The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands was awesome! The natural beauty of the Scottish countryside was amazing. The visit in Glen Coe was charming and gave us a chance to shop in a smaller village. The boat ride on Loch Ness was also quite a treat! Bus driver Dave was quite a character and made the trip even more enjoyable with his fun facts and entertaining dialogue. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who wants a sample of the raw beauty of Scotland!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Sarah was a great tour guide- took us to several great vistas and worked to make sure everyone on the tour had the chance to see what they were looking for out of the Highlands. She told amazing stories and had great insight into Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bruce R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice tour! It was low-impact, with a lot of time in the van, but since we had arrived from the US the day before, we weren't in shape to do anything too taxing or time-consuming. This one, at about 8.5 hours, was just right. The driver, Duncan, was entertaining and well informed, and this tour got us into the Highlands, which our main tour did not. Good variety of scenery and history. We had decent weather, which makes all the difference.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

shercole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our very knowledgeable and congenial tour guide made this a great day. The van was comfortable, the scenery was beautiful, and it was a perfect introduction to the Scottish Highlands. If we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely book more tours!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jcqthompson1 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with a very good driver/guide Richard who gave us a great understanding of Scotland and its history. The Highlands beautiful and breath taking. Recommended this trip and the boat trip at Loch Ness too.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Cyrielle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing and the guide Pete was very nice and knew everything about the history of the Highlands. I would definitely recommend it. The fact that it is a small group in a mini bus is even better.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful way to see the highlands, lochs and castles!!! Yes, it was a cloudy, drizzly day in Scotland. But...our tour guide Alan was incredible. He had so much knowledge about the history of the area...and an incredible way of imparting that knowledge. He was quiet and let us relax when needed which was a huge plus!!! We got to see the most wonderful things....getting to wander around an ancient castle was so great. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Just be sure to dress accordingly and don't wear good shoes!!! It gets cold and muddy in November!!
I'm looking forward to doing other tours with this group in the future!!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cale R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mac is awesome!
A great tour guide and a great personality.
Very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this tour if you want to see the highlands and experience Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a great tour for getting a taste of the highlands in only one day, and the scenery is breathtaking! There were frequent rest stops, which was greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ilias P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour to the highlands to do if you visit Edinburgh and have an extra day!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Golf S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Jonathan was an amazing tour guide! Full of great sights, great laughs, and great naps. I had a really fun time experiencing the highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patrick P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An absolutely stunning excursion through the snowy Highlands with perhaps the best tour guide in the world, Stevie, a Renaissance man with a encyclopedic wealth of knowledge historical, geological, geographic, cultural, excellent taste in music, which he played for us at appropriate times, and a love of Scotland that permeated everything he said or showed us.


d

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The highlands of Scotland are a must see! The Lochs, the mountains, the villages, the rivers, the rocks, the trees were all amazing. Not one thing on this trip was bad, the drive up north alone is so beautiful, calming and picturesque. Even though the pictures do not do the scenery justice, its something you need to see with your own two eyes!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I loved this trip. It was really well organized. We got to the meeting point really easy to find, checked in, grabbed a coffee, and then started the trip. Our driver Ally was super informative and funny! Beautiful landscape and such a nice drive. There were a lot of good breaks in there too so it didn't seem like a long drive at all. I did this tour at the end of November so there wasn't much day light, which means we missed some of the scenery at the end of the tour but it was still pretty great. Definitely recommend if you're going during the summer months cause if it was this nice during the winter, you're going to see a heck of a lot more of the fantastic highlands during the summer.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Syed Anjum N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A great experience of Glencoe moutains, Highlands and lakes. another feature of stopping over at Fort William if added would be an useful asset. Would definitely try out Viator at other locations.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Myths M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Nice day trip of Lochness, Glencoe and Highlands. However the daytrip is not enough to visit all the beauty of the Highlands. If have more time would recommend longer trip

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edward C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Awesome day out to see the highlands in the distance Loch Ness and the beautiful fresh air a day to remember. The guide was well versed and a very entertaining chap. Would recommend Viator to all my friends.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Penelope K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

If you don't have a car, this is a convenient way to see the highlands. Incredible views on this tour. Went during the winter so got dark reasonably early and missed a bit of scenery on the trip home unfortunately. Driver was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pearlyn K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

1 Bad weather, it rained almost the whole day well, mother nature calls so no one expect it
2 Probably picked the wrong day for the tour, most of the shops in town were close but we're given 20 mins min to explore when there's nothing much to do
3 Spent most of the time inside the coach travelling from 1 point to another
4 We didn't even stop at Highlands, was very disappointed that we didn't even get to see the highland cow!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We only had one day to travel outside of Edinburgh and we are really glad that we chose this tour. Gordon, our driver and guide, was fantastic. He was entertaining and educational. There were 15 of us in a comfortable van and we were able to see the highlands, castles and lochs. The scenery was beautiful and overall it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful day trip to the west Highlands. JAN, our guide, was full of historical details, music and information about the Glencoe/ Lock Ness area. With several stops including less known spots and no crowds, I recommend this day trip to anyone interested in the Scotland countryside!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dave was a good driver, a good story teller, a DJ, and a passionate Scot. There were 23 people on this tour, most are couples, friends and families, and 5 solo female travelers including me. We got along well. I was constantly awed by the stark beauties of the Scottish Highlands and the lochs. The landscape of the highlands are so different from the lowlands. We visited Loch Ness at Fort Augustus, the southern tip before turning west to the Isle of Skye. We visited Eilean Donan Castle often called the most picturisque castle in Scotland before crossing the bridge to the Isle of Skye. The B and B I stayed in Portree capital of Skye was very clean and comfortable. The landlady made me porridge hot oatmeal upon my request, before a full Scottish breakfast. We experienced typical weather on the island, fog, gusty wind, rain, stop, rain, stop, etc. on the second day. We went to many places on the Isle of Skye and took breathtaking pictures of the sea and rocks and heathers. There were sheeps and cows, more of them than people. More castles. The 3rd day we took the ferry to Malliag, beautiful view but very windy and cold. Took the Jacobite Steam Train from Malliag to Fort William, the Hogwart Express going over the famous viaduct. Taking pictures on the train is not easy, best to drive and take the pictures from below. Overall, I highly recommend this 3-day tour and I love the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Gregg W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

i was really looking forward to this tour, as I had likmited time in Scotland and thought this would get me a decent view of the Highlands. I was not disappointed at all. The guide Sandy was great - he knew his Scottish history and knew all about the sights we visited. He was super personable and engaged in many one-on-one conversations during the trip. Plus he was a great driver! The one varibale in tours like this which can spoil it is the vehicle but the 16-passenger van was great. Comfortable and clean. My only 'complaint' is the lack of cup holders for water bottles and a garbage bag. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, the sights, and would recommend the tour and the local tour company.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message