Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Appreciated the information given by the tour commentators on board, really friendly staff on board, made all the difference. Loved the close up 'showers'under the waterfalls , unforgetable memories.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fabulous trip with excellent staff that showed what New Zealand is all about. This will be a highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Penguins whales dolphins. All that wTer all that land and beauty. This trip should not be missed

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent experience. We travelled from Te Anau and all arrangements with the tour company were spot on! It really was well organised, with the actual cruise on Doubtful Sound full of interesting information and side attractions. We'd previously visited Milford Sound --this was better!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour.
Driver was polite and informative but we did not stop much on the way in - trying to get there on time or early.
Missed photos when the light was best. Also did not make many stops on way back so photographers would be disappointed with the bus trip. The boat trip and lunch were good.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The cruise was absolutely stunning! The only bad thing was that the road was closed when we got there. I understand you can update us if we call, but as someone who doesn't read the fine text, I would have liked an update via email. The road opened luckily but it was closed for 2 days before hand

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great experience Milford sound was beautiful Great experience

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a hard time navigating your website but Doubtful sound lived to all expectations.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a great trip. Folks were great and the scenery is spectacular. Much nicer than the Milford sound since there aren't nearly as many boats and planes buzzing around. I would highly recommend it. WE saw fur seals, albatross, and dolphins.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful cruise: majestic mountains, gushing waterfalls,informative commentary, awe-inspiring scenery. Organisation was first-class.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good day, informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Best Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Real Tours is a well experienced and efficient operator. Whole day trip was excellent from start to finish. Forget Milford Sound, this is the one to do. It is worth four of Milford any day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The lunch obviously catered more for the Asians, but nevertheless it was a lovely experience.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Second time going with this company so it must be good! Nice comfortable boat and captain gives a good overview of the Sound and even dips into waterfalls to give passengers a fun experience. If you're lucky with the weather it impacts the enjoyment of this tour massively!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We decided to fly both ways so we wouldn't have a long day. The flight would also provide scenic views not visible any other way. We had to delay a day for weather but the flight was fantastic, Antony and Stacey were great and did their best to show us all the sights on the flight.

Doing what: Best Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Shouldn't be advertised as small cruise really as at least 30 people on our bus. Driver was very informative along the route, cruise was brilliant and food on boat very tasty. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall a lovely experience, however I believe the timing needs to be revised. Although interesting there are too many stops en route from Te Anau to Milford, lots of waiting to get on the bus and get on the boat resulting in too little time on the boat. Let's face it, the cruise is the main event and getting on board by 3.30 pm and off at around 10.30 would be excellent. The entire time on the fiord felt rushed - we boarded at 4.30 after a safety briefing we powered madly part way up the fiord to an anchor for the night and in the morning we were powering again at full speed to the Tasman Sea in pitch darkness 7 am only to reach the mouth in half light, to swiftly turn around head back to the wharf by 9.10 am to wait again for the bus. The time on the fiord in the tender boat was interesting but again very short and restricted to one bay. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, the staff were very helpful and informative and the cabin was functional and clean. Coffee was shut down about 8.15 am meaning we had to travel all the way back with no morning coffee break - tough for addicts :. I would recommend the experience however be aware it is very quick!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Although the scenery was amazing, the 'overnight cruise' was a disappointment. After boarding we cruised for about 45 minutes before mooring for the night within a mile of the dock where we'd begun the trip. Cruising began again at dawn and was finished by just after 9am.
Save yourself the time and

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Once in a lifetime experience to see remote mountains, forest and the Sounds. Roomy and modern catamaran, expert commentary and of course the joy of seeing bottlenose dolphins and fur seals. To get to Doubtful Sounds involves a trip over the beautiful Lake Manapouri, a coach over the Wilmot pass and then cruising through Doubtful Sound out to the Tasman Sea. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything was fine, including the weather. Scenery is outstanding.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well exceeded our expectations, with knowledgable and experience local guide we thoroughly enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message