The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Heather was a fantastic guide, full of historical knowledge combined with humor and timing. Very pleasurable trip through the highlands. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Best Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jamie Ross, driver/guide, was exceptional. Not only knowledgable but calmly confident and well organised. Even when one of the tour group was 'lost'.... he was calm and decent. We had great weather which showcased the Highlands beautifully. The visit to the distillery was excellent and the Tattoo was everything we could have wished for.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to catch a glimpse of the Highlands. The scenery is breath taking and worth the trip. The overnight accommodations at Glen Mohr were perfect especially the location. Our tour guide Doug was very knowledgable and fun which made the two day trip even more enjoyable. I would recommend this trip to anyone having limited time and not wanting to drive but waning to see this part of Scotland. The small group van is a definite plus.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The landscape and scenery on this tour are PHENOMENAL! Ally was our guide for this tour, and he is a blast to spend the day with. My favorite part of the tour was when we stopped at the marshes, and several stops during our tour of Glencoe. I am only disappointed my photography skills aren't capable of capturing how breathtaking the highlands of Scotland are. Thank you for a great tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of Scotland, and told many legends and stories. She made the tour for us! The pace of the tour was excellent, there were never any stops that seemed to be too long or short, and the amount of free time was excellent. The accommodations on the Isle of Skye were awesome! I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to see the Highlands and the Isle of Skye!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour has been operated by a local tour company and we really enjoyed it! Our guide perfectly mixed historical information, stories, legends, jokes and songs during the tour. The Jacobite Steam train is advised to all the Harry Potter fans! We have also visited the Dunvegan Castle and it was worth it! We have seen and learned a lot for just three days, it was not enough time as we wanted to stay there longer, but it was definitely enough time to fall in love with the Isle of Skye, with the Highlands and Scotland!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thank You ! It was most enjoyable ! luckily the weather was mostly in our favor ,Our guide Andy was tremendous giving his commentary with passion and love for his beautiful Highlands of Scotland.That he may long continue to do so !!
Thank you again

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved that this was a small group. I brought 12 people so we got our own bus plus 2 people that joined us. The Highlands were amazing, breathtaking. Loch Ness was a typical tourist trap, probably won't go there again. To be honest, I don't remember Glencoe. What made our trip truly wonderful was our guide, Ally. There were a few teachers on the bus and we all commented on how he would give us history and then later go back and quiz or make reference to what he had told us before. We definitely learned the most about Scotland because of him. Ally was friendly and animated, which made the trip very enjoyable. If I book through the local tour company again, I will request Ally!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good tour and commentary. We had a great tour guide and the highlands are beautiful. The only thing is we would've liked more stops along the way. I understand that Loch Ness is far away but most of the ride was in the bus and it gets tiring after 12 hours.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was a nice little trip into the highlands and lovely Isle of Skye. Our tour guide Duffy was excellent and gave us some great insider knowledge and made the journey fun for the group. When I booked the trip for my boyfriend and I, I didn't quite realize that it's mainly by bus and that the days are thoroughly planned out with the group. I prefer more independent travelling, but if that's not an issue for you, you'll love this trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Bit long. Spent most of the time on the bus. Did not see enough of the Highlands.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Like always Viator organized perfect trip .Highlands day trip was perfect. Mercedes bus with 16 passengers. Our driver Jonnatan amaizing with 12 hours entertaining . Rabbies agency have done very good job. Thank you all. Gordan and Anita

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Katsu
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My mother and I joined the 7 Day Tour to the Highlands and it was fantastic! I would certainly recommend it. Our group was a nice mix of early teens to singles and seniors. Our tour guides Heather 5days and Tony 2days had different styles, but both were quite charming, witty and took great care of us all! From early morning till evening, they went above and beyond to give us a great tour with music, history and stories, which kept us all pleasantly entertained, despite some rainy days. All done with a wonderful passion and love for Scotland that spoke true to our hearts and made us fall in love with Scotland even more!
The best guides ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was filled with awesome scenery and spectacular views. We were able to travel so many narrow country roads that the big tour buses would never have been able to drive. Our talented driver Alan kept us entertained with stories of the regions and provided a wide mix of music that enhanced our journey, all while taking us safely throughout the highlands. His friendliness, attention, and knowledge were greatly appreciated. The pace of the trip was perfect, with plenty of stops and enough time to see the sights. The van seats were comfortable and our small number of passengers made it convenient for restaurants and sight-seeing. We were fortunate to have a nice mix of courteous people with us too. Our B and B at Ullapool had a beautiful view of the water and was in easy walking distance to the cafes and restaurants. We enjoyed this trip so much that we took two more one day excursions with Rabbie's while we were in Scotland. We are so glad to have had such a memorable experience. Thanks again, Alan! Wayne and Leslie Gmachl

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Scenic Beauty in a remote wilderness. What a great trip we took in late-June 2015. Alan was our tour guide and he was great. A history buff, Alan taught us a massive amount during our driving time between sites.

Limited to a group of 16, we were able to cover a lot of the Highlands area over 5 days, getting to experience the scenic beauty and remote landscape that was truly amazing. Alan was laid-back, informative, and very respectful of our groups' desires, not having us on a strict schedule but allowing each stop to happen organically. The result was a tour that never felt rushed, which we appreciated after having done a similar tour the week before in Ireland! Even with the laid back pace, we were always at our lodging by 6:30PM, leaving plenty of time to explore the tiny fishing villages where we stayed.
- Note: There isn't much nightlife at the Ullapool and Portree locations, though there is much scenery.
- We stayed at the B and B Double option, finding the accommodations in Ullapool to be average and the accommodation in Portree to be slightly below average. That is specific to this tour, however, as we had much better experiences with the same level of B and B on our 5 day Ireland tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlands lochs and castles with Gill was a wonderful tour. Gill gave us lots of information, stories and even music to illustrate Scottish history. She made the trip fun for all in a very relaxed and informative manner and was very flexible about how much time we wanted at each spot. The highlight was Kilchurn - slightly off the beaten track. The tour operator was very organized. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands were absolutely stunning. If you want to maximize the number of different things and areas that you see, this is the way to go! You don't have to worry about driving or finding places to stay. Our first tour guide Heather was superb. She did the right amount of talking, story telling, describing history and places and playing music. She has a flair for the sense of drama. Our second tour guide Tony was also outstanding. He is incredibly enthusiastic and loves to describe the many things along the route. He brings it alive for you and always had good tips for places to go and see during the stops. I would recommend this company and these two drivers/guides Heather and Tony to anyone else who wants to get away to Scotland.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day tour was exquisite. Arron, our tour guide, was simply amazing. He regaled us with enticing stories and history of Scotland throughout the day. He was personable and efficient. We saw all the castles on the tour and much of the West Highlands. It rained on and off throughout the day, and Arron made the best of the conditions to ensure we had a high quality experience and that our time was optimized. I would definitely book another tour with this company. 5 stars!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands tour was excellent - our guide Gill was wonderful, informative, and the ride was gorgeous! An excellent way to see a large part of the country.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver-cum-guide, AARON, was OUTSTANDING!!! We went on the Highlands-Loch Ness day trip on June 15, and every minute on and off the bus was well spent, because of Aaron's stories, anecdotes, lessons on Scottish history, etc. We have travelled the world, and very rarely have we come across such a guide, who has left a mark. We still talk about this trip as one of the most remarkable in our lives - and a major factor was Aaron. I'm tempted to give out some of his stories to my students in Texas, and will continue to do so ...

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think by far, this is the most popular and must-do tour when you're in Scotland. Our quest for a glimpse of Nessie was rather unsuccessful, but we were blessed with the beautiful views of the surrounding loch and the serenity of the Scottish Highlands. It was truly a magical experience. You have an option of doing a boat cruise on Loch Ness for 12 pounds per person, at the time of writing once you reach Fort Augustus. Though, the views of the loch are just as beautiful on shore. And time can be spent wisely at the cafes and gift shops if you opt not to do the cruise. Choices of sandwiches were included with the tour, but if you're up for something more, a scatter of restaurants are also conveniently available along the main street. Our amazing tour guide Chris at Highland Explorer Tours was very charismatic and gave delightful insight on the history and stories of the regions. He was very knowledgeable and funny, which kept the long journey moving along. I thought playing traditional Scottish music on the bus was a nice touch. There's something authentic about watching the passing scenery with the sound of bagpipes playing harmoniously in the background. I enjoyed the stop at The Trossachs Woollen Mill where we did a bit of shopping and got an up-close look at a highland cow. I had an excellent and memorable time even though, the only time I saw Nessie was in the gift shop. This is definitely a must-do tour!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good value for money. Hit a lot of the main sights that I wanted to see and made me want to visit the Scottish Highlands again.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My Wife and I had 3 days to fill in between golfing tours and chose this tour. We were mighty glad we did - this trip was a huge highlight of our holiday. The first day took us through the quaint village of Dunkeld where we stopped for a short tour of the town and morning tea / lunch. Then we headed for the highlands! The weather was overcast with misty clouds covering the tops of the hills which added to the mystique and beauty of the ever-increasingly rugged terrain. Scotland was having a very cool summer, and all the hills were still green. The roads were quite narrow, but Chris, our Tour Director was not only a great driver but also kept us well-informed about points of interest that we passed. We passed a number of lochs which had been carved out of the rock by glaciers during the last ice age. Stops for photography were made at some stunningly beautiful spots with the weather obliging by being fine but adding mystique to the hills and valleys.
Late in the afternoon, we crossed the bridge to the Isle of Skye. Soon after being on the Isle we came across a sizeable roadside waterfall caused by fairly consistent rain throughout the day. We motored on to our B and B abodes in Portree which were our resting places for the next 2 nights. Most of us stayed at Rosebank, which had a very friendly homely atmosphere.
The next morning we boarded the bus again to explore the Isle of Skye. The scenery was again breathtakingly beautiful, and around every corner was some new visual gem. We made frequent stops at points of interest to climb hills, explore and take many photos. I was never a great believer in giants or fairies, but Chris's most eloquent story-telling had me convinced by mid afternoon with further confirmation coming when he took us to any area of hills housing the fairy castle. How could one doubt with such evidence being presented!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great and I would recommend it to anyone! Our tour guide, Aaron, was fantastic and really gave us a wonderful experience. My only criticism would be to warn travelers that the roads in the highlands are a bit curvaceous and could cause motion sickness. However, it was an awesome day!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day trip and good choice of sights - but see later comment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. I had no idea the highlands were so absolutely gorgeous!!! The only negative I can think of is that they could probably eliminate the Stirling castle stop since you only do a photo op from very far away, along with at least one of the restroom stops. That would cut the tour shorter by at least 1-1/2 hours. Because, really - a 12 hr tour is just too long.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message