• USD ($)
  • English
Edinburgh’s famous Royal Mile might be teeming with carefree shoppers and sightseers during the day, but lurking beneath the streets of the Scottish capital lies an underground realm of hidden vaults and secret passageways, once the dark underworld ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour began above ground with a bit of history of the area,,Hannah our guide did a fantastic job,giving the tour atmosphere as we went down underground. As we passed through the intricate various rooms ,Hannah gave an example of who would be using this space and why,,definately has feelings of things past!!
This tour is highly recommended,but wear decent walking shoes as the ground is uneven,,,,

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Brilliant hour spent on tour. The guide Ella P was superb at telling us all the stories.she was enthusiastic and animated and totally made the evening come alive . The underground vaults were spooky, eerie and atmospheric.well done! !! Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A knowledgeable guide who took our small group under the ground to the historical vaults and told many grist stories about the weird and wonderful former underground life of old Edinburgh. Enjoyed by all. But if you want a paranormal experience, this is not the tour for that.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Edinburgh and especially our tour of the vaults which we found very interesting. This was largely due to our guide Ella P. She was very knowledgeable and put this across in both informative and amusing ways. The time spent underground was just about right as it really is dark and dismal down there!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour!!
It was very fascinating going to underground Edinburgh and learning about it's history.
Marty our tour guide was informative and very entertaining :)
Would recommend this to everyone!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a very informative guide on this tour. Enjoyed hearing the history of the vaults and the walk through the various underground rooms. We appreciated this tour more than the Double Dead tour as it was more about the history and not a "ghost" tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour, very energetic guide who was a great actor. The underground was VERY cool to see. Only disappointment was that I was not too frightened by the tunnels or stories.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The most interesting part was the history of Edinburgh. The underground part itself was plain. Guide was interesting.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

This was a bit disappointing. We had expected to be taken on a socio-historical tour of the vaults, which is what this was. But we had not expected to see only four underground rooms and spend the rest of the time standing in them, talking about how people used to live in Edinburgh. Although this was very interesting in its own right, we think the tour would be much better if it was an actual walk.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This was probably the worst evening of our trip. Our guide tried her best but we found her hard to understand. And the underground tunnels were dark and dingy with a very uneven floor which at our age made us feel very uncomfortable. Maybe we are too old for ghosts and ghost stories.
Hazel and Hilly Greenstein.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message