The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

First - our tour guide ALAN was AWESOME - Alan the Awesome. Pl let him know. He was very knowledgeable - gave us the right amount of history not to bore us and threw in some interesting trivia too.
Perfect group size.
Just the right amount of activity for the day - it gave us enough time to explore without being rushed.
Really liked the bus size and it was very comfortable.
The weather was great too.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was just my boyfriend and I doing the tasting, which allowed the guide to lead it in whichever direction we wished. It was personalized to our tastes (which was good because I am not a big fan of whisky!)

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A dream come true for a fan of Islay Single Malt. In depth tours and tastings at 3 distilleries and mini-tours and tastings at 3 more. Even an opportunity to pour your own bottle right from the cask, visit historic sites, walk through a peat bog, and stake your claim to a square foot of Laphroig (and collect a wee bottle of 10 year old from them as rent for use of your property). The cottages at Bowmore were delightful. The trip to and from Edinburgh is on a very comfortable coach and ferries. Lots of stops along the way to visit Lochs, castles and quaint villages. Our driver and guide, Emily, with her university education in the history of Scotland was extremely informative and entertaining.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent short tour of the Highlands and Dewars distillary, great guide, clean touring van and good group of people. Towns and stops on the way were perfect, and just enough details privided by "Alan" our driver/guide. Highly recommended for a quick trip out of town.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, Barney was great, B and B was awesome in Grantown

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, Barney was great, B and B was awesome in Grantown.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Trip and very well organized! I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Food was lovely and fresh. Lovely rustic little restaurant. Ever knowledgeable about whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Very expensive given the dinner provided and the whiskey tasting was also very poor (the waitress who did the tasting couldn't answer all our questions e.g. What is a blend?). Instead I would rather recommend the dinner and tasting done by "The Scottish Whisky experience". It's cheaper and much better. You can also book it online on there website.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lovely day tour with an excellent guide, Heather, who was eager to share her beloved Scotland and many entertaining stories about Mary, Queen of Scots, Rob Roy, Wallace (Braveheart) and other historical and geographical tidbits. She was a careful driver and sensitive to the needs of her passengers. The high point of the tour was a stop at the breathtaking Queen's View lookout, a lunch stop in the charming town of Pitlochry, and a visit to the distillery. She also played wonderful Scottish music during the drive back which enhanced the experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour offered great variety of destinations... interesting villages, beautiful scenery, wonderful short and easy hike to the waterfall, and views of the highlands and locks. Dan, our guide, provided interesting and informative narrative along the way that was superb. All in all, a terrific experience and great value.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about Scottish history. This tour packs a lot in.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message