Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see sight that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very happy that we chose this tour of Accademia Gallery. Our guide Barbara was excellent. The insight she offered into the history and details of the various pieces made the visit much better. We would not have had the same experience if we had walked through on our own.

An added benefit was we did not have to wait in a long line to get in!

The city bike tour portion was rained out so we did not get to do that part.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun and awesome way to see many sites in Florence. Recommedation - do not take the bike tour on Thursdays and Saturdays when the cruise ships are in port. The guide was very knowledgeable and very friendly throughout the entire tour especally during the Accademia Gallery Tour. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery. Both guides were professional and knowledgeable and obviously passionate about their work. Would recommend both of these tours

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I participated in this tour on Thursday, June 5, 2014. I can only hope I have the Guides names correct but I believe it was Rita or Rosa, a British woman I presume from the warm reference to kids as Brats who took us thru the Accademia and Angelo (I think) who took us thru the Ufizzi Gallery. The incredible knowledge and passion both exhibited for the subject matter was complimented by their warmth and wit. Fabulous experience especially with them!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Paul was AWESOME! (Florence Walking tour/ Accademia Gallery). Paulo (sp) did a great job as well with the Uffizi Gallery tour. Highlight of our trip -- no doubt. Please let Paul know how much we appreciated his tour. He brought the history to life. There were 4 in our group and we never stopped talking about the experience the rest of our trip (Rome, Florence and Venice).

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a two part tour; with two tour guides.
The morning tour of the Accademia Gallery and the Walking Tour was extremely enjoyable. The lady tour guide was excellant; very knowledgeable and passionate about her subject matter and Florence. She was very enjoyable to listen to. We rate her an "A".
The afternoon tour of the Uffizi Gallery was also very enjoyable. The lady tour guide was very good. We rate her a "B+". The crowds in the Uffizi made it difficult to enjoy the works of art completely; but we knew it would be very busy.
I would recommend these tours to other persons. Doing this by ourselves would have been impossible; and the tour guides enrich the experience with their knowledge about Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We only had a few hours in Florence and I had to decide between visiting the Uffizi Gallery and the Accademia Gallery. Based on the recommendation of a friend who had been to both, I booked this tour to see the Accademia Gallery. It did not disappoint. The Statue of David was breathtaking and the guide was great at providing us with the highlights of the other pieces while still allowing us the freedom to explore the museum on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Frederica's walking tour was great. We liked the combination of the Accademia Gallery tour and walking tour through Florence. We had a light lunch at a roof top cafe that Frederica's recommended and had amazing views of Florence- thank you!

After lunch, Angelo lead us through the Uffizi Gallery. Angelo's passionate and extremely knowledgable descriptions of the art was truly appreciated. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our time was relatively short in Florence so this tour was a great way for us to be efficient in our visit. The morning part of the tour was especially enjoyable. Starting on the historic and scenic Ponte Vecchio we began our stroll through the city center. Our guide Costanza was wonderful in explaining all that we saw not only at the major sights like the Duomo and the Accademia Gallery but all the piazzas in between. To top it off, we had the best gelato of our entire trip. Uffizi Gallery with a different guide in the afternoon was informative and a must see in Florence also but can't compete with the variety and interest of the morning tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I visited Florence last week and we booked a half day walking tour around Florence. It was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Florence. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and it was really interesting to know the history of the city and powerful and influential families used to live there. We walked passed many tourist attractions and finished in the Accademia Gallery to see David. The half day tour is good fun but I think the whole day walking tour might be better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Walking tour and Accademia Gallery with Paul Costa:
Incredible! This tour is very very highly recommended. Paul has a great enthusiasm and clearly a very expansive knowledge about the history of Florence. He gives you a real insight in to its cultural heritage and places all dates in to context, which gives you a good sense of the place. He approaches Michelangelo's David from a completely different perspective which you will not find in any guidebooks. Refreshing and definetly worth it.

The Uffizi Gallery: another great tour. By choosing just one section of this vast and incredible gallery, you learn so much more about the evolution of art over the years. Another passionate guide and an incredible collection of art. Good knowledge and all very interesting.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a great tour. The morning tour is the Accademia and I took it through CAF with Roberta as my tour guide. She was very good and explained everything The time flew by and it was a very informative tour. I enjoyed my tour guide so much that I requested her, Roberta, for the afternoon Uffizi Gallery Tour. Again a very enjoyable thorough tour. She was able and positive and I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Accademia Gallery were having a strike till late morning so our guide took us for a walk in Florence,
it was fantastic and so informative. When the Accademia opened our guide took us in, no lining up which was terrific as the line of people wanting to go in had grown incredibly because of the strike. We then had to race to the second tour The Uffizi gallery. We were very happy with the tours, the guides knew what they were talking about and could answer any and every question. We would definitely recommend the Walking Tour to everyone who wants to see beautiful art and get to know Florence better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We loved the Accademia and Uffiza gallery tour. Our guides were extremely informative. Skipping the long lines and receiving personnal attention from our guides were also great. My mother who has trouble walking long distances used a wheelchair for the tour and our guides assisted her in navigating through the security process and accessing the galleries. We highly recommend the Viator tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message