By day, the waters of Milford and Doubtful Sounds are two of the most beautiful corners of New Zealand. By night, the skies above the wilds of Fiordland are blanketed in a canopy of stars. At dawn, the morning sun illuminating the waters—and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic tour. Very informative nature guide, great breakfast, dinner and snacks. Had a wonderful time, spectacular scenery and recommend this tour

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Mrs MB O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant. Crew were very helpful and knowledgeable and we had excellent weather which put the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Emma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip - highly recommend. Stunning location, great service, great food and excellent tour information. An expensive trip but ultimately worth it. Be prepared for a lot of travel before and after the actual cruise as you are heading into wilderness but that said, it and #39;s all part of the experience!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Kenneth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding cruise and tour. If you can afford the extra cost, it is far superior to Milford Sound. Dramatically fewer tourists, superior experience of the southwest coast fjords. Top notch crew, and an excellent boat captain that brings you close to the shore and sea features. Perhaps the best experience during our 19-day tour of the north and south islands.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Unforgettable!! This was an extraordinary tour, very professionally run from start to finish. We were able to view stunning scenery and rare sightings of whales, penguins, dolphins, and seals. The weather started out rainy, which was OK, but then turned brilliantly clear, with a sky filled with millions of stars. Do NOT miss this tour, if you can swing it. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow! Don't miss this one, it is amazing. From the moment you are picked up to the time you are dropped off this is such a wonderful trip. All the crew from coach drivers to chefs to the skippers are so informative and helpful. I can't praise it highly enough. Great activities, food and rooms make it all the more enjoyable. Making new friends along the way is very easy as everyone is so relaxed. The crew are one very well oiled machine, they all wear many hats. Thank you for all making this a very happy adventure.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Despite slightly miserable weather we could not fault anything about this cruise. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

willjenellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The whole trip from leaving Queenstown was fabulous. The scenery absolutely breathtaking, the weather perfect, the boat comfortable, the food great, the staff helpful and knowledgeable. I would certainly recommend the trip to anyone interested in taking advantage of the wonderful opportunity of exploring a hidden gem of the West Coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Tyler M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you are going to make the trip to Milford Sound--and you should-- this is the absolute best way to take the beauty in. The overnight trip was one the of highlights of our 2 week New Zealand trip. The cabins were clean and comfortable. We found the food to be very good. The staff was absolutely fantastic-- everyone was extremely kind, very friendly and easy to engage and learn about everything the sound had to offer. We left feeling this was money extremely well spent.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Nicolette J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fabulous time on this cruise, the weather was perfect and the staff very helpful. The food was lovely although the seafood went very quickly. Activities included kayaking or a boat ride and swimming. We had seals come up on the landing of the boat at the stern. Being there in the evening and early morning when all was quiet was amazing, so peaceful.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Larry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic voyage. The best excursion we have ever been on. The crew was friendly and efficient. We couldn't have expected more.
Larry and Eva Durey

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

V. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our Doubtful Sound overnight cruise. Just getting to the cruise boat is an adventure--Lake Manapouri boat ride and then an overland bus ride to get to the cruise boat. We especially liked having a naturalist on the boat explaining what we were seeing. The morning of the cruise, he had all us passengers sit up front with him and asked that we could be silent to hear the sounds of nature. It was magical!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Marie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Candwmiller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Doubtful Sound is a very special place and was one of the highlights of our month long tour of New Zealand. The ship is well run, the staff very approachable, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was abundant and very good. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Phillip O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best of both worlds. On the afternoon cruise to the overnight mooring location pouring rain caused all the dry waterfalls to appear and the permanent waterfalls to really pump, it was awesome. The rain cleared overnight and the morning cruise was clear and sunny and absolutely magnificent. The cruise staff were fantastic and food sumptuous. Good beds.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Willows

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip, very informative thanks to guide Stu. Must be one of teh most beautiful places on earth.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Angela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a highlight of our trip and I'm so glad that my husband and I did Doubtful Sound over Milford Sound. Although it took longer to get there from Queenstown, Doubtful Sound was more isolated but just as breathtaking and beautiful. With its glassy rivers that reflected off the landscapes, our first day there, we got to experience Doubtful Sound with bright blue skies, kayaking in open waters. The second day, everyone was up early to see the sun rise and see Doubtful Sound in a more natural view with gray cloudy skies, but just as magical. The crew were all friendly and helpful and the captain and our nature guide were very knowledgeable about the landscapes and Doubtful Sound which was great to hear and experience. We saw seals and a few penguins but no dolphins on our trip, but did get to experience a seal feeding in the waters and even the captain had to stop the boat completely and took pictures of the experience. Accommodations were good and as expected and the food was amazing.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Trang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A magical experience. Wonderfully friendly and helpful crew. Awe-inspiring landscapes. Learned a lot about the history, animals, and geography from the educational guide and also the captain. Delicious and plentiful food. Very comfortable sleeping quarters. Kayaking on the open water was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

rsprotty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it
Staff were terrific service outstanding
Free to get as involved as you like
Food great
Views to die for
Best sleep I had in ages

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Raymond P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very relaxing trip, cabin was comfortable to sleep at night with engine off. Beautiful and nice view at every turn.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Barbara L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was the highlite of our 15 day trip to the south island. Great boat great crew extremely beautiful scenery. Don't miss the opportunity to see it.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Lbettinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The most fantastic trip. Great evening, great meal and views to die for!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic time, facilities were awesome, staff were wonderful, and despite the rain a blessing if you like because we had some wonderful waterfalls the scenery was breathtakingly beautiful. New Zealand is a fantastic country this is a must do trip!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Superb tour. Naturalist was excellent. Guide for our small boat was too. Everyone was very personable.
Food and accomodations were wonderful. And our weather covered all the bases except gale. Loved it.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic, weather was perfect, staff were friendly, boat was by well equipped, food was great, good wines and plenty of Dolphins to watch. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Thank you!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message