Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 563 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

driver.1038 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This your was exceptional. We had a small group of 14 people from all over the world and we all got on well. The tour guide was great. Very passionate about tbe sunject and very knowledgable. He gave us some very interesting personal insider bits of information. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Catherine p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with a small group made the tour along with the extremely interesting commentary the trip met all that we were hoping to see

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

MCP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was really worth and our guide was full of very relevant information. He was able to cover detail on the varios armies. He also took us to his favourite view of the river Somme. A great day out and well worth it if you are interested in modern history.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and turned out to be one of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Belgium. One highlight of the tour was actually being able to go into the trenches. We were surprised that they are still there. The history and the cemeteries were very moving. The most moving experience of all was that Last Post at Ypres. This was a major reason that we went on this tour, and it was extremely powerful. The horrors of World War I seem to be eclipsed by the horrors of World War II. As an American I felt bad that it took us so long to become involved in this war. Our tour guide was also excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb experience with knowledgeable guide, Sylvain. Personalized to our request - Canadian and Scots war sites and cemeteries. Incredibly skilled driver in Paris traffic. Clearly bilingual guide, helpful, friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful trip with Dave who was so knowledgeable and paid attention to the 3 different nationalities on the coach
The empathy shown to people who had relatives buried on the battlefields was very special
The choice of hotel was great since we were still in the middle of the battlefield
The weather was shocking but it made us realise something of what the troops went through

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Alan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although Paris and its environs were experiencing singular nonseasonal flooding..our trip came off without a hitch. Bertrand is a warm, humorous, and VERY knowledgeable guide, not to mention an excellent driver. He was great with our 4.5 year old, too - not easy for most tour guides. My wife and son and I were joined by one other gentleman who was on his honeymoon, but took a day while his wife haunted the Champs d'l Eysess to see one of the most famous battlefields in U.S.Marines history....a perfect small group...which allowed a great deal of time to interact with Bertrand and learn from him. Belleau Wood is still filled with shallow trench lines and shell holes, and the monument to the AEF at Chateau-Thierry is spectacular. The day ended with two hours at the WWI museum, which has the largest collection of arms and uniforms in France. All in all, this was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well designed, well paced tour, with a very informative helpful guide and excellent driver. Well chosen place for lunch, just opposite the Flanders Field Museum. Highly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A moving day which gave us a lot of time to explore the Somme area. Our guide Regis had great knowledge of the area and with his iPad brought many interesting pictures and facts to life for us The Australian memorial was most moving and the the visit to the first and third division memorials gave great insight into the huge loss of life and a generation. A must tour for Aussies

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very informative and the whole experience so moving. Our guide was extremely knowledgable of the war history and went out of his way to show us all he could.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Lynda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was both informative and enjoyable. Our guide, Sylvain, was knowledgeable and so willing to answer any and all questions. We would recommend this trip with Sylvain to anyone interested in these WW1 sites.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Vicki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While the weather on the day was not good,it helped put in perspective the conditions that the soldiers had to endure. For an Australian with a grandfather who had served in France in WW1 it was both sobering and uplifting to see the recognition that is still present at Villers Bretonneux and Poziers. Regis the tour guide was very passionate and his knowledge was encyclopaedic when it came to WW1. He was very accommodating and on request made a minor amendment to the schedule to show the Australians the famous windmill site at Poziers. The wind was absolutely howling at the time which added to the effect. It was a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an informative tour. The guide was great and knew the subject. The bus was comfortable. Lunch was tasty and it was nice to visit with other folks on the tour. It was a long tour, but we really got a great overview of WWI in Flanders. We would recommend it!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

barvic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fantastic day, excellent guide.
I would recommend this tour to all Australians.
The day was topped off by the Last Post Ceremony in Ypres - fabulous and very moving.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A long day but great! First, our guide for the day was perfect. Very informed open and paced the visits perfectly to visit all locations and being back in Paris on time. The visit to the British, New Zealand, Australian, and Canadian as well of French of course battles was eye-opening. I suggest viewing the series Apocalypse WW I before visiting the battlefields. Learning the history first and then experiencing the locations and visuals that the soldiers saw and experienced is all the more moving. For those interested in WW I and wishing to become more immersed in the experience I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Gavin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was exellent. The guide and driver were very good with a very extensive subject knowledge.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow such an emotional tour and so glad it was only 10 of us. Our tour guide was brilliant, very knowledgeable. To see where our soldiers are and to walk around the most beautifully looked after cemetery was completely eye opening. This place is huge so much bigger than I ever imagined.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant tour very eye opening to us who didn't really understand the war. Our guide was very knowledgeable but did drag on a bit sometimes making it a bit hard to follow. Had no idea there were so many cemeteries around the area, very emotional ending at the Menin Gate for the Last Post service, just brilliant.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jacquelyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There was so much to see and do! We definitely could have spent more time at some of the sites; however, it is understandable that we couldn and #39;t spend more time or else we wouldn and #39;t have seen all the sites we did see. The guide was really good and knowledgable

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jeffery H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was by far, the best tour we have been on. It was recommended by a family member who had experienced it. As an Australian, it was important and an honour to be able to visit these places and walk through them and remember what the soldiers had gone through not just our soldiers but all. The tour guide was fantastic, he knew his history, was very engaging, funny and although French, he spoke English well. The small group of 10 made it easier to get through the day without a problem. This was a memorable and emotional day, one we would recommend to anyone, but particularly Australians.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Marci C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Covered a lot of monuments/cemeteries. Guide seemed to taylor the program to the nationalities represented on the tour. Flanders museum seemed a bit rushed- there was a lot to read and see. Wish we had known ahead of time that there was a special Canadian exhibit separately at the end not seen until exiting. It was missed due to time. Otherwise full of useful information and good tour. Had passed on allergy concerns for lunch at booking but was not given to restaurant. They were good about preparing something else for me though. Everyone else was pleased with their lunch.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jo-Anne P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Well organised but an extremely long day.12 hours from pick up to drop off.worth seeing however an extremely long day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Martin G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and emotional tour. A must see for all Canadians visiting Europe, especially with 100 year anniversary approaching in 2017. A suggestion: ask the quide to slow down a bit - quality over quantity

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Craig J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour originated in Brussels, and we joined the tour at Bruges. We were late being picked up in Bruges and did not start the tour until 11:00. In spite of this problem, the tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of WWI. He was also very easy to understand, and we could hear very him very well on the bus. The trip high lights included visits to the Trench of Death, German and British cemeteries, Essex Farm Field Hospital, Flanders' Fields Museum, Hill 60, and the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate. We would definitely recommend this tour, and perhaps the pickups and timing in Bruges could be improved in the future.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Kerry D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Fully recommend our day trip from Paris to the Somme. Our guide for the day was very informative and adapted the tour to suit us. As we where all from Northern Ireland he brought us to where the 36th Ulster division fought during the Somme and give us extra time at the Ulster tower.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message