Fiji ATTRACTIONS See all

Mamanuca Islands

The glorious Mamanuca Islands are picture-postcard Fiji. These are the islands of eternal sunshine, pristine beaches and coconut palms. Lazing about in the sun is one of the best ways to enjoy the Mamanuca’s and they offer plenty of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This half day trip was wonderful. I had 2 hours on South Sea Island. It's very small but well set up and organised. We did trip in their submersible - sort of like a submarine where you can see the coral and fish without actually snorkling. They did also have snorkling if you wanted to. I prefer to sit on the beach in the sun.

Doing what: South Sea Island Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our day with the Whale's Tale crew was more than we could ask for. Our seven year old son was extremely well looked after and made friends with the whole crew. Captain Mike and his crew were very friendly and ensured everyone was having a good time all day. The food was delicious and fresh. We chose to spend our wedding anniversary on the Whale's Tale schooner and don't regret a decision in the slightest. Fom start to finish, we were well looked after and would recommend anyone looking for a fa static day on the water to sail with Whale's Tale. Best value for money trip ever!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Whales Tale Cruise was great. The trip to the island was about an hour long with no transfers from boat to boat which was a nice change from the other cruises. The crew was very friendly and wanted to get to know us. We were on our Honeymoon and they surprised us with a Honeymoon cake and played us a special song on their guitars. We became quick friends with the crew, who were constantly joking with us and making sure we were getting enough to eat and drink throughout the tour. Once we arrived on the island, we went out on a guided snorkeling tour. There were about 30 people that went out snorkeling, and the guide was excellent. He made sure everyone was safe (one snorkeler yelled for help and our guide quickly swam to her aid to help her back to shore) and having a great time. He passed around bread so that we could feed the fish, and he showed us some great sights. I also learned that the crew maintains the reef by reviving the dying coral; I was pleased to hear about their sustainability. After snorkeling, our lunch was ready. It was the most delicious food we had on our trip and it was all you can eat. The crew played music for us while we were eating, and they made sure that we had our fill of food and drink. After we ate, we had time to lounge in the sun. People were playing volleyball, snorkeling more on their own, and taking out the kayak's around the island. The island itself was pretty small and not as exciting to look at as other islands, but it was a great get away from our resort. We are in our mid-20's and had a great time, but most of the people on the trip were middle aged. My only complaint about the tour was that it felt rather short. We were about to take the Kayak out when it was already time to go before 3pm. Although the time felt cut short, the great crew and fun activities made up for it. I would highly recommend this tour, and can see myself going on it again if we ever go back to Fiji.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour had the best snorkeling of any tour that we went on. Modriki island where Castaway was filmed was the most picturesque place I have ever been. The sand beaches were white and the clear waters were homes for dozens of species of tropical fish. I only wish that we had more time on this island. We were allowed to stay for only about 45 minutes. The crew was helpful but a bit intimidating. No one went out of their way to smile, though they were still entertaining. We had to take a catamaran for about an hour to reach our sail boat, and once we got on the boat we headed for Modriki. It wasn't clear to us where we would store our things on Modriki so we left them on the boat. We really wanted to take pictures, but the crew left us on the island with no supervision. I ended up having to swim back to the boat to get our camera and then the crew was nice enough to bring me back, but it was still a bit of a headache since we didn't know what to expect ahead of time. After getting back from Modriki, the crew cooked us lunch on the boat. The food was spectacular. We had an assortment of chicken, fish, and sausage, along with some of the best fried rice I have ever eaten, some fresh fruit, bread rolls, and potato salad. After eating, we headed to another island to visit a village. We had a traditional kava ceremony, looked at shops, and best of all, saw the local school. Class was just getting out so we were able to interact with the children. They greeted us with songs and wanted to be in all of our pictures. They were so fun. After spending about an hour in the village, it was time to go back to the marina which took another hour on a Catamaran. Overall, I really enjoyed this tour. The snorkeling was excellent though short, the food was outstanding, and the village visit was the best I had been on. My only complaints are that the crew wasn't all that friendly, and the time felt cut short. I would do it again solely for the opportunity to see Modriki island.

Doing what: Fiji Mamanuca Islands Sailing Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good trip and great crew. Would have preferred more time on the island. Felt a little rushed

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Nice way to see the various islands but we did not get off of the boat. i would recommend planning extra time and allocating money to getting off at one of the islands. Nice trip overall and still allows you to have the rest of the day.

Doing what: Fiji Mamanuca Islands Cruise with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this cruise, the ship stopped at several other islands on the way to Castaway Island so we had a chance to get a glimpse of other Fiji islands. Castaway itself was beautiful, a lovely beach where we went snorkelling. The hire of flippers and face masks was included. After a nice lunch we went snorkelling again and then had a swim in one of the resort pools until it was time for the ship to pick us up again. It was an enjoyable day although long, we were picked up before 8am and didn't get back to our hotel till 6pm.

Doing what: Castaway Island Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful day on South Sea Island! Snorkelling, kayaking, lounging, swimming, unlimited beers - life was good.

Doing what: South Sea Island Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Never will you meet more friendly people. Everyone on that boat is friendly and makes sure you are happy, involved and entertained. They get to know your names and presented birthday cakes for those celebrating on board. It was a lovely trip out to the island. It's a bit long to go by sailboat, but it's very relaxing. On the island, they have great food, nice snorkelling and diving opportunities and some volleyball. It's not like some of the other trips which were more commercialized and had way too many people. This fits just the right amount, and we had a great time!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Nice snorkeling spot and good resort facility.

Doing what: Mana Island Day Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I did the full-day cruise. The island is wonderful, and the food is great. They performed a wonderful dance for us. I marked it down because they really went slack for the latter half of the day. They have a schedule up, and it is just for looks. They followed it up until the half-day people left, and then they leave the rest of us there with no activities for the second half of the day. The boat came to pick us up more than 45 minutes late, and if you got stuck sitting in the back on the way back, you are sucking fumes. I had gone on a different cruise the day before, and this one just didn't live up to that one. If you do go, then just do the half-day, but they don't have hotel pick-up for the half-day. It is lovely on the island though, but the people don't get to know you or care too much about how you're doing.

Doing what: South Sea Island Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a great experience!! The people of the island are very friendly and made sure that we have fun!! Upon arrival on the island, there was schedule of activities on a board and we were told about available water sports for us to do ie scuba diving, snorkling, kayak, sailing...unlimited drinks, massage available, bbq lunch. They also entertained us with their dance and songs. It was a wonderful day!! My daughter can't stop talking about her experience in scuba diving, that this is her most fun and unforgettable vacation!!

Doing what: South Sea Island Day Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing day. Everything I thought fiji would be. This tour is a must ! Especially if you are pressed for time.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message