Breathtaking Doubtful Sound is one of the most pristine wilderness areas in the world. A striking place of soaring peaks and still, calm waters it is nick-named "Sound of Silence" because of the incredible stillness and peace that fills ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Highly recommended! Enjoyed every moment of it:) Great food, scenery, and crew members. Would love to do it again if theres a chance!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing. Wonderful scenery and trip very well organised. Best to take food and drink with you as very limited choice on Doubtful Sound boat.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an excellent trip. The boat is very comfortable and the food brilliant. The knowledge of our guide was second to none. We were made very welcome. The scenery and the silence time was great, cannot fault it. Saw dolphins, penguins and fur seals plus numerous birds.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Suzanna and I both enjoyed the entire trip immensely! The boat ride across Lake Manapouri and the coach ride to the Sound were beautiful by them selves. The Sound cruise was awesome. The crew were helpful and informative. The boats were very comfortable with warm cozy inside as well as enough outside deck for the nicer part of the weather. Loved the part where they took the boat up an arm of the Sound and cut the engines so we could just float quietly in mirror still water for a few minutes. It was definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful trip to Doubtful Sound with the tour company. The weather was perfect, the scenery spectacular and the guides, drivers and crew were fantastic. The commentaries were interesting and informative and you could tell that everyone was passionate about their job. It is a privilege to visit such a magnificent spot.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

amazing so well organized and explained along the way beautiful scenery . thankyou .

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth it. Great crew. Fantastic weather. Fabulous scenery. Sensational food. Double cabin bigger than expected.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great trip, fantastic staff full of lots of local knowledge. Great to be able to chat with the captian in the wheel house during our journey, and awesome food!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everything went smoothly and the whole trip was totally enjoyable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From checking in to stepping off, the entire cruise was the highlight of our 3 weeks in New Zealand. Everything about the whole process from arrival to departure and all that in vetween was well executed by tne staff botn on land and on the sea.

We lucked out with two beautiful days on Doubtful Sound and a beautiful Sunset on the Tasman Sea. No jumping dolphins along side The Navigator but who needs dolphins when the buffet spreads both dinner and breakfast were amazing. Since we only spent 3 short days in South Island we will plan a second trip down the road to see more of the beauty that makes up SI.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great boat. Easy to view everything. Good transportation. Very interesting. Loved it.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great journey through Lake Manapouri and Dounbtful Sound through to the Tasman sea. We loved it and were very lucky with the weather. Sunny and calm sea.
Very professional and helpful staff.
Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great cruise but slightly disappointed in the quad accommodation, no door! With the space available I'm sure the false bulkhead could be extended to provide better privacy and possibly improved amenities.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message