Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very well thought out and informative tour of WW1 sites in and around Ypers.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a long day, but well worth it. Our guide was very informative and took us to see many historic sights in Flanders. The monuments were very impressive and quite moving. The guide had to switch the order of our planned visits due to the Tour of Flanders bicycle race, but did a great job of ensuring that we saw everything. The In Flanders Fields Museum is very comprehensive and a must to see if you are interested in WWI history. It was really special that we were able to watch the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and father went on this trip 13/4/15. They had a really moving but lovely day. Their guide on the bus sorry they cant recall his name began with a D apparently!! well he was exceptional in his knowledge of ww1 in this area! They could not fault him at all he made it a really great day. The trip was 13hrs long as they got on at Brussels but so worth it. Lunch was in a lovely restaurant and very enjoyable. In their words there was nothing on the trip they didn't find interesting, all the places visited were explained and lots of information offered by the tour guide. Asked what the highlights were and the answer was EVERYTHING although they both felt very honoured to be at the Menin Gate to hear the last post a truly emotional and moving experience. They would highly recommend this tour to any WW1 enthusiasts and even to those who just want to go and see the beautifully kept cemetery's and other interesting stops along the way. Many thanks again to our guide and to Viator a great day was had by both of us Book this trip you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant Trip- reccomended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing excursion; although very somber. Our mom was especially happy to have been able to see Flanders Fields as she heard so much about the war as a child. We learned so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our trip to the World War 1 Battlefields and Menin Gate was everything I had hoped for. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made our day very special. We visited many unusual sites including a German Cemetery. Being at Menin Gate on Remembrance Day was something I will always remember. I would highly recommend this trip. Our online booking with Viator was easy and trouble free. A five star experience from start to finish!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour
guide was extremely knowledgable and ensured everyone was happy

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour-great guide who knew his subject well. He gave us a passionate description of the Great War and the effect it had on the country.as well as the fullest information on each stopping point (and we could hear every word!) I walk with a crutch and I found the guide extremely helpful to me. Little bit rushed at the end for me.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Things got off to a late start as there were some logistical issues with collecting people from their hotels but the tour itself was brilliant once we finally set off. The guide was very informed of the historical context to WWI and over the day talked us through the period from Waterloo to Hitler. I was delighted with the wide range of places we visited from the German cemetery at Vladzo through to the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in the evening. We spent enough time at all of them. My 11 year old son was not bored for a moment and loved the whole day. Access into the sites was quick and well organised by the guide. Lunch was perfectly nice

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent arrangements and knowledgable guide ....thoroughly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Tony Ward was an excellent guide and we would love to take another tour under his leadership - perhaps WWII battle sites next time. His depth of knowledge and experience leading this tour was exemplary - we had a diverse group and made an effort to be inclusive and relevant to all aboard. The accommodation in Ypers was superb - excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Situated on a battlefield site was amazing and added to the overall experience. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting an in-depth and informative accounting of WWI.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very rewarding experience for both my husband and me, far more than we expected. The sites we visited were well chosen and we were given an appropriate amount of time at each site. But the most important reason for the success of the tour was the knowledge and humanity of our wonderful guide, Jean, a true Flams and a marvelous raconteur who knew a lot and shared his knowledge well. I would do it again if I had the chance and Jean was the guide,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent day. We gained such insight into the area and the history. Our guide was (Diedricht?) was most knowledgeable and interesting. It was a long day, but the last post ceremony at the Menin Gate was a highlight.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From the moment we arrived in Lille the night before our trip began I was delighted with the town and the vibrancy. we enjoyed a meal surrounded by a young crowd just enjoying themselves.

We found the 'meeting point' with ease and got talking to fellow group members immediately. Australians are without doubt friendly people to spend a few days with.
Our guide and driver, Tony, stamped his personality on us and we felt safe and privileged to be part of this tour. His knowledge and the way he put it over was awe inspiring.
WE thoroughly enjoyed our trip even though it was a trip into such sadness which bought our family history right up to date.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Susan L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day out but very interesting especially the Menin Gate ceremony!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super trip through a very emotional part of WW1 history. So many lives lost for such a small piece of real estate. The Last Post at the Menin Gate was a highlight. Tyne Cot was a beautiful spot. The CWGC deserves a big thank you for their work in both large and small memorial sites.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was an informative and moving experience. It covered a lot of ground, from battlefields to cemeteries, museums and trenches. And it was topped off with the emotional Last Post ceremony. It brought to life the contribution of the thousands who died and suffered in the First World War. Tours like these go a long way in preserving our collective memory of war, and the devastation it causes. Our tour guide was knowledgable and a great guy to spend a day with. We were very pleased with the day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! The guide was very knowledgeable. Having never gone on an organized tour before we were a bit hesitant, but it turned out great. Everything was just as promised. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide!!! Saw so much more on this tour then we would have ever by ourselves! Well worth the money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Must do tour, vastly better and moving than I expected.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

most enjoyable,John the guide knew his subject and his interaction with us was first class,i thought i knew a lot about the first ww but how wronge i was,a long day but for us well worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Robyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I took this trip hoping to visit my great uncle Sam's grave at Tyne Cot.Incredibly moving. it is a very long day but very rewarding.Our guide Sebastien was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.He provided an un-biased account of WW1 and gave us wonderful insight into the times from both sides and also from the locals perspective.Great in a small group so we were able to locate both the requested personal memorials. Sebastien did a fantastic job bringing history to life .A highlight of my time in France Thanks so much Robyn Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Garry G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent value for money. Driver arrived on time and was a very knowledgeble guide. The tour was very interesting and took in all the sites of importance to Australians.
I would recommend the tour to anyone

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting and informative tour about a tragic time in history

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic tour , I would throughly recommend it, my son and I are both interetsed in history, so we really appreciated the detail our Belgian tour guide gave us, he was great and really made the history come alive for us.We really appreciated being picked up and dropped off at our hotel, it made all the differece at the end of a long day. We will be booking again soon.
Finbarr Elwood.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message