By day, the waters of Milford and Doubtful Sounds are two of the most beautiful corners of New Zealand. By night, the skies above the wilds of Fiordland are blanketed in a canopy of stars. At dawn, the morning sun illuminating the waters—and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an excellent trip. The boat is very comfortable and the food brilliant. The knowledge of our guide was second to none. We were made very welcome. The scenery and the silence time was great, cannot fault it. Saw dolphins, penguins and fur seals plus numerous birds.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great food great boat great staff! amazing scenery!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An absolutely great trip cannot fault this trip in any way, The boat was great, the crew was friendly and very helpful, the food was delicious, the scenery was perfect. Would thouroughly reccomend it to everyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was a fantastic experience. Great crew who looked after our every need. Good food and wine in the evening. The sleeping quarters were a good size and being at the bottom of the boat meant a gentle rocking that put us to sleep nicely. Time frames around the activities were well planned. The morning was the highlight when we were taken towards the entrance with the weather adding to the experience. All the rain had the sides of the sound alive with falling water. Bruce and Donna Thomas Mandurah WA

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth it. Great crew. Fantastic weather. Fabulous scenery. Sensational food. Double cabin bigger than expected.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Brilliant way to see Milford Sound when all the daytrippers have gone. Great ship, comfortable cabin, plenty of good food, breakfast and dinner. Commentary very knowledgable, access to Captain's bridge for a chat. Milford Sound is spectacular, highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus ride there and back was comfortable, informative and entertaining. Our room on board was small but all we did was sleep there, so no big deal. Everything was clean and in good working order. We didn't use the ensuite shower, so I can't comment on that. The staff were all very personable and made all the activities that much better. Dinner and breakfast were great. About the only negative I can think of is that, like all Kiwis, the staff at the bar labor under the delusion that 30 ml of whiskey is a shot. I'd recommend this trip highly.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From checking in to stepping off, the entire cruise was the highlight of our 3 weeks in New Zealand. Everything about the whole process from arrival to departure and all that in vetween was well executed by tne staff botn on land and on the sea.

We lucked out with two beautiful days on Doubtful Sound and a beautiful Sunset on the Tasman Sea. No jumping dolphins along side The Navigator but who needs dolphins when the buffet spreads both dinner and breakfast were amazing. Since we only spent 3 short days in South Island we will plan a second trip down the road to see more of the beauty that makes up SI.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The overnight trip was excellent from a knowledgeable staff to great food it was a great trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the highlight of our south island trip. Simply superb scenery on both road to, and on the cruise. The coach driver, Adrian was very friendly and knowledgeable and we've stopped at many beautiful spots for photos. The coach itself has windows on the roof which let us see the high mountains of Fiorland National Park. The ship is modern and although our cabin was a bit small, it was quite cosy and comfortable. Plenty of nice foods & drinks available.As the weather was permitting, we went right out to Tasman Sea at sunset!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Brilliant. Excellent tour. Lots to see, good food and well looked after by a great crew.

Great having dolphins swimming alongside for 30 minutes too. Could have reached out and touched them.

Thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Milford Sound is not huge and could all be seen on a day cruise but for an overnight cruise is different and out of ordinary but not cheap. Staff very good and knowledgable. Accommodation small but adequate and well equipped. Food plentiful and fairly high quality.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Superb trip, best part of our time in New Zealand.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our trip on the Milford Mariner overnight cruise was magical from start to finish.
The crew on board were so helpful, nothing was a bother. The cabin was very good and the food terrific.
This would have to be the best part of our recent South Island trip. I would recommend this overnight cruise to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Te Anau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The best tour ever.great. crew, gorgeous scenery, delicious meals, fun swimming and kayaking.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message