The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour with Peter ("Party Pete") was fabulous. The group were great, the stops on the tour were a nice balance of sightseeing and distillery visits, schedule was excellent with appropriate stops to stretch our legs, and the Mercedes Minivan was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Peter knows his country and can answer many questions and has a very winning personality. The hotel booked for us was a fine 3 star in a nice village with a good bar and restaurant and great service. My wife and I were very pleased with the whole experience and recommend this tour to any couples or singles wanting to see the Highlands and experience the joys of Scotch Whiskey.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The guide Don was fantastic. Although we didn't see any waterfalls and the distillery was extra. Still recommended as we saw a lot of Scotland .

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I was the only person at the tasting and was only advised by email (which I wasn’t looking at while away). However, the staff did a great job accommodating me and I enjoyed the food and tastings.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

First - our tour guide ALAN was AWESOME - Alan the Awesome. Pl let him know. He was very knowledgeable - gave us the right amount of history not to bore us and threw in some interesting trivia too.
Perfect group size.
Just the right amount of activity for the day - it gave us enough time to explore without being rushed.
Really liked the bus size and it was very comfortable.
The weather was great too.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was just my boyfriend and I doing the tasting, which allowed the guide to lead it in whichever direction we wished. It was personalized to our tastes (which was good because I am not a big fan of whisky!)

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A dream come true for a fan of Islay Single Malt. In depth tours and tastings at 3 distilleries and mini-tours and tastings at 3 more. Even an opportunity to pour your own bottle right from the cask, visit historic sites, walk through a peat bog, and stake your claim to a square foot of Laphroig (and collect a wee bottle of 10 year old from them as rent for use of your property). The cottages at Bowmore were delightful. The trip to and from Edinburgh is on a very comfortable coach and ferries. Lots of stops along the way to visit Lochs, castles and quaint villages. Our driver and guide, Emily, with her university education in the history of Scotland was extremely informative and entertaining.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent short tour of the Highlands and Dewars distillary, great guide, clean touring van and good group of people. Towns and stops on the way were perfect, and just enough details privided by "Alan" our driver/guide. Highly recommended for a quick trip out of town.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, Barney was great, B and B was awesome in Grantown

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, Barney was great, B and B was awesome in Grantown.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Trip and very well organized! I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Food was lovely and fresh. Lovely rustic little restaurant. Ever knowledgeable about whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message