• USD ($)
  • English
The gateway town to Patagonia’s blue Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park, El Calafate is also a resort destination bordering Lake Argentino. Birdwatchers flock here to watch the lake fill with flamingos, while wannabe gauchos go ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. You can't go to Calafate without going to see the Perito Moreno Glacier. Lovely drive to the National Park. The glacier itself is spectacular and a must see. You are given sufficient time at the glacier to take one of the many walks available. At the main viewpoint there is a restaurant / cafe and toilet facilities. Definitely a must do tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well, Torres del Paine National Park is one of the most beautiful places on the face of the earth, so if you have a chance to go, even if only for s day, please go. This tour started with an on-time pickup and transfer to a 4-wheel drive, off-road Mercedes Benz bus. The bus holds about 30 people, so the tour group is somewhat smaller than most. The seats are slightly smaller than regular buses, but we didn't really notice the difference much. The tour guide, from the outset, was very friendly, informative, and helpful. Bag lunches were provided for the tour. Travel time from El Calafate to the border was about 3 hours. We spent 1 1/2 hours at the border (mostly on the Argentinian side), which was apparently figured into the tour schedule, so I suppose it is normal. Once in the park, I believe we saw about as much as possible in the 3-4 hours we were there. The return leg was better as neither the Chilean nor the Argentinian border checks were crowded.
Of course, spending 6 hours in a bus getting to and returning from the park is a large demerit, but this isn't the tour operator's fault. If you wish to see the park, traveling from El Calafate, in one day, then I highly recommend this tour. Spending several days in the park is even better, and I understand the tour operator can usually accommodate this, too. All in all, we were very glad we went, and we are planning our next trip back to the park to stay for a week or so.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was very nice. Tour Guide was very helpful. Tour guide was on time to pick us up from hotel.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Most excellent trip, not to be missed! We only had 2 full days in Calafate, and chose to take this trip on the first day and go see glacias on the 2nd. Both were very memorable experiences, great guides, comfortable bus, amazing panoramas!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

If one takes the walking tour, the ship is redundant. Otherwise - among the most breath-taking sights in our touristic experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very impressive glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Still way overprice but tour is excellent

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Nothing is really included in the tour price except the transportation. You might as well take a taxi by yourself to the glacier, you have to pay the entrance fee and boat ride anyway. The overall rating of the Perito Moreno Glacier day is a truly great experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing full day tour. The park is INCREDIBLE! Guide was great. He was very knowledgable and spoke English well. Lunch was provided on the bus. Border crossing was easy. There is a lot of time spent on the bus, so be ready. Also, be prepared for colder temperatures and significant wind. Despite these factors, I would still highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had a wonderful day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This is a good tour, worth the money and the time. Take the boat ride in the morning. Other reviewers have suggested that this is not worth it, but if you don't take the boat, you don't get to see the south face of the glacier well at all. (Not to mention the fact that there is nothing else to do while everyone else is on the boat). The park is crowded, but very well kept. The guides and park staff are all very kind. Be ready to walk, as the park has extensive walkways that guide you to different lookout points.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Hotels were outside the town (Calafate and Puerto Natales), which wasn't great. I had some problems contacting the local tour operator as it was a different one than stated on the confirmation.
Otherwise it was ok

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Patagonia Tour: El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glacier, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We were picked up by bus and along the way our guide gave us a little bit of information. Then she dropped us off where we could pay an ADDITIONAL FEE to take a boat trip up to the glacier. If you did not pay the fee, you had to just sit on the bus. While the boat ride was amazing, it should have been included with the price.
Then we got to the park and had to pay another ADDITIONAL FEE to get into the park. We were left there on our own for a few hours to walk around the glacier and PURCHASE LUNCH.
We got 1 piece of chocolate on the bus ride there and we got to try some local liquor on the bus ride back. All in all, it was essentially an extremely expensive bus trip.
I simply don't recommend spending this kind of cash for nothing more than bus transportation.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of our Argentine holiday. We had booked it for the Tuesday but unfortunately there was a mess up with our airline bookings and we arrived a day late but the tour company accommodated us a day later without any hassles. Our guide, Pilar, had a great sense of humour and was impressively bilingual. She was informative and answered our questions.
The Perito Moreno Glacier is even better than we could have expected. The walkways allow close access to the glacier and our photos are amazing. We were further blessed by having snow fall while we were there and for South Africans that is something out of the ordinary. In the afternoon we took the optional boat trip to see the other aspect of the glacier. This is a worthwhile extra. There is a well stocked cafeteria for food, drinks and souvenirs. The booking for the excursion was simple to do on the Internet and we received confirmation and a personal email a few minutes later. Highly recommended in every respect.
I must also add that we were impressed with the efficiency of the

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message