Breathtaking Doubtful Sound is one of the most pristine wilderness areas in the world. A striking place of soaring peaks and still, calm waters it is nick-named "Sound of Silence" because of the incredible stillness and peace that fills ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keith G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Spectacular scenery,well organised,would recommend this tour

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic tour. Very informative nature guide, great breakfast, dinner and snacks. Had a wonderful time, spectacular scenery and recommend this tour

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Arvinder A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Was a well organised, very enjoyable cruise. Did see some dolphins and seals inspite of the weather being cloudy / raining

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Peter R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very helpful and professional staff. Beautiful scenery

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

ALLAN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful trip, Skipper Dave Allen and all the crew were fantastic.
The scenery is unbelievable and the interaction with all on board was typically Kiwi.
Will certainly recommend this company to all.
Cheers
Allan and Nia Callaway

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Emma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip - highly recommend. Stunning location, great service, great food and excellent tour information. An expensive trip but ultimately worth it. Be prepared for a lot of travel before and after the actual cruise as you are heading into wilderness but that said, it and #39;s all part of the experience!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mrs MB O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant. Crew were very helpful and knowledgeable and we had excellent weather which put the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful day so we were very lucky. Nice boat and excellent commentary on both lakes/sounds. Saw seals and penguins and were given enough time and opportunity to take photos and view the wildlife and scenery. One of the most memorable days of our NZ trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

JOHN R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Having booked this trip 6 months previously, we hoped for good weather as December 2015 in NZ had been rather disappointing. Come the day, the weather was clear and sunny - just what was wanted. We were picked up at our motel and the coach ride to Manapouri was quite short. Then on to the catamaran to speed across Lake Manapouri to West Arm and this was followed by another short coach journey over the Wilmot Pass Road to Doubtful. The coach driver was a 'fountain of knowledge' and had a great sense of humour. We arrived at Deep Cove and the stunning view of Doubtful Sound - awesome!!
Our 3 hour cruise along Doubtful Sound was memorable for the spectacular scenery, vegetation, tree falls, waterfalls, seals, jumping dolphins and the stillness of Crooked Arm, when the Catamaran's engines were turned off and the enthusiastic tourists on board fell silent to appreciate the beauty of this natural wonder. Magnificent.
Throughout the cruise there was an informative, but not intrusive commentary. The Catamaran's staff ensured all tourists were safe and free refreshments were provided throughout the journey. The coach driver on our return journey made all the visitors laugh by telling us that Doubtful Sound was wet on 2 out of every 3 days each year, and with the last 4 days being completely dry, the area was officially in drought!!
I would thoroughly recommend this excursion, suitable for all ages and surely a 'wonderous adventure into a remote area of New Zealand'.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just picturesque. The surroundings are just beautiful. The boat is spacious and plenty of viewing opportunities on the decks.
When the drizzle came through, I went inside was was very excited to find all walls were glass so didn't miss one second of the view.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Kate D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great trip so well organized. We had to take a bus they picked us up at our hotel! to a boat then another bus and another boat. ALL went so smoothly, the drivers were well informed and friendly the trip was absolutely beautiful at all points. The boat on the Doubtful Sound was super nice good tour guide the captain even stopped the boat for us to see the amazing dolphins. For anyone considering this trip - it's well worth the investment.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Despite slightly miserable weather we could not fault anything about this cruise. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow! Don't miss this one, it is amazing. From the moment you are picked up to the time you are dropped off this is such a wonderful trip. All the crew from coach drivers to chefs to the skippers are so informative and helpful. I can't praise it highly enough. Great activities, food and rooms make it all the more enjoyable. Making new friends along the way is very easy as everyone is so relaxed. The crew are one very well oiled machine, they all wear many hats. Thank you for all making this a very happy adventure.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Doubtful Sound is so beautiful, the only thing that spoilt it a little was the weather but that's luck of the draw as it rains there 2 out 3 days. The journey was very comfortable. A long day but worth every minute.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Unforgettable!! This was an extraordinary tour, very professionally run from start to finish. We were able to view stunning scenery and rare sightings of whales, penguins, dolphins, and seals. The weather started out rainy, which was OK, but then turned brilliantly clear, with a sky filled with millions of stars. Do NOT miss this tour, if you can swing it. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Kenneth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding cruise and tour. If you can afford the extra cost, it is far superior to Milford Sound. Dramatically fewer tourists, superior experience of the southwest coast fjords. Top notch crew, and an excellent boat captain that brings you close to the shore and sea features. Perhaps the best experience during our 19-day tour of the north and south islands.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

V. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our Doubtful Sound overnight cruise. Just getting to the cruise boat is an adventure--Lake Manapouri boat ride and then an overland bus ride to get to the cruise boat. We especially liked having a naturalist on the boat explaining what we were seeing. The morning of the cruise, he had all us passengers sit up front with him and asked that we could be silent to hear the sounds of nature. It was magical!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved it. Dramatic. Dolphins. Quiet. Well worth the whole day of travel - it's all part of the experience. Staff were fantastic at communicating every step of the way. So we always knew what was about to happen and what to expect. I would definitely do this again and consider the over night trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Perfect! Everything was As ordered. Even the weather couln't have been better. Boats and buses were on time, where they were supposed to be.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Perfect! Everything was As ordered. Even the weather couln't have been better. Boats and buses were on time, where they were supposed to be.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

matt p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

lovely placeLovely boat

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Candwmiller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Doubtful Sound is a very special place and was one of the highlights of our month long tour of New Zealand. The ship is well run, the staff very approachable, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was abundant and very good. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Marie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mark A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

All arrangements worked perfectly including the weather.
Like 3 trips in one with the Lake Manapouri cruise then the bus trip and finally the cruise on Doubtful Sound.
Highly recommend

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Larry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic voyage. The best excursion we have ever been on. The crew was friendly and efficient. We couldn't have expected more.
Larry and Eva Durey

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message