Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 237 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It is a very somber trip through FLanders. Very powerful to see the memorials to the lost. May we always honor their sacrifice

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Ann-Maree
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The entire day was so informative and interesting. Stefan our guide was exceptional with his knowledge, empathy and sense of understanding of these sites, and how we the clients may feel about visiting them. Despite being a long day it is necessary in order to capture that special moment in Ypres for the last post ceremony, I came away feeling that I had just lived a special day and created an unforgettable memory. I highly recommend this if you have time, it is indeed confronting, and a compelling yet sad story. 10 out of 10

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent, informative guide. Little wasted time-prepare for 14 hr. day. A must for anyone interested in WW 1.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guide was a mine of information and packed a lot into the visit. Both he and the driver were very helpful with my wheelchair and advice on which sites were accessible to me and which would be difficult. Was a last minute addition to our stay in Brussels but for me was the highlight.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Brussels.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour of the battlefields wish we had more time in the day to see more.
Tour guide knowledgable. Only one problem was with the bus no air conditioning.
Very hot day until the afternoon when it rained

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing experience! I would recommend this company to everyone and anyone. Bertram spelling? was so knowledgable and fantastic he made this trip exactly what I wanted. When I booked this tour I expected other people but it ended up being just me. I found it especially great of this company to think of the client, me, and not cancel. I've since talked to other travellers who have booked with other companies to only have it cancelled due to low numbers. This made me extra greatful that the company I went with did my do this. They had my interest at heart and took me alone. Thank you for the great new knowledge and memories.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

By taking this tour and having a very knowledgeable guide, I was able to see so much more than I could have done on my own. The sites are widely dispersed and sometimes out-of-the-way. It lasted an entire 10 hours and included a very nice lunch consisting of open-faced sandwiches in a nice restaurant on the square in Ypres across from the Flanders Field museum which we had plenty of time to visit. Because some of us joined in Brugges, they brought a separate van to take us back to Bruges while the remainder of the folks on the bus returned to Brussels. The Menin Gate ceremony was impressive. I would take it again.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would certainly recommend this tour and in particular Diederick was particularly knowledgeable and obviously passionate. However the bus broke down on the way back. We were going to Bruges so we already had a bus to get us there but those going to Brussels were treated badly. The organizers had enough time to organize a bus or any other form of transport from Bruges. However they were dumped at the station and told to run for the last train to Brussels .it was unacceptable particularly as there were two elderly women involved. I accept that it was not Viator, but those persons deserved to be treated better than they were.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was terrific and very knowledge on the entire topic of WW1

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very awesome trip. Well worth it. Only thing I would change is that the tour could start earlier in the morning so there could be more time to visit more places

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After a very late start because of confusing information about our meeting point, the tour proved to be most informative and interesting. The guide was extremely knowledgable and visited cemerties with particular reference to the nationalities of the people on the trip. It was most touching.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The World War I Battlefields tour was excellent. The tour guide Stephan was knowledgeable, friendly and well organized. It was a full day from 9am to 10:30pm and it was well worth it. The sites that were chosen e.g., Tyne Cot, Flanders Field Museum, trenches in Ypres were extremely interesting and moving. I would highly recommend this tour to people of all ages.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour excellent tour guide. Absolutely worth taking.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent and very full day. Our guide was excellent - achieved just the right tone. There was a problem at the start of the day as we had been told we'd be picked up at our hotel and waited half an hour before phoning Viator. Somehow this had been communicated wrongly but we were then picked up and the rest of the day was fine.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. We were fortunate to be there for the 30.000th last post. It was a fantastic experience. Our guide was so informative and knowledgable. Best tour from Brussells.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Informative guide, great battlefield museums, interesting trench and lovely military cemetery visits. Very touching Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Very well organised and a very good tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Belguim. We left Bruges at 10.45am and returned at 9.20pm.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very informative, he had a vast knowledge of the subject and made it interesting for us.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I learned so much about WWI history and saw many memorial sites. Our guide Cedric was wonderful.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour alrhough a long day- enjoyed it immensly! Would have like a bit more time in places and less time for breaks but that was only my personnal thought- great guide - definitely value for money!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about all aspects of this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guide very interesting and emotional. A long day but great value would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 Day Battlefield Tour with Back Road Tours. The guide, Tony Wade, was excellent. His knowledge of the battles and general French/Belgian history was incomparable. The accommodation at the Kastelhoof was excellent and the locations and routes travelled - spot on.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message