Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 534 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We also did the Villers-Bretonneux tour in April 2016 and Lynettes comments earlier are a very good description and sum up our experience exactly.Recommended.

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Christina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I went on this tour to Villers Bretonneux for the dawn service on Anzac Day, 2016. We met up with our tour guides Nicola and Regis at Opera Garnier and left Paris at 2.15am. When we arrived at Villers Bretonneux the tour guides provided us with ponchos, croissants, orange juice and water along with information on the order of service. On arrival the security was understandably strict after which each person was given booklets and 2 pins for the service. The Dawn Service itself was a very moving experience. After the Service there was a wait for each tour bus to be called in turn because there were a lot of people and tour buses! Our tour then continued on to visit a few of the battlefields and memorials with Nicola and Regis who were very friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and informative. This is a must-do tour for Australians and New Zealanders but wear a lot of warm clothes and a waterproof jacket - we were lucky it didn't rain. It was zero degrees Celsius during and after the Service. We returned to Paris at 3.45pm after a very satisfying day.

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an excellent tour which covers most of the important scenes of WWI in Flanders fields.Top marks to Johan who is a first-rate guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very moving ceremony. Fantastic knowledgeable guides. Had a great time and highly recommend

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent! Johan was a very knowledgeable guide, and even though it was a long day the time flew by. Very interesting and very emotional experience. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Valerei L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very informative and moving tour. Stephan was our guide. He described events so vividly and we really enjoyed listening to him. I would recommend the tour!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Johanne did a great job very knowledgeable and always took time
to answer Questions. He was very Passionate it was an eye opening tour

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Gary M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The small group was very easy to get around with and the guide was very well versed in his subject. There could have been more time allowed at the Verdun monument.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

L Jane H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

We are only giving this tour a 3 due to the problems with our pick-up location in Bruges. Although a bus stop was indicated, there was also a street address, which we went to, and was verified by both our B and B hostess and the nearby restaurants. Nearing pick-up time, the local restaurateur phoned the tour company, and we learned that we should be a 5 minute walk away. We were not the only ones waiting at the wrong spot, either. In addition, the bus was 1/2 an hour late arriving at this spot. This meant that we had very little free time at Ypres at the end of the day, and before the last post.
Additionally, the web page states we would be picked up in a mini van. We had a full sized bus. Had it been full, it would have been very difficult to keep on schedule. We only had 14 on the tour.
Once on the road, all went well, visiting most of the identified locations, with the exception of the German cemetery, where the road was blocked by a road race. As an alternate, we went to an Australian cemetery, as there were folks of this nationality on the bus.
Our tour guide was familiar with his material and spoke well. Always ready to answer questions and personalize the tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Andrew C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Very good and informative, need a stop for dinner though!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Kayelb

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately the hotel messed up my taxi to the meeting point and taxi took me to the wrong place and I missed the tour and a lot of money

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Nadine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Randall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tremendous guide, who varied tour depending on nationality of those on tour. We had couple from Newfoundland so visited in detail battlefield where Newfoundland regiment was annihilated. Really appreciated that the whole area is one big cemetery and how entire units were destroyed in hours or days. Impressive 30 meters deep by 90 meters wide from huge mine one of first sights.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Tonie M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, a very long day if you take it from Brussels. We were very hungry by the time lunch arrived. Guide is very informative. Some hiccups with the return journey, resulting in 2 women being left at Brussels central station without knowing how to get back to their hotelthankfully another person on the tour helped them out. We didn't have too far to walk but a bit annoying.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Lynnette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing !! Right from the moment we met Nicola on the Opera Garnier Steps at 1.30am to the very end. We travelled in a comfortable coach to Villers Bretonneux. The Entrance to the Dawn Service was well organised and the Ceremony itself was very moving. At the end of the ceremony we travelled through the Battlefields of the Somme. Nicola and Regis had an incredible knowledge of World War 1 and of the individual battles. Both Nicola and Regis were friendly, and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed this tour immensely and would highly recommend it to others even with the 1.30am meeting time Thank you for a great day. Lynne and John S

Doing what: ANZAC Day Trip from Paris: Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux and WWI Somme Battlefields Tour

Barbara C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A brilliant guide,and the trip was superb,just very disappointed we were dumped at the other end. Of Bruge town to find our way back to the hotel 10.30pm

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

breebowden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Extremely interesting tour. Our tour guide was fantastic! A very enjoyable day for anyone whether you are interested in world war history or not.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

LYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and showed a great flexibility. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

gael n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

excellent tour, especially if you are an aussie or canadian and there is a frequent refererence to the young men who died a long way from home

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Carol Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The guide had a wealth of knowledge. We would recommend this tour to anyone with interested in the battlefields.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Wayne K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I loved this tour. Well worth it!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

pjmcrob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Dietrich was quite knowledgable and an excellent presenter. He provided great context and information as we travelled between stops and at each visit. The Flanders Field Museum was excellent. The Last Post ceremony was quite moving. I learned quite a bit about WWI would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Kaye M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day out - more like a pilgrimage though. The knowledgeable guide took us through what life was like for a WW1 solidier - and made it all real. The Menin gate ceremony was everything I had heard about. Fabulous day

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day, promptly collected from our Hotel by Jean and driven for the day in luxury vehicle
Watched excellent video on the way, full day, very educational and informative, comprehensive
We were a group of 4 New Zealanders so got to see the ANZAC and NZ heroes resting places.
Worth doing some reading before you go about the various battlegrounds but our host was brilliant.
Flanders Museum excellent too. Menin Gate Last Post very moving despite it being a cold October evening.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message