• USD ($)
  • English
The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful guided tour from the Lowlands to the Highlands. Learned a lot and our guide had a wonderful sense of humor. Very satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great driver (Duncan) who made a long day really fun and entertaining/educational for my daughter and myself. A must do day in the Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour offered great variety of destinations... interesting villages, beautiful scenery, wonderful short and easy hike to the waterfall, and views of the highlands and locks. Dan, our guide, provided interesting and informative narrative along the way that was superb. All in all, a terrific experience and great value.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour of highlands. For one day. Should have taken a two day tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I took my 80 year old mother on this trip and we both enjoyed it although it is a long day. Our driver, Eric was excellent, full of fascinating information. He also sang us some lovely Scottish songs. If time is short and you want to see the Scottish Highlands then this is the trip for you.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Tour guide Martin was entertaining and knowledgeable. The highlands were breathtaking. It is a very long day, travelling over 500km. Martin stopped at little out of the way places that tours don't visit as well as the usual places. Plenty of opportunity for photos.
The Loch Ness tour operators were very informative and helped us get our photo of 'Nessie'.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was amazing! Three days of pure beauty. The landscape was absolutely amazing! The highlands are powerful and beautiful, the Eye of Sky is unique and I totally recommend. The tour guide, Andy, was so funny and helpful. He wanted to show us everything, and even put Scottish music in the bus during our travels.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely wonderful. Our tour guide, Jonathan, was excellent. He was knowledgable and entertaining and a good driver. This tour is the perfect way to get an overview of the beautiful Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked this trip to go on the "Happy Potter train", but I got soo much more!! The was an amazing tour. The bus driver/ tour guide was amazing, he made a ton of stops so we could take pictures, made small detours to see things we asked about, and told us lots or stories, history, and information about the highlands. AND the train ride was everything I imagined and more. We stayed at the B and B in portree and it was great. The people who run it are extremely nice, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was very large. Water pressure wasn't great, but who cares when your have such a great time. If I had tried to drive around the highlands myself I would have missed so much. The tour guide pointed out lots of things I didn't know about. Took us to place where they filmed movies, showed us hairy cows, mountain ranges, monuments, waterfalls, peat bogs, bridges, castles, gardens, and more. We got to take a ferry ride from the Isle of Skye. We saw bag pipers in Portree town square, which was a very nice surprise. If you are looking to experience the highlands in three days this is the way to do it. It was amazing and I would do this tour again.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic, a great way to see the highlands if you don't have multiple days to tour. The group is smaller than most other tours I've gone on so you're able to interact much more with the guide. Our tour guide was fantastic, the tour was well planned, and I would highly recommend this tour and tour company to others!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide, Scot, made it so much fun. (Seriously, he was amazing! Only 24 and making our lives educational, hilarious, and fun! And not bad to look at either) He narrated the majority of the time on the bus (which I was totally fine with because he had a great accent) and I learned so much Scottish history that I did not previously know. When he wasn't talking, he played some traditional Scottish music for us which made the experience even better. It was a fantastic introduction to Scottish culture and history.
You have to do the boat ride on Loch Ness. Also educational, but mostly just fun to be out on the water of Loch Ness. Who else can say they've done that? The town it's in is quite small, but they do try to hold tourists attention. So you would still be able to find something to do if you didn't take the boat tour.
I really liked that we were taken through both of the national parks and were made aware as we passed locations from certain films (such as Skyfall and Harry Potter). The highlands are the most gorgeous thing I have ever seen (and that's saying something because I'm a beach person not a mountain person). It definitely deserved whichever award it got for being the most scenic route in the world.
All in all, Scotland fully impressed me. I wasn't very excited to go to Scotland, but after doing this tour and just spending a couple hours in Edinburgh, I didn't want to ever leave. Fell in love with the country, which is partly thanks to this tour.
One last thing, the location for boarding the bus in the morning: It's conveniently located on the Royal Mile. We walked up and down just a few blocks looking for what might be our pick-up location just to realize it was literally right across the street from our hostel.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The highlands are absolutely beautiful. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and a great storyteller (John). While it is a long tour and I was a little antsy towards the last two hours, I would still have chosen the same tour. It takes time to get out into the highlands and that's just the way it is! If we had had more time, I would recommend splitting the tour into two days, but we didn't have that luxury.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was fantastic! The natural beauty of the highlands is breathtaking. Our guide and driver was Shelby. She was great! Wonderful storyteller. Her stories bring to life the history and culture of Scotland. Then she sets the mood by putting just the right music for the scenery. Her pacing of the tour - when to stop for photos and breaks - was also well timed. I don't know how she did all that while driving smoothly through the winding narrow roads. My husband liked the tour so much he wants to return and explore more of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The view was as beautiful as you would expect and much more...! Scottish highlands should definitely be in your bucket list :)

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Scott's information was very good, the views of the western glens and lochs was fantastic. Pitlochry was too late in the day to be useful. Missing Pitlochry would not have diminished the value of the trip. It was my best day in Scotland. Worth every pound! even with cloudy weather chasing us! May have enhanced some of the views. I think a whole day devoted just to the western Highlands could fill a day. Unfortunately, the terrain does not afford the luxury to stop to bask in all of this glory at all of the right spots.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message