The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of four 2 adult sons had a tremendous time on this Rabbie's tour. Our guide Richard was outstanding, entertaining and informing us throughout. Both distilleries were terrific. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the whiskies. The views along the way were spectacular, and Loch Lomond was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very well planned and guided. The guide was able to alter the sites according to peoples interests.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

categage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good experience. Our guide, Mike, told us about the history of sights we passed and about the current political and economic climate of the country. This was one of the best day trips we've been on. And the distillery tours were great. It was nice to see an historic distillery as well as a new one. Strongly recommend purchasing the double tasting at each.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ozlet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our driver/guide Heather was the best driver/guide we have never seen before.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour, not only for the information about the Distillery but the countryside and tour guide information were excellent. We would do this all over again

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ellen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My party of four is delighted to now be Scotch Whiskey Snobs. We had a great time learning how to appreciate different varieties of Scotch. We all love Scotch and now we are better able to appreciate some of the subtleties. This class is different from the usual tour of a distillery - less info about the process of making Scotch and more info about how the different characteristics are produced. Ian was a fun teacher, who enjoys the greater world of Scotch. Plenty of Scotch to taste - we had more to do in the afternoon and were pleased to leave without needing a nap.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Lisa W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour. Saw a lot of different places. Would have been nice to spend a bit more time on the bus as most stops were 10 or 30 minutes with the execption of lunch. The walks were flat and short. The Queens View lookout was well worth it.
We really enjoyed the whisket tour and you got the option of a standard tour or one with a tasting straight from the cask.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn A B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was fun! Highlands tour company is so much better then rabbies.. Don and #39;t take a tour that is rabbies. The guide was funny and informative. He knew so much.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lou H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A lot of fun. Enjoyed walking around and seeing the waterfalls. The distillery tour was fun too, but if you've been to one before they're not much different.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Scotch whisky education and tasting with a moment of fine tuning your senses. This was highly informative and fun as well. It was amazing to see all of the collection and then try a wide range of excellent whiskys.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Melanie O

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We decided to do the tour through the distillery, the admission fee isn and #39;t included, but it was really interesting. The time we spent at the water falls was too short, we took the roundwalk instead of the same way back, so we got back to the bus, too late.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lorraine A W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

A bit disappointing - a lot of yak and not a lot of whisky

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Jeff was very nice and had all the right information. A great way to see Scotland's countryside with a little whisky!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Absolutely great! Didn't know until after I bookedthat the tastings were additional, but still well worth it. I'm not a whisky drinker, but the husband is. I still really enjoyed being taken through the history and process. Paul was very informative about Scottish history and really made the day. Also met a lovely couple who we shared a table for lunch. Definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dorothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A good learning and whiskey tasting experience.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Emmy Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable and friendly! He regaled us with the tale of Mary, Queen of Scots on the drive to and from our destination. It set just the right tone as we traveled through the countryside. The distillery tours did not disappoint, and the place we stopped at for lunch was so quaint and beautiful! I highly recommend this tour for any whiskey enthusiast.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ernesto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fantástico time. Our guide was friendly, very well informed, very keen to help us and make the best out of our time. In fact, Sandi was a fantastic host.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

shercole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our very knowledgeable and congenial tour guide made this a great day. The van was comfortable, the scenery was beautiful, and it was a perfect introduction to the Scottish Highlands. If we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely book more tours!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So glad I decided to do this, and our tour guide Mac was truly phenomenal. I expected to be driven around and let out from time to time to take a few pictures... instead what I got was a very personal, incredibly informative, and wildly entertaining journey. I'm sure the others are great too, but if you can, ask for him by name and go on whatever tour he's leading.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lillian United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

First of all, Sandy from Rabbie's was a truly stellar guide! He was so knowledgable and provided really great commentary during all aspects of the journey. I also loved that he played Scottish folk music on the way back to Edinburgh, so lovely. Perfect mix of taking care of the logistical details and letting us have free time. Glengoyne was a magical place - didn't want to leave. Not so impressed with Deanston though, might be nice to choose another distillery in the future.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jessica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour and I'm so glad I booked it - tour was with local company Rabbies and our tour guide James was fantastic, he was a great and funny story teller and really made the bus component of the tour fun.
The scenery was beautiful, even with it being cold and wet. The whisky tour was informative and delicious. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Boon Keng N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour allow us to taste different of whiskey and find out what is the distinct different of each kind of whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

lindataylor24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and Steve our guide and driver was awesome. Full of knowledge and humour. Very helpful and has lovely knees. Nice to be in a small group. The cottages were very nice and of course the distilleries were an interesting experience. If you're a whiskey lover then this tour is for you.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small bus choice is perfect. We observed the lost time the large buses had at each of our stops in getting 40 people back on board. Our 16 person bus had enough trouble as it was! Our guide Dave was very well versed, funny and shared much with the group. Would have given this a 4 star only to get your attention but it really is a 5 star. Don't pass up the straight from the barrel Scotch tasting its worth the extra.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message