Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Accademia Gallery

Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see sight that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 834 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janet O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guides were wonderful and also entertaining. There was so much to see that I'd like to
go back for more and maybe just wander now that I have an educated window into both the Uffizi and Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing! We arrived at the front of the Accademia, met the tour people and were looked after brilliantly. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and knowlegable. She explained many of the displays on the way to Michelangelo. Once in the main hall she gave us expert information then allowed ample time to observe the magnificent statue. Our guide provided us with information and insights that we would not have had if we had done the tour by ouselves. Whole heatedly recommended...but don't forget to book early.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

Cynthia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Frederika was our tour guide for the morning tour of Accademia and Florence highlights. She was FABULOUS - - so well informed, engaging and warm. Patricia was our tour guide for the afternoon tour of the Uffizi again - - Fabulous - - really knowledgeable and engaging. Both went out of their way to make sure everyone was accounted for at all times and that we were all getting our questions answered. The groups were about 20 people each which was fine - - after the tour guides, the headphones were the other key factor in making this such a worthwhile tour. You didn't miss anything that was said and could wander around within reason and still hear the narrative. This tour was without a doubt and ESSENTIAL component of why our trip to Florence was so rewarding.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable and gave us the details of the highlights of the Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This combined tour gave us two great, memorable tours in one day. Highly recommended! In the morning at the Accademia, our guide Antonio was articulate and witty, and very knowledgeable about art, especially Michelangelo. He kept us informed and entertained during the pre-entry delays. Once in the Galleries, he explained several of the major paintings and sculptures in the galleries before we entered the David Gallery. Instead of rushing us up to this magnificent sculpture, Antonio took time to describe Michelangelo's personality, beliefs and the fame he achieved during his long lifetime - this all helped interpret the unfinished Michelangelo sculptures of the Slaves, St Matthew and the Pieta that we passed on our the way to David. Again, Antonio took time to draw attention to some of the key details of this magnificent sculpture - and then he left us to admire this and other treasures in the Accademia - we were delighted by the gallery of plaster casts and the display of ancient instruments which housed, amongst other items, an early piano invented in Florence! and several violins and cellos by Stradivarius and Guaneri!.
Our Uffizi Galleries tour later in the afternoon was lead by Frederica, a charming enthusiastic art historian who was passionate about the major art-pieces she described to us as we toured the corridors and galleries of the Uffizi. There are so many to choose from, and so many highlights, but we felt the selection of key artworks was just right. Frederica's descriptions and explanations of each were excellent!
It was a delight seeing so many famous pieces and having them explained and described by such an enthusiastic, passionate art specialist.
Each of the two tours was excellent in its own right but, taken together, they provided an outstanding overview of some of the world's greatest works of art, especially when explained so ably by such knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

phkleinklan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our morning guide, Chiara couldn't have been more knowledgeable on the first part of the tour through the Accademia and walking through the city. She was very engaging and had great knowledge of Florence. Our guide through the Uffizi was phenomenal. His knowledge and love of art made you see each work as a story as opposed to just a painting or statue. He encouraged the group to ask questions and make comments to make it a great experience and a great experience it was. I would highly recommend both parts of the tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Susan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The morning tour of the Accademia was extraordinary. Paul Costa was our guide and made the history live. He is a master story teller and we all agreed we could have listened to him for days on end and still be fascinated.
The afternoon tour of the Uffizi was just adequate, 2.5 stars. Sarah tried but just missed the mark. We felt rushed and she only gets five stars by piggy backing onto Paul. I wish I could separate the reviews.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was definitely one of my favorites... easy to navigate and so much to see! The Accademia and Uffizi are a must -- be sure to book a tour or plan to stand in line for hours, plus the tour guides are so informative! I loved the market place with all the leather goods and wine shops! We found language was not a problem. We had been warned of pick-pockets, but think if you're aware of your belongings it's not a problem .. don't look like an easy target! Overall, would love to travel there again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Vicki G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was great! She spoke very good English, and was so informative about the beautiful city of Florence. The Accademia was my favorite. She explained about the different artists and their individual techniques as well as some interesting history we had never heard before. We would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see Florence from a locals perspective.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Florence was our favourite destination and we really enjoyed our tours of both the Uffizi and Accademia. There really no words to describe David and the rest of the treasures we saw.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

frankkadlick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved our walking tour of the Accademia Gallery, the Uffizi Gallery and Florence. Our guide Alissandra was very good and gave us more than just Museum information. She was personable and knowledgeable. We loved seeing Michelangelo's David. We would recommend to anyone to come to Florence and see all she has to offer. A magical place!! Only downside that we saw was their bus system is not too user friendly for anyone who cannot speak the language.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

cwgiggles1101

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What can I say...you cannot go to Florence and not visit the Accademia to view Michelangelo's David...as well as the other pieces of work in the Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

susanbucci

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even on our rainy day, this was enjoyable. Lots of information and interesting facts. Covered quite a bit of the city Our tour guide was very good. Even though it's a skip the line there is still a wait in the group line. It took us about 30 minutes to get into the Accademia all the while having to deal with the panhandling gypsies Other than that, once in the rest of the tour went well

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the Piazzella di Michelangelo, the panoramic view of the city was amazing! The art and history of Florence is well worth the visit and in our opinion, there is no better way to experience it than with a professional guide. Our guides, both on the bus and at the Galleria dell' Accademia, were very knowledgeable, professional, and informative. The artistic talents of Michelangelo are incredible, and nothing is a better example of that than his famous David. Seeing it in person and up close was the opportunity of a lifetime. I highly recommend this tour. An additional benefit is that it's also a great way to beat the long line for entry to the Galleria dell' Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were delighted to be able to Skip the Line at the Accademia and Uffizi Gallery and the guides were very informative. Will recommend it to my friends when visiting Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Georgann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Both guides were very good with lots of information. It was very crowded at both places and this was a good way to get through both museums and see everything you need to. One piece of information would be helpful though because even with the skip the line you are going to have to wait in line at the Accademia. There is always a line even for groups.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Robert S Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour! We had William in the morning for the Ufizzi Gallery and Angelo in the afternoon for the Accademia Gallery and the walking tour of Florence. Both of them were great! It was a small group of no more than 10 people. We had about a 15 minute wait to enter the Uffizi Gallery, which gave William the time to give us a history lesson about Florence and tell us what we were going to see. He was incredibly knowledgeable about Italian artists and was very passionate about their work. Even after doing this tour every day? he was literally in awe of the paintings and sculptures as he took us through the Uffizi. He shared his passion with the group, and Im sure that we all learned a lot. Angelo was also excellent. He came from an anthropology background and was also very knowledgeable. He told a lot of interesting stories and had a great sense of humor. All in all..six hours very well spent! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Michael J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was truly educated and had a wonderful way of sharing facts! She made our visit to the Accademia Gallery a pleasure in every way!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

Pam United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get the lay of the land of the three tourist sites. Sara was an amazing guide, giving us historical background about the city, political figures and the artists as we toured from the Accademia Gallery to the Duomo to the Uffizi. We were really happy to get paired with her on the second half of this tour. She was very practical, organized, knowledgeable, fun and friendly. While we saw the highlights of the Accademia and the Uffizi, we're glad our tickets give us three days to return in our own. There is no way to see everything in a guided tour: keep your tickets and go back. When the tours have cleared out, it's so much easier to roam calmly.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

li United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took the full-day tour which consists of two independent half-day tours. The morning tour covers the Accademia Gallery and the afternoon tour covers the Uffizi Gallery. Both morning and afternoon guides were knowledgeable and able to hold our attention - not easy to do when your brain is overloaded with information.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great tour, with such knowledgeable guides, Federica for Accademia, and Deborah for Uffizi and Palazzo Vecchio. A must with skip the line otherwise you wait for hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

cms1260

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The time we saved on our visit to Florence by purchasing the Viator Skip the Line tickets for the Accademia exhibits was worth much more than the cost of the tickets! It certainly pays to book ahead.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

S J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

the ufizzi docent roberta is very knowledgeable about the gallery, paintings, and history of medici. she's very professional and has the ability to waltz us right into the gallery while a long line of people waiting. the afternoon vasari corridor and accadeia gallery tour was led by maurizio. he's a florentine and is very proud of the city and its history. he knows his michelangelo by heart. also, with him you can also waltz into accademia without waiting like all the single ticket holders.

if you love art and history, not content to just take a quick photo of david and birth of venus, do this tour with this company, florence pass!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great, our tour guide for The Accademia Gallery and The Doumo, Francessca, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and informative with a lot of history and explanations of the exhibits. The afternoon tour of The Uffizi Gallery with Angelo was also very good, he was VERY passionate about the artwork and had a lot of very good information. It was hot in the gallery but worth seeing.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

brigid.hayes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This seems to me to be the only way to see both of these fine buildings - the lines outside for tickets are daunting. We met first at the Accademia where our fantastic guide introduced us to the work of Michelangleo. I didn't catch his name but he was enthusiastic and knowledgable and a delight to be with. Of course the David was splendid as were the other pieces of art. Initally we were to meet at 4:30 at the Uffizi but due to an early closing we met at 2:45 - I think this might have been why it was so very crowded according to our guide. Our afternoon guide was a young woman who knew her art and passed along her enthusiasm. The pieces we viewed were wonderful, but what surprised me was the beauty of the building itself and the fabulous views. The tour also benefits from the use of audio whisperers so you can wander a bit away from the guide while still hearing him/her. Skipping the line and spending time with a guide who knows the art is well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message