The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 413 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

categage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Ally, was fantastic. He gave us a good overview of Scotish history as we passed various sights along the way and kept a bus load of strangers engaged and entertained all day. This was a wonderful way to get a taste of the highlands and we even learned what a true Scotsman wears under his kilt!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Heather F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time with Karen as our guide. The views were gorgeous. The weather didn't cooperate and the timing right before all the castles opened could have been better for our trip, but we enjoyed all the historical background I'm a historian and the beauty of the highlands. We'd love to do a longer tour next time!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shyam D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Tour with a fantastic driver.

For a fixed fee, we got a beautifully clean minibus taking us all around the Highlands. There were plenty of stops for beautiful pictures and refreshments. There were wonderful stories about the Highlands, Scottish terminology and banter along the way.

Our driver was called Fran and she was simply fantastic. She was very knowledgeable, kept us entertained throughout the whole journey and was just what you need when venturing into the highlands.

Great Tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Serafin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an incredible journey to the picturesque Scottish Highlands! Throughout the entire ride, our guide/driver Aaron was very helpful and wonderful. First, he asked everyone to introduce herself/himself, then told some nice things about themselves, and was able to remember each one's name throughout the entire trip. He'd crack jokes in between the talks, and he was wearing a kilt to highlight the tour. Not only he'd voluntarily offer to take each individual or group pictures, he'd intermingle with us during our walks to the destinations. Thanks, Aaron, for this unforgettable journey.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maxime L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went for the Loch Ness, fell in love with the Highlands. Our driver Eric was a gentleman with tons of knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went on a tour with Ewan B. and it was great! He had a lot of enthusiasm and knowledge made the experience even better hearing all about Scottish History within the Highlands. Felt like the trip length was just right, had plenty of stops for bathrooms and food as well as for some great views! The bus was comfy enough and even though it was a little rainy when we went it was still an awesome experience, thank you Ewan!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a long trip to see most of the highlands and Loch Ness among many beautiful Lochs that make up the highlands. Johnathan our guide was wonderful and so very knowledgeable as well as very entertaining. He is an avid photographer himself and will give great pointers as well as knowing the best places to stop for amazing vistas. I highly recommend this tour to any one that wants to get a view of Scotland in a day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our longest tour, but it was worth it! It and #39;s been an astonishing landscape and we did many foto stops. Instead of doing the Loch Ness boat tour we had delish lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant with an amazing view of Loch Ness. Our driver Douglas was great and told us much about the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Toni J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a GREAT tour! Nick and Catty were AWESOME! In spite of the rainy, dreary day, the highlands were still beautiful. It was interesting hearing the history and Robert Burns poems as they should sound read with a Scottish brogue. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

LINDA Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The local tour operator and Gill made for a fantastic experience. I saw so much of the beauty of the Highlands. We even stopped to take photos of Highland cows! I am now looking into more the local tours and am excited to return to Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Luis F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour to see Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful trip in the Highlands and the Loch Ness with an awesome guide Grant who tries his best to make this journey memorable : !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour. The day was beautiful and we really caught the highlands looking there best. The mini-bus was comfortable and the driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

PAULA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide/driver Gail was so lovely and patient, telling all about Scotland life, tales and mythological histories, food, etc. It was an awesome trip and I would totally recomend it! The highlands and the famous Loch Ness are incredible places! I loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alaa A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I guess the most important thing to note is that this tour doesn't enter Stirling castle, which is why I chose this tour to start with. Also, most of the time is spent in the bus, so if you are looking for an opportunity to walk the highlands, this trip is not for you. That said, the tour was beautiful and the tour guide was very friendly and informative supplying us with the right amount and kind of facts without overwhelming us, or leaving us on our own. He made an effort to introduce us to Scottish music, which was really cool. Overall, its worth the trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

russianbowler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This a must tour for everyone not familiar with Scotland. Our tour guide William was a descendant of Rob Roy and was truly knowledgable of Scottish history, particularly the Scottish highlands. his great sense of humor made hours seem like minutes---The Castle and church stops were awesome, but the Scottish Highlands dwarf everything in their beauty and majesty. William has a rare ability to help project you back to the time of Clans. But don't fail to ask him about the march of the penguins! This was a truly enjoyable day that I'd recommend to everyone---especially the Outlander fans like me! Enjoy!! By the way his driver was the best I've seen on my 10 day tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands was awesome! The natural beauty of the Scottish countryside was amazing. The visit in Glen Coe was charming and gave us a chance to shop in a smaller village. The boat ride on Loch Ness was also quite a treat! Bus driver Dave was quite a character and made the trip even more enjoyable with his fun facts and entertaining dialogue. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who wants a sample of the raw beauty of Scotland!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Sarah was a great tour guide- took us to several great vistas and worked to make sure everyone on the tour had the chance to see what they were looking for out of the Highlands. She told amazing stories and had great insight into Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bruce R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice tour! It was low-impact, with a lot of time in the van, but since we had arrived from the US the day before, we weren't in shape to do anything too taxing or time-consuming. This one, at about 8.5 hours, was just right. The driver, Duncan, was entertaining and well informed, and this tour got us into the Highlands, which our main tour did not. Good variety of scenery and history. We had decent weather, which makes all the difference.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

shercole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our very knowledgeable and congenial tour guide made this a great day. The van was comfortable, the scenery was beautiful, and it was a perfect introduction to the Scottish Highlands. If we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely book more tours!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jcqthompson1 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with a very good driver/guide Richard who gave us a great understanding of Scotland and its history. The Highlands beautiful and breath taking. Recommended this trip and the boat trip at Loch Ness too.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Cyrielle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing and the guide Pete was very nice and knew everything about the history of the Highlands. I would definitely recommend it. The fact that it is a small group in a mini bus is even better.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful way to see the highlands, lochs and castles!!! Yes, it was a cloudy, drizzly day in Scotland. But...our tour guide Alan was incredible. He had so much knowledge about the history of the area...and an incredible way of imparting that knowledge. He was quiet and let us relax when needed which was a huge plus!!! We got to see the most wonderful things....getting to wander around an ancient castle was so great. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Just be sure to dress accordingly and don't wear good shoes!!! It gets cold and muddy in November!!
I'm looking forward to doing other tours with this group in the future!!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cale R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mac is awesome!
A great tour guide and a great personality.
Very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this tour if you want to see the highlands and experience Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message