Nestled in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound is described as the 'Eighth Natural Wonder of the World'. Milford Sound is actually a fiord – a drowned glacial valley, a romantic blend of stillness and dramatic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

C T Saul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had bad weather but the upside was seeing all the temporary waterfalls in addition to the regular ones at Milford sound. Knowledgable and informative coach driver. We enjoyed the boat trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Milford Sound is really pretty, we also saw lots of dolphins and seals

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had torrential rain all night and on our four hour drive to Milford Sound but were very fortunate that it stopped once we got on the boat. We estimate that we saw at least five hundred water falls some of which were very spectacular. The Captain of the boat was very friendly and informative, we had a great day.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Carolyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was very informative and nice! There were fun activities on the trip including drinking water from one of Milford's waterfalls!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

F A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The weather had been awful for the previous 14 hours, torrential rain and wind. But just before our trip it cleared and we were able to see Milford Sound in all its glory. The company provided a nice buffet lunch which we sat down at ate first at a table reserved for us the rest of the trip we were up on deck seeing all the sights. Very good commentary which everyone was able to hear too!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Tyler M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you are going to make the trip to Milford Sound--and you should-- this is the absolute best way to take the beauty in. The overnight trip was one the of highlights of our 2 week New Zealand trip. The cabins were clean and comfortable. We found the food to be very good. The staff was absolutely fantastic-- everyone was extremely kind, very friendly and easy to engage and learn about everything the sound had to offer. We left feeling this was money extremely well spent.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Bruce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Didn't get to kayak due to bad weather, but the tour was amazing! And viator was great at refunding the cancelled part. The weather is rarely sunny but still beautiful none the less. Definitely worth being on the smaller more personal boat. The other boats in Milford Sound were huge and this one was much smaller and much more personal.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Kayak Tour

Claire C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Must see however the pictures are deceiving. Milford experiences rain 200 days each year. Don't let the rain turn you away, you'll see hundreds of temporary waterfalls and other wonderful sights. Pack your raincoat.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Kayak Tour

M D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful tour of Milford Sound, clean and accommodating crew. It was amazing how close the captain could get to the waterfalls. Knowledgeable about the birds and seals etc. like getting a little history of how the sound was formed. Thanks for a delightful couple hours.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful day to sail the Milford Sound. Loved the trip and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

David Liang Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

You must go to see milford sound by yourself, it is best experience in my life. The milford sound is so beautiful.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Kayak Tour

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Milford Sound day trip was a joy from start to finish. We were picked up from our campsite and transferred to the coach at Te Anau for the onward journey. The driver was informative, witty and welcoming and the scenery just spectacular. The boat cruise was a highlight of our honeymoon - I'd recommend it to anyone. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Kerrie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the advantage of being picked up from Te Anau, would not have liked the extra travel from Queenstown. Had a wonderful day, there had been rain overnight and a few showers during the day, but this made the waterfalls all the more spectacular. Our guide was excellent with great knowledge of the area and plenty of stops for photos. The boat trip was great with good commentary and excellent buffet food. Have now seen Milford Sound in the Autumn and the Winter and loved both times but I think the Winter is breathtaking. Would definitely recommend the tour and cruise and Te Anau was a beautiful place to stay.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Peter D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant way to see Milford Sound when all the daytrippers have gone. Great ship, comfortable cabin, plenty of good food, breakfast and dinner. Commentary very knowledgable, access to Captain's bridge for a chat. Milford Sound is spectacular, highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Mrs Janet M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Milford Sound is not huge and could all be seen on a day cruise but for an overnight cruise is different and out of ordinary but not cheap. Staff very good and knowledgable. Accommodation small but adequate and well equipped. Food plentiful and fairly high quality.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our trip on the Milford Mariner overnight cruise was magical from start to finish.
The crew on board were so helpful, nothing was a bother. The cabin was very good and the food terrific.
This would have to be the best part of our recent South Island trip. I would recommend this overnight cruise to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

Mrs M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed the coach trip along the Milford Road to Milford Sound. Our driver, Dion, was excellent - he was enthusiastic about the area and very well informed. We thought the road trip was every bit as good as Milford Sound itself. As for the boat trip on a Milford Sound that was good, although we wouldn't advise the lunch as you miss the best bit of the trip, Mitre Peak, as you leave the quayside. We were surprised how short the boat trip was as Milford Sound isn't that long, much smaller than we expected.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Dekel D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, friendly staff, price on Viator is good value, good dinner / breakfast, stunning views. Best way to see Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great day trip, even though the weather (typically for Fiordland) was damp and rainy. Nick produced a great barbecue at a time when the rain had stopped, and the whole day went very well. The rain made Milford Sound very dramatic, and the waterfalls were amazing. We met some keas at the Homer Tunnel, and also a weka. I would heartily recommend this BBQ Bus tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Te Anau

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The overnight cruise was wonderful and a great way to wrap up our New Zealand trip! The crew was fun and very well educated about Milford Sound. The food was outstanding (an unexpected bonus), and the cabins were very comfortable and relatively spacious for a cruise ship. Milford sound is definitely a must-do, and was absolutely breathtaking even though it rained most of the trip. The on-board activities were fun - we opted to go on the tender craft instead of kayaking since it was raining. The tender craft turned out to be a blast though - we even got to see a wild penguin! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Cassandra T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour. On the way the bus stops at various locations which is great to not only break up the trip but to see more great sights. The boat tour itself was great, we had rain the day before the trip so we could see many waterfalls, one which the boat went very close to (stay inside if you don't want to get wet!). We did both doubtful and milford sounds and would recommend doing both, however do this one first. More fun, but scenery not as spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Diane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a highlight of our trip. cabins great, staff great, food beautiful, Milford Sound is just an amazing place.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

Divagar S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

one of the most enjoyable day during my trip..awesome place...even the drive to Milford was majestic...

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

jproctorealm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Do not miss this tour. I've never seen anything like Milford Sound. Absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

vanessa p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

excellent day.the bbq bus is a great idea and the bus driver/guide/cook are very versatile.plenty of information about the area and loads of ppictures stops.we were blessed with the weather it had been raining for almost a week before our trip and the day we went it was just perfect.the mirror lakes are stunning as was milford sound.make sure to keep plenty of room on sim card in camera and batteries for it as almost the entire journey is a photograhers delight.the cruise is an excellent way to see all of milford sound.i would def recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing milford.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message