The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very good tour with tasting. I learned a lot.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Eugenia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this class. It is much better than a tour you would get at a distillery as you learn a lot about whisky, not just one brand but many. Our teacher was wonderful, unfortunately I'm terrible at names, but he chose the whiskys we tried at the end of the class and it was a very good sampling. I would recommend this to any novice whisky or experienced drinker. BTW I learned that my husband has a very strong nose!! After almost 30 years it was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bruce was fabulous and so was the tour! I highly recommend it if you want to see a beautiful part of Scotland and learn all about speyside whisky. A lot of fun. We stopped at quite a few distilleries. Just loved every minute.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bruce was fabulous and so was the tour! I highly recommend it if you want to see a beautiful part of Scotland and learn all about speyside whisky. A lot of fun. We stopped at quite a few distilleries. Just loved every minute.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were fortunate to get blue skies and sunshine every day, which certainly enhanced our trip, but even if Islay can't guarantee the weather every time, I'd highly recommend this tour. We visited 6 distilleries on Islay, as well as Oban on the mainland. The Ardbeg and Kilchoman tours were both particularly good, but every distillery had its own distinctive feel, and needless to say we also tasted some fantastic whiskies... Accomodation was good, and the organisation was brilliant, so it stress free apart from the problem of choosing which whiskies to take home with us.... Our driver was knowledgeable, and maintained his enthusiasm and sense of humour throughout. If you like the idea of beautiful scenery combined with excellent whisky, I'd definitely take this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The bus tour was quite good. Our guide, Kirsty, was lovely and very knowledgeable. She shared a lot of interesting stories about Scottish history.
The brewery tour itself was quite good. The only disappointing part of the tour was the lunch at the brewery. For some reason we were only able to eat in the cafe part of the brewery not restaurant where the food is all pre made and consists virtually of just a few selections of cold sandwiches, haggis and some soup. The sandwiches were very average. This has NOTHING to do with the bus tour itself, but is instead just feedback on the brewery itself.
All in all it was quite a pleasurable day.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steven F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was fantastic. Roger kept it fun and insightful. We learned alot about Scottish culture and history. The tour had a schedule, but Roger did a very nice job of balancing the schedule and peoples needs. The views were beautiful. Overall a very memorable excursion

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We visited two distilleries. The first, Glengoyne, was a class act. Its beautiful facilities reflected the company's pride in tradition, craft, and quality. The second distillery, Deanstones, was a relatively modern industrial operation, with little new to teach. The time devoted to Deanstones might have been better spent visiting Sterling Castle which was right on the way. Our two guides -- Jillian and Fergus -- were excellent.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

sarah M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Driver Richard was brilliant. Knowledge was outstanding and very entertaining

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aishwarya F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good guide. Nice experience. Very homely feeling. Enjoyed very much!!!!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of four 2 adult sons had a tremendous time on this Rabbie's tour. Our guide Richard was outstanding, entertaining and informing us throughout. Both distilleries were terrific. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the whiskies. The views along the way were spectacular, and Loch Lomond was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very well planned and guided. The guide was able to alter the sites according to peoples interests.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

categage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good experience. Our guide, Mike, told us about the history of sights we passed and about the current political and economic climate of the country. This was one of the best day trips we've been on. And the distillery tours were great. It was nice to see an historic distillery as well as a new one. Strongly recommend purchasing the double tasting at each.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ozlet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our driver/guide Heather was the best driver/guide we have never seen before.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour, not only for the information about the Distillery but the countryside and tour guide information were excellent. We would do this all over again

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ellen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My party of four is delighted to now be Scotch Whiskey Snobs. We had a great time learning how to appreciate different varieties of Scotch. We all love Scotch and now we are better able to appreciate some of the subtleties. This class is different from the usual tour of a distillery - less info about the process of making Scotch and more info about how the different characteristics are produced. Ian was a fun teacher, who enjoys the greater world of Scotch. Plenty of Scotch to taste - we had more to do in the afternoon and were pleased to leave without needing a nap.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Lisa W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour. Saw a lot of different places. Would have been nice to spend a bit more time on the bus as most stops were 10 or 30 minutes with the execption of lunch. The walks were flat and short. The Queens View lookout was well worth it.
We really enjoyed the whisket tour and you got the option of a standard tour or one with a tasting straight from the cask.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn A B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was fun! Highlands tour company is so much better then rabbies.. Don and #39;t take a tour that is rabbies. The guide was funny and informative. He knew so much.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lou H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A lot of fun. Enjoyed walking around and seeing the waterfalls. The distillery tour was fun too, but if you've been to one before they're not much different.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Scotch whisky education and tasting with a moment of fine tuning your senses. This was highly informative and fun as well. It was amazing to see all of the collection and then try a wide range of excellent whiskys.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Melanie O

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We decided to do the tour through the distillery, the admission fee isn and #39;t included, but it was really interesting. The time we spent at the water falls was too short, we took the roundwalk instead of the same way back, so we got back to the bus, too late.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lorraine A W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

A bit disappointing - a lot of yak and not a lot of whisky

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Jeff was very nice and had all the right information. A great way to see Scotland's countryside with a little whisky!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Absolutely great! Didn't know until after I bookedthat the tastings were additional, but still well worth it. I'm not a whisky drinker, but the husband is. I still really enjoyed being taken through the history and process. Paul was very informative about Scottish history and really made the day. Also met a lovely couple who we shared a table for lunch. Definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message