Even if you’ve only got a few days in Edinburgh, the atmospheric Scottish capital makes an ideal base for exploring further afield and with many of the country’s highlights within a short distance, there are numerous options for day tours. To give ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1924 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was excellent! It well exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Dave O., provided the knowledge and experience that made our trip so enjoyable. His personality, knowledge of history and the area were what made the excursion. Cheers to Dave O.!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good value for money. Hit a lot of the main sights that I wanted to see and made me want to visit the Scottish Highlands again.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing. Beautiful scenery with a personal touch. Jonathan is the absolute best tour guide. Would recommend Rabbie's and Jonathan to everyone..

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed it. Arron was our driver and he was really safe especially since I had motion sickness and his playlist was great! Definitely a great experience

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great trip. It was a wonderful being so close to nature. A spiritual uplifting trip that touches your soul. Great tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands tour was excellent - our guide Gill was wonderful, informative, and the ride was gorgeous! An excellent way to see a large part of the country.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Clifford S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

it was a very long day but worth every penny

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

loved it and will recommand.our driver fot the day was Joe and he was brillant

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Erik was fabulous, extremely informative, funny and he even sang for us!

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it! Our tour driver was extremely informative and seemed to really have an interest in Scottish history. That made the trip so much more enjoyable

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Grant was an excellent guide for our day trip. His stories and friendly nature made the day one to remember!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just an incredible experience! We travelled in early July, the scenery and the weather was perfect. If you want to see large rolling hills and mountains of green, then this is the tour for you! Glencoe was amazing. We also stopped at some other lochs since, Jonathan, our amazing tour guide and driver led us up to Loch Ness in a different direction so that we did not hit it when all of the other tour guides were present. Ate amazing fish and chips lunch at the boathouse. Did not take the boat ride so we had time for lunch and looking in a couple of shops. Jonathan was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. He made everyone feel right at home from the get go. We were also able to see a ruined castle which was not on the itinerary. Loved it. Thanks so much victor, Rabbies tour company and Jonathan for a great tour experience!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sharon V
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much beauty on this tour! Raw, wild and at times, unexpected. The folks at the tour company really know how to do this right! With many folks wanting to do this day tour, the small groups is absolutely the way to go!
Our guide was Johnathan. As soon as he realized there were 5 vans booked to do the same tour, he immediately asked us if he could switch the itinerary around so that we wouldn't have to contend with the crowds. We agreed and it was a wise decision. Johnathan kept up a steady stream of banter full of facts, stories, jokes and added a nice touch with musical interludes he selected to help us absorb the atmosphere of the sights and places we visited. He was also sensitive to when our group was tired and fell to napping in which case he would play soothing music and kept his comments to a minimum. Very professional, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Thanks Johnathan and local tour copmany! Oh, and the coffee and pastries at the coffee shop where the tour starts are also v good so grab some while waiting to board your van!
At Loch Ness, though we had no Nessie sightings, my husband and I struck up a conversation with a man who turned out to be William Jobes, who has been visiting the loch for 49 years and has seen what he claims to be Nessie and published some photos he captured of the elusive creature. He shared stories of his personal experiences and even gave us each a laminated copy of his published photos. That was a unique, unexpected and enjoyable turn of events!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I truly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time, tour guide Alan was very informative and told us some great historical stories. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and his friend couldn't say enough about how much they loved this day trip! Highly recommended!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The castle was small but very lovely. I wish I had more than one and a half hours there to see more of the surrounding town. Loch Lomand was very pretty. The short hike and stop at the pub made it a great day! Jan is a terrific guide with wonderful stories of Scotish history and music!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think by far, this is the most popular and must-do tour when you're in Scotland. Our quest for a glimpse of Nessie was rather unsuccessful, but we were blessed with the beautiful views of the surrounding loch and the serenity of the Scottish Highlands. It was truly a magical experience. You have an option of doing a boat cruise on Loch Ness for 12 pounds per person, at the time of writing once you reach Fort Augustus. Though, the views of the loch are just as beautiful on shore. And time can be spent wisely at the cafes and gift shops if you opt not to do the cruise. Choices of sandwiches were included with the tour, but if you're up for something more, a scatter of restaurants are also conveniently available along the main street. Our amazing tour guide Chris at Highland Explorer Tours was very charismatic and gave delightful insight on the history and stories of the regions. He was very knowledgeable and funny, which kept the long journey moving along. I thought playing traditional Scottish music on the bus was a nice touch. There's something authentic about watching the passing scenery with the sound of bagpipes playing harmoniously in the background. I enjoyed the stop at The Trossachs Woollen Mill where we did a bit of shopping and got an up-close look at a highland cow. I had an excellent and memorable time even though, the only time I saw Nessie was in the gift shop. This is definitely a must-do tour!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and Grant was an amazing tour guide and story teller providing us the history of Scotland and our stops along with personal insights. We stopped at a number of other sites not listed in the brouchre for pictures which were well worth it and/or rest stops and still stayed on schedule. The sights, especially Glen Coe are breathtaking. I highly reccomend this tour and you will be very lucky if you get Grant as your guide. After this I can't wait to come back and take one of the multi-day tours of Scotland. A beautiful country either lovely people.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver-cum-guide, AARON, was OUTSTANDING!!! We went on the Highlands-Loch Ness day trip on June 15, and every minute on and off the bus was well spent, because of Aaron's stories, anecdotes, lessons on Scottish history, etc. We have travelled the world, and very rarely have we come across such a guide, who has left a mark. We still talk about this trip as one of the most remarkable in our lives - and a major factor was Aaron. I'm tempted to give out some of his stories to my students in Texas, and will continue to do so ...

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was great! We had Gill and she was fantastic and very knowledgable. She was able to tell us legends, talk about the history of the areas and played some local music. The scenery was beautiful and it was well worth the long day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best excursion and guide. Matthew was extremely friendly, full of interesting facts and stories, and made the excursion one of the best. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and recommend it and the company.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sights are breathtaking! But the best part of the tour was our guide, Grant. He immediately put all of us at ease, made sure we were safely buckled in, and tailored the 12-hr tour to what we expected. His knowledge of history and local folklore is immense and entertaining. Trivia, theatrics, and a great personality/attitude rounded up this great tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the time of our life. excellent guide/driver.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message