Haunted and historic, Edinburgh is one of the best places on the planet to celebrate Halloween in true spooky style. With a history stretching back hundreds of years, plus its towering tenements, cobbled alleys and underground vaults, it’s little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 392 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour. Very interesting, informative and well organized. Our guide, sorry forgotten her name but she was an Austrian lass with a Scottish accent, was fabulous. She gave us a lot of information in a fun way. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great fun and interesting historic themes

Doing what: Best Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Our host was extremely funny and the scary bits were more comedy than frightening. We had our 11yr old with us and she had a great time too. Really educational as well. Learned and laughed in equal measure.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the money! This trip was very entertaining. Adam did a great job and kept our interest for the whole trip. He shared with us some great information and really made us laugh. The tour was not scary at all, so it was perfect for families with young children. We even received a free copy of his book. Nice touch.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very scary, includes a boat ride and a twist at the end......Great characters, great dungeon

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent guide Wendy very knowledgeable historian who brought the trip to life.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour and I would give Margaret 10 out of 10. She is an excellent tour guide and told us wonderful stories. Would highly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, and a fun way to see and hear about some of Edinburgh's more gruesome tales!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Scary for 10/11 year olds? Yes! Had to leave half way through tour as she was hysterical. So if you want to scare the life out of your kids then this is the tour for them!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The vaults were interesting.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was more laughs than horror, which was ok by me. Of course there were places where the jumper tried to scare the tour, but it was all in good fun. My daughter and I enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Scary, educational, entertaining. Fun! Takes at least an hour and a half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing,! So much fun. And a little bit scary in parts. Great Guide.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good experience! We were both very wary of a cheap thrills type of place. Edinburgh dungeon far passed our expectations. It seemed like everyone in character was frighteningly enthusiastic. All guests in our tour were very into it, and although it wasn't tear your hair out scary there were some really good spooks along the way. I reccomend it to anyone stopping by the city of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! We got to learn a lot about the history of Edinburgh and were entertained the whole time! The tour guides were hysterical and kept us on our toes as they would jump out and scare us. If you enjoy laughing and having fun, this tour is for you! This was an incredible night and you definitely should sign up!!!!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun for the teenage boys and those watching them have fun. A good way to introduce some history while getting a fright. Would highly recommend to families with older children (not little ones) as it gives the kids a break from serious travel itineraries while at the same time giving them a lesson.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting tour and gave a good history as to how Edinburgh came to be how it is today and how the city was formed.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour around Edinburgh dungeons was excellent entertainment for a rainy morning. However, we had to queue for quite some time before gaining entry, so it was hardly the 'skip the line' experience that was advertised. Also, showing the e-voucher on a smartphone was insufficient to gain entry. We had to email the booking to the Dungeons and wait for it to arrive before we were allowed in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour was led by 2 guys, 1 college, 1 high school. seemed more like a really bad high school presentation, lots of melodrama, high school guy jumping at people. not much information, really boring, disappointing, and bad. we lasted about 25 minutes and then bailed. less than a waste of time. :

Doing what: Best Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very entertaining ! Guide and his sidekick were very good bringing the stories of Edinburgh to life !

Doing what: Best Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a lot of fun - the characters were awesome

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guides and really interesting information. Good value for money

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Elizabeth S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was such a fun tour and very entertaining. Alexander Clapperton Deceased and his associate were both very informative and funny. It was great learning a bit about the darker side of Edinburgh. Not too scary so great for families and the amount of walking isn't very strenuous. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves with this one and definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Best Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message