Known also as Sandalwood Island, the waters surrounding Vanua Levu have some of the best dive spots in the South Pacific. These include the world-renowned Rainbow Reef and Savusavu Bay. The island itself does not have the best lazing beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant - had a wonderful day with Captain Mike, and would highly recommend this tour for anybody.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for something to do while oin Fiji. The boat ride over was relaxing and there was enough time on the island to snorkel, kayak, get a massage and have lunch which was fantastic and filling. Alcohol and other drinks were also included so I felt as though it was great value for money...!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Crew were nice, lunch was decent. Snorkelling is good but not great.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Whales Tale was a great trip!
We had read all the review's and this day out did not disappoint!!
Staff were great and friendly, loved the sing alongs!!
All you can drink with a bar on board, and yummy champagne breaky, followed by an equally awesome lunch and Kava ceremony!
Really enjoyed sailing time getting to the island, and then playing volley ball/ snorkeling etc! saw amazing fish, they come right up to you! We have family going to Fiji in July, and will definitely recommend!!
This is a must go- great value for $$!!
Thanks WT Team!!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The staff made this tour! Everyone from the coach drivers to the staff on board went out of their way to make our day relaxed and fun. There was plenty of food and drink and people to chat to as we lazed away the hours watching the islands in the distance and listening to some of the staff singing local songs. Our lunch was delicious and it was great to have snorkel island as a base for lunch, snorkelling and fishing. Everyone was in a relaxed mood and the wonderful chef even baked us a cake for our anniversary. A nice way to see Fiji. Definitely worth the money. Maybe not for little children though as there's not a lot of space on the ship to run around. Tip: There are rooms downstairs on the ship complete with ensuites so changing into bathers is not a problem.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Most of our holiday group went on this excursion, the only complaint was having to travel to Denareu for boarding when Pacific Harbour was so much closer .. apparently there wasn't time for some of the advertised activities, but they really enjoyed what they experienced.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The best activity we decided to do by far! Don't waste your time with the other expensive cruises - this one has the best food (HEAPS of it), and plenty to drink. To get everything that was included in this trip for the price was absolutely remarkable. The island you go out to is beautiful, and there are plenty of options on how you spend your time there. Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fiji is amazing and exceeded all of my expectations. Only downer (if you can call it that) was the taxi from nadi airport to denarau was $25 but you cannot get back to the airport the same way as denarau is a private island and the only way is by there shuttle bus which is $45. Don't be put off.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We loved this trip although snorkeling was only about a 3.0. The setting was beautiful with the grass huts perfect for dining and relaxing. Food and beverage was great as was kayaking and shell hunting. We did not do scuba, massage or glass boat sailing, but we loved watching the volleyball game. The little island was lovely. It was also nice to have a bathroom/changing room.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A very enjoyable trip from beginning to end, people are friendly, atmosphere on the sail boat is great, unlimited drink is a bonus. Once on the island, the BBQ lunch is reasonable, activities are plenty (actually not enough time to do it all..........either snorkelling or glass bottom boat, then it's either kayaking or fishing). The only downside of the trip is the poor condition of the glass bottom boat that the glass is full of scratches and can hardly see much of the corals or fish. Overall, still highly recommended this trip to other people.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were a group of 15 family members when we first boarded we thought the ship may have been a bit overcrowded but once we got underway,this certainly wasn't the case,there was a place for everyone. The crew couldn't have been more obliging while still retaining that laid back Fijian charm. The Island we went to was all I had hoped for that tropical Fijian experience, white sands, clear water, great food. Overall would recommend this experience to anyone wanting to experience the real Fiji,if you are mainly based in a resort.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was fun trip which we all enjoyed. The food was very good and the crew made sue we had all we needed. A great day out!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our day with the Whale's Tale crew was more than we could ask for. Our seven year old son was extremely well looked after and made friends with the whole crew. Captain Mike and his crew were very friendly and ensured everyone was having a good time all day. The food was delicious and fresh. We chose to spend our wedding anniversary on the Whale's Tale schooner and don't regret a decision in the slightest. Fom start to finish, we were well looked after and would recommend anyone looking for a fa static day on the water to sail with Whale's Tale. Best value for money trip ever!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Whales Tale Cruise was great. The trip to the island was about an hour long with no transfers from boat to boat which was a nice change from the other cruises. The crew was very friendly and wanted to get to know us. We were on our Honeymoon and they surprised us with a Honeymoon cake and played us a special song on their guitars. We became quick friends with the crew, who were constantly joking with us and making sure we were getting enough to eat and drink throughout the tour. Once we arrived on the island, we went out on a guided snorkeling tour. There were about 30 people that went out snorkeling, and the guide was excellent. He made sure everyone was safe (one snorkeler yelled for help and our guide quickly swam to her aid to help her back to shore) and having a great time. He passed around bread so that we could feed the fish, and he showed us some great sights. I also learned that the crew maintains the reef by reviving the dying coral; I was pleased to hear about their sustainability. After snorkeling, our lunch was ready. It was the most delicious food we had on our trip and it was all you can eat. The crew played music for us while we were eating, and they made sure that we had our fill of food and drink. After we ate, we had time to lounge in the sun. People were playing volleyball, snorkeling more on their own, and taking out the kayak's around the island. The island itself was pretty small and not as exciting to look at as other islands, but it was a great get away from our resort. We are in our mid-20's and had a great time, but most of the people on the trip were middle aged. My only complaint about the tour was that it felt rather short. We were about to take the Kayak out when it was already time to go before 3pm. Although the time felt cut short, the great crew and fun activities made up for it. I would highly recommend this tour, and can see myself going on it again if we ever go back to Fiji.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good trip and great crew. Would have preferred more time on the island. Felt a little rushed

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Never will you meet more friendly people. Everyone on that boat is friendly and makes sure you are happy, involved and entertained. They get to know your names and presented birthday cakes for those celebrating on board. It was a lovely trip out to the island. It's a bit long to go by sailboat, but it's very relaxing. On the island, they have great food, nice snorkelling and diving opportunities and some volleyball. It's not like some of the other trips which were more commercialized and had way too many people. This fits just the right amount, and we had a great time!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing day. Everything I thought fiji would be. This tour is a must ! Especially if you are pressed for time.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was fantastic. My husband and I did the extra scuba diving as well, our first time ever and the 2 guides, Sharon and a lovely chap with a fro, were fabulous. One of the highlights of our whole Fiji holiday. I would recommend it to anyone. All the staff were lovely, the boat was great, yummy food and a wonderful day. Thank you!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great day out, spoiled by one passenger who imbibed too much in the free alcohol.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day Weather nice and hot and good group of people. Staff very helpful and lots to eat and drink. Nothing like sailing into marina after a fantastic day on the water.

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was awesome! The crew were fantastic really friendly and funny, the food was great and it felt like it kept on going, drinks kept on flowing aswell. Snorkeling was great! we had never been snorkeling before and they help us and gudied us. Definitely a trip to remember!! VINAKA!!

Doing what: Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message