Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent arrangements and knowledgable guide ....thoroughly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Tony Ward was an excellent guide and we would love to take another tour under his leadership - perhaps WWII battle sites next time. His depth of knowledge and experience leading this tour was exemplary - we had a diverse group and made an effort to be inclusive and relevant to all aboard. The accommodation in Ypers was superb - excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Situated on a battlefield site was amazing and added to the overall experience. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting an in-depth and informative accounting of WWI.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very rewarding experience for both my husband and me, far more than we expected. The sites we visited were well chosen and we were given an appropriate amount of time at each site. But the most important reason for the success of the tour was the knowledge and humanity of our wonderful guide, Jean, a true Flams and a marvelous raconteur who knew a lot and shared his knowledge well. I would do it again if I had the chance and Jean was the guide,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent day. We gained such insight into the area and the history. Our guide was (Diedricht?) was most knowledgeable and interesting. It was a long day, but the last post ceremony at the Menin Gate was a highlight.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From the moment we arrived in Lille the night before our trip began I was delighted with the town and the vibrancy. we enjoyed a meal surrounded by a young crowd just enjoying themselves.

We found the 'meeting point' with ease and got talking to fellow group members immediately. Australians are without doubt friendly people to spend a few days with.
Our guide and driver, Tony, stamped his personality on us and we felt safe and privileged to be part of this tour. His knowledge and the way he put it over was awe inspiring.
WE thoroughly enjoyed our trip even though it was a trip into such sadness which bought our family history right up to date.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Susan L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day out but very interesting especially the Menin Gate ceremony!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super trip through a very emotional part of WW1 history. So many lives lost for such a small piece of real estate. The Last Post at the Menin Gate was a highlight. Tyne Cot was a beautiful spot. The CWGC deserves a big thank you for their work in both large and small memorial sites.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was an informative and moving experience. It covered a lot of ground, from battlefields to cemeteries, museums and trenches. And it was topped off with the emotional Last Post ceremony. It brought to life the contribution of the thousands who died and suffered in the First World War. Tours like these go a long way in preserving our collective memory of war, and the devastation it causes. Our tour guide was knowledgable and a great guy to spend a day with. We were very pleased with the day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! The guide was very knowledgeable. Having never gone on an organized tour before we were a bit hesitant, but it turned out great. Everything was just as promised. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide!!! Saw so much more on this tour then we would have ever by ourselves! Well worth the money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Must do tour, vastly better and moving than I expected.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

most enjoyable,John the guide knew his subject and his interaction with us was first class,i thought i knew a lot about the first ww but how wronge i was,a long day but for us well worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Robyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I took this trip hoping to visit my great uncle Sam's grave at Tyne Cot.Incredibly moving. it is a very long day but very rewarding.Our guide Sebastien was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.He provided an un-biased account of WW1 and gave us wonderful insight into the times from both sides and also from the locals perspective.Great in a small group so we were able to locate both the requested personal memorials. Sebastien did a fantastic job bringing history to life .A highlight of my time in France Thanks so much Robyn Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Garry G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent value for money. Driver arrived on time and was a very knowledgeble guide. The tour was very interesting and took in all the sites of importance to Australians.
I would recommend the tour to anyone

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting and informative tour about a tragic time in history

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message