The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have never been on a tour before and wanted to see more of Scotland in the two days we were there.
The tour was 12 hours, so I was a bit worried about the length of time, but it went so fast that before you knew it you are back in Edinburgh again.
Our tour guide was Johnathan and he was absolutely amazing. If he didn't have us in laughter he was filling us with amazing facts and history about the area's we were driving through or stopping at. He went out of his way to make all of us happy.
I also think with it being a small-group tour it was more personal. The tour van was so comfortable and you got to interact with everyone.
We had clear blue skies the whole trip, so got to see amazing sights of the Highlands /Glencoe and of course Loch Ness. We did the boat trip and really enjoyed that.
I honestly hope that all tours around the UK are just like this because it makes the trip so enjoyable that you want to do them again and again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and explained Mary Queen of Scots history in an entertaining way. For Doune Castle, admission isn't included but being part of the tour group gets you a discount and costs a little less than £5. Inverary Castle was closed which was a bit of a downer, but we were able to explore the little town. There were many breathtaking views of the lochs, castles and highlands, and plenty of landscapes worthy of panorama pictures. Overall this tour was definitely worthwhile!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was not too impressed with the boat ride on Loch Ness. However, the tour guide was incredible and gave us so much history and information about Scotland. (Thus the 5 star rating.) The highlands are beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Al was very nice and knowledgeable. He made the experience with his stories and jokes. We really enjoyed the places visited as well as a few additional photo stops. I feel for the length of travel for this tour that we did get to see and experience a fair amount of the highlands. I would have enjoyed a little more time in some of the little villages but all in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Ally, was informative, knowledgable and hilarious. He could tell a story and make it come alive in such an entertaining way. Thanks Ally! We don't usually do tours, preferring to do the trips ourselves but this time we decided on a tour because of time. The Highlands speak for themselves

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van, but you won't be disappointed by the views and the tour guide was just Awesome! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise and see the highland cows. The Loch Ness Cruise was a fun excursion to break up the day. For the price, this day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of the Highlands was absolutely wonderful. Of course, the country is beautiful but our guide Pete made the trip one of the best tours we have ever been a part of. Thanks, Pete!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip offered some truly beautiful sights all the way across the Highlands. With the right weather you can get some pretty impressive panoramic shots of the moors and Glencoe. At Fort Augustus on Loch Ness it's well worth taking the optional boat trip onto the Loch for some more great photo opportunities. The tour guide/driver was really informative, funny and we even got a few songs!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was exactly what we were seeking. The trip combined castles to see with beautiful nature scenes in the Highlands. We were not disappointed.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superbe trip, well organised and a delight to participate. Terrific introduction to the highlands and its proud history, beauty and inspirational inhabitants, past and present.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best views during the whole day, being a smaller group is so comfortable to stop and admire the Highlands, very recommended!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great tour. Heather was our driver/guide. She pointed out all sort of neat things about the places we visited, as we as things about places we went by. The Highlands were very beautiful and I wish the tour was longer so we could have seen more. It is however a FULL day. Leaving at 8am and getting back around 20:30 or 21:00. So be prepared.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van but with the right tour driver you don't notice and we did, Mac was just Awesome and the views! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise.This day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was very informative. Our driver James knew all his subject and was very entertaining as well. It was quite refreshing. I look forward to another Scottish Highlands tour in the future.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message