Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Accademia Gallery

Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see sight that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 852 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lindsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely fabulous - would definitely recommend. In the Uffizi the guide focussed on only a small number of items but as a result you were able to appreciate and learn a lot more than just wandering around and trying to take in everything all at once. The groups were small only 4 for accademia and tour guides very knowledgable and engaging. It was a priviledge to visit the Vasari Corridor. And yes, beating the queues is a very significant benefit!

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Deanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was two tours in one. The meeting point was very easy to find and our morning guide was Chiara. She was great, very knowledgeable and personable. We went to the Accademia to see the David, to the Duomo so beautiful and detailed, and a few sights along the way, ending up near the Ponte Vecchio. The afternoon guide don't recall his name took us from there to the Uffizi Gallery. There was a beautiful Botticelli exhibit while we were there. The Uffizi is huge, and very beautiful on its own. The guide was very art-savvy and gave us a lot of details. Our group of 4 really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Very crowded in the Accademia, so definitely worth having the guide .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you want to see a lot of Florence in one day then we would highly recommend this tour. In the morning we did a guided walking tour of Florence with our very knowledgeable guide, Giovanna. This included a must see visit to the Accademia to view the statue of David. In the afternoon we toured the Uffizi Gallery with another great guide, Paulo who shared a lot of his knowledge about some of the amazing paintings.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

popp.jens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good walking tour. Many good points about the history of the city were explained. The David in the Accademia is a must see...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Daniel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour-we got in a bit early and got to see the Statue of David before the crowds. Our tour guide was friendly and extremely knowledgable about the different artwork she showed us. We really enjoyed our tour of the Accademia Gallery. And the breakfast afterward was delicious!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence with Breakfast

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was exactly what we wanted--someone knowlegeable about what we were seeing. We had two great guides, Rose in the morning for the walking, Accademia and Duomo. In the afternoon we had Angelo, passionate about art and a great story teller. We highly recommend this company and these guides. May you be so lucky.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Tanya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Skip the Line was amazing. Bypassed a long line to enter and were in looking at everything within 5 minutes. Accademia Gallery is beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Debbie W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend the Florence Walking Tour w/visits to the Accademia and Uffizi. Yes, you really do skip the lines and you head to all the right places the Uffizi has 100 rooms, so this helps! Our guide, Emily was phenomenal! She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, personable and above all passionate about the city and artwork. This showed as she guided us throughout the day. Thank you Emily for a fantastic and very memorable day.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is definitely worth buying in advance. The lines at the Accademia were over a block long. We were able to enter a separate line and were in the museum with in 15 mins. I highly recommend this as an alternate option to an actual tour group.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Accademia and David was amazing! The tour of Florence was fun and exciting . The guide kept us interested on the walking tour. The Uffizi gallery was good but i do not recommend two tours in one day , very exhausting.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best time on our tour of the Accademia and Ancient Florence! Our tour guide was very animated and colorful! He brought history to life in his telling of Michelangelo and Ancient Florence. I forgot his name, but I do remember he said he was part Italian and part Australian and had grown up in Australia.
Our tour guide for the Uffizi gallery was also entertaining and knowledgable about the art and artists we saw. One word of warning, DO NOT TAKE THE STAIRS! Use the elevator or your legs will be talking to you normally, I could handle a few flights of stairs, but the stairs in the Uffizi are no joke!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Janet O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guides were wonderful and also entertaining. There was so much to see that I'd like to
go back for more and maybe just wander now that I have an educated window into both the Uffizi and Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing! We arrived at the front of the Accademia, met the tour people and were looked after brilliantly. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and knowlegable. She explained many of the displays on the way to Michelangelo. Once in the main hall she gave us expert information then allowed ample time to observe the magnificent statue. Our guide provided us with information and insights that we would not have had if we had done the tour by ouselves. Whole heatedly recommended...but don't forget to book early.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

Cynthia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Frederika was our tour guide for the morning tour of Accademia and Florence highlights. She was FABULOUS - - so well informed, engaging and warm. Patricia was our tour guide for the afternoon tour of the Uffizi again - - Fabulous - - really knowledgeable and engaging. Both went out of their way to make sure everyone was accounted for at all times and that we were all getting our questions answered. The groups were about 20 people each which was fine - - after the tour guides, the headphones were the other key factor in making this such a worthwhile tour. You didn't miss anything that was said and could wander around within reason and still hear the narrative. This tour was without a doubt and ESSENTIAL component of why our trip to Florence was so rewarding.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable and gave us the details of the highlights of the Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This combined tour gave us two great, memorable tours in one day. Highly recommended! In the morning at the Accademia, our guide Antonio was articulate and witty, and very knowledgeable about art, especially Michelangelo. He kept us informed and entertained during the pre-entry delays. Once in the Galleries, he explained several of the major paintings and sculptures in the galleries before we entered the David Gallery. Instead of rushing us up to this magnificent sculpture, Antonio took time to describe Michelangelo's personality, beliefs and the fame he achieved during his long lifetime - this all helped interpret the unfinished Michelangelo sculptures of the Slaves, St Matthew and the Pieta that we passed on our the way to David. Again, Antonio took time to draw attention to some of the key details of this magnificent sculpture - and then he left us to admire this and other treasures in the Accademia - we were delighted by the gallery of plaster casts and the display of ancient instruments which housed, amongst other items, an early piano invented in Florence! and several violins and cellos by Stradivarius and Guaneri!.
Our Uffizi Galleries tour later in the afternoon was lead by Frederica, a charming enthusiastic art historian who was passionate about the major art-pieces she described to us as we toured the corridors and galleries of the Uffizi. There are so many to choose from, and so many highlights, but we felt the selection of key artworks was just right. Frederica's descriptions and explanations of each were excellent!
It was a delight seeing so many famous pieces and having them explained and described by such an enthusiastic, passionate art specialist.
Each of the two tours was excellent in its own right but, taken together, they provided an outstanding overview of some of the world's greatest works of art, especially when explained so ably by such knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

phkleinklan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our morning guide, Chiara couldn't have been more knowledgeable on the first part of the tour through the Accademia and walking through the city. She was very engaging and had great knowledge of Florence. Our guide through the Uffizi was phenomenal. His knowledge and love of art made you see each work as a story as opposed to just a painting or statue. He encouraged the group to ask questions and make comments to make it a great experience and a great experience it was. I would highly recommend both parts of the tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Susan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The morning tour of the Accademia was extraordinary. Paul Costa was our guide and made the history live. He is a master story teller and we all agreed we could have listened to him for days on end and still be fascinated.
The afternoon tour of the Uffizi was just adequate, 2.5 stars. Sarah tried but just missed the mark. We felt rushed and she only gets five stars by piggy backing onto Paul. I wish I could separate the reviews.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was definitely one of my favorites... easy to navigate and so much to see! The Accademia and Uffizi are a must -- be sure to book a tour or plan to stand in line for hours, plus the tour guides are so informative! I loved the market place with all the leather goods and wine shops! We found language was not a problem. We had been warned of pick-pockets, but think if you're aware of your belongings it's not a problem .. don't look like an easy target! Overall, would love to travel there again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Vicki G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was great! She spoke very good English, and was so informative about the beautiful city of Florence. The Accademia was my favorite. She explained about the different artists and their individual techniques as well as some interesting history we had never heard before. We would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see Florence from a locals perspective.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Florence was our favourite destination and we really enjoyed our tours of both the Uffizi and Accademia. There really no words to describe David and the rest of the treasures we saw.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

frankkadlick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved our walking tour of the Accademia Gallery, the Uffizi Gallery and Florence. Our guide Alissandra was very good and gave us more than just Museum information. She was personable and knowledgeable. We loved seeing Michelangelo's David. We would recommend to anyone to come to Florence and see all she has to offer. A magical place!! Only downside that we saw was their bus system is not too user friendly for anyone who cannot speak the language.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message