The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved our tour and tour guide, Alan. Seeing the highlands gave us a great personal appreciation for the beauty of this country. The roads were not too twisty and we made ample stops. Alan is a fun, thoughtful, and patient guide. His voice is very mellow and melodic which can be very soothing, thus, one can easily fade to snooze. At the same time, his detailed stories of the challenging, often bloody history of Scotland and key historical figures makes one want to remain alert, both ears listening. This tour was the highlight of our trip. On my next trip to Endinburgh, a tour from this company is on the agenda.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing!!! The Scottish Highlands are out of this world! The views are incredible and scenery is unbelievable. Tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome trip seeing some amazing locations aroud the scottish highlands. DIdn't see Nessy unfortunatly but still a great trip so much to see in such little time. The tour guide was hilarious and very informative.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is quite a fantastic tour. It is a great advert for Scotland and can easily make you fall in love with the country. Our guide Daniel was awesome with his history, myths and stories about almost every nook and cranny of the Highlands. When we went there, we experienced some rough weather but the enthusiasm of Daniel made almost all of us on the tour brave the blustery winds and getting pelted with hall. Much recommended if you want to know almost everything about Scotland. I had initially planned to drive around but I would not have heard such great Scottish songs, or known about Scottish history if it wasn't for this tour! Fantastic!

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a wonderful day on this trip, even if the weather wasn't great! Staying in Edinburgh,this trip was perfect for giving a taste of what the Scottish Highlands are like and it makes me really want to come back and explore the Highlands more myself. Our coach was very comfortable and our tour guide, Al, was brilliant. He was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of information about the area and the history of Scotland. The scenery was breath-taking and even though the poor weather did reduce its visibility, it didn't spoil it too much. I can only imagine how incredible it would be on a day with good weather.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We had a brilliant guide and driver on the tour, Mac. He was a fascinating storyteller with great knowledge about the history of Scotland. Listening to his passionate performance in the comfortable seat was almost like sitting in a movie, we could almost hear the dins of the battles. Actually, the tour itself was also like watching a film about the Highlands: breathtaking scenery seen through the window of a van. Yes, we stopped at the most spectacular sites for a few minutes to take photos, but in our opinion, visiting less places for more time would have been to the advantage of the tour. That is the reason behind the three points.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Worth every cent paid. I was expecting to see the lush greenery at the Highlands but I got more than what I asked for. Because it was snowing last week, we got to see endless snowcapped mountains. The view from the Three Sisters was truly breathtaking. Two thumbs up!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic Tour. Our tour guide Jonathon was brilliant, very informative and entertaining. The sites on the tour were amazing and incredible value for money. Plenty of opportunities for tea/coffee/toilet breaks. The tour made us fall in love with Scotland even more, our hearts sing out to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was my dream to have a trip in the Highlands and finally we did it! It was a wonderful trip and the landscapes were breathtaking. I was worried about the weather but we were really lucky because it was optimal. This trip is perfect to see a lot in just one day. We travelled a lot but the trip in the van was well accompanied by our guide Mac that was very knowledge about Scottish history and his tales were always followed by Celtic music and popular songs. He also played the pipes for us! We made a lot of stops in wonderful locations to take pictures and have a break. We stopped in Loch Ness for one hour and if you want you can go on the boat on the lake. I will always remember this trip cause you made my dream come true! Thanks a lot!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent!! Can't be more perfect. It was a beautiful day in highlands.
And the guide ( Andy) was Amazing he's like encyclopedia.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Efficiency and Customer Service:
- I made a booking mistake while booking online, but the tour company got back to me in good time and was very accommodating with the changes I needed to make.
- Buses left promptly and were in clean good condition.
- Guides at the departure point were very organized and helpful.
Tour:
- MacKenzie was THE best guide I have ever met. His passionate, humorous and very creative storytelling brought the Highlands to life for me like no guide book or history book ever could. He was so knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the Highlands and it's history. I could almost see the clansmen riding down the hills, and the battles happening right before eyes as Mac told his stories. He would tell them as we passed each site and it was the best way to see the countryside because you can appreciate both the history and the beauty of each area.
- We saw a lot of things in this tour so I understand why we could only stay for certain amounts of time. But even with so much on our itinerary, I didn't feel overly rushed. The company is also a green company so they do use part of proceeds to replant trees. I also admired how Mac would clean up litter at every stop we had.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The bus was shockingly chilly, but everything else on this trip was amazing. Even with the fading light of winter cutting the afternoon short, it was well worth it. Our guide Mac was amazing. In addition to rattling off dates and facts about the history of Scotland, he also made what could be dry accounts interesting instead. He also told lively personal stories about his adventures with his kilt and bagpiping across the world. Furthermore, he picked up trash at every stop we made, helping to preserve the beauty of the Highlands. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I really didn't like this particular tour hated the Audio Guide rather have the tour guide commentary better. However the scenery was the most amazing I've seen. Highlands are my favorite place in the world.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh with Audio Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Joined Tour: February

POSITIVES:
-Great way to see the Highlands in a short period of time
-If youre lucky, like us, the group could get fairly small during the off season. Just 8 adults on the tour, made everything more efficient.
-Great view
-Clean and comfortable mini bus
-Informative and friendly tour guide Eric was ours!
-Enough breaks for coffee/snacks/leg stretching/toilette
-Enough time for picture taking
-Inveraray town was a nice stop

NEGATIVES:
-Only ONE 1 Castle open during the winter season!!!! You can only get into Doune Castle.
-Inveraray Castle: We walked around the castle to take pictures, but it was not open.
-Kilchurn Castle and Sterling Castle: only viewed from a great distance. Need a zoom lens. But we did stop for a quick photo.
-If you are used to mountains, lakes and countryside views similar to Austrian Alps or the Canadian mountain scenery then youll probably get bored by the view.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful day. James was a fantastic tour guide. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing the beautiful landscape of the Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have never been on a tour before and wanted to see more of Scotland in the two days we were there.
The tour was 12 hours, so I was a bit worried about the length of time, but it went so fast that before you knew it you are back in Edinburgh again.
Our tour guide was Johnathan and he was absolutely amazing. If he didn't have us in laughter he was filling us with amazing facts and history about the area's we were driving through or stopping at. He went out of his way to make all of us happy.
I also think with it being a small-group tour it was more personal. The tour van was so comfortable and you got to interact with everyone.
We had clear blue skies the whole trip, so got to see amazing sights of the Highlands /Glencoe and of course Loch Ness. We did the boat trip and really enjoyed that.
I honestly hope that all tours around the UK are just like this because it makes the trip so enjoyable that you want to do them again and again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marves our tour guide and driver is great. The van was very comfortable. He provided us with lots of information and kept our safety in priority when navigating the roads at the highlands. We had a very comfortable journey that's filled with wonderful scenic memories of Scotland thanks to Marves

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see the highlands in a day. Stops and the guide were excellent. He provided a wonderful historical overview for us.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was really good and made it an interesting day. Gail was willing to stop for photo opportunities which was great. Scenery was beautiful with snow in the highlands. Disappointingly Nessie was not in residence, although we didn't really expect we would see her.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Driver David was extremely knowledgeable,enthusiastic and made the trip very interesting. We saw the Scottish Highlands at its best.. Very highly recommend this wonderful trip that is well worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and explained Mary Queen of Scots history in an entertaining way. For Doune Castle, admission isn't included but being part of the tour group gets you a discount and costs a little less than £5. Inverary Castle was closed which was a bit of a downer, but we were able to explore the little town. There were many breathtaking views of the lochs, castles and highlands, and plenty of landscapes worthy of panorama pictures. Overall this tour was definitely worthwhile!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was not too impressed with the boat ride on Loch Ness. However, the tour guide was incredible and gave us so much history and information about Scotland. (Thus the 5 star rating.) The highlands are beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Al was very nice and knowledgeable. He made the experience with his stories and jokes. We really enjoyed the places visited as well as a few additional photo stops. I feel for the length of travel for this tour that we did get to see and experience a fair amount of the highlands. I would have enjoyed a little more time in some of the little villages but all in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Ally, was informative, knowledgable and hilarious. He could tell a story and make it come alive in such an entertaining way. Thanks Ally! We don't usually do tours, preferring to do the trips ourselves but this time we decided on a tour because of time. The Highlands speak for themselves

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message