El Calafate ATTRACTIONS See all

Perito Moreno Glacier

Argentinians call Perito Moreno Glacier the "8th Wonder of the World;" in addition to its enormous beauty, it is the planet's 3rd largest reserve of fresh water and one of the continent's last advancing glaciers. It slowly pours, in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A truly breathtaking natural wonder of the world that just has to be experienced. Our tour guide was fantastic. She completed the tour in both Spanish and English whilst providing us with an in depth history of the area and of Argentina itself. I can't recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

Hugo J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a really nice tour. The Perito Moreno Glacier is definitely worth seeing.
Our tour went fine, everything according to plan and our guide was really nice.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

debra b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the perito Moreno glacier tour! The guide was informative and the glacier majestic. We'd thought we'd also booked to walk on the glacier but that didn't happen. Still - we got up very close and personal on the boat ride and walking the amazing walkways around the glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perito Moreno Glacier trip was very well organized and interesting. Our guide was very well prepared, very professional.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

Matthew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a fantastic day trip for any traveller wishing to see the Glacier. The guide, Edwardo, described the attractions and their history with lots of detail, and was fluent in several languages, which made the day for several of us who weren't fluent in Spanish. Would highly recommend this, or the trekking trip across the Glacier itself.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Fanny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very beautiful scenery along the way and in the park. Our tour guide and driver are both very professional.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Justine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is the famous Ice Trek -- very well-run company. Everything went very smoothly from the pickup at 7am to the drop off at 7pm. They've obviously done this tour a million times and have honed every part of it. It was surreal to be walking around the ice field for 4 hours really cold, wear hiking boots, I wore running shoes and it was a bit painful with the crampons. Great experience and highly recommend it through Viator -- we got a much better price that through the actual company.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Ice Trek Day Trip from El Calafate

Joe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an outstanding way to enjoy the Glacier with a minimum amount of unpleasant overhead. Hotel pickup was on time, ride to glacier was pleasant, boat ride was breathtaking, and walks along the opposite shoreline were remarkable.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Barry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Perito Moreno Glacier is like the Grand Canyon- photos don't do it justice. You have to experience it in person to fathom the size and beauty of it. Our guides were multilingual, really friendly, and highly expert. 1.5 hours walking the glacier was just right. At the end of the walk we were surprised with free whisky and alfajores, which was a really nice treat.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Greavesie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Breathtaking views and plently of time for walking round the trails after the boat trip. Very well organised.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Samir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent trip and the choice of the ground operator was great. Overall really a great day out

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Patrick P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The glacier is really stunning. I have lived in Alaska and seen many glaciers but this was very worth seeing. The tour itself was well run. Victoria our guide was excellent, energetic, friendly, and informative. She had diagrams and maps etc. to explain the glacier as we drove there, no time for boredom! Well done!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mayank P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is a good hike. Never been on a glacier so this was quite an experience for me.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Sally F South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour. We were fetched on time from our hotel, and had a very good guide. On our way we went for a boat trip which took us to the base of the glacier and gave us plenty of time to look and to take photos. It was stunning. We continued to the visitor Centre which has a very expensive cafeteria, so take your own picnic with you, but then we had 3 hours to walk around the excellent walkways to view the Perito Moreno Glacier from all different viewpoints. The walkway is very well designed, being a circular route on all different levels, which enables you to see the glacier from all different aspects. There are plenty of benches along the route and there is a glass lift for people with wheelchairs. The glacier is more than spectacular and it is hard to describe it in words. 3 hours was only just long enough to absorb this incredible piece of Nature. It is also very exciting listening to all the noises as the glacier cracks and groans and sometimes sounds like a thunder storm. It was a very well worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very well thought out tour with excellent use of our time in Ushuaia and El Calafate. Beautiful cities that I would highly recommend to all. Glaciers, fauna and flora are a must see. Experienced and knowledgeable local guides and drivers made the experience a success. Thank you Viator for an experience I will remember fondly for the rest of my life!

Doing what: 5-Day Trip in Ushuaia and Calafate

Matuya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a lot of fun- just enough time on the glacier to feel like we made the most of our day. The guide was incredibly nice and shared interesting information. The toast at the end was a really special touch. And the glacier itself is magnificent. A short boat ride is a must.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was phenomenal! Sights were amazing! A must do while in Patagonia.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

vscrugli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour and a must see for anyone visiting Calafate.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Sebastiaan v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unforgetable experience and especially our complements to Walter the tourguide

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Enrique A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Going to the Perito Moreno Glacier is a wonderful experience. You can't get enough of the beautiful sights and walking through the park is a peaceful, incredible experience. The tour's guide are incredibly nice people and they'll give you plenty of information not only about the glacier but through the entire roadtrip to the park. They made of the tour something even more special.

Thanks!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

mazen b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is a good experience for the people interested in such attractions, for me the sound of the ice pushing is worth the trip.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

kalli1234 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely spend the money and do this tour rather than just the boat ride! Trekking on the glacier was an amazing experience that you should NOT miss. The bus picked us up on time and we took 1.5 hrs to get to the glaciers. Entrance fee to the glacier is not included 260 pesos. We then took a boat to the glacier and got amazing pictures. Boat ride was about 20mins. Next we got fitted with crampons and off we went! Julio our guide gave us an intro to the glacier before we headed up. He gave history on the glaciers in the region and how to walk with crampons correctly up the glacier and down. He also gave safety instructions. At no time did I feel unsafe. We were on the ice 1.5-2hrs? We took lots of pics. You don't need any ice experience. If you can walk up a gentle hill you can do this! We took several breaks as we went up and down. After the ice trek, we had lunch, headed back to the boat and spent an hour at the balconies viewing the glacier.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

pokesalad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this excursion if you're visiting El Cafate and the Perito Moreno glacier. The hike on the glacier is of low to moderate difficulty. Once you don the crampons and climb the icy mountain, you are rewarded with amazing sights including icy blue crevices and sinkholes, ice towers, and more.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message