Described as the eighth wonder of the World by Rudyard Kipling, Milford Sound is New Zealand’s premier tourist attraction. Upon entering the sound you’re surrounded by sheer cliffs 3,900 feet (1,200 meters) high, carved by glaciers, rising ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a long, all day tour, but well worth it. The day started out very cold and rainy, but it didn't detract from the beauty of the scenery. Shelly was a wonderful driver and tour guide, and our trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound was filled with great information and beautiful views. There were several stops for photos, as well as for food and souvenir shopping. Once we arrived at Milford Sound for the boat ride, the skies cleared and we had beautiful weather. It was absolutely breathtaking and definitely worth the time. On the bus ride back we watched a good movie based on a real guy from New Zealand. Since it was summer and got dark late, we were able to see more beautiful scenery on the return trip and watch the sun set. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

C T Saul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had bad weather but the upside was seeing all the temporary waterfalls in addition to the regular ones at Milford sound. Knowledgable and informative coach driver. We enjoyed the boat trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

edward m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an awesome tour. the bar b q bus was awesome. The driver/ guide ws great. we had a great bar b q lunch in the Fiordland Nat park, we had a small group so it was very intimate. We also wet on the Milford sound in a small group so were able to take in all the sights without being crowded out. it was well worth it to have the small group. and the bar b q was wonderfully delicious.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Milford Sound is really pretty, we also saw lots of dolphins and seals

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had torrential rain all night and on our four hour drive to Milford Sound but were very fortunate that it stopped once we got on the boat. We estimate that we saw at least five hundred water falls some of which were very spectacular. The Captain of the boat was very friendly and informative, we had a great day.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

F A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The weather had been awful for the previous 14 hours, torrential rain and wind. But just before our trip it cleared and we were able to see Milford Sound in all its glory. The company provided a nice buffet lunch which we sat down at ate first at a table reserved for us the rest of the trip we were up on deck seeing all the sights. Very good commentary which everyone was able to hear too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Tyler M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you are going to make the trip to Milford Sound--and you should-- this is the absolute best way to take the beauty in. The overnight trip was one the of highlights of our 2 week New Zealand trip. The cabins were clean and comfortable. We found the food to be very good. The staff was absolutely fantastic-- everyone was extremely kind, very friendly and easy to engage and learn about everything the sound had to offer. We left feeling this was money extremely well spent.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

M D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful tour of Milford Sound, clean and accommodating crew. It was amazing how close the captain could get to the waterfalls. Knowledgeable about the birds and seals etc. like getting a little history of how the sound was formed. Thanks for a delightful couple hours.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful day to sail the Milford Sound. Loved the trip and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

IMRAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent cruise and great staff! Stop by places during the coach ride such as mirror lake. The coach driver was very knowledgeable and provided commentary on the way to Milford Sound. Everything was explained clearly and in detail so that you know what to expect. Highly recommend this cruise! Absolutely breathtaking you will not want to leave.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Milford Sound day trip was a joy from start to finish. We were picked up from our campsite and transferred to the coach at Te Anau for the onward journey. The driver was informative, witty and welcoming and the scenery just spectacular. The boat cruise was a highlight of our honeymoon - I'd recommend it to anyone. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Fay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We decided to change our date for the tour from Thursday the 20th November to Saturday the 22nd and were able to do so very easily through this company. They were very obliging. The coach tour was very nice and our driver was very informative. The Cruise on Milford Sound was equally enjoyable. Have recommended you to our friends.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Kerrie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the advantage of being picked up from Te Anau, would not have liked the extra travel from Queenstown. Had a wonderful day, there had been rain overnight and a few showers during the day, but this made the waterfalls all the more spectacular. Our guide was excellent with great knowledge of the area and plenty of stops for photos. The boat trip was great with good commentary and excellent buffet food. Have now seen Milford Sound in the Autumn and the Winter and loved both times but I think the Winter is breathtaking. Would definitely recommend the tour and cruise and Te Anau was a beautiful place to stay.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Peter D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant way to see Milford Sound when all the daytrippers have gone. Great ship, comfortable cabin, plenty of good food, breakfast and dinner. Commentary very knowledgable, access to Captain's bridge for a chat. Milford Sound is spectacular, highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We absolutely loved our day tour to Milford Sound on the BBQ bus! The guide was great; very informative and friendly and was always making sure that we were comfortable. We stopped off at multiple photo locations where everyone could stretch their legs, take in the views and have photos taken by the guide if wanted.

The BBQ lunch was amazing! Not only was it delicious but we were able to enjoy it in a beautiful native rainforest. There was plenty of food to go around and the whole group had a great time.

Milford Sound was a jaw dropper....something for everyone to put on their list of places to visit in a lifetime!

On the way home, our guide provided us with DVD options to help make the drive home more interesting once the sun had gone down. Everyone was dropped off at their door or whatever location they preferred. We were also provided with some handy local knowledge on where to go for dinner, lunch and day trips for the remainder of our stay.

We would rate this as our favourite day tour to date and we have been on quiet a few via Viator! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great full day trip expertly led by Nick, the owner operator of the BBQ Bus. Lots of stops en-route to Milford Sound which allowed us to see lovely areas of rivers, lakes and beautiful little pockets of forests.
A fantastic lunch in a secluded private area alongside a lovely patch of forest was a perfect way to relax before the final leg of the journey to Milford Sound.
The cruise on Milford was excellent and was well worth the drive. Picturesque mountain scenery towering over the fjord and lots of spectacular waterfalls makes Milford a destination well worth visiting.
All in all a very long, full day that met all my expectations. I would recommend a small bus tour like this rather than a huge bus loaded with people. I did both during my stay in Queenstown and the small intimate group situation was much better and allowed more flexibility to stop at various scenic spots on the way.
10/10 for this trip!!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Nathaniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful way to spend the day. Our guide was perfect - knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive to the group. The small group setting was perfect and the tour was well paced. The BBQ in Fjordland was a wonderful lunch break! Glad that we did this trip as the Holland America cruise had to skip the Milford Sound phase due to storms.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Mrs Janet M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Milford Sound is not huge and could all be seen on a day cruise but for an overnight cruise is different and out of ordinary but not cheap. Staff very good and knowledgable. Accommodation small but adequate and well equipped. Food plentiful and fairly high quality.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Mario P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Travelled with kids and they loved the views, Our driver/tour guide OZ was very knowledgeable, the whole journey was a memorable experience, some of the highlights were the mirror lakes, panoramic views, getting extremely close to the waterfalls whilst on the ferry and sea lions basking on the rocks - oh you really need to checkout the venison pie shop on the way to Milford sounds too

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Mrs M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed the coach trip along the Milford Road to Milford Sound. Our driver, Dion, was excellent - he was enthusiastic about the area and very well informed. We thought the road trip was every bit as good as Milford Sound itself. As for the boat trip on a Milford Sound that was good, although we wouldn't advise the lunch as you miss the best bit of the trip, Mitre Peak, as you leave the quayside. We were surprised how short the boat trip was as Milford Sound isn't that long, much smaller than we expected.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Dekel D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, friendly staff, price on Viator is good value, good dinner / breakfast, stunning views. Best way to see Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Neil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was amazing. Its a small family owned business meaning that you are well looked after and personally looked after. Nick and Muyami are excellent hosts. Also, as its a small tour this means you stop at places that the larger tour buses can't meaning that you see places most don't. Also the best lunch stop ever. This tour will make your memories of Milford Sound even better.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great day trip, even though the weather (typically for Fiordland) was damp and rainy. Nick produced a great barbecue at a time when the rain had stopped, and the whole day went very well. The rain made Milford Sound very dramatic, and the waterfalls were amazing. We met some keas at the Homer Tunnel, and also a weka. I would heartily recommend this BBQ Bus tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Te Anau

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic day. So glad we chose the BBQ Bus rather than joining a big tour group for our trip to Milford Sound - nice nicer and more personalised with the opportunity to stop at scenic spots that the big buses simply cannot go. Was very nice not to be following the crowd at all the stops... Excellent BBQ in beautiful spot, good rapport with driver and other guests with whom we ended up going to dinner with.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The overnight cruise was wonderful and a great way to wrap up our New Zealand trip! The crew was fun and very well educated about Milford Sound. The food was outstanding (an unexpected bonus), and the cabins were very comfortable and relatively spacious for a cruise ship. Milford sound is definitely a must-do, and was absolutely breathtaking even though it rained most of the trip. The on-board activities were fun - we opted to go on the tender craft instead of kayaking since it was raining. The tender craft turned out to be a blast though - we even got to see a wild penguin! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message