiling the whole way throughout the night and for hours afterwards.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! A lady called Margaret was our guide - she was very knowledgeable and made the tour really interesting. A not to be missed event!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic. The perfect balance of laughs and scary bits but not too much for the younger children. A must see

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

kathleen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a brilliant afternoon tour..We really enjoyed and found it very interesting. Thank you to hannah our tour guide......xxx If wanting to come to Edingburgh it is a must xx

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

PHILIP E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Interesting. Tour guide had the right mix of information and humour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Francesca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Didn't know quite what to expect. It was great fun. The conductor / guide and driver were very funny and well informed and the scary bits were scary. Great!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Seriously fun, interesting and fabulous. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message