The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Like always Viator organized perfect trip .Highlands day trip was perfect. Mercedes bus with 16 passengers. Our driver Jonnatan amaizing with 12 hours entertaining . Rabbies agency have done very good job. Thank you all. Gordan and Anita

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Katsu
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My mother and I joined the 7 Day Tour to the Highlands and it was fantastic! I would certainly recommend it. Our group was a nice mix of early teens to singles and seniors. Our tour guides Heather 5days and Tony 2days had different styles, but both were quite charming, witty and took great care of us all! From early morning till evening, they went above and beyond to give us a great tour with music, history and stories, which kept us all pleasantly entertained, despite some rainy days. All done with a wonderful passion and love for Scotland that spoke true to our hearts and made us fall in love with Scotland even more!
The best guides ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was filled with awesome scenery and spectacular views. We were able to travel so many narrow country roads that the big tour buses would never have been able to drive. Our talented driver Alan kept us entertained with stories of the regions and provided a wide mix of music that enhanced our journey, all while taking us safely throughout the highlands. His friendliness, attention, and knowledge were greatly appreciated. The pace of the trip was perfect, with plenty of stops and enough time to see the sights. The van seats were comfortable and our small number of passengers made it convenient for restaurants and sight-seeing. We were fortunate to have a nice mix of courteous people with us too. Our B and B at Ullapool had a beautiful view of the water and was in easy walking distance to the cafes and restaurants. We enjoyed this trip so much that we took two more one day excursions with Rabbie's while we were in Scotland. We are so glad to have had such a memorable experience. Thanks again, Alan! Wayne and Leslie Gmachl

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Scenic Beauty in a remote wilderness. What a great trip we took in late-June 2015. Alan was our tour guide and he was great. A history buff, Alan taught us a massive amount during our driving time between sites.

Limited to a group of 16, we were able to cover a lot of the Highlands area over 5 days, getting to experience the scenic beauty and remote landscape that was truly amazing. Alan was laid-back, informative, and very respectful of our groups' desires, not having us on a strict schedule but allowing each stop to happen organically. The result was a tour that never felt rushed, which we appreciated after having done a similar tour the week before in Ireland! Even with the laid back pace, we were always at our lodging by 6:30PM, leaving plenty of time to explore the tiny fishing villages where we stayed.
- Note: There isn't much nightlife at the Ullapool and Portree locations, though there is much scenery.
- We stayed at the B and B Double option, finding the accommodations in Ullapool to be average and the accommodation in Portree to be slightly below average. That is specific to this tour, however, as we had much better experiences with the same level of B and B on our 5 day Ireland tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlands lochs and castles with Gill was a wonderful tour. Gill gave us lots of information, stories and even music to illustrate Scottish history. She made the trip fun for all in a very relaxed and informative manner and was very flexible about how much time we wanted at each spot. The highlight was Kilchurn - slightly off the beaten track. The tour operator was very organized. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands were absolutely stunning. If you want to maximize the number of different things and areas that you see, this is the way to go! You don't have to worry about driving or finding places to stay. Our first tour guide Heather was superb. She did the right amount of talking, story telling, describing history and places and playing music. She has a flair for the sense of drama. Our second tour guide Tony was also outstanding. He is incredibly enthusiastic and loves to describe the many things along the route. He brings it alive for you and always had good tips for places to go and see during the stops. I would recommend this company and these two drivers/guides Heather and Tony to anyone else who wants to get away to Scotland.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day tour was exquisite. Arron, our tour guide, was simply amazing. He regaled us with enticing stories and history of Scotland throughout the day. He was personable and efficient. We saw all the castles on the tour and much of the West Highlands. It rained on and off throughout the day, and Arron made the best of the conditions to ensure we had a high quality experience and that our time was optimized. I would definitely book another tour with this company. 5 stars!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands tour was excellent - our guide Gill was wonderful, informative, and the ride was gorgeous! An excellent way to see a large part of the country.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver-cum-guide, AARON, was OUTSTANDING!!! We went on the Highlands-Loch Ness day trip on June 15, and every minute on and off the bus was well spent, because of Aaron's stories, anecdotes, lessons on Scottish history, etc. We have travelled the world, and very rarely have we come across such a guide, who has left a mark. We still talk about this trip as one of the most remarkable in our lives - and a major factor was Aaron. I'm tempted to give out some of his stories to my students in Texas, and will continue to do so ...

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think by far, this is the most popular and must-do tour when you're in Scotland. Our quest for a glimpse of Nessie was rather unsuccessful, but we were blessed with the beautiful views of the surrounding loch and the serenity of the Scottish Highlands. It was truly a magical experience. You have an option of doing a boat cruise on Loch Ness for 12 pounds per person, at the time of writing once you reach Fort Augustus. Though, the views of the loch are just as beautiful on shore. And time can be spent wisely at the cafes and gift shops if you opt not to do the cruise. Choices of sandwiches were included with the tour, but if you're up for something more, a scatter of restaurants are also conveniently available along the main street. Our amazing tour guide Chris at Highland Explorer Tours was very charismatic and gave delightful insight on the history and stories of the regions. He was very knowledgeable and funny, which kept the long journey moving along. I thought playing traditional Scottish music on the bus was a nice touch. There's something authentic about watching the passing scenery with the sound of bagpipes playing harmoniously in the background. I enjoyed the stop at The Trossachs Woollen Mill where we did a bit of shopping and got an up-close look at a highland cow. I had an excellent and memorable time even though, the only time I saw Nessie was in the gift shop. This is definitely a must-do tour!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good value for money. Hit a lot of the main sights that I wanted to see and made me want to visit the Scottish Highlands again.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My Wife and I had 3 days to fill in between golfing tours and chose this tour. We were mighty glad we did - this trip was a huge highlight of our holiday. The first day took us through the quaint village of Dunkeld where we stopped for a short tour of the town and morning tea / lunch. Then we headed for the highlands! The weather was overcast with misty clouds covering the tops of the hills which added to the mystique and beauty of the ever-increasingly rugged terrain. Scotland was having a very cool summer, and all the hills were still green. The roads were quite narrow, but Chris, our Tour Director was not only a great driver but also kept us well-informed about points of interest that we passed. We passed a number of lochs which had been carved out of the rock by glaciers during the last ice age. Stops for photography were made at some stunningly beautiful spots with the weather obliging by being fine but adding mystique to the hills and valleys.
Late in the afternoon, we crossed the bridge to the Isle of Skye. Soon after being on the Isle we came across a sizeable roadside waterfall caused by fairly consistent rain throughout the day. We motored on to our B and B abodes in Portree which were our resting places for the next 2 nights. Most of us stayed at Rosebank, which had a very friendly homely atmosphere.
The next morning we boarded the bus again to explore the Isle of Skye. The scenery was again breathtakingly beautiful, and around every corner was some new visual gem. We made frequent stops at points of interest to climb hills, explore and take many photos. I was never a great believer in giants or fairies, but Chris's most eloquent story-telling had me convinced by mid afternoon with further confirmation coming when he took us to any area of hills housing the fairy castle. How could one doubt with such evidence being presented!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great and I would recommend it to anyone! Our tour guide, Aaron, was fantastic and really gave us a wonderful experience. My only criticism would be to warn travelers that the roads in the highlands are a bit curvaceous and could cause motion sickness. However, it was an awesome day!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day trip and good choice of sights - but see later comment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. I had no idea the highlands were so absolutely gorgeous!!! The only negative I can think of is that they could probably eliminate the Stirling castle stop since you only do a photo op from very far away, along with at least one of the restroom stops. That would cut the tour shorter by at least 1-1/2 hours. Because, really - a 12 hr tour is just too long.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way for my teenage kids and I to see the Highlands. We needed a day trip from Edinburgh otherwise, we would have stayed in the beautiful Inverness. Our Rabbie guide was excellent. He had immense knowledge of Scottish history and current filming going on. He even sang the Scottish national anthem for us all beautifully. Even my teenagers thought he was great! The tour was a whirlwind that left us wishing for my time in the Highlands but, it was a long trip so, I think they did the best they could in order to get it all done. The Highlands was our favorite part of our 7 days in Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall all it was a great trip!
The bus was comfy and the driver told great stories. I wish there was more to do in the highlands. All you do is stop on the side of the road and take pictures. I took the opportunity to run through the fields. Once you get to the Loch Ness you are own your own. I paid for a boat ride on the lake. It was about 20pounds.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a small group and our driver/guide was terrific. It was a long day but we saw everything we hoped to see and left knowing that we could come back another day to see the Highlands in more depth.
A couple of stops were a bit rushed but it was a minor problem. It is easy to see why this is a very popular tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jamie was an excellent guide. Perfect background stories, very guiding. The tour itself is a perfect roundtrip in order to get an impression of the Lowlands/Highlands. The combination of nature, old towns and whisky is perfect. We enjoyed it very much. Tip: always decide for the cask tasting!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jonathan was great thoroughly enjoyed the tour just the right mix and the Highlands are beautiful and the Highland villages gorgeous.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful. Our driver , Ally was the best! Told lots of stories and kept us entertained. The highlands are beautiful and played traditional music. Trying to describe the trip I was speechless.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. A big part of that was because of Heather, our tour guide. She did an amazing job of guiding us through our journey and was full of interesting information to share throughout the trip.

The first day through the highlands was beautiful. An amazing day. We stopped many times along the way for some great photo opportunities.

Day 2 was rainy and windy all day on the isle, but still fun. It's Scotland, so you've got to expect that kind of weather at some point during your trip.
We chose the Hotel option on the Isle of Skye, and it was a very nice one and very comfortable. The others in our group that stayed in B and Bs said they were good too.

Day 3 was another good day. Lots of driving, but plenty of stops along the way. And the steam train was good fun too. But if you have no big interest in riding the steam train, you would get most of the same views if you just continued along in the bus. Only choose the train ride if you specifically want that experience.

Again, a great guide made this trip really spectacular. Loved it and would do it again.
Thanks Heather, and Highland Explorer Tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Paul was amazing, knew the history really well and presented it very interestingly. Enough stops along the way to visit bathrooms have a drink and something to eat. I thought a 12 hour day would be too long but it was just perfect, loved every minute of our tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the highlands of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Grant was wonderful! It was an action-packed tour that gave a great overview of the highlands, lochs, and a whiskey distillery. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our trip through the Highlands. Our tour guide, Joseph, was fantastic and being a Higlander Man himself, he was able to provide information about the landscape and history of the region. Our 2 night accommodation in the Royal Hotel in Portree was great too. One of the highlights was the steam train trip and even though the weather was typical for the region cold and rainy at times it didn't dampen our enjoyment of the whole experience. Joe regularly pulled the bus over, which allowed many wonderful photo opportunities and his knowledge of the region means that we are now educated about the Scottish Highlands. Also, we felt safe due to his exceptional bus driving capabilities, under adverse weather conditions. Highly recommended. Jenny and Grant, South Australia.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour covers an excellent variety of sites in the Highlands. The driver / tour guide provided lively commentary, covering history, sites, and insights into the Scottish world view.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message