• USD ($)
  • English
Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although it is a long day,the trip is really worth doing.The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the events and the timeline of the war.To see Flanders and the front line trenches on a glorious sunny day(as it was when we visited)with the green fields and trees,it is very hard to imagine the horrendous conditions the soldiers had to bear.The German cemetery and the allied cemetery at Tyne cot were very poignant.The only thing that marred the day, was the lunch at the old Paschendale cheese factory.When we arrived the lunch of cheese and ham was already set out on tables with no covering over it and flies were swarming all over the food.Needless to say we refused to eat it.That apart,it was a really enjoyable and thought provoking day.At the end of the day we attended the last post ceremony at the Menin gate again very moving.All in all,a highly recommended tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really long day but well worth it with a range of sites visited accompanied by an enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable guide. Although advertised as an Anzac tour there is also enough of interest for the British too.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are from New Zealand and we found the tour was everything we could have wanted. Our guide Sean was very good and full of knowledge. He also adapted the tour to meet the nationalities that were on the bus. We found it difficult to find the tour office in the morning at the start of the trip, so give yourself plenty of time to get to the office. It is a long day so be prepared. But it is worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent day trip from Paris. Regis was a helpful guide who drove well and had very good knowledge about everything we saw, he was also interested in war history and made it interesting for us too.I was impressed with how beautiful and peaceful the memorials are and it was good to visit a wide range of places and learn so much about what went on in different parts of the landscape. It is a plus to to be picked up close to where one is staying in Paris and also be returned back there again especially when the trip starts so early in the morning.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a totally worthwhile excursion. Very well organised. Our guide whilst being very knowledgable was at times difficult to understand.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was very good and t,he guide excellent the tour included hotel pick up and return. Pick up was no problem but behind dumped on the outskirts of Bruges with the comment that the big coach could not enter the city left a sence of disappointment and a feeling that you took the money and ran

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a packed 13 hours of touring. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. I would give a heads up that there is a lot of walking on uneven surfaces and climbing up and down battlefields. There are also not very many places for a toilet break.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour was long but needed to be to see everything ,lunch was good waiting for us when we arrived ,asking for a bathroom stop on the way home was somewhat of a drama ,but overall quite good

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide was excellent weather not so good

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As a 1 day tour out of Paris this trip gave us an overview of the Battle of the Somme. It is a good trip for Australians as we visited several Australian memorial sites but not so good for New Zealanders as we did not visit the New Zealand memorial despite being only about 8 kms away from it at 1 stage. There were equal numbers of Australians and New Zealanders in the total party of 8 people and the Aussies had no objection but despite 2 requests at different times our guide refused to take us there saying it wasn't on the itinerary for the day. We'd travelled half way around the world and missed out by such a small distance when we could have easily taken slightly lesser time at 1 site or even cut down on the lunch stop which wasn't great in any event. Overall very interesting tour but New Zealanders not really catered for in terms of going to see their particular memorial cemetery.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Regrettably didn't leave Bruges until around 11:00 (3/4 hour late) - late pickups/main bus from Brussels arrived late - didn't start in Bruges. We managed a portaloo break at "Trench/Death", but didn't stop for any further breaks until lunch at Passchendale. Lunch was good. We then went to rest of visits - Tyne Cot, Essex Farm, Museum in Ypres then back out of Ypres to Hill 60 then back to Ypres - this seemed stupid. It was after 18:00 and although we were supposed to have a dinner break this was a "bolted" meal due to having to be at the Menin Gate by 19:20 at latest for view of ceremony. It was a very hot day, the guide did not offer us any further comfort breaks or drinks on coach. Also had 2 French people (English trip?) to whom he spoke a lot. Wanted us back at coach asap after ceremony to get from Ypres. Too much/too rushed. Menin Gate worthwhile.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide/driver was great. Really knew his history. Hotel and restaurants were good. I was the only American on the tour, the guide was British and the others were Australian and Canadian, and this enhanced the tour for me. It far surpassed my expectations. The tour operator should be commended

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the coach travel through Belgium countryside and had an excellent tour guide in Jean. He shared his comprehensive knowledge of the areas we visited and the history relating to those areas. Visiting the war memorials was a moving experience but we were impressed with the respect and care being shown to the resting places of the soldiers who lost their lives fighting in ww1.
Being present for the Last Post at Passehendaele was an awesome experience.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, witch covers so much, guide very knowledgeable, and went out of his way to help us at Tyne Cot locating a name on one of the back memorials, also told us all on the tour where to stand for last post at Ypres, impressive. Well worth the long day to see so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Bertrand gave me a wonderful tour of the Aisne-Marne and Belleau Wood Battlefields, also the visit to the Museum of the Great War was not to be missed. Guide extremely knowledgeable about the topic, very professional, thoughtful services throughout the tour, it was the highlight of my visit to France.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message