Even if you’ve only got a few days in Edinburgh, the atmospheric Scottish capital makes an ideal base for exploring further afield and with many of the country’s highlights within a short distance, there are numerous options for day tours. To give ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1983 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful Summer day and this enhanced the day tour. The guide/driver was very knowledgeable and her commentary enhanced the drive. There was ample time allowed at Stirling Castle so you could explore all areas. The drive from the Castle to Loch Lomond via the Highlands was beautiful and we stopped for lunch at a very picturesque village which had plenty of options available to purchase food.

Overall an excellent day was had and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Took this tour in early August 2015. We were so fortunate to have the amazing Stephen as out trip leader for the day. Stephen made Scottish history and folklore come alive as we travelled up to the highlands. We learned so much about this country in one day that it felt like we really got to know the place. Stephen even played Scottish music and sang a little on our tour! Apart from the trip leader, the tour itself was amazing and we got to see everything we wanted. a big bonus was the small size of the bus. Stephen put all 16 or so guests at ease and we all got along talking all day long! On the way home we asked Stephen to get us close to a highland cow and he absolutely delivered!! The trip was inspiring and I', sure we'll be back to the highlands one day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved this tour,Pete was Great..my only regret is wanted to see Urquhart Castle ?
maybe next time.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

we really enjoyed the tour and the driver was nice and polite

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a wonderful day! My focus in booking was St. Andrews to visit the Old Course, but while that was an incredible experience, I found the stops along the way to be just as wonderful. Thank you Rabbies! I will surely be back for another tour!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour, not least because of our guide Audrey, her infectious enthusiasm, sense of humor, cheerful attitude, and competence. Audrey, thank you very much!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent! Tour operator Rabbies was efficient and well organized. Tour guide and driver, Laura was knowledgeable, friendly and made the day fun! Best tour guide ever!! Worth your day in St. Andrews.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Neil, our driver was very informative, without being overly talky. He was an excellent driver. He gave us a short drive around Melrose so we knew all the lunch choices. I would recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great tour with a great guide. Had a fun experience, saw all that we wanted to see and more thanks to the knowledgable and experienced guide. We stopped a couple of places that were not advertised and they added a lot to the tour and gave us a good view of Scotland and the fantastic countryside and people. Highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see St. Andrews and surrounding areas.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, beautiful bus, entertaining tour guide out of Rabbis in Edinburgh. Scenery was fabulous, a definite must!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took four tours while in Scotland, and this was our favorite. St. Andrews was beautiful, the drive from Edinburough to St. Andrews was wonderful. Excellent tour guide,

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The driver is the best driver ever, perfect arrangements, awesome and impressive.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I loved that this was a small group. I brought 12 people so we got our own bus plus 2 people that joined us. The Highlands were amazing, breathtaking. Loch Ness was a typical tourist trap, probably won't go there again. To be honest, I don't remember Glencoe. What made our trip truly wonderful was our guide, Ally. There were a few teachers on the bus and we all commented on how he would give us history and then later go back and quiz or make reference to what he had told us before. We definitely learned the most about Scotland because of him. Ally was friendly and animated, which made the trip very enjoyable. If I book through the local tour company again, I will request Ally!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour with an enchanting guide from Rabbie's Tours. Stirling Castle was all I imagined a castle should be. I do wish we had a bit more time to take some pictures in Sterling, but it was a full day. Loch Lomond was beautiful as was the drive to and from.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the highlights of my trip. The guide was awesome, the stops were well timed. I'd have liked more time at the castle and garden, but the 3 hours was not unreasonable given the round trip travel time. We got an extra stop on the way home, which was a bonus. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tourguide Mac was incredibly funny and told all kinds of stories during the drive - primarily historical accounts of wars and clan history, and mixing it up with fairy tale stories, modern relevences such as movie locations and current news. I would recommend it to other travelers looking to travel for a day outside Edinburgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ewen was an excellent source of knowledge and history though out the entire day. He also showed kind patience in dealing with people who constantly arrived back to the van late. I would highly recommend the trio and with Ewen in particular. I learned so much about Scottish history Craig Bruce

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guide, one of the highlights of our trip to Scotland

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely fabulous! The sites were stunningly beautiful and our tour guide, Gill, was a pleasure. She was extremely friendly and informative, and also provided wonderful music as the soundtrack to our journey. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful trip to take while you are in Edinbourgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous . Eric made the tour exceptional. Give him a raise. Could not have been better.

Chuck Browning
Athens, Alabama

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

scooby_singh
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ally our guide did an exceptional service. The man is full of life and it shows in his attitude. He provided in depth information as we drove through the country side. Made stops to take pictures. If I were ever to do come to Edinburgh, I sure will ask for him and so should you, I guarantee you will get your moneys worth. He has gone above and beyond. Keep it up Ally.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour on the day before the British Open and were able to stay in town to enjoy the festivities of the event. The tour company was very flexible with us on that and the tour guide was awesome--a wealth of knowledge told in a creative and interesting way. We had an amazing day!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message