The gateway town to Patagonia’s blue Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park, El Calafate is also a resort destination bordering Lake Argentino. Birdwatchers flock here to watch the lake fill with flamingos, while wannabe gauchos go ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were picked up and taken to the airport and hotel on time. The guide was friendly, extremely helpful, and informative. We have seen glaciers before but nothing like Perito Moreno, truly a wonder of nature. We choose to pack our lunch although there is a cafe at the Park because we wanted to spend more time seeing the glacier. There are walk ways that allow you to see different views of the glacier which are not strenuous and very doable. Although there are steep steps, there are alternative routes that can be taken. Because we had an extra day, we selected the Sailing Hiking and Off Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina which was a nice complement to this tour.

Doing what: 3-Night Tour to El Calafate by Air from Buenos Aires Including Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful place. Tour guide wa good and the people very friendly. However, the driving time to get to and from El Calafate to las Torres Del Paine was too long 14 hours in total.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Although the mountains were phenomenal, I wouldn't say there was much of a hike. It could have been condensed to 30 min worth of walking. They did include lunch which was nice though.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

My review score is that of SUFFICIENT. Nice people and guide but the most was achieved by the natural beauty of the tour. English was spoken up to a sufficient yet not that good level.

I did not like that much to be left for 2-2.5 hours on our own to i) visit the platforms and admire the glacier and ii) to spend time in a restaurant/cafeteria area truly inadequate with a large crowd of people with access to food but not tables. It would be better to find another way to occupy time for the lunch break. Probably a packed lunch/sandwich consumed in a quite area close to the glacier would be preferable.

Boat tour (not to be missed) was not included in the price.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

very interesting tour ! The guide was very important and very nice as well. Take care to bring a good camera because you'll take the pictures of your life....
We pay separately the voyage with catamaran and for that reason I think is a little bit expensive to book before trip this tour ! You can manage cheaper in El Calafate.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The trip itself is only the bus ride. The boat tour and the entrance fee for the park are in addition. As the roads are in a pretty well condition, it would be easier and more convenient to rent a car for a day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The glacier is wonderful and the organization is good, the guides are very likeable. You will have a short boat ride and the rest of the visit is by feet.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Exceptionally great way to get really close views of this great glacier, which get even better when combined with the boat excursion (an optional trip).

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The driver and guide were both pleasant. The bus was comfortable, arrived on time and the destination was breathtaking.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The driver and guide were both pleasant. The bus was comfortable, arrived on time and the destination was breathtaking.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. You can't go to Calafate without going to see the Perito Moreno Glacier. Lovely drive to the National Park. The glacier itself is spectacular and a must see. You are given sufficient time at the glacier to take one of the many walks available. At the main viewpoint there is a restaurant / cafe and toilet facilities. Definitely a must do tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well, Torres del Paine National Park is one of the most beautiful places on the face of the earth, so if you have a chance to go, even if only for s day, please go. This tour started with an on-time pickup and transfer to a 4-wheel drive, off-road Mercedes Benz bus. The bus holds about 30 people, so the tour group is somewhat smaller than most. The seats are slightly smaller than regular buses, but we didn't really notice the difference much. The tour guide, from the outset, was very friendly, informative, and helpful. Bag lunches were provided for the tour. Travel time from El Calafate to the border was about 3 hours. We spent 1 1/2 hours at the border (mostly on the Argentinian side), which was apparently figured into the tour schedule, so I suppose it is normal. Once in the park, I believe we saw about as much as possible in the 3-4 hours we were there. The return leg was better as neither the Chilean nor the Argentinian border checks were crowded.
Of course, spending 6 hours in a bus getting to and returning from the park is a large demerit, but this isn't the tour operator's fault. If you wish to see the park, traveling from El Calafate, in one day, then I highly recommend this tour. Spending several days in the park is even better, and I understand the tour operator can usually accommodate this, too. All in all, we were very glad we went, and we are planning our next trip back to the park to stay for a week or so.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was very nice. Tour Guide was very helpful. Tour guide was on time to pick us up from hotel.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message