• USD ($)
  • English
Nestled in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound is described as the 'Eighth Natural Wonder of the World'. Milford Sound is actually a fiord – a drowned glacial valley, a romantic blend of stillness and dramatic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Milford Sound is not huge and could all be seen on a day cruise but for an overnight cruise is different and out of ordinary but not cheap. Staff very good and knowledgable. Accommodation small but adequate and well equipped. Food plentiful and fairly high quality.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our trip on the Milford Mariner overnight cruise was magical from start to finish.
The crew on board were so helpful, nothing was a bother. The cabin was very good and the food terrific.
This would have to be the best part of our recent South Island trip. I would recommend this overnight cruise to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed the coach trip along the Milford Road to Milford Sound. Our driver, Dion, was excellent - he was enthusiastic about the area and very well informed. We thought the road trip was every bit as good as Milford Sound itself. As for the boat trip on a Milford Sound that was good, although we wouldn't advise the lunch as you miss the best bit of the trip, Mitre Peak, as you leave the quayside. We were surprised how short the boat trip was as Milford Sound isn't that long, much smaller than we expected.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, friendly staff, price on Viator is good value, good dinner / breakfast, stunning views. Best way to see Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great day trip, even though the weather (typically for Fiordland) was damp and rainy. Nick produced a great barbecue at a time when the rain had stopped, and the whole day went very well. The rain made Milford Sound very dramatic, and the waterfalls were amazing. We met some keas at the Homer Tunnel, and also a weka. I would heartily recommend this BBQ Bus tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The overnight cruise was wonderful and a great way to wrap up our New Zealand trip! The crew was fun and very well educated about Milford Sound. The food was outstanding (an unexpected bonus), and the cabins were very comfortable and relatively spacious for a cruise ship. Milford sound is definitely a must-do, and was absolutely breathtaking even though it rained most of the trip. The on-board activities were fun - we opted to go on the tender craft instead of kayaking since it was raining. The tender craft turned out to be a blast though - we even got to see a wild penguin! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Cassandra T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour. On the way the bus stops at various locations which is great to not only break up the trip but to see more great sights. The boat tour itself was great, we had rain the day before the trip so we could see many waterfalls, one which the boat went very close to (stay inside if you don't want to get wet!). We did both doubtful and milford sounds and would recommend doing both, however do this one first. More fun, but scenery not as spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a highlight of our trip. cabins great, staff great, food beautiful, Milford Sound is just an amazing place.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

one of the most enjoyable day during my trip..awesome place...even the drive to Milford was majestic...

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Do not miss this tour. I've never seen anything like Milford Sound. Absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

excellent day.the bbq bus is a great idea and the bus driver/guide/cook are very versatile.plenty of information about the area and loads of ppictures stops.we were blessed with the weather it had been raining for almost a week before our trip and the day we went it was just perfect.the mirror lakes are stunning as was milford sound.make sure to keep plenty of room on sim card in camera and batteries for it as almost the entire journey is a photograhers delight.the cruise is an excellent way to see all of milford sound.i would def recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing milford.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

What can we say, yet another great trip with Viator made better by the great weather we had on the day so we could see the awesome scenery. You really mustn't miss Milford Sound - just make sure you get there early if you are trying to park a camper van - spaces quite limited

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

HUGH H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Unforgettable tour. Can't recommend this tour enough. Everything was first class. Road trip to Milford Sound must rate as one of the best in the world.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Gopal
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We joined the coach from Te Anau. The drive to Milford Sound was spectacular and the coach driver was brilliant. He has provided more information with a sense of humour making the trip more intresting. The meal on the boat was good. The boat trip was full of breathtaking scenery the whole time with plenty of opportunities for photos. Seen many water falls all along. It was a fantastic and memorable experience. Love to spend at least a week at Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We were blessed with great weather. I was expecting not to see much at all from other peoples comments but it was truely spectacular. I think this is a must see on any trip to New Zealand. The roadtrip to Milford Sound was very windy through the mountains but everywhere in New Zealand seems to be the same. Loved this trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message