With three of the most significant battles of WWI fought around the Ypres salient, the battlefields of West Flanders are among Europe’s most important WWI sites. Along with the devastating losses of the 1917 Ypres offensive, it’s John McCrae’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would certainly recommend this tour and in particular Diederick was particularly knowledgeable and obviously passionate. However the bus broke down on the way back. We were going to Bruges so we already had a bus to get us there but those going to Brussels were treated badly. The organizers had enough time to organize a bus or any other form of transport from Bruges. However they were dumped at the station and told to run for the last train to Brussels .it was unacceptable particularly as there were two elderly women involved. I accept that it was not Viator, but those persons deserved to be treated better than they were.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was terrific and very knowledge on the entire topic of WW1

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very awesome trip. Well worth it. Only thing I would change is that the tour could start earlier in the morning so there could be more time to visit more places

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After a very late start because of confusing information about our meeting point, the tour proved to be most informative and interesting. The guide was extremely knowledgable and visited cemerties with particular reference to the nationalities of the people on the trip. It was most touching.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The World War I Battlefields tour was excellent. The tour guide Stephan was knowledgeable, friendly and well organized. It was a full day from 9am to 10:30pm and it was well worth it. The sites that were chosen e.g., Tyne Cot, Flanders Field Museum, trenches in Ypres were extremely interesting and moving. I would highly recommend this tour to people of all ages.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour excellent tour guide. Absolutely worth taking.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent and very full day. Our guide was excellent - achieved just the right tone. There was a problem at the start of the day as we had been told we'd be picked up at our hotel and waited half an hour before phoning Viator. Somehow this had been communicated wrongly but we were then picked up and the rest of the day was fine.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. We were fortunate to be there for the 30.000th last post. It was a fantastic experience. Our guide was so informative and knowledgable. Best tour from Brussells.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Informative guide, great battlefield museums, interesting trench and lovely military cemetery visits. Very touching Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Very well organised and a very good tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Belguim. We left Bruges at 10.45am and returned at 9.20pm.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very informative, he had a vast knowledge of the subject and made it interesting for us.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I learned so much about WWI history and saw many memorial sites. Our guide Cedric was wonderful.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour alrhough a long day- enjoyed it immensly! Would have like a bit more time in places and less time for breaks but that was only my personnal thought- great guide - definitely value for money!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about all aspects of this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guide very interesting and emotional. A long day but great value would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Very informative and the guide was great

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

terrific tour with an outstanding guide who made the tour educational,informative and interesting.only negative was that the bus pick in Bruges was late.i had to phone the main office twice . i was not aware that the bus had to come from brussles.the actual tour was first class,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! The guide had so much knowledge!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jan M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was everything we expected and more. Our tour guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable and made the tour an incredible experience. Highly recommended for anyone interested in WWI history.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very well thought out and informative tour of WW1 sites in and around Ypers.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a long day, but well worth it. Our guide was very informative and took us to see many historic sights in Flanders. The monuments were very impressive and quite moving. The guide had to switch the order of our planned visits due to the Tour of Flanders bicycle race, but did a great job of ensuring that we saw everything. The In Flanders Fields Museum is very comprehensive and a must to see if you are interested in WWI history. It was really special that we were able to watch the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and father went on this trip 13/4/15. They had a really moving but lovely day. Their guide on the bus sorry they cant recall his name began with a D apparently!! well he was exceptional in his knowledge of ww1 in this area! They could not fault him at all he made it a really great day. The trip was 13hrs long as they got on at Brussels but so worth it. Lunch was in a lovely restaurant and very enjoyable. In their words there was nothing on the trip they didn't find interesting, all the places visited were explained and lots of information offered by the tour guide. Asked what the highlights were and the answer was EVERYTHING although they both felt very honoured to be at the Menin Gate to hear the last post a truly emotional and moving experience. They would highly recommend this tour to any WW1 enthusiasts and even to those who just want to go and see the beautifully kept cemetery's and other interesting stops along the way. Many thanks again to our guide and to Viator a great day was had by both of us Book this trip you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant Trip- reccomended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing excursion; although very somber. Our mom was especially happy to have been able to see Flanders Fields as she heard so much about the war as a child. We learned so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message