The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 423 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour!!! Fran, our tour guide was fantastic. Her animated storytelling brought the history of the region to life. Many opportunities for photos. Van was very comfortable. An enjoyable day seeing the Scotland lowlands, moors, highlands, and Loch Ness Lake.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jinky E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a day full of Scottish music and accent. The cruise was great. The highlands tour of the Glen Coe was informative and the view was amazing. Great one.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

categage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Ally, was fantastic. He gave us a good overview of Scotish history as we passed various sights along the way and kept a bus load of strangers engaged and entertained all day. This was a wonderful way to get a taste of the highlands and we even learned what a true Scotsman wears under his kilt!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No better way to see the Scottish Highlands! I was really looking forward to seeing Loch Ness in particular, but I think I liked Glencoe better! Both were beautiful. Great day trip with perfect allotment of time for activities and stops. The light lunch was a plus, too.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

ctocco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our photos will never be able to capture the beauty of the Scottish Highlands. Was a great tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

J L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Richard had a great presentation of the information during the trip, with a pleasant demeanor, knowledge of the area and facts about where we were during the trip. We had a real comfort with his driving skills and felt safe during the entire trip and think it was a good a value. We would highly recommend the tour and Richard to anyone wanting to enjoy the Highlands and towns within that area.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

rickfield1303

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour. It is a long day but well worth it. We had an excellent guide Johnny, fantastic scenery and nice stops along the way. The Highlands area a natural treasure and we're truly glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Adriane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An efficient way to see much of the beautiful Highlands and learn about Scottish history. Our guide was fantastic. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pavlina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a memorable experience! It was a very good combination of beautiful scenery, a travel back in the past of Scottish history, charming castles, nice music and as we were lucky - nice weather too. In about 8 hours of travel we were able to see 4 castles and the lakes the castles are located at plus 2 additional lakes - Loch Lubnaig and Loch Lomond. We used to stop at each sight and we were given time to enjoy it and take pictures, while during the travel, our driver and guide John was telling us about the places we visited, interesting stories of Scottish history for example about William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, about the clans and life in the Highlands...After each legend, he played us a traditional Scottish song singing about the same legend, in the end we finished with bagpipes and some contemporary Scottish music like the one of Amy McDonald. John was an extremely good guide, very professional as well as a very kind and friendly person. Throughout all the hours he didn't get tired of telling us stories of Scotland, it was obvious he did this with passion and love for his country and could make us feel the Scottish spirit too :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Raunak K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A well balanced tour with lots to see. You end up covering 500 kms in a day as you go around the highlands. The guides are funny yet very knowledgeable. You learn a lot of the history of UK during the day. Appropriate stops are scheduled to ensure that we get the best pictures possible

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn A B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was fun! Highlands tour company is so much better then rabbies.. Don and #39;t take a tour that is rabbies. The guide was funny and informative. He knew so much.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Heather F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time with Karen as our guide. The views were gorgeous. The weather didn't cooperate and the timing right before all the castles opened could have been better for our trip, but we enjoyed all the historical background I'm a historian and the beauty of the highlands. We'd love to do a longer tour next time!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shyam D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Tour with a fantastic driver.

For a fixed fee, we got a beautifully clean minibus taking us all around the Highlands. There were plenty of stops for beautiful pictures and refreshments. There were wonderful stories about the Highlands, Scottish terminology and banter along the way.

Our driver was called Fran and she was simply fantastic. She was very knowledgeable, kept us entertained throughout the whole journey and was just what you need when venturing into the highlands.

Great Tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Serafin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an incredible journey to the picturesque Scottish Highlands! Throughout the entire ride, our guide/driver Aaron was very helpful and wonderful. First, he asked everyone to introduce herself/himself, then told some nice things about themselves, and was able to remember each one's name throughout the entire trip. He'd crack jokes in between the talks, and he was wearing a kilt to highlight the tour. Not only he'd voluntarily offer to take each individual or group pictures, he'd intermingle with us during our walks to the destinations. Thanks, Aaron, for this unforgettable journey.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maxime L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went for the Loch Ness, fell in love with the Highlands. Our driver Eric was a gentleman with tons of knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went on a tour with Ewan B. and it was great! He had a lot of enthusiasm and knowledge made the experience even better hearing all about Scottish History within the Highlands. Felt like the trip length was just right, had plenty of stops for bathrooms and food as well as for some great views! The bus was comfy enough and even though it was a little rainy when we went it was still an awesome experience, thank you Ewan!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a long trip to see most of the highlands and Loch Ness among many beautiful Lochs that make up the highlands. Johnathan our guide was wonderful and so very knowledgeable as well as very entertaining. He is an avid photographer himself and will give great pointers as well as knowing the best places to stop for amazing vistas. I highly recommend this tour to any one that wants to get a view of Scotland in a day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our longest tour, but it was worth it! It and #39;s been an astonishing landscape and we did many foto stops. Instead of doing the Loch Ness boat tour we had delish lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant with an amazing view of Loch Ness. Our driver Douglas was great and told us much about the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Toni J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a GREAT tour! Nick and Catty were AWESOME! In spite of the rainy, dreary day, the highlands were still beautiful. It was interesting hearing the history and Robert Burns poems as they should sound read with a Scottish brogue. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

LINDA Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The local tour operator and Gill made for a fantastic experience. I saw so much of the beauty of the Highlands. We even stopped to take photos of Highland cows! I am now looking into more the local tours and am excited to return to Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Luis F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour to see Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful trip in the Highlands and the Loch Ness with an awesome guide Grant who tries his best to make this journey memorable : !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour. The day was beautiful and we really caught the highlands looking there best. The mini-bus was comfortable and the driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

PAULA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide/driver Gail was so lovely and patient, telling all about Scotland life, tales and mythological histories, food, etc. It was an awesome trip and I would totally recomend it! The highlands and the famous Loch Ness are incredible places! I loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alaa A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I guess the most important thing to note is that this tour doesn't enter Stirling castle, which is why I chose this tour to start with. Also, most of the time is spent in the bus, so if you are looking for an opportunity to walk the highlands, this trip is not for you. That said, the tour was beautiful and the tour guide was very friendly and informative supplying us with the right amount and kind of facts without overwhelming us, or leaving us on our own. He made an effort to introduce us to Scottish music, which was really cool. Overall, its worth the trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message