• USD ($)
  • English
The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lovely day tour with an excellent guide, Heather, who was eager to share her beloved Scotland and many entertaining stories about Mary, Queen of Scots, Rob Roy, Wallace (Braveheart) and other historical and geographical tidbits. She was a careful driver and sensitive to the needs of her passengers. The high point of the tour was a stop at the breathtaking Queen's View lookout, a lunch stop in the charming town of Pitlochry, and a visit to the distillery. She also played wonderful Scottish music during the drive back which enhanced the experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour offered great variety of destinations... interesting villages, beautiful scenery, wonderful short and easy hike to the waterfall, and views of the highlands and locks. Dan, our guide, provided interesting and informative narrative along the way that was superb. All in all, a terrific experience and great value.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide. Lots of additional stops for photo ops and food. Always on schedule but never rushed good choices if distillers . One of the highlights for me was the time we spent at the cooperage. I am really not a drinker and it was great to see coopers and interns working.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour but don't expect any cheap whiskey ANYWHERE in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The whiskey tutor was knowledgeable and a good teacher. He is well worth talking to before you go to the Scotch Whiskey Heritage Center Bar. The restaurant was not, however, "one of the finest gastropubs in Edinburgh". The food was awful. It was not what was advertised online. It was a major disappointment.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Party Pete was absolutely delightful and so knowledgable and funny. Countryside was breathtaking and scotch tastings yummy. Great group of people to share three days with. Felt like I'd known them forever. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I was under the impression when booking this that it would be with a group. Our dinner and tasting was just with the four in my party. Meal was ok and tasting portion would have been more fun with a larger group.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The restaurant is an organic restaurant with an excellent menu, using seasonal ingredients. The wild venison was incredible! The whisky tasting afterwards was both informative and fun, and a great overview of Scotch whiskey. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and had a wonderful time. Alie (sorry if I'm misspelling) was our driver and tour guide and he was terrific--he has a lot of historical knowledge, was funny, and he kept us going! We had a great group of people who started as strangers and ended as friends. This is a great way to experience different whiskey distilleries and to see the beautiful Scottish countryside. We would definitely do another tour in the future.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip to Islay started with difficulty in so far as we were initially directed to gather at the wrong location. Viator made a feeble attempt to correct this error prior to our trip sending us a vague imprecise email with the correct gathering location that made no attempt to illuminate the error. In any case a staff member from the tour company, found us at the wrong location and redirected us to the correct location. Unfortunately all but two seats were taken and my wife and I spent the initial portion of the tour seated in different areas of the bus, a situation that corrected itself the next day and for the remainder of the trip. The Whisky Tour itself was phenomenal and more than made up for the initial displeasure we experienced. We would make two suggestions. First, all participants should be informed that they will get one, and only one, opportunity to purchase whisky at each distillery. Unfortunately we put off the purchase of a select whisky at the Bowman Distillery and never had another opportunity to make a purchase despite staying at the Bowman Distillery cottages themselves. More our loss because 1/we could not find the selected whisky in Edinburgh upon our return and 2/ the prices are significantly higher in Edinburgh - a point that was not emphasized on the tour. Lastly, we tipped our guide Emily and our driver Jamie generously because of their outstanding work. But, at no time, were tipping guidelines discussed or even mentioned. Overall we enjoyed the tour which was both educational and rewarding in oh so many ways. The Bowman Distillery cottages were everything you would expect and more. We had a power loss on one occasion when we started both the dishwasher and the washer/dryer at the same time, but the breaker was easy to reset. We could have used to directions for the washer/dryer, but we managed. We'd go on the tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a fantastic time on the Whisky Tour! Our guide Ali was amazing and made the trip even better. He was super knowledgeable about Scottish history and actually cared about us having the best time ever. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in learning about whiskey and seeing the beautiful highland area.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great dinner. Food was delicious - would find the restaurant again. And person leading whiskey tasting was interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour is the perfect mix of whisky tasting and sight seeing. Our tour guide, Sarah, was excellent! She was very knowledgable and helpful. The accommodation at Bowmore Distillery was great, comfy beds, hot showers and a large kitchen/living area. I really can't fault this tour, if I wanted to be picky my only complaint is that I requested a double bed but was given a room with twin beds instead. Book this tour, you won't be dissapointed :)

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message