• USD ($)
  • English
Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was magnificent thanks to Bertram, his extensive knowledge and wonderful sense of humour was much appreciated. Because it was a small group- only 2 we were able to spend a longer time in places of personal interest and shorter times in others. We missed the heavy traffic both coming and going and while it is a long trip to the battlefields the scenery was interesting. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was an amazing day. Our tour guide Jean was just wonderful and because there were Australians on the tour they added in some ANZAC memorials. Learnt so much. Thank you.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was excellent. It was very well organised. The guide was very knowledgable, and could answer more or less any question that we had. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in history,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent full day tour under the enthusiastic leadership of a very knowledgeable and informative Guide. A thoroughly enjoyable journey to many of the Flanders battlefields key sites, with time to ramble among the interesting features and listen to a comprehensive explanation of the relevant events of WWI. An end-of-day highlight proved to be the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate. Highly recommended, value for money tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was awesome. Small, only about 15 people, which made it really easy to hear/engage in the tour. Lots of amazing sights including Hill 60, Ypres, Flanders Fields Museum, Tyne Cot Cemetery and much more. Stayed for last post ceremony at Menin Gate, very moving. Guide was very knowledgeable and willing to answer all questions. Long and tiring day but worth it!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The tour guide shared his incredible knowledge about WW1 in the Ypres region, the lunch stop was excellent, the tour stops were all interesting, Flanders Museum provided well set out informative displays and the final stop at the Menin Gate was a highlight. We will certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour was very very good. The tour guide had an excellent knowledge of the history of before the war,during and after. He also spoke and understood English very,very well,he also made it very enjoyable for everyone. I will certainly recommend this tour and will use this company again in the future.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Brilliant tour, great tour guide very knowledgable, had a real passion for his job

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A fabulous and informative day out, yet totally sobering seeing all of the fallen soldiers. I learnt more about WW1 and Belgiums involvement than I ever knew. Our guide Stefan was very passionate about the subject and went out of his way to make it a little bit more personal for those of us on the Tour. I would recommend this tour for anyone even slightly interested in history.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A great tour. I would recommend it to everyone. Thanks for a fantastic time. Mike.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide Jean was extremely knowledgeable and his passion for the subject shone through. The included lunch was good and ready on the table for our arrival, but would have preferred if they had left lunch covered over as there were flies about! The Last Post ceremony was very moving.
There was a slight hiccup in the pick up times we were told 10.15 and the driver 10am, and another couple were told 9,45 pick up from their stop whereas driver was told 10.15. All in all fantastic day out.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is a long day but great value with very good unbiased history. So much to see in such a short time. Very moving ceremony at Menin gate. Jan

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave thoughtful presentations. The destinations of the tour, which consisted of cemeteries, actual WWI trenches, museums, attending a remembrance ceremony in Ypres, etc. were well-chosen.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was the best tour we went on during this trip - the guide was on time, courtious and knowledgable. Our guide gave us a running commentary of all the historical and not so historiacal sites we past or visit during the entire trip. This was further supported by a local expert guide re the battle fields we picked up in Ypres who came fully prepared with photos, maps and diagrams. This expert's knowledge and communication ability was not only enlightening but delivered clearly and effectively. The guide and the expert adjusted the tour to visit areas geared to our country's participation and our interests which further enhanced our knowledge and appreciation of the past events. During our independent time in Ypres we explored the musium and the cathedral as well as the local town area around the Menin Gate. This tour spoiled us for any other tours we took this trip and became our measuring stick (set our expectation levels) for all other tours.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Belgium. The guide was excellent and very well informed. He chose the route well and added sights to suit the Canadians and Australians on board and helped us find the names of our relatives at Tyne Cot and on the Menin Gate. The tour was very thought-provoking, as we visited a German Cemetery and a replica of a World war I trench as well as the Commonwealth cemeteries. The emotional climax was attending the last post at the Menin Gate. We couldn't have done all this by ourselves. We saw and learnt such a lot. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message