Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 417 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Better than I ever hoped it would be. Guide Nicola was knowledgable, informative and sensitive to war-related issues. I hear tily recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Nicola and driver Julian were the best. We had a fantastic day. Nicola is very knowledgable and enthusiastic about history.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful tour and could not have asked for a better guide or driver. They were so friendly and full of knowledge. This tour made our trip to France well worth while and is embedded as a memorable time in France I can highly recommend Viator

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite the rain, the WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip was an engaging and informative tour. Nicola was a most knowledgeable and friendly guide, willing to help with tracing relatives who served at the Somme and to go out of her way to discover what her group are most interested in experiencing. She provided a detailed history, which was thorough without being too simplistic. Julian, the driver, was friendly and always willing to help out, whether it be offering advice on where to eat or by opening the bus up early so we could escape from the teeming rain. We couldn't have asked for a better pair to guide us through the once-chaotic battlefields.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour! Our guide, Nicola, was fantastic. I learned so much about the history of the First World War on this trip. Tip... bring tissues.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

VERY MOVING EXPERIENCE AT BOTH VERDUN AND THE MEUSE-ARGONNE BATTLEFIELDS. TOUR GUIDE WAS SUPERB AND OUTSTANDING. HE WAS EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGABLE, ARTICULATE AND AN EXCELLENT DRIVER. HE WAS A COMPLETE PROFESSIONAL.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent and very full day. Our guide was excellent - achieved just the right tone. There was a problem at the start of the day as we had been told we'd be picked up at our hotel and waited half an hour before phoning Viator. Somehow this had been communicated wrongly but we were then picked up and the rest of the day was fine.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Informative guide, great battlefield museums, interesting trench and lovely military cemetery visits. Very touching Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. We were fortunate to be there for the 30.000th last post. It was a fantastic experience. Our guide was so informative and knowledgable. Best tour from Brussells.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The World War I Battlefields tour was excellent. The tour guide Stephan was knowledgeable, friendly and well organized. It was a full day from 9am to 10:30pm and it was well worth it. The sites that were chosen e.g., Tyne Cot, Flanders Field Museum, trenches in Ypres were extremely interesting and moving. I would highly recommend this tour to people of all ages.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After a very late start because of confusing information about our meeting point, the tour proved to be most informative and interesting. The guide was extremely knowledgable and visited cemerties with particular reference to the nationalities of the people on the trip. It was most touching.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Extremely interesting, at times emotional, funny and educational. Our driver and guide were entertaining and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in this subject despite the early start

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour excellent tour guide. Absolutely worth taking.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bertrand Bache was a superb guide! Knowledgeable, personable and a great driver. We truly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very awesome trip. Well worth it. Only thing I would change is that the tour could start earlier in the morning so there could be more time to visit more places

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was terrific and very knowledge on the entire topic of WW1

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Chicago traveler
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Pros: excellent overview of Flanders battle sites, visit to Flanders Museum was interesting, knowledgeable guide would not classify as an expert, long trip but would recommend it if you have only a short time in Flanders
Cons: battlefield knowledge could have been better and included more specifics at times too general and not entirely correct on troop movements perhaps due to lack of specificity, etc., insufficient restroom locations and breaks no restroom on bus - as was advertised!, time in museum was ok but tour ran late near dinner time so unable to get meal
Added: recommend reading books on the key battles and sites before touring

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. Well organised, guide was knowledgeable and interesting. Highly recommend it for those interested in this dark period of history.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Ian C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Informative guide, Flanders field museum was a highlight. Good value for money, pick ups on time. Would recommend to family and friends

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable yet moving tour. It's a very full day and I would have liked to have spent a little longer at some of the stops - in particular the museum at Ypres. The last post ceremony at the Menin Gate is particularly moving but I would recommend getting to the gate early as there is quite a crowd and if you want a decent vantage point you'll need to be there a good 20-30 mins before it starts at 8.00pm.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

terrific tour with an outstanding guide who made the tour educational,informative and interesting.only negative was that the bus pick in Bruges was late.i had to phone the main office twice . i was not aware that the bus had to come from brussles.the actual tour was first class,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Very informative and the guide was great

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was more than expected,very moving with a great very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic Day. Loved the small group and Nicola was an excellent guide. She was so knowledgeable and made the whole day so interesting. We had an all Australian group but it was good to visit the different sites and get an appreciation of the scale of the war in the Somme. Would thoroughly recommend to all. Was extremely moving.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 Day Battlefield Tour with Back Road Tours. The guide, Tony Wade, was excellent. His knowledge of the battles and general French/Belgian history was incomparable. The accommodation at the Kastelhoof was excellent and the locations and routes travelled - spot on.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message