The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Scotch whisky education and tasting with a moment of fine tuning your senses. This was highly informative and fun as well. It was amazing to see all of the collection and then try a wide range of excellent whiskys.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Melanie O

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We decided to do the tour through the distillery, the admission fee isn and #39;t included, but it was really interesting. The time we spent at the water falls was too short, we took the roundwalk instead of the same way back, so we got back to the bus, too late.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lorraine A W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

A bit disappointing - a lot of yak and not a lot of whisky

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Jeff was very nice and had all the right information. A great way to see Scotland's countryside with a little whisky!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Absolutely great! Didn't know until after I bookedthat the tastings were additional, but still well worth it. I'm not a whisky drinker, but the husband is. I still really enjoyed being taken through the history and process. Paul was very informative about Scottish history and really made the day. Also met a lovely couple who we shared a table for lunch. Definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dorothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A good learning and whiskey tasting experience.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Emmy Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable and friendly! He regaled us with the tale of Mary, Queen of Scots on the drive to and from our destination. It set just the right tone as we traveled through the countryside. The distillery tours did not disappoint, and the place we stopped at for lunch was so quaint and beautiful! I highly recommend this tour for any whiskey enthusiast.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ernesto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fantástico time. Our guide was friendly, very well informed, very keen to help us and make the best out of our time. In fact, Sandi was a fantastic host.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

shercole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our very knowledgeable and congenial tour guide made this a great day. The van was comfortable, the scenery was beautiful, and it was a perfect introduction to the Scottish Highlands. If we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely book more tours!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So glad I decided to do this, and our tour guide Mac was truly phenomenal. I expected to be driven around and let out from time to time to take a few pictures... instead what I got was a very personal, incredibly informative, and wildly entertaining journey. I'm sure the others are great too, but if you can, ask for him by name and go on whatever tour he's leading.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lillian United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

First of all, Sandy from Rabbie's was a truly stellar guide! He was so knowledgable and provided really great commentary during all aspects of the journey. I also loved that he played Scottish folk music on the way back to Edinburgh, so lovely. Perfect mix of taking care of the logistical details and letting us have free time. Glengoyne was a magical place - didn't want to leave. Not so impressed with Deanston though, might be nice to choose another distillery in the future.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jessica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour and I'm so glad I booked it - tour was with local company Rabbies and our tour guide James was fantastic, he was a great and funny story teller and really made the bus component of the tour fun.
The scenery was beautiful, even with it being cold and wet. The whisky tour was informative and delicious. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Boon Keng N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour allow us to taste different of whiskey and find out what is the distinct different of each kind of whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

lindataylor24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and Steve our guide and driver was awesome. Full of knowledge and humour. Very helpful and has lovely knees. Nice to be in a small group. The cottages were very nice and of course the distilleries were an interesting experience. If you're a whiskey lover then this tour is for you.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small bus choice is perfect. We observed the lost time the large buses had at each of our stops in getting 40 people back on board. Our 16 person bus had enough trouble as it was! Our guide Dave was very well versed, funny and shared much with the group. Would have given this a 4 star only to get your attention but it really is a 5 star. Don't pass up the straight from the barrel Scotch tasting its worth the extra.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Martha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mahri was excellent as the driver and tour guide. Lots of interesting facts shared. We enjoyed thoroughly.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best time, Mike kept us entertained and shared his knowledge of Scottish history with us. We really enjoyed the whiskey and the tour.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dave was a great Guide and we enjoied the small group and concept of the tour operator.
The tour is great if you want stunning views of Lochs and Glens and a great Whiskey experience.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything we wanted, two different distilleries, a nice guide and a small group.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christopher B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I preferred this tour over the day-trip to Loch Ness. There was less driving but the scenery was still just as beautiful. The guides were enthusiastic, entertaining and full of knowledge. The Glengoyle distillery tour was my favourite.

I still feel that prepaid tours should cover the entire day. The one downside of this tour is that apart from the bus ride, you have to pay for everything else once you get there which I think is a bit silly. I see why the company does it to give the customer more of a choice but it's pretty clear why everyone was there. The cost of the distillery tours should have been included in the overall price. This is also the first tour I've been on where you have to pay for your own lunch. I much prefer the idea of having the whole tour group sit on the one table and the restaurant can serve share platters of Scottish cuisine.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

gsather United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was excellent. Our guide Gill did great job of explaining history of everything we were seeing and more. Scotch was very good as well. Tour was well worth rhe money.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great and the company that organized the tour Rabbies was terrific. Our guide was knowledgeable, flexible, and did a great job of ensuring we knew where we were going, history of the region, and that we stayed on schedule but he wasn't overbearing about it.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

mrs o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, great driver and guide. Liked the pace.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Glenn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous tour guide. Interesting tour. Very comfortable bus. Easy to book and diections on where to meet were clear. We loved everything about it.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message