Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a hard time navigating your website but Doubtful sound lived to all expectations.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a great trip. Folks were great and the scenery is spectacular. Much nicer than the Milford sound since there aren't nearly as many boats and planes buzzing around. I would highly recommend it. WE saw fur seals, albatross, and dolphins.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful cruise: majestic mountains, gushing waterfalls,informative commentary, awe-inspiring scenery. Organisation was first-class.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good day, informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Real Tours is a well experienced and efficient operator. Whole day trip was excellent from start to finish. Forget Milford Sound, this is the one to do. It is worth four of Milford any day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Second time going with this company so it must be good! Nice comfortable boat and captain gives a good overview of the Sound and even dips into waterfalls to give passengers a fun experience. If you're lucky with the weather it impacts the enjoyment of this tour massively!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Shouldn't be advertised as small cruise really as at least 30 people on our bus. Driver was very informative along the route, cruise was brilliant and food on boat very tasty. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall a lovely experience, however I believe the timing needs to be revised. Although interesting there are too many stops en route from Te Anau to Milford, lots of waiting to get on the bus and get on the boat resulting in too little time on the boat. Let's face it, the cruise is the main event and getting on board by 3.30 pm and off at around 10.30 would be excellent. The entire time on the fiord felt rushed - we boarded at 4.30 after a safety briefing we powered madly part way up the fiord to an anchor for the night and in the morning we were powering again at full speed to the Tasman Sea in pitch darkness 7 am only to reach the mouth in half light, to swiftly turn around head back to the wharf by 9.10 am to wait again for the bus. The time on the fiord in the tender boat was interesting but again very short and restricted to one bay. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, the staff were very helpful and informative and the cabin was functional and clean. Coffee was shut down about 8.15 am meaning we had to travel all the way back with no morning coffee break - tough for addicts :. I would recommend the experience however be aware it is very quick!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Although the scenery was amazing, the 'overnight cruise' was a disappointment. After boarding we cruised for about 45 minutes before mooring for the night within a mile of the dock where we'd begun the trip. Cruising began again at dawn and was finished by just after 9am.
Save yourself the time and

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Once in a lifetime experience to see remote mountains, forest and the Sounds. Roomy and modern catamaran, expert commentary and of course the joy of seeing bottlenose dolphins and fur seals. To get to Doubtful Sounds involves a trip over the beautiful Lake Manapouri, a coach over the Wilmot pass and then cruising through Doubtful Sound out to the Tasman Sea. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything was fine, including the weather. Scenery is outstanding.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well exceeded our expectations, with knowledgable and experience local guide we thoroughly enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic trip. Beautiful scenery. Frank, our driver was very entertaining. Lunch was just a pita wrap. Ok but not great. Tea and coffee available for the whole trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful tour of Milford Sound, clean and accommodating crew. It was amazing how close the captain could get to the waterfalls. Knowledgeable about the birds and seals etc. like getting a little history of how the sound was formed. Thanks for a delightful couple hours.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message