The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was great - excellent pace and lots of whisky! Never felt rushed at any of the stops, and the guide was very humorous too. Accomodations were amazing!! I loved the guest house I think they really pick well and at great value. If you like Whisky this tour is for you!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the day. David was a great guide, so pleasant and knowledgeable. The trip was the perfect length. The sights were lovely.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

David was a pleasant, knowledgeable guide and good driver, and the actual tour was great, which is why I gave it 5 stars. However, the check-in process was a bit of a pain - tickets were bought online well in advance but still had to check in within 24 hrs before the actual trip, and then again on the day of the tour on site. I understand from your perspective why, but it was a bit of a pain for tourists coming in from another country who had to interrupt activities/plans to concern ourselves with that, pay international cell phone rates to make the phone call, and then get transportation to the shared office in the money exchange place on High Street where the remote office is because the call wasn't made during office hours. That said, the tour was worth it.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip was all it was promised to be, only thing I would ask is that the short stop at Doone Castle is better promoted. This was the castle they filmed the castle scenes for Monty Python and the Holy Grail! I didn't find this out till later.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great and I would recommend it to anyone! Our tour guide, Aaron, was fantastic and really gave us a wonderful experience. My only criticism would be to warn travelers that the roads in the highlands are a bit curvaceous and could cause motion sickness. However, it was an awesome day!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I finally got my photo with the whisky I like. Just a shame I do not have the right nose to be able to work there on a full time basis. The waterfalls was just fantastic. A great trip.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! The guide was incredibly knowledgable and fun. The scenery was beautiful and it was a wonderful day. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Eric was an amazing fountain of interesting information, both on whiskey and Scotland in gereral.. Ask for Eric.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jamie was an excellent guide. Perfect background stories, very guiding. The tour itself is a perfect roundtrip in order to get an impression of the Lowlands/Highlands. The combination of nature, old towns and whisky is perfect. We enjoyed it very much. Tip: always decide for the cask tasting!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great and our guides were very knowledgeable about Scotland and the areas we visited. The pace of the tour was great, did not feel rushed and was able to enjoy the scenery. The tour bus was clean and comfortable and made traveling very enjoyable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized, very professional guide. Should not miss.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Grant was wonderful! It was an action-packed tour that gave a great overview of the highlands, lochs, and a whiskey distillery. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely recommend! Jane was a great guide and really took the time to ensure we enjoyed our trip. This area of Scotland is very beautiful and had me wanting to go back immediately. Also enjoyed how this was a small group tour, I think there were 10 of us total.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an excellent tour, the driver was great, loved his country and his Whisky which greatly added to the tour and experience plus the knowledge gained about Scotland and Whisky.
The only negative being that we were not told that the tours where not included in the tour package.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

David was excellent. Perfect amount of knowledge, story telling and willingness to let us just soak in the scene. Would defintely recommend!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a lovely day in the Highlands. Our tour guide Joe was fun and knowledgeable and made every effort to ensure we all had the best time possible.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you like scotch take the tour

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was relaxing, informative and entertaining. It was an excellent balance of sightseeing from the van and stopping to walk and explore a variety of venues from nature, history and of course, the distillery. A lot was packed into a single day.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a wonderful and tast trip. From the beautiful scenery to of course the whiskey tasting - a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great! Very good guide, lots of stories,good weather during those 3 days.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good! Our guide was very nice, and on the way back he was telling us story about Queen Mary of Scots. Fun times :

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic albeit tame 3 day tour of the whisky Speyside area in the Highlands of Scotland. Bruce as tour guide kept things interesting with historical, cultural and personal observations using oratory skills reflective of Scotland's finest. Various short side trips showcasing some Highland treasures not part of the official itinerary made for a pleasant surprise. And the music - Lau! Bruce - try Trembling Bells! Thanks!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide told us interesting things about Scotland on the ride, but left the whisky information to the guides at the distilleries. One needs to pay for tastings at the distillery beyond the cost of the tour. Both distilleries were closer to Glasgow then Edinburgh making me wonder why they did not depart from Glasgow, which would have been more convenient for me. Once we got on the road, we learned that lunch at Loch Lomond was cancelled since the road was going to be closed. We went to an alternate location which was nice but somewhat disappointing. Having said all that I would probably do it again.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a wonderful day! Our guides were fantastic, the scenery beautiful and the whiskey tasty!
This was a great way to see some things outside of Edinburgh city without the hassle of renting a car or trying to drive on the opposite side of the road. Party Pete is a wealth of knowledge and delightful company. This was one of the best things we did on our trip.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message