The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 270 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Heather really knew her history and was entertaining as well. The beauty of the Highlands alone was worth it, too. The B and B was spacious for a B and B, we had a light and spacious bathroom ensuite which was nice, and the owners were welcoming and served excellent Scottish breakfast.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide Gillian was fantastic, very knowledgable and informative. The small group size was very nice. Plenty of time at Stirling Castle and the drive and time in the Highlands was beautiful. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most beautiful and dreamlike journeys of my life...a most peaceful day spent with our guide Michael! He was hospitable and beyond knowledgable of the highlands. He even took us to places not on the agenda,played music for us and never hesitated to answer questions and take pictures of us. He was truly a wonderful guide. The full day together went by so fast yet well paced for resting and snacking.Viator made the whole process painless from beginning to end! I also used the hop on an hop off 48 hour pass and that as well was fantastic and we were able to see all comfortably. Thank you Viator

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent trip. Although it is a long day, it is a great way to see the Scottish Highlands and Loch-Ness in a 1 day trip. We made a number of stops. The boat cruise on Loch-Ness was enjoyable even though we did not see the monster!
Our tour guide Daniel was excellent. He was very informative giving us a wealth of information about Scotland.
He was very enthusiastic and made the trip very interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the optional boat ride on Loch Ness. The highlands was beautiful!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely loved this trip!!!! Our tour director, Heather, was a fanominal story teller! She provided a great mix of historical drama, geography, and personal connections to the area. I really enjoyed that we were a small group as it made stops very convenient for quick photo ops and short breaks. The highlands are beautiful no matter the weather and I can say that as we went through everything! The boat trip on Loch Ness is not to be missed and if you don't mind a little wind, the bench at the front of the boat arethebest seats in the house!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent short tour of the Highlands and Dewars distillary, great guide, clean touring van and good group of people. Towns and stops on the way were perfect, and just enough details privided by "Alan" our driver/guide. Highly recommended for a quick trip out of town.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul was absolutely wonderful! Although he had only started working there the week before, his historical knowledge of the area and his clever humor made us feel like he had been leading these tours for decades. The groups are small and personal, providing multiple van tours instead of herding a huge group of people around in a large tour bus all fighting for space to get any pictures without the rest of the group in the background. The highlands are incredible, and the music and stories Paul provided along the way were hauntingly beautiful. We felt that we had more than enough time in each location, even after adding a side trip to the 'Well of the 7 Heads' and an amazing hidden waterfall not to be missed. We were so pleased with this tour, and will recommend it to anyone looking to get a well-organized day-trip in Scotland worth much more than you pay for it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul is a fantastic guide whose knowledge of his country made our visit to the highlands extremely enjoyable.
A truly amazing day

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superior tour guide (Scott) and experience in the Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Eric was our driver and as we were going through different parts of the highlands, he kept us informed about the history of the place.The tour was marvellous and everything on time. We had short stops every now and then and the place was really lovely and cool comparing it to my country which for me was really lovely. I recommend this tour because one could see breathtaking views of Scotland. Well Done!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was possibly the highlight of our first trip to the UK - Scotland and London. It was a full day, and the amount of time and the routes were perfect. The highlands are magnificent, and the number and choice of stops were excellent. It was also nice being with a small group, totaling only 16. Joe was a great guide: extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and very approachable. And the Scottish music in the van was a nice touch when there was no narration needed. This was our second tour booked through Viator (San Juan, PR was the first), and we will certainly go to them for future tours.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Highlands were stunning. Alan, our tour guide was terrific: fun, patient, extremely well informed, kept us entertained. The bus was cramped and the seats uncomfortable. The a/c didn't work very well. There was a lot of getting on and off the bus which was tiring but worth the effort. The B and B was VERY BASIC and TINY room but good breakfast. Good value and overview.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed this tour of Stirling Castle and the Highlands. However, lunch was quite rushed and therefore not relaxing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The seats provided at the Tattoo were excellent. The excursion provided by the Highlands Tour company in Edinburgh was disappointing. The driver played regular rock and roll music but the trip would have been so much more authentic if he had chosen Scottish music. Also, there were long periods that our guide just drove, with no commentary at all, as we passed sights that seemed to warrant some explanation or historical information. We were rushed at every stop.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message