The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 447 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved this amazing tour !!!! saw so much of the country that we would not have seen.. Our guide Douglas H was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, personable and fun. He made sure that we were all comfortable and took the time to get to know each one of us. Loved the music that he played : Thank you so much for an incredible day in the Scottish Highlands!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

A Y M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!! It was worth it.. ! This day tour gave us the opportunity to see Loch Ness and Scotland highlands during my short trip to Edinburgh. Service was excellent too!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide and a nice view of some of the Highlands in just one day. The Rabbie's tour outfit is excellent. Mi did a second tour with them as a result!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

amerynn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great trip! Our guide Liz and driver Stevie were great. Multiple stops make the trip seem shorter than it is. Runs very smoothly. Hits all the highlights and gives you a great historical basis for the major events in Highlands history.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Colleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip to Loch Ness and the Highlands. Franziska was an amazing tour guide and bus driver. She never let a dull moment happen. There were just enough stops to make the trip comfortable. The scenery was amazing along the way with Franziska giving us a history lesson along the way.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

JIYEON H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I normally do not take bus tours as we prefer to navigate new places ourselves. However, we only had a day to tour the Scottish Highlands and thought it was too much to tackle without a guide. So, it made sense for us to take the Rabbies bus tour via Viator. We liked that it was a small group and that it went through both national parks. Stopping by Loch Ness was an added bonus. Our tour guide, Jeff, was friendly and knowledgeable. He managed to weave in interesting stories that not only explained the sights but the history and culture of Scotland. We left with a better understanding and appreciation than if we had gone by ourselves. In addition, there were multiple rest stops, which made the 12-hour journey bearable. We couldn't have had a better tour and guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a definite thing to do while you are in Edinburgh. This is something we will always remember and we are actually planning a trip back to Scotland just to spend time in the highlands. The tour company was wonderful, well organized and our guide, Jonathan was so fun and very intelligent on all the questions we asked. The buses are wonderful and comfy for the 12 journey and there are plenty of stops along the way for pictures, shopping, ice cream, ect..... WE LOVED IT! I could not tell you how amazing this trip was. It made our vacation.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Andreia Regis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!!! I recommend everybody the trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. The guide, Liz, was great. Some friends of mine took part in another trip and regretted: they visited just the loss and I visited small cities, the loss, the glencoe, we had several beautiful stops to use restrooms and/or take pictures!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We crammed in a lot over three days -- stops at castles, distilleries, breweries, loch ness, little towns in the highlands, and beautiful spots across the isle of skye. Our guide, Tony, was super informative, giving us background on the local history and folklore, once-upon-a-time stories, and funny anecdotes. Even when things went wrong on our last days, an accident closed the rode leaving Skye, and then our ferry left early with no notice so we had to catch a later one..., he was calm and organized and got us where we needed to be, when we needed to be there.

I was a little apprehensive about taking a bus tour, but we never spent too long on the bus without a stop, and all the stops were long enough to stretch your legs, use a restroom, or see whatever there was to see. Even if you're not a bus tour person, I would recommend this as a great way to see a lot and get a great overview of the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

bernieb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fran, was my tour guide and she was great! She kept us entertained and was attentive to the group's needs. The Highlands are majestic and peaceful. The scenery is something right out of a painting. This tour is a must for anyone who wants and overview of the Highlands and castles. Of course, there is always a desire for more time to explore, but given the amount of sites we covered it was time well spent.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

clchrisconsult

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day tour to the Scottish Highlands was a wonderful way to get to see this beautiful country and to learn a little about the interesting history related to the sights we were seeing. The Mercedes van was very comfortable and very clean. Our guide Keith did a wonderful job of enlightening us with historical facts and adding the odd bit of colour into the history as we travelled through the various areas. He ensured we had adequate rest stops throughout the day, while still keeping us on schedule. Overall, this was an excellent all day tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rafael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! We went out with Nik as our guide and had a great day exploring the Highlands. The guide was full of good stories and tales and really shared amazing information. The van was very comfortable and so was the planning. Highly recommended way to explore the highlands in a single day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Felicity K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour, Gil the tour guide was amazing and full of wisdom. Her music on the bus was fantastic. Enjoyed our day out of the city. The highlands were a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

cathy r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We are so glad we didn't miss this lovely day in the Highlands. Jillian was our guide and she was great. a good value, too, considering the miles we covered!! Good to get out of the cities, even though we like them too.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide David was excellent. He told great stories and had good recommendations at our stops. The tour itself was well worth waking up early as the Highlands are must see if you like looking at amazing scenery. The whole thing was very well organized. We had spotty weather - mostly cloudy but the sun did come out a couple of times but as our guide said, you don't come to Scotland for the weather :-

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Neda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am so happy I took the tour. It was truely amazing. Couldnt ask for a better way to visit the Scottish highlands. Our driver and tour guide and #34; Jan and #34; was so incredibly professional, knowledgable and funny. He gave us a lot of information everywehere he took us. The scenary was brearthtaking. Loved it

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Maureen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Audrey was knowable, friendly and funny. The group gelled quickly and we saw amazing sights. Great way to see the Scotish highlands!

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Sue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Jodie was the best! We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Roger our tour guide was fantastic. He was a beautiful storyteller. As we traveled through the highlands we were emerged into the Celtic culture with Roger's storytelling, the music he played for us, and the breathtaking scenery. The tour was small, only a handful of people, and the bus ride was comfortable. Lots of food along the way, and shops. Don't worry about bringing a lunch! Bathrooms along the way as well.

Roger was great as he added in a few extra stops along the way because we were doing so well with time.

LOVED IT!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

heptunafish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I only had a limited amount of time in Scotland, so I chose this tour to at least see some of the Highlands. I was NOT disappointed! We covered so much ground and sae so many beautiful sites. I would love to come back on a multi-day highland excursion, but if time is short, this is the one to do!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ani E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I took my daughter on this trip. It was her first time in Scotland. Our guide Paul was amazing and the trip exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to get an overview of the Highlands without the hassle of driving.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Debra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour!!! Fran, our tour guide was fantastic. Her animated storytelling brought the history of the region to life. Many opportunities for photos. Van was very comfortable. An enjoyable day seeing the Scotland lowlands, moors, highlands, and Loch Ness Lake.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jinky E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a day full of Scottish music and accent. The cruise was great. The highlands tour of the Glen Coe was informative and the view was amazing. Great one.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

categage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Ally, was fantastic. He gave us a good overview of Scotish history as we passed various sights along the way and kept a bus load of strangers engaged and entertained all day. This was a wonderful way to get a taste of the highlands and we even learned what a true Scotsman wears under his kilt!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message