Breathtaking Doubtful Sound is one of the most pristine wilderness areas in the world. A striking place of soaring peaks and still, calm waters it is nick-named "Sound of Silence" because of the incredible stillness and peace that fills ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Once in a lifetime experience to see remote mountains, forest and the Sounds. Roomy and modern catamaran, expert commentary and of course the joy of seeing bottlenose dolphins and fur seals. To get to Doubtful Sounds involves a trip over the beautiful Lake Manapouri, a coach over the Wilmot pass and then cruising through Doubtful Sound out to the Tasman Sea. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We saw Dolphins and seals but no penguins. The food was wonderful. The whole experience was memorable

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This Trip was so beautiful.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superbly organised with excellent commentary from the pick up coach until the cruise.
Outstanding views with a major highlight seeing the Blue Nose Dolphins 'playing' alongside the boat (which apparently only occurs a few times each season)!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely brilliant!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow, this was my fourth time, but the first time I had seen dolphins! Great trip even after four times!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was exactly as publicized. The staff was as incredible as the views and Claire really knew her stuff.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This will be I'm sure one of the best 24hrs of our 6 weeks in NZ. All the crew on board and the skipper of the cat from Mannapourri and bus drivers were were brilliant, helpful, friendly and humorous! Accommodation on the Navigator was excellent and the food superb. The chaps giving the commentary on the history and wildlife were so informative and enthusiastic. Thanks to the Captain we were able to get close up and comfortable with Doubtful Sound. They thought of everything even sandfly repellant when we took to the small boats.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A great day, but a shame about the weather as this was our wettest day in three weeks in NZ, but on the positive side, the waterfalls were many and impressive. This was a very well managed day. Will definitely do this again with a wet weather discount!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Interesting, informative and a pleasure.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Highly recommended! Enjoyed every moment of it:) Great food, scenery, and crew members. Would love to do it again if theres a chance!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing. Wonderful scenery and trip very well organised. Best to take food and drink with you as very limited choice on Doubtful Sound boat.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an excellent trip. The boat is very comfortable and the food brilliant. The knowledge of our guide was second to none. We were made very welcome. The scenery and the silence time was great, cannot fault it. Saw dolphins, penguins and fur seals plus numerous birds.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Suzanna and I both enjoyed the entire trip immensely! The boat ride across Lake Manapouri and the coach ride to the Sound were beautiful by them selves. The Sound cruise was awesome. The crew were helpful and informative. The boats were very comfortable with warm cozy inside as well as enough outside deck for the nicer part of the weather. Loved the part where they took the boat up an arm of the Sound and cut the engines so we could just float quietly in mirror still water for a few minutes. It was definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message