With three of the most significant battles of WWI fought around the Ypres salient, the battlefields of West Flanders are among Europe’s most important WWI sites. Along with the devastating losses of the 1917 Ypres offensive, it’s John McCrae’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 243 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacquelyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There was so much to see and do! We definitely could have spent more time at some of the sites; however, it is understandable that we couldn and #39;t spend more time or else we wouldn and #39;t have seen all the sites we did see. The guide was really good and knowledgable

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant tour very eye opening to us who didn't really understand the war. Our guide was very knowledgeable but did drag on a bit sometimes making it a bit hard to follow. Had no idea there were so many cemeteries around the area, very emotional ending at the Menin Gate for the Last Post service, just brilliant.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

barvic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fantastic day, excellent guide.
I would recommend this tour to all Australians.
The day was topped off by the Last Post Ceremony in Ypres - fabulous and very moving.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an informative tour. The guide was great and knew the subject. The bus was comfortable. Lunch was tasty and it was nice to visit with other folks on the tour. It was a long tour, but we really got a great overview of WWI in Flanders. We would recommend it!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and turned out to be one of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Belgium. One highlight of the tour was actually being able to go into the trenches. We were surprised that they are still there. The history and the cemeteries were very moving. The most moving experience of all was that Last Post at Ypres. This was a major reason that we went on this tour, and it was extremely powerful. The horrors of World War I seem to be eclipsed by the horrors of World War II. As an American I felt bad that it took us so long to become involved in this war. Our tour guide was also excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well designed, well paced tour, with a very informative helpful guide and excellent driver. Well chosen place for lunch, just opposite the Flanders Field Museum. Highly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Catherine p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with a small group made the tour along with the extremely interesting commentary the trip met all that we were hoping to see

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Johanne did a great job very knowledgeable and always took time
to answer Questions. He was very Passionate it was an eye opening tour

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Valerei L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very informative and moving tour. Stephan was our guide. He described events so vividly and we really enjoyed listening to him. I would recommend the tour!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent! Johan was a very knowledgeable guide, and even though it was a long day the time flew by. Very interesting and very emotional experience. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an excellent tour which covers most of the important scenes of WWI in Flanders fields.Top marks to Johan who is a first-rate guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Tonie M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, a very long day if you take it from Brussels. We were very hungry by the time lunch arrived. Guide is very informative. Some hiccups with the return journey, resulting in 2 women being left at Brussels central station without knowing how to get back to their hotelthankfully another person on the tour helped them out. We didn't have too far to walk but a bit annoying.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Nadine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Carol Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The guide had a wealth of knowledge. We would recommend this tour to anyone with interested in the battlefields.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Bill N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

excellent tour, especially if you are an aussie or canadian and there is a frequent refererence to the young men who died a long way from home

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

LYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and showed a great flexibility. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Shann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic day, driver and guide were very professional. We visited all the areas that we wanted to see with the highlight being the Menin Gate service. Top tour

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Trevor E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic full day. Very well organised where the tour guide went above and beyond to make our trip memorable. The coach driver and mini bus pick up lady were supurb too. Well recomended.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day, promptly collected from our Hotel by Jean and driven for the day in luxury vehicle
Watched excellent video on the way, full day, very educational and informative, comprehensive
We were a group of 4 New Zealanders so got to see the ANZAC and NZ heroes resting places.
Worth doing some reading before you go about the various battlegrounds but our host was brilliant.
Flanders Museum excellent too. Menin Gate Last Post very moving despite it being a cold October evening.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Kaye M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day out - more like a pilgrimage though. The knowledgeable guide took us through what life was like for a WW1 solidier - and made it all real. The Menin gate ceremony was everything I had heard about. Fabulous day

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

pjmcrob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Dietrich was quite knowledgable and an excellent presenter. He provided great context and information as we travelled between stops and at each visit. The Flanders Field Museum was excellent. The Last Post ceremony was quite moving. I learned quite a bit about WWI would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Marilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very thorough and inspiring tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and excited about his subject. The highlight was the evening ceremony at the Mennin Gate.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Brad Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved every minute of it well worth the long day out. Very emotional

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

MS KAREN E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a brilliant trip and did not seem like a long day at all. The reasons for this were two-fold. Firstly, the exceptional guide Jean and secondly, the number of places visited. The latter meant that one never had more than an hour on the coach, apart from the journey back to Brussels, without getting out to look at something.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message