The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emmy Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable and friendly! He regaled us with the tale of Mary, Queen of Scots on the drive to and from our destination. It set just the right tone as we traveled through the countryside. The distillery tours did not disappoint, and the place we stopped at for lunch was so quaint and beautiful! I highly recommend this tour for any whiskey enthusiast.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ernesto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fantástico time. Our guide was friendly, very well informed, very keen to help us and make the best out of our time. In fact, Sandi was a fantastic host.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

shercole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our very knowledgeable and congenial tour guide made this a great day. The van was comfortable, the scenery was beautiful, and it was a perfect introduction to the Scottish Highlands. If we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely book more tours!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So glad I decided to do this, and our tour guide Mac was truly phenomenal. I expected to be driven around and let out from time to time to take a few pictures... instead what I got was a very personal, incredibly informative, and wildly entertaining journey. I'm sure the others are great too, but if you can, ask for him by name and go on whatever tour he's leading.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lillian United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

First of all, Sandy from Rabbie's was a truly stellar guide! He was so knowledgable and provided really great commentary during all aspects of the journey. I also loved that he played Scottish folk music on the way back to Edinburgh, so lovely. Perfect mix of taking care of the logistical details and letting us have free time. Glengoyne was a magical place - didn't want to leave. Not so impressed with Deanston though, might be nice to choose another distillery in the future.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jessica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour and I'm so glad I booked it - tour was with local company Rabbies and our tour guide James was fantastic, he was a great and funny story teller and really made the bus component of the tour fun.
The scenery was beautiful, even with it being cold and wet. The whisky tour was informative and delicious. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Boon Keng N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour allow us to taste different of whiskey and find out what is the distinct different of each kind of whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

lindataylor24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and Steve our guide and driver was awesome. Full of knowledge and humour. Very helpful and has lovely knees. Nice to be in a small group. The cottages were very nice and of course the distilleries were an interesting experience. If you're a whiskey lover then this tour is for you.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small bus choice is perfect. We observed the lost time the large buses had at each of our stops in getting 40 people back on board. Our 16 person bus had enough trouble as it was! Our guide Dave was very well versed, funny and shared much with the group. Would have given this a 4 star only to get your attention but it really is a 5 star. Don't pass up the straight from the barrel Scotch tasting its worth the extra.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Martha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mahri was excellent as the driver and tour guide. Lots of interesting facts shared. We enjoyed thoroughly.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Edwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best time, Mike kept us entertained and shared his knowledge of Scottish history with us. We really enjoyed the whiskey and the tour.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dave was a great Guide and we enjoied the small group and concept of the tour operator.
The tour is great if you want stunning views of Lochs and Glens and a great Whiskey experience.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything we wanted, two different distilleries, a nice guide and a small group.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christopher B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I preferred this tour over the day-trip to Loch Ness. There was less driving but the scenery was still just as beautiful. The guides were enthusiastic, entertaining and full of knowledge. The Glengoyle distillery tour was my favourite.

I still feel that prepaid tours should cover the entire day. The one downside of this tour is that apart from the bus ride, you have to pay for everything else once you get there which I think is a bit silly. I see why the company does it to give the customer more of a choice but it's pretty clear why everyone was there. The cost of the distillery tours should have been included in the overall price. This is also the first tour I've been on where you have to pay for your own lunch. I much prefer the idea of having the whole tour group sit on the one table and the restaurant can serve share platters of Scottish cuisine.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

gsather United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was excellent. Our guide Gill did great job of explaining history of everything we were seeing and more. Scotch was very good as well. Tour was well worth rhe money.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great and the company that organized the tour Rabbies was terrific. Our guide was knowledgeable, flexible, and did a great job of ensuring we knew where we were going, history of the region, and that we stayed on schedule but he wasn't overbearing about it.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

mrs o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, great driver and guide. Liked the pace.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Glenn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous tour guide. Interesting tour. Very comfortable bus. Easy to book and diections on where to meet were clear. We loved everything about it.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Liane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great. We have seen a lot in a short time and the landscape is simply amazing, of course. But what made this tour really great and unforgettable was our driver Ian. He knows a lot about the history of Scotland and told us interesting stories and things about the areas we were driving through. Really nice guy.
The Whisky distillery is an own story :-.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rob

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The whisky tour was incredible. The distilleries we went to and the sights we say in the Highlands were amazing. I was able to take an incredible album of pictures. After 3 or 4 distillery tours we got the picture and didn't need more tours. We just wanted the whisky tastings. We stayed 2 nights in Grantown in a bed and breakfast which was not the best of towns. It was too small, there wasn't any nightlife, and the restaurant options were limited. It would of been nice to stay in Inverness instead.

Our tour guide Mac and driver Pete were incredible. Mac was very knowledgable and he was a great storyteller. If you have the option, make sure to ask for them as your guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Aarin G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had such beautiful weather. Richard was great company with really entertaining and informative stories about the area.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jolie G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour - great sites at a great pace. Tour guide was fun, knowledgeable and funny!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bradd S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Heather was a fantastic guide, full of historical knowledge combined with humor and timing. Very pleasurable trip through the highlands. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

ronald f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic trip well organized and our driver Peter was amazing well worth taking

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was so much fun. We are both very happy we made it. Our driver, Gordon, was witty and very entertaining with stories about Scotland. Both distilleries were worth the trip. The tours were fun and the whisky was phenomenal. Don't hesitate to book this tour if you are looking for something fun and interesting to do for a day. It is a very well organized and reliable company. The small group, fewer than 15, makes for a more pleasant experience.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message