Famed for their lush greenery, sweeping views, and pristine landscape, the Scottish Highlands certainly live up to their billing. A plethora of picturesque views saturate the landscape, making the area one of the most beautiful places on earth. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1080 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good day with a highly knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Have waited a long time to actually visit Inverarry sp? and it was well worth it. A bit disappointed we didn't stop at Stirling Castle. Would have traded some of the stops for it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Katsu
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My mother and I joined the 7 Day Tour to the Highlands and it was fantastic! I would certainly recommend it. Our group was a nice mix of early teens to singles and seniors. Our tour guides Heather 5days and Tony 2days had different styles, but both were quite charming, witty and took great care of us all! From early morning till evening, they went above and beyond to give us a great tour with music, history and stories, which kept us all pleasantly entertained, despite some rainy days. All done with a wonderful passion and love for Scotland that spoke true to our hearts and made us fall in love with Scotland even more!
The best guides ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was well worth the time and money spent. It was very enjoyable and informative. Our guide Peter C. was very plessant and entertaining. He really knew the history of the sites we visited.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was breathtaking! From the castles to the lochs, the sights were fantastic. Our driver,Johnathan , was funny and engaging. He was also knowledgeable and provided a great deal of information to us. He was also accommodating. The visit to Inverary was amazing. If you are interested, there is a good BBC show featuring this estate that can really get you ready for this visit. Downton Abbey fans will recognize this location from the deer stalking episode, Outlander fans will love visiting the location used as castle Leoch. All in all, a fabulous tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite castle of all the ones I visited in Ireland and Scotland. You must do this! And our tour guide was very enthusiastic and told us interesting information about the history of Scotland. He even took us on a personalized walk to view Loch Lomond. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was filled with awesome scenery and spectacular views. We were able to travel so many narrow country roads that the big tour buses would never have been able to drive. Our talented driver Alan kept us entertained with stories of the regions and provided a wide mix of music that enhanced our journey, all while taking us safely throughout the highlands. His friendliness, attention, and knowledge were greatly appreciated. The pace of the trip was perfect, with plenty of stops and enough time to see the sights. The van seats were comfortable and our small number of passengers made it convenient for restaurants and sight-seeing. We were fortunate to have a nice mix of courteous people with us too. Our B and B at Ullapool had a beautiful view of the water and was in easy walking distance to the cafes and restaurants. We enjoyed this trip so much that we took two more one day excursions with Rabbie's while we were in Scotland. We are so glad to have had such a memorable experience. Thanks again, Alan! Wayne and Leslie Gmachl

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking scenery, nice cruise on the loch

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Scenic Beauty in a remote wilderness. What a great trip we took in late-June 2015. Alan was our tour guide and he was great. A history buff, Alan taught us a massive amount during our driving time between sites.

Limited to a group of 16, we were able to cover a lot of the Highlands area over 5 days, getting to experience the scenic beauty and remote landscape that was truly amazing. Alan was laid-back, informative, and very respectful of our groups' desires, not having us on a strict schedule but allowing each stop to happen organically. The result was a tour that never felt rushed, which we appreciated after having done a similar tour the week before in Ireland! Even with the laid back pace, we were always at our lodging by 6:30PM, leaving plenty of time to explore the tiny fishing villages where we stayed.
- Note: There isn't much nightlife at the Ullapool and Portree locations, though there is much scenery.
- We stayed at the B and B Double option, finding the accommodations in Ullapool to be average and the accommodation in Portree to be slightly below average. That is specific to this tour, however, as we had much better experiences with the same level of B and B on our 5 day Ireland tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Grant was an excellent guide for our day trip. His stories and friendly nature made the day one to remember!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding day trip. Very knowledgable guide including interesting facts, stories and songs! Highly recommended day trip!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlands lochs and castles with Gill was a wonderful tour. Gill gave us lots of information, stories and even music to illustrate Scottish history. She made the trip fun for all in a very relaxed and informative manner and was very flexible about how much time we wanted at each spot. The highlight was Kilchurn - slightly off the beaten track. The tour operator was very organized. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands were absolutely stunning. If you want to maximize the number of different things and areas that you see, this is the way to go! You don't have to worry about driving or finding places to stay. Our first tour guide Heather was superb. She did the right amount of talking, story telling, describing history and places and playing music. She has a flair for the sense of drama. Our second tour guide Tony was also outstanding. He is incredibly enthusiastic and loves to describe the many things along the route. He brings it alive for you and always had good tips for places to go and see during the stops. I would recommend this company and these two drivers/guides Heather and Tony to anyone else who wants to get away to Scotland.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best Castle in Scotland, tour guide was very informative and highly recommend tour to others.

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful castle a must see full of history that shaped Scotland to what it is today. Some say the heart and soul of Scotland, with many great battles that had been fought here.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The castle was small but very lovely. I wish I had more than one and a half hours there to see more of the surrounding town. Loch Lomand was very pretty. The short hike and stop at the pub made it a great day! Jan is a terrific guide with wonderful stories of Scotish history and music!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, perfect tour guide... I would highly recommend!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day tour was exquisite. Arron, our tour guide, was simply amazing. He regaled us with enticing stories and history of Scotland throughout the day. He was personable and efficient. We saw all the castles on the tour and much of the West Highlands. It rained on and off throughout the day, and Arron made the best of the conditions to ensure we had a high quality experience and that our time was optimized. I would definitely book another tour with this company. 5 stars!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a great tour. Gordon was our tour guide. He's very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was exactly what I wanted and more. James was the perfect tour guide. He was funny, informative and a wonderful ambassador for Scotland tourism. I would highly recommend this tour and if you goask to be with James!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour ....Peter was a super guide and incredibly knowledgable . Despite the rain we had a wonderful day

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great, an announcement asking people to be respectful when talking on the bus as others may want to hear the tour and having functional speakers at every seat - we had some very loud people. 30 min more at each castle and one less loch - we had to run through them to see almost everything.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day trip and good choice of sights - but see later comment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. I had no idea the highlands were so absolutely gorgeous!!! The only negative I can think of is that they could probably eliminate the Stirling castle stop since you only do a photo op from very far away, along with at least one of the restroom stops. That would cut the tour shorter by at least 1-1/2 hours. Because, really - a 12 hr tour is just too long.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message