Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and father went on this trip 13/4/15. They had a really moving but lovely day. Their guide on the bus sorry they cant recall his name began with a D apparently!! well he was exceptional in his knowledge of ww1 in this area! They could not fault him at all he made it a really great day. The trip was 13hrs long as they got on at Brussels but so worth it. Lunch was in a lovely restaurant and very enjoyable. In their words there was nothing on the trip they didn't find interesting, all the places visited were explained and lots of information offered by the tour guide. Asked what the highlights were and the answer was EVERYTHING although they both felt very honoured to be at the Menin Gate to hear the last post a truly emotional and moving experience. They would highly recommend this tour to any WW1 enthusiasts and even to those who just want to go and see the beautifully kept cemetery's and other interesting stops along the way. Many thanks again to our guide and to Viator a great day was had by both of us Book this trip you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Nicola was excellent. She had brilliant knowledge and tailored the trip to our small group. There were only 8 of us so we had good interaction with the guide.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Unfortunately the organisers had not factored in the major bike race on Easter Sunday starting in Bruges, as this was an international event it would have been planned months in advance , as a result we had a call the day before asking us to make our way across Bruges to the Coach park , we got their as requested at 10am , the coach was delayed for a further hour then had make several detours to avoid congestion ? perhaps they should have asked us to get there earlier ? or at least despatched the coach earlier ?....the whole tour was then compressed which was rushed , 30 mins at Tyne

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Bus over an hour late in picking us up from where we were informed to be 30 minutes beforehand, therefore we stood around for nearly 2 hours before getting on board. did not get back to Bruges until 10pm and were running late all day, also one stop was omitted due to time and others were too short to appreciate all that there was to see. overall a long disappointing day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing and informative day tour. Our guide was very approachable and was keen to share his knowledge about the battlefields. Certainly would recommend.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A long day, especially as we had to wait for almost an hour for the coach. However, the trip itself was very interesting and visited a number of different places, including Ypres. The guide was very good.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had wonderful experience on the tour to the Somme battlefields. There were just four couples and the tour guide could not have been more helpful. He was extremely knowledgable about the First World War and brought the group to all the cemetries which were applicable to the countries of origin of each of the couples and walked with them to monuments and to find relative's graves. We visited two museums and had lunch in a lovely little café. It was also great to have been picked up and dropped off right at our front door. All in all a great day!

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour
guide was extremely knowledgable and ensured everyone was happy

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Things got off to a late start as there were some logistical issues with collecting people from their hotels but the tour itself was brilliant once we finally set off. The guide was very informed of the historical context to WWI and over the day talked us through the period from Waterloo to Hitler. I was delighted with the wide range of places we visited from the German cemetery at Vladzo through to the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in the evening. We spent enough time at all of them. My 11 year old son was not bored for a moment and loved the whole day. Access into the sites was quick and well organised by the guide. Lunch was perfectly nice

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant Trip- reccomended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour-great guide who knew his subject well. He gave us a passionate description of the Great War and the effect it had on the country.as well as the fullest information on each stopping point (and we could hear every word!) I walk with a crutch and I found the guide extremely helpful to me. Little bit rushed at the end for me.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing excursion; although very somber. Our mom was especially happy to have been able to see Flanders Fields as she heard so much about the war as a child. We learned so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour (there were four of us plus the guide/driver) in a mini van that was very comfortable. We got to see a lot in a day and our guide was very knowledgeable and courteous taking us through each site providing lots of interesting anecdotes and background historical information. While the tour was not cheap, I doubt we could have seen so much, and understood it, on our own, and it would have been a lot more frustrating and stressful. Well worth doing and the added bonus of being picked up and dropped off at your hotel added to the convenience of the tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our trip to the World War 1 Battlefields and Menin Gate was everything I had hoped for. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made our day very special. We visited many unusual sites including a German Cemetery. Being at Menin Gate on Remembrance Day was something I will always remember. I would highly recommend this trip. Our online booking with Viator was easy and trouble free. A five star experience from start to finish!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour gave us a balanced encounter with various forms of WWI monuments and memorabilia in Flanders. We saw a German, a British Commonwealth and a Canadian cemetery or monument in various parts of Flanders around Ypres. We saw three museums, one of them large but both impressive, at the Belgian Trench of Death, Tyne Cot and at Ypres. The guide showed us the terrain around the Ijser River and explained how significant this was in Belgian's defence of its land. We saw some battlefield reality in all its sobering grim muddiness, at the Canadian Farm Field Hospital and at Hill 60. At the end of the day we attended the Last Post at Menin Gate which is a very moving ceremony. The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant, making the day go easily for the group. I would travel with him again. I suggest to Viator that they or the tour company puts on its website a map that clearly shows where the Gras Markt is, namely that it is simply part of one end of the Rue du Marche aux Herbes. I have never been to Brussels; it took me a lot of web-searching to find a map that showed me simply and clearly where the Gras Markt is, which is where one is directed to go to meet the bus. Office staff at the tour company need to work out a simple, respectful way to explain to a customer, how to find the Bus Tour office on Gras Markt from major travel points, such as Brussels Central Station. When one knows a city, it can seem obvious; when one has never set foot in a city, the task of getting to a tour meeting place for an early morning start can be a challenge.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message