• USD ($)
  • English
The Upsala Glacier upstages even Perito Moreno in scale. South America’s largest glacier, Upsala measures 50km long and 10km wide (31 miles long, 6 miles wide). It’s only from the water of Lake Argentino that you can really appreciate the glacier’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent, varied day. The pick-up from our hotel in El Calafate was prompt and efficient; the initial cruise up Lake Argentino was a pleasure with the sun beginning to strike the surrounding mountains; the close-up view of the glacier and the huge blue iceberg 'calves' was breath-taking; and the visit to the Estancia was efficiently organised so that there was never many visitors doing the same thing. We opted for the walk up the valley to the waterfall. Our guide was a friendly and engaging young man who spoke impeccable English. The views across to the expanse of the glacier and back down the valley to the estancia and lake were a great reward. The tour of the estancia was conducted by another guide who spoke perfect English, was most informative about the history, geography and economics of the place and had an engagingly wry style that was perfectly suited to the group.

Doing what: Sailing, Hiking and Off-Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. You can't go to Calafate without going to see the Perito Moreno Glacier. Lovely drive to the National Park. The glacier itself is spectacular and a must see. You are given sufficient time at the glacier to take one of the many walks available. At the main viewpoint there is a restaurant / cafe and toilet facilities. Definitely a must do tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was very nice. Tour Guide was very helpful. Tour guide was on time to pick us up from hotel.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

If one takes the walking tour, the ship is redundant. Otherwise - among the most breath-taking sights in our touristic experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very impressive glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Still way overprice but tour is excellent

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fascinating nature.
Good organisation.
Worth the money.

Doing what: Sailing, Hiking and Off-Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Nothing is really included in the tour price except the transportation. You might as well take a taxi by yourself to the glacier, you have to pay the entrance fee and boat ride anyway. The overall rating of the Perito Moreno Glacier day is a truly great experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most incredible day of my entire month-long visit to Argentina. Take the 4x4 tour! The view of the Upsala glacier from above is AMAZING! You get to see Upsala from a boat as well as many icebergs in Lago Argentino. Guides speak English very well. Be prepared for cold and wind, though the day was never really uncomfortable. This tour makes for a long day, but SO worth it!
---
I took my lunch for this tour and was glad I did. The meal on the Estancia was quite pricey ($40/person), though it looked and smelled amazing. The restaurant is happy to serve you wine, coffee, dessert, etc, even if you don't buy the full meal offered.

Doing what: Sailing, Hiking and Off-Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had a wonderful day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This is a good tour, worth the money and the time. Take the boat ride in the morning. Other reviewers have suggested that this is not worth it, but if you don't take the boat, you don't get to see the south face of the glacier well at all. (Not to mention the fact that there is nothing else to do while everyone else is on the boat). The park is crowded, but very well kept. The guides and park staff are all very kind. Be ready to walk, as the park has extensive walkways that guide you to different lookout points.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Unfortunately we had poor weather on this day and visibility on the boat was poor so we hardly saw the Glaciers (a shame as this was the whole point!). The waves were really choppy so several people onboard were sea sick- not pleasant to watch! We did the off road tour rather than the hike which was great but Very bumpy. Having come off a choppy boat this made several people feel even worse so would advise to do this on a calm day!
The tour around the Estancia was ok, due to the poor rainy weather the arrangment of the language groups were not properly organised ahead of us disembarking the boat, so most of us stood in the rain until we could work out where the English tour was vs the Spanish groups! Inside the museum our guide explained clearly about its history which was really interesting, then we went for a 3 course meal (where you pay extra) but we really enjoyed it sitting by the fire with a glass of wine and lamb stew! (there was a pasta option if you preferred). He also showed us around the Ranch outside, including the chapel and waterwheel but as it was cold, windy and rainy most people wanted to head back inside the warmth! Well worth seeing on a good sunny day- or dress warmly and come with a rain mac or brolly- I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Sailing, Hiking and Off-Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We were picked up by bus and along the way our guide gave us a little bit of information. Then she dropped us off where we could pay an ADDITIONAL FEE to take a boat trip up to the glacier. If you did not pay the fee, you had to just sit on the bus. While the boat ride was amazing, it should have been included with the price.
Then we got to the park and had to pay another ADDITIONAL FEE to get into the park. We were left there on our own for a few hours to walk around the glacier and PURCHASE LUNCH.
We got 1 piece of chocolate on the bus ride there and we got to try some local liquor on the bus ride back. All in all, it was essentially an extremely expensive bus trip.
I simply don't recommend spending this kind of cash for nothing more than bus transportation.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of our Argentine holiday. We had booked it for the Tuesday but unfortunately there was a mess up with our airline bookings and we arrived a day late but the tour company accommodated us a day later without any hassles. Our guide, Pilar, had a great sense of humour and was impressively bilingual. She was informative and answered our questions.
The Perito Moreno Glacier is even better than we could have expected. The walkways allow close access to the glacier and our photos are amazing. We were further blessed by having snow fall while we were there and for South Africans that is something out of the ordinary. In the afternoon we took the optional boat trip to see the other aspect of the glacier. This is a worthwhile extra. There is a well stocked cafeteria for food, drinks and souvenirs. The booking for the excursion was simple to do on the Internet and we received confirmation and a personal email a few minutes later. Highly recommended in every respect.
I must also add that we were impressed with the efficiency of the

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It was a great experience to explore the walkways and get such a good view of the glacier. Also amazing to be able to hear the glacier literally moving towards you and to see the huge chunks of ice breaking off. I did not find trip particularly good value for money though, as essentially you are just taken to the park and then left to your own devices. The walkways are well signposted, but I felt this was pushing the "fully guided" description a bit far. The guide did give us a lot of information about the area on the way to and from the park.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message