Haunted and historic, Edinburgh is one of the best places on the planet to celebrate Halloween in true spooky style. With a history stretching back hundreds of years, plus its towering tenements, cobbled alleys and underground vaults, it’s little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 381 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was more laughs than horror, which was ok by me. Of course there were places where the jumper tried to scare the tour, but it was all in good fun. My daughter and I enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Scary, educational, entertaining. Fun! Takes at least an hour and a half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing,! So much fun. And a little bit scary in parts. Great Guide.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good experience! We were both very wary of a cheap thrills type of place. Edinburgh dungeon far passed our expectations. It seemed like everyone in character was frighteningly enthusiastic. All guests in our tour were very into it, and although it wasn't tear your hair out scary there were some really good spooks along the way. I reccomend it to anyone stopping by the city of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! We got to learn a lot about the history of Edinburgh and were entertained the whole time! The tour guides were hysterical and kept us on our toes as they would jump out and scare us. If you enjoy laughing and having fun, this tour is for you! This was an incredible night and you definitely should sign up!!!!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun for the teenage boys and those watching them have fun. A good way to introduce some history while getting a fright. Would highly recommend to families with older children (not little ones) as it gives the kids a break from serious travel itineraries while at the same time giving them a lesson.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting tour and gave a good history as to how Edinburgh came to be how it is today and how the city was formed.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour around Edinburgh dungeons was excellent entertainment for a rainy morning. However, we had to queue for quite some time before gaining entry, so it was hardly the 'skip the line' experience that was advertised. Also, showing the e-voucher on a smartphone was insufficient to gain entry. We had to email the booking to the Dungeons and wait for it to arrive before we were allowed in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour was led by 2 guys, 1 college, 1 high school. seemed more like a really bad high school presentation, lots of melodrama, high school guy jumping at people. not much information, really boring, disappointing, and bad. we lasted about 25 minutes and then bailed. less than a waste of time. :

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very entertaining ! Guide and his sidekick were very good bringing the stories of Edinburgh to life !

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a lot of fun - the characters were awesome

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guides and really interesting information. Good value for money

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Elizabeth S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was such a fun tour and very entertaining. Alexander Clapperton Deceased and his associate were both very informative and funny. It was great learning a bit about the darker side of Edinburgh. Not too scary so great for families and the amount of walking isn't very strenuous. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves with this one and definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! My stomach still hurts from all the laughing! Adam Lyal is soooo great! Everyone should do this tour!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

a very fun and amusing tour

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great attraction! The character interact with the visitors and make it very enjoyable. We will definitely go back to The Edinburgh Dungeon on out next trip to Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour in a part of edinburgh i did,nt know existed.Lovely lady guided us round,well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was definitely worth doing. I was on a trip with my friends for my birthday celebrations and we did this tour, had an absolute scream. It terrified us in parts but was also laugh a minute. It's a great tour go and do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant - we had a fab experience, highly recommended

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Maybe not very ghostly but good fun and interesting.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This was a very interesting tour. Certainly worth going along to, to hear about the vaults and how they were used. Not sure I believe they are haunted at all though 0

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Had a great guide. The tour itself was good but not quite what I expected

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Very average, commentary was interesting, found the history fascinating. but the actor's presentation was not really funny. Was a little put off by requests for gratitude.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message