• USD ($)
  • English

Egypt ATTRACTIONS See all

Abu Simbel Temples

Often referred to as the Temples of Ramses II, these two enormous sandstone structures built in 1255 BC at Abu Simbel in southern Egypt are only half of UNESCO’s Nubian Monuments site. Along with the other monument, the Sanctuary of Isis at Philae, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the best museums I have ever scene with a one of the best guides. A must!! I would have done this a few times if I had more time there. My Egyptoligist(Nader) was full of passion for history!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this tour if you have limited time in Cairo. I had a brilliant guide, Ahmed, and he guided me around the museum and showed, and explained, all the major artefacts. There was plenty of time to ask questions and learn more about what you were looking at. Another great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour with a fabulous guide. Well done again

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing value !!! A very relaxing and super informative tour. You will miss a lot if you just stay in Cairo and visit the pyramids. Lots of temples and Valley of the Kings !!!. Ship and crew where wonderful. Our tours where conducted by the local Viator agent South Sinai Travel. They make sure you are escorted when you leave the ship. Our local guide "Moe" who stayed with us in the cruise is a very qualified Egyptologist from Cairo University who gave us a very comprehensive background on egyptian mythology and history. So if you rather do the photography thing than learning egyptology, make sure to inform him so that he can talk less and give you more photo time !!! I recommend to take the optional Abu Simbel tour. Definitely better than the pyramids !!!

Word of warning !! Egypt has no oil and is a poor country. Lots of people depends on the tourist trade so do not freak out if there are hordes of vendors trying to sell you some tourist trinkets. They will not accept a "No thank you". Just don't make I contact and smile and say No and go on your way. Avoid private taxi tours or horse carriage rides beacuse they will bring you to their own perfume shops and egyptian dress shops and if you don't buy anything, they will demand a bigger tip aside from the agreed fare.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our guide was excellent. He certainly appeared to really know his stuff. We had limited time to see the museum and he tailored the tour to fit in that time frame in a logical and interesting manner and each exhibit built on the last. Watching other visitors wander seemingly randomly around I can not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Just brilliant! We were a little worried about making such a tour booking online, but from our meeting at the airport in Aswan, until our farewell in Luxor, we were treated very well and felt safe all the way. Food was top notch, the pool on the top deck bliss, and our rooms were better than we expected. There were only 14 guests on our boat, which actually holds 120, so we were very spoilt for space. Our guide Mustafa was a real gentleman, gave us all the history/stories/real life of Egypt. My biggest tip for future travellers would be to take US$50 in one dollar bills to use for tipping, since we found it very difficult to get small Egyptian Pound notes anywhere. Also take 50 + pens to give to children, since many were asking! Best day on the cruise was the 8 hour journey between temples, during the day, since we really got a great view of the Nile from the pool deck. Boat did not have any snack foods on board, so take your own, or buy on the street. Finally, we made specific room requests via Viator (2 x twin + 1 x double) and this was passed onto the boat operator. Very happy all around!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Travel really cool, amazing places. The ship is comfortable, the food is good and the service was great (guide, transfers, officials of the ship). Viator is always very efficient and has quality services.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

again manal was my guide. so full of knowledge and a real friendly manner. hope next time im in cairo i will have her as my guide :)

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip was great experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was a great tour. I learned a lot about the history of Egypt from my tour guide. Unfortunately no cameras are allowed. :( However I get the suspicious feeling you could take photos with enough money. ;D

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Highly recommended. Great experience.
The Cruise was good and the room was very comfortable . Excellent tours and our guide was very kind, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide Hanny was the Greatest! We got every answer answered and he always made sure we were well taken care of! DO NOT go to Egypt with out Hanny as your guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message