Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 400 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Better than I ever hoped it would be. Guide Nicola was knowledgable, informative and sensitive to war-related issues. I hear tily recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour! Our guide, Nicola, was fantastic. I learned so much about the history of the First World War on this trip. Tip... bring tissues.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Chicago traveler
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Pros: excellent overview of Flanders battle sites, visit to Flanders Museum was interesting, knowledgeable guide would not classify as an expert, long trip but would recommend it if you have only a short time in Flanders
Cons: battlefield knowledge could have been better and included more specifics at times too general and not entirely correct on troop movements perhaps due to lack of specificity, etc., insufficient restroom locations and breaks no restroom on bus - as was advertised!, time in museum was ok but tour ran late near dinner time so unable to get meal
Added: recommend reading books on the key battles and sites before touring

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

terrific tour with an outstanding guide who made the tour educational,informative and interesting.only negative was that the bus pick in Bruges was late.i had to phone the main office twice . i was not aware that the bus had to come from brussles.the actual tour was first class,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Very informative and the guide was great

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was more than expected,very moving with a great very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic Day. Loved the small group and Nicola was an excellent guide. She was so knowledgeable and made the whole day so interesting. We had an all Australian group but it was good to visit the different sites and get an appreciation of the scale of the war in the Somme. Would thoroughly recommend to all. Was extremely moving.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 Day Battlefield Tour with Back Road Tours. The guide, Tony Wade, was excellent. His knowledge of the battles and general French/Belgian history was incomparable. The accommodation at the Kastelhoof was excellent and the locations and routes travelled - spot on.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guide very interesting and emotional. A long day but great value would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing Tour! Well organised and we visited many of the places you normally only see on TV or read about in the newspaper! Our driver Julian did a great job, but it was our guide Nicola who made the day with her fantastic knowledge of both World Wars and of the Somme region! The highlight was climbing the tower at the Australian War Memorial at Villers Bretonneaux and looking over the surrounding fields and trying to imagine the devastation that took place here! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The whole experience was fantastic. Nicola our guide was so informative and sensitive to the emotional side as well. As we were visiting soon after Anzac Day there were still messages in the tombstones which we found very touching. Would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Reading about the fight in Belleau Wood is now thing, walking the battlefield itself brought the history and emotion of it to life. Our guide, Bertrand, proved invaluable in providing context to the experienceof course, that many of the fighting positions have been physically maintained through the years was a major benefit. My thanks to Viator and to Bertrand for a most rewarding tour.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and very informative. We we last on bus so didn't getverygoodseats but no other concerns

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting day out. Nicola, our guide, was amazing. Her knowledge of the area and it's history was outstanding. She even helped us find my husband's great uncle's grave at Villers Brettoneux. Our driver, Julian, did a great job and got us safely through the hail storm on the way back. Thank you Nicola and Julian for a great day out.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Nicola was the best. We had a fantastic day.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the ride in the country and the battlefield tour. Our guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I learned so much about WWI history and saw many memorial sites. Our guide Cedric was wonderful.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely recommended! A very good day.Educational, good insights into the battlegields and spectacular scenery.Our guide ,Nicola,was excellent- well informed, helpful and very accommodating. Our driver,Julien, was also very good.He engaged well with us and like Nicola had lunch with us

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about all aspects of this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour alrhough a long day- enjoyed it immensly! Would have like a bit more time in places and less time for breaks but that was only my personnal thought- great guide - definitely value for money!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brillient tour.
There was not one thing our tour guide didn't know about WW1. And if she got a tricky question she quickly googled it or tried to get an answer. Even to what type of flowers were growing by the side of the road. She was very passionate.
Julien the bus driver was delightful.
It was a long day but didn't feel like it as there were many stops. They were very happy to accommodate any special requests.
Overall a great tour defiantly a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent. Our guide Nicola was fabulous. Her knowledge of the history was brilliant. Only stressful incident was the cab driver dropping us at the wrong office! Maybe include a small map of exact location on booking instructions. Thankfully Nicola came looking for us

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent day out. Advertised a small group tour of up to 16, there were only 3 of us. Our guide, Herbert, was very knowledgeable about Australia's part in the Western Front. He took us to many of the battlefields and cemetries relevant to Australian troops, as well as those of many other nations.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very informative, he had a vast knowledge of the subject and made it interesting for us.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message