Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see sight that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 727 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a split tour which I did not realize - the Uffizi and the Corridor were first thing in the morning and the Accademia was at 4pm. The guide was very good, very knowledgeable and we all enjoyed the tour. There is a great deal of walking on this tour so be prepared. The Corridor was new for me and I loved it. This is a good tour.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic guide, Paul, an American professor of art. He took us through the Accademia. Other guides for the rest of the tours were good, but not like Paul!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of the major sites of Florence including the Duomo, the Basilica, Uffizi, Accademia Michelangelo's David, Piazza Republica.... you name it. Our guides Federica a.m. and Vanessa p.m. were terrific. Very knowledgable and plenty of personality. The tour is thorough but not overwhelming and paced well. Tip the guides. Most do not but the guides are very appreciative of those who do.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good tour, appreciated the free time at Accademia to explore other areas, or simply appreciate David a little longer.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow, we knew there was a lot to see in Florence but really had no idea how much. Both our guides for the Accademia and Uffizzi Gallery were knowledgeable and entertaining. Our guide in the afternoon at the Uffizi Gallery had a great sense of humor and set expectations well focusing on Florentine/Italian history and artists. We definitely recommend this tour with the lunch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We met our guide, Chiara, for a private walking tour around Florence. Chiara studied art history and has been giving tours of Florence for 19 years. Another amazing tour guide, who speaks Italian, English, French, Spanish, and German though she doesn't give tours in German, she admitted and is learning Portuguese. The knowledge she shared about the history of the city, the powerful Medici family, and the breathtaking artwork in Florence really provided great perspective and background.


We visited the Piazza del Duomo - when approaching it is quite a shock, come from in between two buildings toward the square, step out into the open and boom! there is 3rd largest church in the world, which was 5 times bigger than any other church in the world when it was built starting in 1296.

We next walked to the Galleria dell'Accademia, which contains work by Ghiotto, some by Botticelli, 4 incomplete works by Michelangelo, and the prize of the Accademia, Michelangelo's David. We were lucky again to be here in the off season, as the crowds were not bad, and we were able to leisurely enjoy the room containing Michelangelo's works and discuss the David with our great tour guide.

Also located in the Academia, in a wing nearly empty most people go to the small museum just to see David, is a musical instrument museum. It was a small exhibit, but included several instruments made by well known luthiers such as Amati, Guarneri, and, of course, Stradivari. Of several of Stradivari's instruments on display, the most interesting is a one-of-a-kind tenor viola, made for you guessed it the wealthy Medici family.

Overall it was a fantastic tour with a fantastic guide. Chiara was very friendly and had a great knowledge of the artwork and history of the area. My Dad and I both commented that while we could have seen all of these things on our own, we would not have gotten much out of them without an expert guide. It makes all the difference. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Apart from a little mix up as to the Accademia meeting point the whole experience was excellent.The tour guide Antonio was interesting, knowledgeable and had an excellent command of English.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Skipping the lines was great and I really liked the headsets used so that we could stand comfortably near without having to crowd around the guide to hear what was being said. I would have liked a little extra time in the Uffizi Gallery after the guided tour....would suggest starting that one 30-60 minutes earlier that would still leave plenty of time to wander the Accademia and get lunch before meeting at the Uffizi. Overall, great tours with interesting guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! Of course the Accademia has the main highlight: David. But the Uffizi is huge and the tour is longer than expected, plus you'll get a chance to see more famous paintings. I definitely recommend this one!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

absolutely brilliant tour thanks to the guide, who initially seemed a bit reticent but ratcheted up the ante and took off to produce one of the best tours of the Uffizi gallery. The lady for the accademia was good too but could not hold a candle to the other man.
Strongly recommend this to any one needing a guide!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an amazing city! The people were super friendly and accommodating. The Accademia Gallery was very nice. I actually missed my departure time on the ticket and they still accepted it. You will still have to get another ticket from the one you print out from the e-mail they send you. However, the place to do that is literally right around the corner from the gallery. DEFINITELY purchase the skip the line pass because the line was outrageously long! I was inside in less than three minutes. The statue of David was a lot taller than I expected. I would go here just to see that! Breathtaking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent and a wonderful tour by Ana for both Accademia and the Uffizi. The statue of David was magnificent and the Uffizi was a wonderful collection started by the Medici family. A must for anyone traveling to Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tours.
Angelo was our morning host and his knowledge of Michelangelo, the Accademia, the Duomo and other historic sites was excellent. My three children thought he has been the best guide so far and we have been on 7 tours since arriving in Italy 10 days ago!
Rosa's tour of the Uffizi was

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, great guides. It is not the fault of the tour but we were a little tired out by the time we did the Uffizi gallery tour. I think we would have enjoyed it more if we did it on a different day than the Accademia and the walking tour. If you have time try to split them up!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day touring a few of the 'must see' spots in Florence. The Accademia Gallery, and specifically the statue of David, is spectacular. Authorities only officially permitted taking photos (no flash) in the gallery recently so we were able to take some great photos of The David and other impressive works of art by Michelangelo and other artists/sculptures.
The Uffizi Gallery was also impressive and our guide there was very informative and used humour to share interesting tidbits of history with us.
By far one of the best advantages of taking these tours was the ability to bypass the very long lines of 'non-guided' tourists whom were waiting to get inside. It would have been almost impossible to see both these museums on the same day without the guided tour 'skip the line' entrance.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Accademia was all about seeing 'DAVID' and it was so nice not having to stand in line. We were traveling in a group and many who had not gotten tickets ahead of time gave up getting into the Academia and the Ufizi Galleries because of the lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Both the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries were, as expected, spectacular! Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. My only possible negative comment is that, even with "skip the line" status, there was a bit of a wait at both galleries, 15 ~ 20 minutes at the Accademia. However, our guide skillfully filled the time with additional information and anecdotes. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We are so glad that we booked this tour. Our guide, Patricia, was so friendly and extremely knowledgable of the history of Florence. She provided a very informative and interesting morning as we walked and visited all of the most notable buildings in Florence. When she took us to the Accademia Gallery to see Michelangelo's "David", it was a truly emotional experience.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the works in the Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide, Tiziana, was so knowledgeable. The evening tour was perfect, no one was at the Accademia. We had David all to ourselves!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Accademia and the Uffizi guides were phenomenal. Both very knowlegable, fun and kept the group together at all times. There were large crowds and I think they managed us all really well. The museums were great and I am really glad I made the time to book these tours before I left Sydney. Loved Florence and the tours were fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour, learned a lot. Our Accademia guide, Antonio, gave his presentation with humor, great knowledge of his subject matter and incredible detail...an excellent guide. Sylvia, our guide at the Uffizi Gallery, was likewise knowledgeable, with an outstanding presentation style - she discussed the "story" of the painting, helped us to recognize detail and symbolism, background of the artists. She skillfully navigated the crowded galleries so the group could closely observe the paintings. The two-part tour was good. Gave us time to enjoy lunch and return refreshed for the Uffizi.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fabulous tour, I enjoyed the morning more than the afternoon just because I loved the Accademia Gallery . It is a great tour because it is split up and you have a break around lunch. Lots of people and tours waiting in line, but we still saved plenty of time using Viator. Both tour guides were extremely information and passionate about the subjects.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Without the tour the real story of David and how he came to be would not have been as enriching. Our guide was so passionate and expressive and a total delight. She had done her Doctorate on David and thus was very well versed, Our group was very small , six people and we entered the academy before it opened to the public and that allowed us to take some great photos. I would definitely advise everyone to take the i
Viator early access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence with Breakfast

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour. The guide on the Uffizi tour was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Unfortunately it was a free entrance day and the galleries were very crowded and noisy. Saw some amazing statues and paintings. The Accademia tour was good but the tour guide concentrated too much on Michaelangelo's David statue and his unfinished slave statues. Could have been a faster paced tour so we could see other exhibits.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message