• USD ($)
  • English
The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was absolutely fantastic. The food and atmospher was brilliant. While I am not a fan of Whiskey myself, I found the tasting informative and interesting. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and the location is far enough from the tourist strip for there to be locals present, but close enough for you to walk there within 10 minutes. I would recommend this venue to anyone.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

An excellent meal in a genuine gastro-pub. Very knowledgeable tasting tutor. The only criticism is that they were slow to remove the dog whch kept coming to our table, despite having been told that my husband suffers badly from asthma. Otherwise a delightful evening.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The food was fresh and very tasty! We ended up with a private tasting by a very knowledgeable instructor. We learned alot! We would recommend this event.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really good tour the person instructing on the tastings was very accommoding and informative. Highly recommended

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The food in this restaurant was of very good quality. As a non experienced Whisky drinker, the Whisky tasting experience gave us a very good insight into and allowed us to sample the various types of Whisky's produced. Our guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The trip was made amazing by Rolland our driver/ guide. He brought to life the legends of highlands through meticulous enacting of the tales. You can imagine those characters roaming on the highlands. He took the whole experience to new levels.

Aldrin Thayalakal

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Both my dad and I enjoyed this trip immensely. The places we went were v interesting and made all the more so by our guide, 'Party Pete', as his passion and knowledge for the history of Scotland was contagious; he was also a most affable chap. We left wanting to know so much more about Scottish history and will no doubt come back and use Rabbies again.

Thankyou :)

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Booked this on Burns Night and had a lovely 3 course meal to start with in the restaurant on the 1st floor. Although it's a small room, it didn't feel cramped. The haggis neeps and tatties were tastey and the chocolate torte was so chocolately - really enjoyed the meal. The staff were attentive and it was a nice way to start the evening. After the meal, the whisky tasting took place on the ground floor. We were given 4 whisky samples from 4 regions with good explanations and information about the history and the making of each distinct whisky region. I don't like whisky so was able to sample a mixture of 4 vodka or gin liquers which the pub sold. The lady who was giving the talk was very knowledgable and it was a really enjoyable night. A 5th whisky was given at the end depending on which region you preferred so it was good value for money.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful scenery of the highlands. I went in winter, was a bit cold, but the views were definitely worth it!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a really good night. Normally not big alcohol drinkers but we were interested in the cuisine. The restaurant was small and quaint. Very welcoming. The meal and the service were superb. After our meal we sat at another table for the whiskey tasting. It was very relaxed (that was even before the whiskey!) and informative and the tots of whiskey were a good size. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole night and would definitely recommend this on a weekend "to do" list.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing experience and I'm so glad I signed up. The (vegan) food was terrific and I learned so much about Scotch Whisky, which was my goal. I was the only person who signed up for that particular evening but Iglu honored my reservation and gave me a wonderful one-on-one tasting experience that allowed me to learn all about the different regions where Scotch Whisky is produced and the different tastes. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn about Scotch Whisky or have an enjoyable dining and Scotch tasting experience in a lovely city.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you are really into your whisky's then do this. The guide knew his whisky's inside and out, he was amazing. We also ate at an organic restaurant which was a welcome and wonderful surprise (we mostly eat organic when at home) and the food was SUPURB! Can not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time on the trip. Our guide Mike was outstanding. Beautiful country to see even though the weather didn't cooperate the entire trip. Would have done another trip if we had more time in the area.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message