Fiji ATTRACTIONS See all

Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony

The journey to get to Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony involves a stunning boat trip up the Navua river, floating by traditional villages and past the remarkable beauty of waterfalls and impressive gorges. Once at Nukusere Village you will ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was great. Very friendly people. The boat trip was a bit longer than anticipated (over an hour each way) which would have been nice to know. Otherwise I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

In Summary: The trip took 11 hours: approximately 4.75 hrs to get to the village, 2 hours at the village, and 4.25 hrs to return. There was minimal tour narration during the bus ride from Nadi to the river, only about 15 minutes after we picked up the last passengers. The river was low so the boat had difficulty traveling upstream for over an hour because the danger of hitting bottom. It was uncomfortable because of the length and seats with no backs, knees up to our chins, etc. The village visit was fine. The villagers were friendly and the dances, kava ceremony and food prepared was good. The return to the mouth of the river was quicker because it was downstream. The ride back still had no narration, instead a Christian movie was shown, which we feel was inappropriate for those on board with different religions, rather a film about Fiji would have been very appropriate, or even a movie made in Fiji. We were so disappointed because our other Viator tours were excellent.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our group enjoyed the day but it wasn't what we expected. There was 8 people in a very narrow boat with a small motor. The seats were so low that everyone was very uncomfortable and even sore the next day. I thought we were going to be float down a river but instead we were motoring up and down the river. The Fijian village tour was very good however and overall we enjoyed the trip. Just recognize that the picture they show is not what the boat ride is really like.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

We ran into Rain during the Boat ride to the Village! The Boat operator should have provided Rain Coats for each Passenger. The Boat was operated by a single Engine Propeller!

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Navua river trip was good. but there was not much wildlife in the river nor river banks.We visited the village and tried to understand their life. Kava Ceremony was interested . The lunch was good. the villagers
were friendly.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Reasonably nice but too hot needed some shade on the boat. When we got to the "village" felt obligated to give them money (donation). Was not a cheap tour. It was all "setup" fake for tourists. Western folk are just "a meal ticket".

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The tour was really beautiful and the village people were warm and wonderful. The only problem we had was on the canoe trip over and back (mostly back). The guide and the tour info did not tell you that you would get soaked. My husband has a very expensive camera that got wet even in a plastic bag.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This event was cancelled due to lack of participates on Saturday. We there fore joined a different tour "Robinson Curisoe Island Tour" which was a great alternative to the above eventhough we would have loved the Navua River Village Tour. We had loads of fun on the Robinson Curisoe Island.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Amazing. Great guide. Take sunscreen. Very long boat ride in the sun with no canopy. Weat your swimmers you can stop for a dip on the way to the village.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

During this tour I partially dislocated my hip at the village and everyone could not do enough for me. Junior my guide I could marry that man he was fantastic he looked after me, carried me back down to the river, with the help of others, put me in the canoe, helped me out of the canoe, held my hair back as I vomited with the pain and offered to get a private car to get me back to Nadi. I had the best day and the best experience, it was actually the highlight of my holiday. Sai and Niraj also did an amazing job looking after me on my 4 hour bus trip back to Nadi. i will go back again and again!!! The scenery and the service OUTSTANDING!!!

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was by far the best tour I went on during my visit to Fiji. Even though the weather did not cooperate, the sights and the people were amazing!

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Thoughly enjoyed the whole experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Our guide was fantastic, the guide on the bus part was exceptional and gave far more than you would ever expect. Every bit was well managed, no waiting everything was on time not Fiji time but totally on time. It was an emotional day at the village but we loved it and everyone is so incredibly friendly and welcoming..

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

A very pleasant and interesting day, a good guide and friendly people in the village

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was fabulous. I had the best day. The tour guide was so friendly and warm. The boat ride was wonderful and the people in the village were so welcoming. The lunch provided at the Village was yummy. You must do this tour, you wont regret it.

Doing what: Navua River Village and Kava Ceremony Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message