By day, the waters of Milford and Doubtful Sounds are two of the most beautiful corners of New Zealand. By night, the skies above the wilds of Fiordland are blanketed in a canopy of stars. At dawn, the morning sun illuminating the waters—and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

betsydelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip! Milford Sound is amazing! I recommend staying and doing the overnight as it is a long drive if you are coming from Queenstown. I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much if I tried to return to Queenstown the same day. The staff were wonderful, the food was great and it was fun meeting people from other places. Beware of the sand flies, they are everywhere!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic trip. I wasn't prepared for how long the bus ride and boat were going to be to get to the sound, but it was very organized and beautiful views along the way. The nature guide and captain were super friendly and knowledgable. Even though it rained we got to see tons of waterfalls and the next morning was clear. It's expensive but worth the price.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Geoff H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A brilliant experience not to be missed if you are in the South Island. We enjoyed every moment in spite of the weather. The crew, all so friendly and opportunity to chat with the captain up on the bridge. Great company , food, nice cabin and learnt a lot about the whole area.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful scenery and great boat. I highly recommend this tour when in New Zealand. We had a sunny first day and the kayaking was fantastic. Just remember to put plenty of insect repellant on to combat the sand flies when kayaking. I had been bitten at Buller Gorge so put plenty of repellent on. I forgot my head though and still ended up with a few bites. Sand flies are a problem in many parts on the west coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of many highlights during four weeks in New Zealand. Wonderful views, excellent food, comfortable cabin and amazingly enthusiastic, friendly and hardworking crew.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Lark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! It was as advertised, amazing views and a truly unique experience. The waterfalls are not to be believed. The onboard food is fabulous and generous and all of the crew were wonderful. This was a highlight of our stay in New Zealand!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous trip crew excellent great knowledge of the area friendly and helpful., Food brilliant If you do nothing else you must experience Doubtful Sound!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had the best time will be back again.Your stall were excellent a special thank you to Stu for making this trip our best adventure in new zealand

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

jillian g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved this trip
Great staff, beautiful location, I would go again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

TLee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful and we'd highly recommend this overnight cruise,which takes about 24 hours in total. The staff on the boat very helpful and nature talks and information provided in an entertaining and knowledgeable way. The buffet dinner is delicious - especially the desserts which my partner loved! The tour departs around midday and arrives back around the same time the next day - so you really feel like you're getting some value for money - as it is quite expensive.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Samantha I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

fantastic experience from start to finish. fun, friendly and professional staff. the food was fantastic and plentiful, easily catering to my gluten free requirements. cabins comfortable. stu was a stand out. had great fun on the tender and enjoyed his slideshow. i would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

MS G M E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful trip and the management was most impressive. Always something to do. The biologist was impressive. I loved the kayaking.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This overnight cruise was probably the 1 highlight of our 30-day trip in New Zealand. The ship, the accommodation, the food, and the crew were all top notch. And scenery and wildlife that we saw was exceptional. If I ever make it back to New Zealand I will do this trip again.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

WOW! An absolutely fantastic experience which exceeded our expectations. The crew were enthusiastic and welcoming and the food excellent. We feel it represented good value for money. Dolphins, seals, albatross and penguins. Swimming and kayaking. Wonderful views, particularly at sunset and sunrise. A must do based on our experience.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent cruise really enjoyed it. Would have preferred higher cabin as I could not see through the window. We were very lucky as the weather was perfect, could not tell you was on a boat.
Food was great, well above our expectations.
Would recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic tour. Very informative nature guide, great breakfast, dinner and snacks. Had a wonderful time, spectacular scenery and recommend this tour

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mrs MB O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant. Crew were very helpful and knowledgeable and we had excellent weather which put the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Emma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip - highly recommend. Stunning location, great service, great food and excellent tour information. An expensive trip but ultimately worth it. Be prepared for a lot of travel before and after the actual cruise as you are heading into wilderness but that said, it and #39;s all part of the experience!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Kenneth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding cruise and tour. If you can afford the extra cost, it is far superior to Milford Sound. Dramatically fewer tourists, superior experience of the southwest coast fjords. Top notch crew, and an excellent boat captain that brings you close to the shore and sea features. Perhaps the best experience during our 19-day tour of the north and south islands.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Unforgettable!! This was an extraordinary tour, very professionally run from start to finish. We were able to view stunning scenery and rare sightings of whales, penguins, dolphins, and seals. The weather started out rainy, which was OK, but then turned brilliantly clear, with a sky filled with millions of stars. Do NOT miss this tour, if you can swing it. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow! Don't miss this one, it is amazing. From the moment you are picked up to the time you are dropped off this is such a wonderful trip. All the crew from coach drivers to chefs to the skippers are so informative and helpful. I can't praise it highly enough. Great activities, food and rooms make it all the more enjoyable. Making new friends along the way is very easy as everyone is so relaxed. The crew are one very well oiled machine, they all wear many hats. Thank you for all making this a very happy adventure.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Despite slightly miserable weather we could not fault anything about this cruise. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

willjenellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The whole trip from leaving Queenstown was fabulous. The scenery absolutely breathtaking, the weather perfect, the boat comfortable, the food great, the staff helpful and knowledgeable. I would certainly recommend the trip to anyone interested in taking advantage of the wonderful opportunity of exploring a hidden gem of the West Coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Tyler M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you are going to make the trip to Milford Sound--and you should-- this is the absolute best way to take the beauty in. The overnight trip was one the of highlights of our 2 week New Zealand trip. The cabins were clean and comfortable. We found the food to be very good. The staff was absolutely fantastic-- everyone was extremely kind, very friendly and easy to engage and learn about everything the sound had to offer. We left feeling this was money extremely well spent.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Nicolette J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fabulous time on this cruise, the weather was perfect and the staff very helpful. The food was lovely although the seafood went very quickly. Activities included kayaking or a boat ride and swimming. We had seals come up on the landing of the boat at the stern. Being there in the evening and early morning when all was quiet was amazing, so peaceful.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message