The gateway town to Patagonia’s blue Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park, El Calafate is also a resort destination bordering Lake Argentino. Birdwatchers flock here to watch the lake fill with flamingos, while wannabe gauchos go ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tamara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Driver and guide were excellent--very helpful and friendly. Torres del Paine was unbelievably beautiful, even though it was a long tour I definitely plan on doing it again. Wear layers and watch out for that wind!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Diana O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

During the course of our visit to Argentina and Chile, we got to see at least 5 major glaciers, and this was the highlight of the tour! It was the only one you could see from land, rather than from a boat, although this tour included both the land tour and the boat trip. We were very pleased with this tour, from the pickup at the hotel to the excellent English of the tour guide, to the cleanliness and operation of the bus and the boat. And it was so much easier reserving this online than waiting until we arrived in El Calafate to find a travel agent! We would definitely use Viator again.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Danny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I totally appreciated this trip. 5 stars nothing less. Perfect guide as well

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Gary M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip was good and the amount of time we had at the site was great as we were able to do what we wanted in a relaxed manner. In terms of value for money maybe 3/5. The guide was great.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Fanny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very beautiful scenery along the way and in the park. Our tour guide and driver are both very professional.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Fanny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing scenery along the way and in the park. Our guide shows so much of passion and respect for the nature. Awesome experience and totally enjoyed.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Matthew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a fantastic day trip for any traveller wishing to see the Glacier. The guide, Edwardo, described the attractions and their history with lots of detail, and was fluent in several languages, which made the day for several of us who weren't fluent in Spanish. Would highly recommend this, or the trekking trip across the Glacier itself.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

debra b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the perito Moreno glacier tour! The guide was informative and the glacier majestic. We'd thought we'd also booked to walk on the glacier but that didn't happen. Still - we got up very close and personal on the boat ride and walking the amazing walkways around the glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Hugo J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a really nice tour. The Perito Moreno Glacier is definitely worth seeing.
Our tour went fine, everything according to plan and our guide was really nice.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Colton F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you are an independent traveller, not wanting to deal with logistics this is perfect for you. Very few group activities/tours planned outside of the logistics of transport and hotels. If you are looking for a packaged deal, where you are carried from one thing to the next, this is not for you. The tour is basically taking care of all the planes, trains, automobiles of it all. Tour will have you sorted for accomodation and buses and transport which to me is the worst part. That said, you will need to be open with where they book you. Friend and I opted for the comfort option and the places were great. If you go for the lowest cost option, be prepared for more quaint/potentially not-as-central options....as they say, you get what you pay for. We loved this tour because we didn't have the headaches of logistics, and were given the freedom to do what we wanted, when we wanted, when got to a location. Perfect option if you don't want to be on a shared tour bus for 9 straight days :.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Patagonia Tour: El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glacier, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park

Colton F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you are an independent traveller, not wanting to deal with logistics this is perfect for you. Very few group activities/tours planned outside of the logistics of transport and hotels. If you are looking for a packaged deal, where you are carried from one thing to the next, this is not for you. The tour is basically taking care of all the planes, trains, automobiles of it all. Tour will have you sorted for accomodation and buses and transport which to me is the worst part. That said, you will need to be open with where they book you. Friend and I opted for the comfort option and the places were great. If you go for the lowest cost option, be prepared for more quaint/potentially not-as-central options....as they say, you get what you pay for. We loved this tour because we didn't have the headaches of logistics, and were given the freedom to do what we wanted, when we wanted, when got to a location. Perfect option if you don't want to be on a shared tour bus for 9 straight days :.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Patagonia Tour: El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glacier, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park

Claudia B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice trip! The glacier is impressive!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Malcon T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A atração é muito legal pois você conhece uma região desértica da patagônia ... tem ainda a opção de andar de quadriciclo no final desse passeio, que deve ser reservado antes... que torna o passeio ainda mais incrível.

Doing what: El Calafate 4x4 Off-Road Tour

Alexandros K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good experience, although the price could be lower given the overall duration of the excursion 3 hours. In any case, it is high recommended by me!

Doing what: El Calafate 4x4 Off-Road Tour

Gina S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This trip was grueling. The very crowed four hour bus ride with no rest room and very little English spoken was not at all what I expected. Especially, since our family of 5 was scattered throughout the bus.
The hour long boat ride not one of the guides spoke to anyone on the boat. The boat was overcrowded on the way back, as they picked up day long climbers and brought them back with us. The guides kicked the people out of their seats and made them sit up top where the waves were splashing. Overall, it was such a disappointment to fly my family down there for this hike. I wish someone would have posted how bad it was before we left. Also, the Argentine Peso devalued during this time period and there wasn't any refund from Viator for the difference about 39.

Doing what: Viedma Glacier and El Chalten Day Trip from El Calafate

Patrick P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The glacier is really stunning. I have lived in Alaska and seen many glaciers but this was very worth seeing. The tour itself was well run. Victoria our guide was excellent, energetic, friendly, and informative. She had diagrams and maps etc. to explain the glacier as we drove there, no time for boredom! Well done!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Samir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent trip and the choice of the ground operator was great. Overall really a great day out

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Greavesie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Breathtaking views and plently of time for walking round the trails after the boat trip. Very well organised.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Joe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an outstanding way to enjoy the Glacier with a minimum amount of unpleasant overhead. Hotel pickup was on time, ride to glacier was pleasant, boat ride was breathtaking, and walks along the opposite shoreline were remarkable.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Danny C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip itself was spectacular and would highly recommend it!

I was traveling solo during this trip and thus paid higher rates, but that said I generally still believe the tour was pretty expensive compared to quality of the hotel and travel arrangements. I believe more economical rates could be found locally.

Doing what: 6-Day Tour of Patagonia: El Calafate, El Chalten, Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park

Sylvain C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The Perito Moreno is just fantastic, but this is not part of your tour. Your tour is about transportation, organisation, etc. And for this, the price paid is much too expensive ! 150 because we have to add the price of the parc entrance which is not included .... It would have worth maybe 80 all included.
So my advice for anyone planing a trip to Perito Moreno, book at El Calafate, you will always find a place!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Wayne C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The site was amazing, but this tour is a RIP OFF. 120 US dollars plus a variable entrance fee - we were told on the website 20, but it was actually 30. When i questioned this the tour woman simply shrugged her shoulders and said thats Argentina - completely unacceptable. She claimed no responsibility and didnt even try to offer a solution, the customer is clearly never right over here.... Do the smart thing and get a hostel to book a bus to the site for maybe 30, then pay the entrance fee. You will save a lot of money. There is no tour when you get there anyway, just in the bus, so i actjally paid 120 for a 1 hour bus jojrney. Doh!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was phenomenal! Sights were amazing! A must do while in Patagonia.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a wonderful experience on my trip to the Patagonia region. Booking this trip made everything fantastically easy and smooth. Even when we had made mistakes on the itinerary, and our flights got rescheduled, it was taken care of perfectly. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Patagonia Tour: El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glacier, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park

Matuya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a lot of fun- just enough time on the glacier to feel like we made the most of our day. The guide was incredibly nice and shared interesting information. The toast at the end was a really special touch. And the glacier itself is magnificent. A short boat ride is a must.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message