Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a long day, but well worth it. Our guide was very informative and took us to see many historic sights in Flanders. The monuments were very impressive and quite moving. The guide had to switch the order of our planned visits due to the Tour of Flanders bicycle race, but did a great job of ensuring that we saw everything. The In Flanders Fields Museum is very comprehensive and a must to see if you are interested in WWI history. It was really special that we were able to watch the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour! It was fascinating to visit the monuments and battlefields with an excellent guide. The Historial in Perrone was a great way to expand our knowledge of the war and its effects. Our early start enabled us to beat the crowds. It was also nice to be in a small group.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour. There were only seven of us on the tour and our tour guide, Regis, was wonderful. He is so knowledgable and friendly and definitely made this tour great. The places we visited were amazing, especially the Villers-Bretonneux memorial. Thank you Regis for a fantastic day, definitely recommend this tour to anyone interested.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Great tour, very informative, hosts great, weather let us down, although can appreciate what it was like in 1915. A bit of a wait for buses to pick us up after the ceremony.

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Complete shambles from beginning to end. Coach arrived in Bruges 1 hour late. We were told to be at pick-up point at 9.45am and the coach arrived at 11.05am. We eventually left Bruges at 11.15am. Our rep, Frank, explained that because were we were late starting, he would have to re-arrange the day and we might not be able to see everything. This was a disappointment at the outset and things just got worse. It soon became apparent that our driver had no idea where he was going and although he had a paper map and a satnav he kept getting lost and had to turn around several times and also ask passers-by for directions. Frank seemed equally lost.

Our first stop was the Diksmuide Trench of Death for 30 minutes, which was not enough time to see everything. We did NOT visit the Gate of Peace or the Yser Tower or the Peace Mill, nor do we remember Frank telling us anything about them. We have no idea what these are.

We then went to the German Military cemetery Vladslo where the the coach did not have time to go to the official car park, so we disembarked at the roadside. We were left to wander around the cemetery for 15 minutes. Frank did not 'guide' us but would just answer our questions if we asked any.

Then we stopped at the Canadian Monument for literally 5 minutes for anyone who wanted to take a photo, even though we had a Canadian family in our group.

At 2.30pm we stopped for lunch at a bar/cafe opposite the Ypres Museum. Was this really the 'famous Old Cheese Factory' in Paschendaele? Lunch was a very ordinary plate of sliced bread, cheese and ham. Nothing special at all. To this day we do not know if we visited Pascendaele or not!

After 30 minutes we went over the road and into the Tyne CoMuseum. Frank did not accompany us and on entering had no idea that we had to go up the stairs. There was no staff to help us and we did not get the audio guides. We were allowed 50 minutes here.

We then go

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and father went on this trip 13/4/15. They had a really moving but lovely day. Their guide on the bus sorry they cant recall his name began with a D apparently!! well he was exceptional in his knowledge of ww1 in this area! They could not fault him at all he made it a really great day. The trip was 13hrs long as they got on at Brussels but so worth it. Lunch was in a lovely restaurant and very enjoyable. In their words there was nothing on the trip they didn't find interesting, all the places visited were explained and lots of information offered by the tour guide. Asked what the highlights were and the answer was EVERYTHING although they both felt very honoured to be at the Menin Gate to hear the last post a truly emotional and moving experience. They would highly recommend this tour to any WW1 enthusiasts and even to those who just want to go and see the beautifully kept cemetery's and other interesting stops along the way. Many thanks again to our guide and to Viator a great day was had by both of us Book this trip you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a last minute booking and turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Bertran, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable of World War I and the battle sites. Climbing the hills and walking through the trenches gave us a slight idea of what the soldiers went through.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Lauren D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An amazing day! Our group only had 6 people and our guide Regis was very knowledgeable and helpful. We saw many amazing sites and had time to look around and get a feel for this environment. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Nicola was excellent. She had brilliant knowledge and tailored the trip to our small group. There were only 8 of us so we had good interaction with the guide.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very educated and knowledgable guide he made the tour very professional and very enjoyable

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Unfortunately the organisers had not factored in the major bike race on Easter Sunday starting in Bruges, as this was an international event it would have been planned months in advance , as a result we had a call the day before asking us to make our way across Bruges to the Coach park , we got their as requested at 10am , the coach was delayed for a further hour then had make several detours to avoid congestion ? perhaps they should have asked us to get there earlier ? or at least despatched the coach earlier ?....the whole tour was then compressed which was rushed , 30 mins at Tyne

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Bus over an hour late in picking us up from where we were informed to be 30 minutes beforehand, therefore we stood around for nearly 2 hours before getting on board. did not get back to Bruges until 10pm and were running late all day, also one stop was omitted due to time and others were too short to appreciate all that there was to see. overall a long disappointing day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The second pick up in Bruge wasted about 1 hour as we drove around looking for 3 more people and consequently had to drop two planned stops. That made it almost 4 hours from pickup to our first stop and restroom opportunity. Not enough time in the Flanders Field Museum...we had to practically run through it just to get an idea of what was there. The guide and driver didn't seem to know exactly how to get around and were constantly looking at a map and making U-turns. Very disorganized. We were supposed to be dropped off at the start point, but instead were left somewhere we'd never been before and had to wander around looking for a familiar landmark at 10:30 pm!.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing and informative day tour. Our guide was very approachable and was keen to share his knowledge about the battlefields. Certainly would recommend.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A long day, especially as we had to wait for almost an hour for the coach. However, the trip itself was very interesting and visited a number of different places, including Ypres. The guide was very good.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message