The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the optional boat ride on Loch Ness. The highlands was beautiful!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent short tour of the Highlands and Dewars distillary, great guide, clean touring van and good group of people. Towns and stops on the way were perfect, and just enough details privided by "Alan" our driver/guide. Highly recommended for a quick trip out of town.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul was absolutely wonderful! Although he had only started working there the week before, his historical knowledge of the area and his clever humor made us feel like he had been leading these tours for decades. The groups are small and personal, providing multiple van tours instead of herding a huge group of people around in a large tour bus all fighting for space to get any pictures without the rest of the group in the background. The highlands are incredible, and the music and stories Paul provided along the way were hauntingly beautiful. We felt that we had more than enough time in each location, even after adding a side trip to the 'Well of the 7 Heads' and an amazing hidden waterfall not to be missed. We were so pleased with this tour, and will recommend it to anyone looking to get a well-organized day-trip in Scotland worth much more than you pay for it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul is a fantastic guide whose knowledge of his country made our visit to the highlands extremely enjoyable.
A truly amazing day

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Highlands were stunning. Alan, our tour guide was terrific: fun, patient, extremely well informed, kept us entertained. The bus was cramped and the seats uncomfortable. The a/c didn't work very well. There was a lot of getting on and off the bus which was tiring but worth the effort. The B and B was VERY BASIC and TINY room but good breakfast. Good value and overview.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful guided tour from the Lowlands to the Highlands. Learned a lot and our guide had a wonderful sense of humor. Very satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great driver (Duncan) who made a long day really fun and entertaining/educational for my daughter and myself. A must do day in the Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour offered great variety of destinations... interesting villages, beautiful scenery, wonderful short and easy hike to the waterfall, and views of the highlands and locks. Dan, our guide, provided interesting and informative narrative along the way that was superb. All in all, a terrific experience and great value.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rabbies was excellent. Our guide, Heather, went put of her way to show us the Highlands. Loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My trip was excellent, as our guide, Al , was a Scottish treasure !!!! He is a wealth of information , gave us a brilliant oral " history of Scotland " in absolute detail as we travelled through the beautiful Scottish Highlands . He is a funny , joke-telling man , who never ceased to entertain the group. The "stops" were numerous along the way , and information on the best places to see , and buy food from , were spot-on!
Though it was a long day , with intermittent rain , he maintained his standard of interest right to the end !
I would highly recommend this trip, and if you do book it, ask for Al as your driver/guide .
I loved the visits to the chosen villages , the bleakness of the moutain ranges , and the mystery of Loch Ness.'

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An outstanding tour! Our guide and driver Nick was excellent. He had the right mix of information and entertaining stories for us so that we got a good feel for the history and character of the Highlands. He also took us to some less popular but highly enjoyable sights, including the Fairie Pools and the Silver Sands of Morar where it was warm enough to stand in the water. Highest marks.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Al, made this trip very enjoyable. His sense of humor--together with his extensive knowledge of the region and its history--kept us engaged and entertained for twelve hours! We learned a lot about the geography, customs, and proud past of the Highlands, and our daughter swears she caught a glimpse of Nessie! Some of the most beautiful photographs taken on our five-week trip were made on this tour, lasting reminders of a great day!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour of highlands. For one day. Should have taken a two day tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I took my 80 year old mother on this trip and we both enjoyed it although it is a long day. Our driver, Eric was excellent, full of fascinating information. He also sang us some lovely Scottish songs. If time is short and you want to see the Scottish Highlands then this is the trip for you.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, wonderful tour guide. Really got to see the beauty of the highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message