Fiordland is picture postcard New Zealand: all soaring mountains, rugged landscapes and stunning lakes. Within Fiordland you will find some of New Zealand’s finest attractions like the fiord hewn sounds, including the popular and impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

arthur b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful scenery and a very comfortable trip.
I took the 9 AM cruise and was surprised that a very good breakfast was provided. I guess I did not read the fine print.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Keith G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Spectacular scenery,well organised,would recommend this tour

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

savemy987

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic! Driver was really good at local knowledge. Long trip but well worth it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Arvinder A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Was a well organised, very enjoyable cruise. Did see some dolphins and seals inspite of the weather being cloudy / raining

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Lesley N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was a rainy day, we had been given no information about the journey on the only road in and out.Luckily we had given ourselves 3hrs instead of the 1hr 45mins that Google recommended. Getting a flyer from the kiosk about essential safety information is too late, once you are there i what to wear what to take, facilities ect' The furher 15mins walk to the jetty was a challenge as my husband had a leg injury, again no warning of what was expected. The cruise itself was enjoyable Mother Nature put on a good show with the rain making the waterfalls impressive. But dont expect flat water, it can be quite choppy especially when you are taken on to the Tasman Sea.Even though th scenery was awesome the journey to and from was not worth it...it takes the whole day. Tip make sure you have a full tank of petrol and expect no phone reception

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

ALLAN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful trip, Skipper Dave Allen and all the crew were fantastic.
The scenery is unbelievable and the interaction with all on board was typically Kiwi.
Will certainly recommend this company to all.
Cheers
Allan and Nia Callaway

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Vesna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely stunning
Something that everyone should have on a bucket list
Great people on the boat

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Emma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip - highly recommend. Stunning location, great service, great food and excellent tour information. An expensive trip but ultimately worth it. Be prepared for a lot of travel before and after the actual cruise as you are heading into wilderness but that said, it and #39;s all part of the experience!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mrs MB O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant. Crew were very helpful and knowledgeable and we had excellent weather which put the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful day so we were very lucky. Nice boat and excellent commentary on both lakes/sounds. Saw seals and penguins and were given enough time and opportunity to take photos and view the wildlife and scenery. One of the most memorable days of our NZ trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

JOHN R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Having booked this trip 6 months previously, we hoped for good weather as December 2015 in NZ had been rather disappointing. Come the day, the weather was clear and sunny - just what was wanted. We were picked up at our motel and the coach ride to Manapouri was quite short. Then on to the catamaran to speed across Lake Manapouri to West Arm and this was followed by another short coach journey over the Wilmot Pass Road to Doubtful. The coach driver was a 'fountain of knowledge' and had a great sense of humour. We arrived at Deep Cove and the stunning view of Doubtful Sound - awesome!!
Our 3 hour cruise along Doubtful Sound was memorable for the spectacular scenery, vegetation, tree falls, waterfalls, seals, jumping dolphins and the stillness of Crooked Arm, when the Catamaran's engines were turned off and the enthusiastic tourists on board fell silent to appreciate the beauty of this natural wonder. Magnificent.
Throughout the cruise there was an informative, but not intrusive commentary. The Catamaran's staff ensured all tourists were safe and free refreshments were provided throughout the journey. The coach driver on our return journey made all the visitors laugh by telling us that Doubtful Sound was wet on 2 out of every 3 days each year, and with the last 4 days being completely dry, the area was officially in drought!!
I would thoroughly recommend this excursion, suitable for all ages and surely a 'wonderous adventure into a remote area of New Zealand'.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Tim P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Happened to be a rainy day which only added to the experience. The whole operation was very efficient and the boat was the perfect size.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just picturesque. The surroundings are just beautiful. The boat is spacious and plenty of viewing opportunities on the decks.
When the drizzle came through, I went inside was was very excited to find all walls were glass so didn't miss one second of the view.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

C T Saul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had bad weather but the upside was seeing all the temporary waterfalls in addition to the regular ones at Milford sound. Knowledgable and informative coach driver. We enjoyed the boat trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

michael delany d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Smooth trip, well informed staff. Location stunning.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Kate D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great trip so well organized. We had to take a bus they picked us up at our hotel! to a boat then another bus and another boat. ALL went so smoothly, the drivers were well informed and friendly the trip was absolutely beautiful at all points. The boat on the Doubtful Sound was super nice good tour guide the captain even stopped the boat for us to see the amazing dolphins. For anyone considering this trip - it's well worth the investment.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great cruise very happy we went on the smaller boat

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Torbjorn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very nice tour with a fantastic male busdriver drive the bus and guidad at the same time.
The tour on Milford sound also fabulus, but not so good quality of the buffetlunch on the ship with we had paid 32 NZD for and nothing to drink exception water!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Therese W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

bus trip very informative . Had a misty day so not a great view, but still an enjoyable day

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Despite slightly miserable weather we could not fault anything about this cruise. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

F A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The weather had been awful for the previous 14 hours, torrential rain and wind. But just before our trip it cleared and we were able to see Milford Sound in all its glory. The company provided a nice buffet lunch which we sat down at ate first at a table reserved for us the rest of the trip we were up on deck seeing all the sights. Very good commentary which everyone was able to hear too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Simply breathtaking

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow! Don't miss this one, it is amazing. From the moment you are picked up to the time you are dropped off this is such a wonderful trip. All the crew from coach drivers to chefs to the skippers are so informative and helpful. I can't praise it highly enough. Great activities, food and rooms make it all the more enjoyable. Making new friends along the way is very easy as everyone is so relaxed. The crew are one very well oiled machine, they all wear many hats. Thank you for all making this a very happy adventure.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Rod Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We just took the cruise, weather was very kind to us, scenery is just amazing. Very beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message