Nestled in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound is described as the 'Eighth Natural Wonder of the World'. Milford Sound is actually a fiord – a drowned glacial valley, a romantic blend of stillness and dramatic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful tour of Milford Sound, clean and accommodating crew. It was amazing how close the captain could get to the waterfalls. Knowledgeable about the birds and seals etc. like getting a little history of how the sound was formed. Thanks for a delightful couple hours.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful day to sail the Milford Sound. Loved the trip and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

You must go to see milford sound by yourself, it is best experience in my life. The milford sound is so beautiful.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Milford Sound day trip was a joy from start to finish. We were picked up from our campsite and transferred to the coach at Te Anau for the onward journey. The driver was informative, witty and welcoming and the scenery just spectacular. The boat cruise was a highlight of our honeymoon - I'd recommend it to anyone. Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the advantage of being picked up from Te Anau, would not have liked the extra travel from Queenstown. Had a wonderful day, there had been rain overnight and a few showers during the day, but this made the waterfalls all the more spectacular. Our guide was excellent with great knowledge of the area and plenty of stops for photos. The boat trip was great with good commentary and excellent buffet food. Have now seen Milford Sound in the Autumn and the Winter and loved both times but I think the Winter is breathtaking. Would definitely recommend the tour and cruise and Te Anau was a beautiful place to stay.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant way to see Milford Sound when all the daytrippers have gone. Great ship, comfortable cabin, plenty of good food, breakfast and dinner. Commentary very knowledgable, access to Captain's bridge for a chat. Milford Sound is spectacular, highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Milford Sound is not huge and could all be seen on a day cruise but for an overnight cruise is different and out of ordinary but not cheap. Staff very good and knowledgable. Accommodation small but adequate and well equipped. Food plentiful and fairly high quality.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our trip on the Milford Mariner overnight cruise was magical from start to finish.
The crew on board were so helpful, nothing was a bother. The cabin was very good and the food terrific.
This would have to be the best part of our recent South Island trip. I would recommend this overnight cruise to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed the coach trip along the Milford Road to Milford Sound. Our driver, Dion, was excellent - he was enthusiastic about the area and very well informed. We thought the road trip was every bit as good as Milford Sound itself. As for the boat trip on a Milford Sound that was good, although we wouldn't advise the lunch as you miss the best bit of the trip, Mitre Peak, as you leave the quayside. We were surprised how short the boat trip was as Milford Sound isn't that long, much smaller than we expected.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, friendly staff, price on Viator is good value, good dinner / breakfast, stunning views. Best way to see Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The overnight cruise was wonderful and a great way to wrap up our New Zealand trip! The crew was fun and very well educated about Milford Sound. The food was outstanding (an unexpected bonus), and the cabins were very comfortable and relatively spacious for a cruise ship. Milford sound is definitely a must-do, and was absolutely breathtaking even though it rained most of the trip. The on-board activities were fun - we opted to go on the tender craft instead of kayaking since it was raining. The tender craft turned out to be a blast though - we even got to see a wild penguin! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Cassandra T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour. On the way the bus stops at various locations which is great to not only break up the trip but to see more great sights. The boat tour itself was great, we had rain the day before the trip so we could see many waterfalls, one which the boat went very close to (stay inside if you don't want to get wet!). We did both doubtful and milford sounds and would recommend doing both, however do this one first. More fun, but scenery not as spectacular.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a highlight of our trip. cabins great, staff great, food beautiful, Milford Sound is just an amazing place.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

one of the most enjoyable day during my trip..awesome place...even the drive to Milford was majestic...

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Do not miss this tour. I've never seen anything like Milford Sound. Absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

What can we say, yet another great trip with Viator made better by the great weather we had on the day so we could see the awesome scenery. You really mustn't miss Milford Sound - just make sure you get there early if you are trying to park a camper van - spaces quite limited

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

HUGH H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Unforgettable tour. Can't recommend this tour enough. Everything was first class. Road trip to Milford Sound must rate as one of the best in the world.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Gopal
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We joined the coach from Te Anau. The drive to Milford Sound was spectacular and the coach driver was brilliant. He has provided more information with a sense of humour making the trip more intresting. The meal on the boat was good. The boat trip was full of breathtaking scenery the whole time with plenty of opportunities for photos. Seen many water falls all along. It was a fantastic and memorable experience. Love to spend at least a week at Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We were blessed with great weather. I was expecting not to see much at all from other peoples comments but it was truely spectacular. I think this is a must see on any trip to New Zealand. The roadtrip to Milford Sound was very windy through the mountains but everywhere in New Zealand seems to be the same. Loved this trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Mark W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We went to Milford Sound by Coach from Te Anau. The drive to the Sound was actually as spectacular as the Sound itself. It was a rainy day and there was a light dusting of snow on the mountains. Visiting Milford Sound when it is raining does not disappoint as the many waterfalls are spectacular. Make sure you dress very warmly. When we left Te Anau it was sunny and quite mild but it was raining and absolutely freezing at the Sound. The Coach Driver was brilliant. The information he provided was excellent and his sense of humour was great. If I did this tour again (and I would), I wouldnt bother with the lunch on the boat. If you do have the lunch make sure you get yourself a table (so you have a window seat while you eat), and then queue up for your meal. It takes a long time to get through the queue!
Overall a great day with many wonderful photo opportunities.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazing is the best way to describe the overnight Milford Sound cruise. The weather was great and the scenery spectacular. The food was great and the accommodation comfortable. I would highly recommend doing the trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The overnight cruise on Milford Sound was one of the highlights of our self drive tour of the NZ south island. The ship, the crew, the food and the Sound itself were fantastic. I would recommend this cruise as the best way to see and fully appreciate Milford Sound.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Kate D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Great trip on the Mariner the crew were all great. Accommodation was very comfortable and the scenery well simply magnificent. Catering was excellent. Overall it was one of our highlights from our recent trip to the South Island. I would recommend the overnight Mariner trip through Milford Sound good value, great crew and beautiful scenery

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Milford is more dramatic, but smaller than Doubtful Sound. Treat yourself, do both.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Absolutely fantastic- the highlight of our trip to New Zealand- the bus ride to Milford Sound was incredible ( glad we decided not to drive ourselves), great views and excellent commentary. Overnight on the Mariner was excellent- delicious food, comfortable cabins and the commentary from staff was knowledgable and very entertaining. I will never forget our trip to Milford sound- surely one of the wonders of the world.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message