Famed for their lush greenery, sweeping views, and pristine landscape, the Scottish Highlands certainly live up to their billing. A plethora of picturesque views saturate the landscape, making the area one of the most beautiful places on earth. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Paul was a terrific guide and driver. There seemed to be no end to the information he had about the areas we were travelling through, and he is a natural born story teller. The pace of the trip is excellent and even the weather couldn't dampen our enthusiasm or Paul's!.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jill.maes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful trip, fabulous engaging and informative tour guide...snowing , beautiful scenery ..can't speak highly enough of this trip..

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Ron D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Informative and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was great the locations that he took us too were awesome. I

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Heather F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time with Karen as our guide. The views were gorgeous. The weather didn't cooperate and the timing right before all the castles opened could have been better for our trip, but we enjoyed all the historical background I'm a historian and the beauty of the highlands. We'd love to do a longer tour next time!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sibylle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience and fab guide wearing the traditional kilt! I highly recommend this tour of course!!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

MARIA A. Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The escenary is fantastic. Our guide NICOLA was great! Very informative and friendly with great sense of humour

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved, loved, loved this tour. Will definitely do it again, and also will go on other tours through Rabbie's tours.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Radoslav D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day trip !Kind guide,nice places and unique whiskey !

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Tobias R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful Tour with two fantastic Guides. I enjoyed every minute. Stirling Castle is a spectacular Place to visit and Loch Lomond is so beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mehwish A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing!! the place is very beautiful and the tour guide George had lots of interesting stories to tell. We had a lot of fun :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Jack S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide and driver, Ewan, was fantastic. He knows his history and could talk and drive at the same time. Very important to us. Also because it was a small group tour we arrived and left at each location on time. Thank you to those who travelled with us for being prompt at all locations. This gave Ewan time to stop at two different photo places that were not on the tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Dominic S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sandy was a very pleasant and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! I loved every minute of it. Our tour guide was informative and enthusiastic and gave us choices on where to go. The scenery was beautiful and I loved stopping to enjoy the countryside or have lunch near Loch Ness. I recommend the Lock Inn. We had great sandwiches by a fireplace. My sister and I are Outlander fans and we got to go see some standing stones and Culloden. The whole trip was a blast with great memories to treasure!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Cdfondse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide John was amazing! He gave us history, humor, music and went out of his way to accommodate everyone's needs. The trip was completely full, yet with only 16 people it was a very nice sized group. The weather was perfect, the castles we visited were all so different from each other....and the lochs were picture perfect. This is a great tour for those who want to see an overview of this beautiful country.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

LINDA Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The local tour operator and Gill made for a fantastic experience. I saw so much of the beauty of the Highlands. We even stopped to take photos of Highland cows! I am now looking into more the local tours and am excited to return to Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gorgeous, interesting and fascinating. Loved this tour and will definitely be going on it again and other tours through Rabbies.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fabulous time! I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide, John, was the best! He gave us a lot of history while we drove and kept everyone interested!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

iate98crayons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Our driver/tour guide John was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. The places toured were gorgeous!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ellen Q USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the tour and our tour guide Jonathan was so informative!

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very enjoyable day trip from the city to see some stunning locations and scenery. The location of Kilchurn Castle was the real highlight for me - the scenery there is absolutely incredible. Also enjoyed the history and the guide was great.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

lukevers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I'm giving this tour a 5 star review because everything we saw was amazing and I would highly recommend everyone to go on this tour. Although I'm giving this tour a 5 star review, I do think there were two problems with the tour however, the two problems aren't large enough to warrant a lower star rating because everything we saw and everywhere we drove was amazing. The first problem was that the tour says it's a small group but in reality it was about 16 people, which is way too large of a group for me to be called a small group. We took another tour in England that was 5 people total which I would call a small group. There was a group of extremely loud and disrespectful people on the tour as well, but that doesn't reflect my value in this tour as I know that's not a representation of that tour. The second problem was I felt like we didn't get too long of a time at each location we stopped at. The tour should have been a 12 hour tour instead of 10 hours to give us more time at each location. Regardless of those two small problems, this really was an amazing tour and we got to see so many amazing things and places. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone if they're looking to see a lot.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

tamaraboucher1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My two daughters, 12 and 14, and I spent the day touring with 'West Highland Lochs and Castles' day trip. First the positive. We loved listening to Mike's stories, Mike was our driver for the day. He entertained us with Scottish history lessons about Mary, Queen of Scots and he explained the Scottish clan system and talked about William Wallace and taught us so much about this incredible and beautiful country's history. As we got off the bus at the end of the day I heard him say to my daughter that he hoped she wasn't too bored. On the contrary, she had a great time listening to him and both girls learned SO much! When we got home they described in detail to my husband all that they had heard. I'm very grateful to Mike.
What I didn't like was the description of the tour on Viator, the advertising is misleading. 1st issue: 'Visit Doune Castle, Kilchurn Castle, Inveraray Castle and Stirling Castle'. The tour description states that there's a photo stop at Stirling Castle, but there was no photo stop for Stirling Castle, even though I would have expected from the advertisement that we would be close enough to stop for a photo on the grounds, I assumed we would walk up to it even. We drove by and saw it in passing from a far distance. . 2nd issue: 'Pause in the village of Luss for stunning views across the water'. We stopped in Luss for a bathroom break, we were not in the village we were in the parking lot and most people didn't get off the bus. 3rd: 'arrive at the magnificent ruins of Kilchurn Castle perched on Loch Awe'. Makes me think we were stopping at the castle, but we were actually stopped at the side of the road with the castle at least a kilometre away, I don't consider this 'arriving'. Long bathroom breaks - 30 minutes for one and almost immediately after lunch 15 minutes for another. I would give a five star review for Mike and a 3 or for what I thought was a misrepresentation of what was included in the tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message