With three of the most significant battles of WWI fought around the Ypres salient, the battlefields of West Flanders are among Europe’s most important WWI sites. Along with the devastating losses of the 1917 Ypres offensive, it’s John McCrae’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very rewarding experience for both my husband and me, far more than we expected. The sites we visited were well chosen and we were given an appropriate amount of time at each site. But the most important reason for the success of the tour was the knowledge and humanity of our wonderful guide, Jean, a true Flams and a marvelous raconteur who knew a lot and shared his knowledge well. I would do it again if I had the chance and Jean was the guide,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent day. We gained such insight into the area and the history. Our guide was (Diedricht?) was most knowledgeable and interesting. It was a long day, but the last post ceremony at the Menin Gate was a highlight.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Susan L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day out but very interesting especially the Menin Gate ceremony!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super trip through a very emotional part of WW1 history. So many lives lost for such a small piece of real estate. The Last Post at the Menin Gate was a highlight. Tyne Cot was a beautiful spot. The CWGC deserves a big thank you for their work in both large and small memorial sites.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was an informative and moving experience. It covered a lot of ground, from battlefields to cemeteries, museums and trenches. And it was topped off with the emotional Last Post ceremony. It brought to life the contribution of the thousands who died and suffered in the First World War. Tours like these go a long way in preserving our collective memory of war, and the devastation it causes. Our tour guide was knowledgable and a great guy to spend a day with. We were very pleased with the day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! The guide was very knowledgeable. Having never gone on an organized tour before we were a bit hesitant, but it turned out great. Everything was just as promised. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Must do tour, vastly better and moving than I expected.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

most enjoyable,John the guide knew his subject and his interaction with us was first class,i thought i knew a lot about the first ww but how wronge i was,a long day but for us well worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Interesting and informative tour about a tragic time in history

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic tour , I would throughly recommend it, my son and I are both interetsed in history, so we really appreciated the detail our Belgian tour guide gave us, he was great and really made the history come alive for us.We really appreciated being picked up and dropped off at our hotel, it made all the differece at the end of a long day. We will be booking again soon.
Finbarr Elwood.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent day Our guide, Jean, is knowledgeable and made the day so interesting. Taken to see many interesting places, often very moving, and also very informative, seeing things from different angles and learning some of the historical influencers. I would recommend going on this trip without hesitation.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour we left Brugge at 10-30 am and did not return until 9-30 pm in the evening. It was a full day and very informative. Lunch was very good two sorts of ham cheese three slices of breads and some salad more than I was expecting. Drinks were extra. I would certainly recommend this trip to anybody who is interested in the First World War.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

EXCELLENT TOUR WITH WONDERFUL TOUR GUIDE

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great mix of information and sight seeing. Fantastic value, wonderful sites, and a knowledgeable tour guide. I'm recommending this to anyone interested in WWI and anyone who wants to see the sties for themselves.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was easily the best tour we were ever on. The tour guide brought history alive and held our interest for 12 hours. The battle sites and cemeteries were very thought provoking and brought home the pain of loss of a whole generation and the futility of war.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message