Famed for their lush greenery, sweeping views, and pristine landscape, the Scottish Highlands certainly live up to their billing. A plethora of picturesque views saturate the landscape, making the area one of the most beautiful places on earth. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 992 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide/driver John was outstanding - very knowledgable and entertaining!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Juliet was an amazing tour guide! She is very friendly, knowledgeable and made the trip very fun and entertaining. I would not hesitate to book with rabies again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are beautiful. Grant, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and just delightful. We really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Nicola was so charming and she made me fall in love with Scotland and especially Glasgow again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was friendly and helpful and there were plenty of photo stops. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

James was our driver and tour guide for this relaxing and insightful day. He couldn't have been any better.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was one of the best experiences of my life, the Highlands themselves are amazing and the experience was only heightened by the knowledge and general awesomeness of our guide, Tony. This is a great way to see some of the Highlands in one day and experience some truly fresh air. 10/10

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Besides the glorious Scotland scenery, our guide Jonathan made it all come to life with his narrative. He must be an actor at heart, lovely, amusing, entertaining. What every tourist wants with the bonus of a new found friend. Thank you

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a great tour! Our guide was very interesting, the Mercedes van was extremely comfortable and the small group size was just right.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome tour! Ewen was an excellent and very knowledgable guide. I loved the size of the group, as it made for quicker photo stops. The wonderful weather certainly helped. Would recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. The sights and drive through the countryside was beautiful. We had a young man named Grant who was very nice and did an excellent job storytelling, and was knowledgeable of the history and sights. I have used Viator for a castle tour in France and was not disappointed.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The sequence of events, selection of castles and duration of time spent at each site was not well conceived. We enjoyed visiting Inveraray Castle and the time allowed at this site. However at Doune Castle we only made a stop for photos and bathroom break but no time to tour the castle. Another odd choice was the visit to Kilchurn Castle, a ruin which was about a half mile walk from the parking area. We did not enjoy that stop. The most surprising stop was at Stirling Castle. As a castle that plays so prominently in Scottish history, you would think time would be afforded for a tour. This was not the case, instead the bus stopped on a road below the castle and we were allowed about 5 minutes to take pictures. With some tweaking this could become a tour worth taking but in it's present state, we would not recommend it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had John as our tour guide and we couldn't have asked for a better day. He was very attentive in making sure everyone waa having a good time. Me and my friends were the youngest on the trip and he would go out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He was very knowledgeable and interesting

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic , our guide was extremely knowledgable and friendley . Would defiantly rebook

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My family and I had a great time on this trip. Small group size, and lovely guide/driver.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour,our tourguide is the best so far.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Thoroughly enjoyed this day trip. Tour Guide, Mac was brilliant with his many historical facts and tales to add to the whole experience. I also appreciated how he cared for his country personally both in story-telling and being willing to keep Scotland clean and green through his own efforts.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is quite a fantastic tour. It is a great advert for Scotland and can easily make you fall in love with the country. Our guide Daniel was awesome with his history, myths and stories about almost every nook and cranny of the Highlands. When we went there, we experienced some rough weather but the enthusiasm of Daniel made almost all of us on the tour brave the blustery winds and getting pelted with hall. Much recommended if you want to know almost everything about Scotland. I had initially planned to drive around but I would not have heard such great Scottish songs, or known about Scottish history if it wasn't for this tour! Fantastic!

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My daughter and I had a fantastic time! Doug, our guide, made everyone feel comfortable with his wonderful sense of humor all the while giving us quite the education on Scotland.We enjoyed ourselves so much and have been spreading the word on how wonderful the tour was. I know that we will definitely be travelling back to Scotland to some of the other areas Doug recommended and I only hope that he'll be our guide again! Many thanks to you all.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were able to see some amazing areas and views that really showcased Scotland's natural beauty. Our guide as also fantastic. James was full of stories and facts about the history of Scotland as well as the country in modern times. It was obvious that he loves his country and his job. You couldn't have asked for a better guide.

The one disappointment may have been that the site advertised being able to see Inverary Castle when really all you could do was take a picture of the house through the fence from the far end of the drive. Overall though, I don't regret in the least taking this day trip. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guide and driver, Murray, was friendly and engaging with passengers. I enjoyed the fact that the tour was a small group as it made the experience more personal.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide/driver stories and explanations were very engaging!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour. I only wish I could have stayed on it longer! This is a such a great way to take a look at what Scotland has to offer. Our guide Karen was very friendly and had a wealth of knowledge that she shared with us. The Bed and Breakfast that we stayed in Inverness was great also.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

could have made more photo stops on the way, other than that, great tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

1. The trip promises to take you to three places. However, the time spent at Lake Lomond is very less and it shows the worst side of the lake where you hardly can spend time.
2. The whiskey distillery tour is not for everyone - there are many who wouldn't want to do this. Either because of religious reasons or otherwise being not interested I belong to the second category. There should be tours with other options.
3. The distillery is in an area where there's nothing around it. If you don't want to do it, you have no place to hang out or sit even. Terrible. And, even if one wants to do the whiskey tour, who has heard of Glengoyne? Really??

On the positive side,
1. The coaches are quite comfortable
2. The driver/guide is knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message