Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 331 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pravesh.babhoota

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was good, enjoyed it. Although the operators were the not the 'biggest', the experience was good. However, I would have liked to get options from Viator, when making the booking.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip well organised and just the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Aileen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand loved every minute

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Dave T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, well organised. Excellent commentary and top shelf scenery.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

malcolm j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

all i expected,great day out

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

I R M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Well organised,friendly staff, skipper got close to show the seals and the waterfalls, amazing, really good commentary and yummy vege soup

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful even on a slightly grey day as we experienced I. Waterfalls were lovely but despite looking hard the Dolphins were not playing that day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Lana F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This is a full day tour which starts off by Bus to the first boat, then another bus which gets you to your final boat. The boats were really nice - there was a lot of space to move around. I felt safe even though there was torrential rain the entire day. There were more waterfalls than I could count, stunning scenery, and very cute little seal pups. The tour guides were friendly and informative. What is really great about this tour is that given the extensive travel time, it wasn't fully packed and seemed to be filled with nicer fellow tourists.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

dhruva c

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

great views, guide and food

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent. Really informative driver. Excellent organisation. Stunning trip. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Tae An C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience. very beautiful!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Eva V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip is very nice, especially if you are lucky with the weather, but it is very expensive too. I would probably pick the shorter trip to Milford next time, it is cheaper and I guess your pictures will be very similar.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Eliezer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful trip !!! Breathtaking !!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Yu H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

highly recommend the trip in a rainning day!!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Philip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Everything went according to expectations, no complaints. Sadly the weather was not great, but the boat crew still made a good day for us all. The rain made the waterfalls more spectacular, and we were able to go to the mouth of the sound as the sea was fairly calm. I would recommend this as a good value day tour, if I get another opportunity I would try the overnight tour.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We saw this place at its very best although it took a lot of heavy rain to achieve that but it was so worth it. The waterfalls were magnificent and our driver brian was so knowledgeable.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Scripo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Must do! We had a guide going around for years. He knew a lot and he told us a lot. Little group so lots of time to have very nice stops and take pictures. The Soundtrip was in the sun so unforgetable. Very nice and almost a whole day trip. Relaxed and fun too!

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Fred L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were a bit concerned when we got to the dock at Manapouri as it was raining and very overcast. It started raining hard and rained for the boat ride and then the bus ride but the bus driver told us how lucky we were to be there when it was raining as there are more and bigger waterfalls. He was right. It stopped raining shortly after we got on the boat for Doubtful Sound and the experience could not have been better. Everyone was very nice and shared a lot of information.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

DM NICHOLSON N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An absolutely brilliant day. One of the highlights of our trip to NZ.
The staff were excellent but it was all about the scenery.
Even fealt quite emotional when they turned all the engines off for a silent 2 minutes

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As a general rule you either travel the sound in rain and see many beautiful waterfalls or have no rain and no waterfalls. We loved seeing the waterfalls as they are the beauty of the sound.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The torrential rains brought out the most amazing waterfall display imaginable. Water falls were everywhere! It looked like rivers of milk streaming down every crack and crevice. Mother Nature was at her finest!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic little tour if you only have limited time. Friendly and informative staff.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

steve k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great cruise great guide stunning views.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Angela U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful day trip, the coach driver was very helpful, informative and amusing. Lunch was delicious, but the only criticism I could find was that we missed the first 20 mins of the trip, because we were inside eating Lunch! All in all I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area, stunning!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message