Edinburgh’s famous Royal Mile might be teeming with carefree shoppers and sightseers during the day, but lurking beneath the streets of the Scottish capital lies an underground realm of hidden vaults and secret passageways, once the dark underworld ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so interesting, really learnt a lot about early Edinburgh. Our guide was brilliant really got into the time period. The underground is amazing to think people actually lived down there.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really cool to see the underground vaults and hear some of the stories. Edinburgh is so old and you really get a feel for that on the tour. The guides are all very animated, and our guide Liz did a fantastic job of engaging our group. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Rosane Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I found this a perfect introduction of Edinburgh. I had just arrived when I took the tour, the guide was super knowledgeable, before we even went to see the underground vaults, he also gave some amazing insight of how life was back in the old times in the Old Town and explained lots of things around there, it was more than I expected really which is great. The underground vaults were really cool, got too see and learn loads of interesting facts about it, including seeing artifacts that were found there during excavations. I highly recommend it, it's a great tour, totally worth it!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Kay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most unusual tours I have taken. The guide recall brought the underground world to life. Very well worth while.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. He was full of action and suspense. His story-telling abilities were second to none. He gave us great insight into the gloom of days past and underground vault activities.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

KAREN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour began above ground with a bit of history of the area,,Hannah our guide did a fantastic job,giving the tour atmosphere as we went down underground. As we passed through the intricate various rooms ,Hannah gave an example of who would be using this space and why,,definately has feelings of things past!!
This tour is highly recommended,but wear decent walking shoes as the ground is uneven,,,,

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Brilliant hour spent on tour. The guide Ella P was superb at telling us all the stories.she was enthusiastic and animated and totally made the evening come alive . The underground vaults were spooky, eerie and atmospheric.well done! !! Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

SarahB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A knowledgeable guide who took our small group under the ground to the historical vaults and told many grist stories about the weird and wonderful former underground life of old Edinburgh. Enjoyed by all. But if you want a paranormal experience, this is not the tour for that.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Mrs Susan J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Edinburgh and especially our tour of the vaults which we found very interesting. This was largely due to our guide Ella P. She was very knowledgeable and put this across in both informative and amusing ways. The time spent underground was just about right as it really is dark and dismal down there!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour!!
It was very fascinating going to underground Edinburgh and learning about it's history.
Marty our tour guide was informative and very entertaining :)
Would recommend this to everyone!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Tighthead Prop Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. The guide was informative and quite theatrical, and we learnt quite a bit about Edinburgh's gruesome history. The underground vaults at Blair Street were really interesting, didn't see any ghosts though which I was quite glad about since we were the last group through the vaults, and the guide made me go last and blow out all the candles!.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Yan USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I booked this tour in the daytime, because I am not fond of too scary things in the dark. Well, this tour was still kind of creepy for me. Walking around the dark, damp, closed underground vaults, on uneven ground, please be careful! I was really wanting to get out by the end of the tour. Very interesting tour!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

iamwhere

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting tour of the underground. My wife and I were the only ones attending. Our guide was very knowledgeable. We just wish it was a little longer and went deeper into the tunnels.

Doing what: Underground Walking Tour in Edinburgh

MARTYN E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Went on tour with Sarah,she was a great laugh very enthusiastic a real gem.Tour was what it says on the box.The underground vaults were cold,damp and very spooky.Worth a look

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

sangus1

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guides were interesting and tried to make it fun by involving us, not the best underground or scary type tours I've taken but for the cost and amount of time 1hr it was fun and easy to fit in with other tours of the day.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Chad I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing! You could tell he was really interested in the topic and knew the materials well. The underground vaults were really cool. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

JAMIE M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a very informative guide on this tour. Enjoyed hearing the history of the vaults and the walk through the various underground rooms. We appreciated this tour more than the Double Dead tour as it was more about the history and not a "ghost" tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Abigail G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour, very energetic guide who was a great actor. The underground was VERY cool to see. Only disappointment was that I was not too frightened by the tunnels or stories.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Tina T

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was just about ok, I guess we went with high expectations of eerie stuff. It's just underground empty rooms.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

tdm1841

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The most interesting part was the history of Edinburgh. The underground part itself was plain. Guide was interesting.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Felicity D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Wasn't what I had expected. You go underground and look in about three different rooms while getting spoken to about Witches. I felt like I was being read a chain letter - if you go in a certain space then bad things happen and then told about tourists who did it who fall down and hurt themselves. The man leading the tour was very enthusiastic though.
Person I was with had previously done the Mary Queens Close tour and thought that was more interesting.

Doing what: Underground Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Judith L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour guide was very entertaining. However, the underground vault was a bit disappointing....

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Wendy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Our tour guide Lizzie was really good and did all she could to make this tour worthwhile. However, all said and done... you are viewing a few cellars. Okay, their location is quite unique, but once underground you have no sense of where you are. Wouldn't recommend this tour as it isn't good value for money.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

This was a bit disappointing. We had expected to be taken on a socio-historical tour of the vaults, which is what this was. But we had not expected to see only four underground rooms and spend the rest of the time standing in them, talking about how people used to live in Edinburgh. Although this was very interesting in its own right, we think the tour would be much better if it was an actual walk.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Ana J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not the greatest tour. The guide was very nice and knew lots of historic details, but being an underground vaults tour, honestly, I expected more of a tour about the vaults instead of a lecture underground about the life above ground.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message