• USD ($)
  • English
The Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) is dominated by one artwork in particular - Michelangelo's staggeringly beautiful statue of David. Carved from a single block of marble by the 26-year-old genius, it’s true you can’t really grasp ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our time was relatively short in Florence so this tour was a great way for us to be efficient in our visit. The morning part of the tour was especially enjoyable. Starting on the historic and scenic Ponte Vecchio we began our stroll through the city center. Our guide Costanza was wonderful in explaining all that we saw not only at the major sights like the Duomo and the Accademia Gallery but all the piazzas in between. To top it off, we had the best gelato of our entire trip. Uffizi Gallery with a different guide in the afternoon was informative and a must see in Florence also but can't compete with the variety and interest of the morning tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I visited Florence last week and we booked a half day walking tour around Florence. It was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Florence. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and it was really interesting to know the history of the city and powerful and influential families used to live there. We walked passed many tourist attractions and finished in the Accademia Gallery to see David. The half day tour is good fun but I think the whole day walking tour might be better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Walking tour and Accademia Gallery with Paul Costa:
Incredible! This tour is very very highly recommended. Paul has a great enthusiasm and clearly a very expansive knowledge about the history of Florence. He gives you a real insight in to its cultural heritage and places all dates in to context, which gives you a good sense of the place. He approaches Michelangelo's David from a completely different perspective which you will not find in any guidebooks. Refreshing and definetly worth it.

The Uffizi Gallery: another great tour. By choosing just one section of this vast and incredible gallery, you learn so much more about the evolution of art over the years. Another passionate guide and an incredible collection of art. Good knowledge and all very interesting.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a great tour. The morning tour is the Accademia and I took it through CAF with Roberta as my tour guide. She was very good and explained everything The time flew by and it was a very informative tour. I enjoyed my tour guide so much that I requested her, Roberta, for the afternoon Uffizi Gallery Tour. Again a very enjoyable thorough tour. She was able and positive and I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Accademia Gallery were having a strike till late morning so our guide took us for a walk in Florence,
it was fantastic and so informative. When the Accademia opened our guide took us in, no lining up which was terrific as the line of people wanting to go in had grown incredibly because of the strike. We then had to race to the second tour The Uffizi gallery. We were very happy with the tours, the guides knew what they were talking about and could answer any and every question. We would definitely recommend the Walking Tour to everyone who wants to see beautiful art and get to know Florence better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We loved the Accademia and Uffiza gallery tour. Our guides were extremely informative. Skipping the long lines and receiving personnal attention from our guides were also great. My mother who has trouble walking long distances used a wheelchair for the tour and our guides assisted her in navigating through the security process and accessing the galleries. We highly recommend the Viator tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Superb tour! Angelo (The tour guide) was funny, knowledge and extremely passionate about the Accademia Gallery. Great stuff, highly recommend the tour and the tour guide!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It is an once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for many to see the original Michaelangelo's statue of "David" at the Accademia Gallery--worth the ticket alone for this and for the many other room collections of art within. The lineup into the gallery was significant--this "Skip The Line" purchase made the process simple to retrieve the entry ticket and to enter the gallery quickly (within ten minutes of receipt of ticket and waiting in line--purely a crowd control wait). I highly recommend this tour--and any tour with Viator (also went on the Rome Vatican Viator and The Rome Colosseum Viator (both VERY EXCEPTIONAL).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very informative and well-organized tours. Especially enjoyed the in-depth knowledge of history and art, presented with enthusiasm as well as humour, by the Accademia Gallery tour guide-what a delight! E.B.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour. The guide Frederika (not sure of the spelling) did a fantastic job of bringing the history of Florence. to life through her many stories of life, greed,economics and politics. If I had walked through the square of statues without such a knowledgeable and engaging guide I would not have known anything of the meaning behind these statues...they would have just been statues. Our stop at the Accademia Gallery, however brief, hit the highlights of Michelangelo's statutes and once again, the stories behind the work made it rich and satisfying. A very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour; we learned so much about art from our tour guides Valentina in the morning and Costanza in the afternoon. Costanza was especially knowledgable about the different artists and was able to help us interpret many of the paintings and sculptures that we saw along the way. This tour covers it all: the Uffizi, the Duomo and the Accademia Gallery. We had a break for lunch and had lunch at Signoria Square at an outdoor pizzeria. An absolutely perfect day!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent. William our local guide for the Accademia was brilliant, bright and very cute! It was fabulous to see the Accademia and then have plenty of time to wander the wonderful Firenze streets, find a fab little trattoria which we did at Trattoria Gabriella for a delicious lunch and then meet up again for the Uffizi tour. I feel bad but I have forgotten our beautiful guides name at the Uffizi but she was excellent as well. It was easy to find the reps at both places, both guides were excellent, both places we skipped the line easily, my only criticism was at the Uffizi we had a group of 8 so were not given headsets. Even in a small group in this gallery you really need the headsets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Florence is fantastic. Starting our visit with the Viator guide opened up the entire city. It would have been hard to comprehend all the the Accademia Gallary and Uffizi Gallery had to offer without a knowledgeable guide. On top of that, the guide helped us to understand the other treasures of Florence that we could explore on our on. I promise you that you will leave the tour in absolute amazement of the knowledge the guides are going to share.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I wish we had more time and I think the guided tour would be better for people who have more time than we did. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Accademia Gallery. It was awe-inspiring!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Liz
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Sandro did an excellent job of this tour in providing us with the information in such an easy manner to understand. He was very entertaining and extremely passionate about the topic area. The only thing was the "Skip the Line" was nottotally honest in that we stood in the Accademia entry line for about 45 minutes before entry to receive only 45 minutes of guidance.

Silvia was excellent on the Uffizi Gallery Tour and we didn't wait in any line for entry there. She again was fascinating with her grasp of topic areas and presented them with such passion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message