The beaches of Fiji's Coral Coast are the loveliest on Viti Levu. A coral reef runs the length of the beach creating a shallow shelf before dropping suddenly into the deep blue of the South Pacific. Plenty of resorts have sought to enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A very enjoyable trip from beginning to end, people are friendly, atmosphere on the sail boat is great, unlimited drink is a bonus. Once on the island, the BBQ lunch is reasonable, activities are plenty (actually not enough time to do it all..........either snorkelling or glass bottom boat, then it's either kayaking or fishing). The only downside of the trip is the poor condition of the glass bottom boat that the glass is full of scratches and can hardly see much of the corals or fish. Overall, still highly recommended this trip to other people.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in Fiji - our second visit. This time we opted to do the Whales Tale Cruise and what a fantastic time we had!! We had an absolute ball and were totally overwhelmed by the wonderful crew who looked after us from the moment we set foot on the yacht until the time we returned to port. We loved the fact that it was a small group who went on the excursion making it easier to mingle and meet fellow travelers. The quality of the catering was excellent and certainly plenty to go around. The snorkeling was great with lots of beautiful coral and huge variety of fish to see. I am grateful to Moses who insisted I use a life jacket for added buoyancy - this meant I could stay in one spot and look at the fish at any point in time. We are planning to return to Fiji in the next 18-24 months and we will definitely be booking Whales Tale again. I highly recommend this to anyone considering doing this particular cruise - it truly is a wonderful experience. I have deliberately not gone into specifics as I don't want to spoil the wonderful surprises that await you!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This cruise is a must! The crew are extremely friendly, all the food and drink you could ever want. The day is spent on a private island snorkelling, fishing or beach combing. The scenery is beautiful as you sail past islands. The snorkelling provides a chance to witness all types of colourful fish and coral. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

Rosario I
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Excellent value and absolute fun. The crew onboard take care of your every need from the start to the end of the cruise. Guitarists add a relaxed feel to the trip and little extras like the kava ceremony and the paddle boards add to the recreational value of the day. Snorkel island has plenty of room to rest in the sun and the snorkeling is good to view starfish. The water is too shallow for good coral viewing but the trip over and back on the sailing boat is the main appeal on this trip plus the delicious lunch and drinks!!! Thanks to all the crew and BULA!!!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

What a trip! The crew were very competent and friendly and always ready to fix us up with another drink (alcoholic or whatever you wanted) as we cruised to and from Snorkel Island which was about 90 minutes each way. The lunch was great - plenty of variety so something for everyone. The fresh tuna was my favorite. Snorkeling from the island was terrific; warm water and lots of bright fish (although the coral does not compare with the reefs off Cairns). The crew did a great job getting a big group together for volleyball, while others decided to go for another snorkel, paddle a kayak or just sit back and relax. I can't fault the cruise; they did a very good job looking after us and keeping us entertained for the whole day. Certainly good value for money. Graeme B

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

SOLEDAD C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The best day in Fiji, fantastic and great entertainment . The boat is a beautiful old , the crew are friendly and kind, the food was excellent . The drinks flowed freely all day. Better to took your own snorkel gear, the one that they provided are very old. I dont think i will reccomend anyone to go on this trip if they are looking for good snorkelling spots like Yasawa islands and a reef of Castaway Island, the water was murky and most of the coral were dead. However if you only have time for one day trips I would recommend doing this. I have been snorkelling in the Yasawa islands and a reef of Castaway Island. All It is a fantastic day, I would highly recommend it. Please take loads of sunblock and a big hat as shade can be limited. Have Fun!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Whales Tale Cruise was great. The trip to the island was about an hour long with no transfers from boat to boat which was a nice change from the other cruises. The crew was very friendly and wanted to get to know us. We were on our Honeymoon and they surprised us with a Honeymoon cake and played us a special song on their guitars. We became quick friends with the crew, who were constantly joking with us and making sure we were getting enough to eat and drink throughout the tour. Once we arrived on the island, we went out on a guided snorkeling tour. There were about 30 people that went out snorkeling, and the guide was excellent. He made sure everyone was safe (one snorkeler yelled for help and our guide quickly swam to her aid to help her back to shore) and having a great time. He passed around bread so that we could feed the fish, and he showed us some great sights. I also learned that the crew maintains the reef by reviving the dying coral; I was pleased to hear about their sustainability. After snorkeling, our lunch was ready. It was the most delicious food we had on our trip and it was all you can eat. The crew played music for us while we were eating, and they made sure that we had our fill of food and drink. After we ate, we had time to lounge in the sun. People were playing volleyball, snorkeling more on their own, and taking out the kayak's around the island. The island itself was pretty small and not as exciting to look at as other islands, but it was a great get away from our resort. We are in our mid-20's and had a great time, but most of the people on the trip were middle aged. My only complaint about the tour was that it felt rather short. We were about to take the Kayak out when it was already time to go before 3pm. Although the time felt cut short, the great crew and fun activities made up for it. I would highly recommend this tour, and can see myself going on it again if we ever go back to Fiji.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The bus ride from the Outrigger (on the Coral Coast) takes an hour or so. Once you're on the boat, it's about an hour and a half to the island. There's brunch on the boat, lunch once you get to the island, and "tea" on the return trip (which for us was cake and cookies and things like that). The island is really, really small, but the snorkeling was good and the water was really nice. There's also kayaking, hand-line fishing, volleyball and a glass bottom boat ride (all included). The crew works really hard to keep everyone entertained. The only thing I didn't like was that (probably because of the unlimited free drinks), there are quite a few drunks on board by the end of the trip. Other than that, it was a fun and relaxing day.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

great crew, food, alcohol, hospitality and entertainment! it was worth it just for this =) the coral around snorkel island was a bit dissapointing though - probably because of low tide. The snorkelling around plantation islant was much better

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

I had a Nice day.
The really desapointing part was that the guides really did not care about the Corals. Even one of the guides stepped on them and I saw them breaking. No instruction was offered to the participants in how to take care of nature while being at the reef.
The boat is great, but the food was very much below the expected standards.
Anyway - if becoming more eco-friendly it would be worth going - the guides ruining nature is unacceptable.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

Sonya I
New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

A lot of time spent on the boat plying you with drink. Staff were friendly. Most of the coral around the island was dead. Sails were used briefly on the boat. No cocktails in the evening watching sunset. Not much on the island. Recommend Robinson Crusoe tour as much better value.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

Nice boat trip up the river, but would not recommend if not staying near Navua or the Coral Coast. Too long a bus trip from the west coast.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message