For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 845 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cinque Terre was amazing to see and visit! We loved our tour guide, Adriano. He was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I loved this tour. It was a great way to see the Cinque Terre in one day. It won't suit you if you are wanting to fully hike between each town because you only hike between two towns if you want to. The tour started in the second town, Manarola. From there we caught a train and walked up 385 steps to Cornilglia and had a nice two course lunch. From there you could hike 4km to the 4th village, Monterroso or to take a train. Because it had been raining and the steps were wet I took the train but I was told it was spectacular and scary. The town itself was beautiful.
We took the teain to Vernazza and had 45 minutes to explore it, drink some wine or take a dip in the ocean. From there we took a boat to the 1st town, Riomaggiore where we were given an hour to explore and grab a bite to eat. The town was charming and approaching by boat gave you a chance to view all of the towns by water.
it was a long day from 8am to 5pm with 5 hours in the bus. But the tour guide Johnny was great. He gave us lots of information about places we passed.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

W M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Adriano was well-organized and a pro at keeping our small group going in the correct direction at the right time. The tour was relaxed, unhurried, picturesque and the perfect introduction to Cinque Terre. Would definitely recommend the services of Adriano if you would enjoy exploring this unique area of Italy and are without your own transportation.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Lali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Beautiful experience walking all over cinque terre. We only missed the boat part because of the weather condition. I truly recommend it!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Cinque Terre is a must visit location. This tour was a great way to see it. Sandra, our guide, was terrific. She was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We experienced four of the five towns and the hike between the second and third towns was arduous but not impossible.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience, we almost decided not to do this tour due to the time commitment as we were only in Florence for 3 nights. Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of our Italy holiday. Tour guide was knowledgeable and genuinely interested in each of his guests. Breathtaking scenery, would absolutely recommend thus one.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Ronnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took the 6 Nov tour with Freddy and Fabian as our guide. Our group of 40 pple was spilt up and I was in Freddy group. He is a very informative guide who entertain us a lot with his knowledge and talk. Cinque Terre is definitely worth a day trip to go for if you are in Florence. Beautiful scenery though the hike was challenging. Disappointment though when the trip was delayed due to the train in the second half of the day but not at fault of the tour company. Overall a fun and nice experience!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Anna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Cinque Terre was AMAZING! This tour is a MUST peoples!
My bf and I went on the tour the last day of Oct. lucky for us the weather was PERFECT.
The bus ride to Cinque Terre was pretty quick but that can be due to our awesome tour guide, Fabian.
He was pointing out and telling us interesting stories and facts as we passed the sites to Cinque.
Fat Pigeon!- you can find out about that if you book this tour haha
The hike was a lot of FUN. The views, the beautiful colors, the water pictures don't do justice. The hike itself wasn't bad. My bf didn't like going down the steps cuz it hurt his knee but he's super dramatic. Just take your time. They will wait for you so take it all in. We got to visit ALL 5 villages and I got gelato and wine in every village. Don't worry I evened it out with mixed fried seafood! A MUST-@ Riomaggiore. You get plenty of free time to explore, drink, eat and shop. We got to take a boat ride and saw the sunset over Cinque Terre my bf got us a bottle of wine and roasted chestnuts for the ride. You will never forgot how beautiful Cinque Terre is. As you can tell I sorta liked this tour lol so what are you waiting for....BOOK IT! :

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceptional tour of the Cinque Terre. We only had one day to see the area and this tour was a perfect blend of convenience, information, and relaxation. Adrianno speling? was our guide from Florence and he was fabulous!!!! He had everything timed out and met us when/where he said he would be every time. This tour exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Margaret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The day trip to Cinque Terre was our favorite day during our 12 day trip to Italy. The tour guide was informative, personable and helpful. It was a wonderful day, we are so glad we booked this tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Yan Tung T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour covers all 5 towns in Cinque Terre. We get to enjoy the beautiful scenery during the 1.5 hours hike as well as a nice Italian lunch overlooking the sea. Timing and logistics arrangements are perfect. One thing we like about the tour is that we get ample free time in multiple towns to walk around, take photos, and have a coffee. Bear in mind though, the hike can be challenging for some as it includes steep steps.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

LINDSEY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fabulous! Travelling to the 5 main cities of Cinque Terre was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Freddy and Francesco were terrific guides and helped make the day fun. The hike was not as difficult as they made it out to be but we are in our late 20s, mostly stairs and some terrain - the mud was the most difficult part. The provided lunch was fresh and authentic - and don't forget to try to local wine while in the towns!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

pbpost

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great walking tour!
This was a great tour for so many reasons but be prepared to walk- so bring good shoes!
You start at the meeting point near the bus station in Florence where you meet very young and energetic tour guides who speak great English. On the bus ride to Cinque Terre, there is a stop at a gas station where i would recommend buying water and snacks, Cinque Terre is expensive.
If i remember correctly, you start at the 2nd town, walk to the 3rd town where lunch is provided. I hope you like pesto! From here you will walk and take a train to the 4th and 5th town. In the 5th town, if the weather is good, you will take a boat to the 1st town. Each town is unique and beautiful. This was a great tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Elizabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had an amazing day doing the Cinque Terre Trip ! We couldnt take the boat because of the weather, but we still had an amazing time hiking the view is simply gorgeous and visiting the cute cities of the Cinque Terre. Also, it was a pleasure not to have to worry about the train schedules, thanks to our two guides, Francesco and Freddy, who were incredibly nice and interesting Im also amazed by the number of languages they both can speak ! Grazie mille!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Rikki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is a must do! It's a great way to see Cinque Terre without having to pack your bags all over again. You may think it's a long day, but when you're hiking the villages and enjoying the breath taking views - it doesn't seem long at all. It is actually perfectly balanced between hiking, exploring and enjoying free time in each village.

The hike was great, the lunch was fabulous, the views were priceless. This was the highlight of our trip.

Our host Fabian was great! He was full of energy and had the perfect personality to lead a tour like this.

Thank you for such a great experience!

I would highly recommended the day trip to Cinque Terre!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Lindy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Hi we had the best day in Cinque Terre. We experienced all modes of transport walking, a train ride and finishing with a delightful boat cruise back to our coach. Stunning views and the best surrounds that you could imagine. Our tour guide Fabian, Frederick and Fransoir were fantastic. Very abliging, knowledgeable, funny and responsible. They catered for everyone. Lunch was fantastic with view and flavours to die for. I would highly recommend this tour.
f

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Jill M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is one of those tours that you will feel no matter how much you have to work it's all worth it because the views are so incredible they almost seem unreal. And just when you think there are no more people around that have a really good work ethic anymore you meet someone like Freddie, our tour guide. He is very talented with great wit and knowledge and he was always there to answer questions and go the distance for everyone.

Italy isn't like what we are used to in the U.S., the path especially when wet can be slick and there are stumbling blocks all along the path. In the U.S. the whole character would be changed to make sure that it was safe. My husband was so glad that he invested in some walking poles that could be folded down for travel. We both agree that it's better to have the naturalness than to make it totally safe.

We would highly recommend the Cinque Terre Hiking Trip, it was everything they advertise it to be and more!

Jill and Ralph
Michigan, U.S.A.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Nitipon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. The guide Fabian is very knowledgeable. He enlight us with small detail in every place along the way to Cinque terre. Hiking track is nice. Good food at Corniglia. Overall very pleasant. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My family and I recently hiked the beautiful Cinque Terre. Our guide Johhny boy as we called him was the best. His energy and knowledge of the area was exceptional. I highly recommend this tour and can not say enough about the wonderful experience we had. Hope to be back again and to also visit other Viator sites. Fabulous day thanks Johnny

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

graeme w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Freddy and Riassa were so wonderful and helpful during a hot italian summer walk of The Cinque terre walk. They knew how to take care of their guests and make sure we learnt and saw the maximum we could. The local tour operator were a fantastic choice and im so happy we booked from home and with them it was a lifetime memory in the making. I will never forget the experience.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Matthew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing! The Cinque Terre is one of the most beautiful places on Earth and great break from the museums and city tours. This tour made it easy to visit the coastal site from Florence. The bus ride was comfortable and quick and the ferry ride gave us an absolutely gorgeous view of the entire region. The pre-arranged lunch was delicious! Our tour guide Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable and did an excellent job of keeping us on time and providing helpful hits and suggestions while exploring the area. There is a fair bit of hiking involved so be prepared. The views you get in return are definitely worth every step!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One might argue that the setting of Cinque Terre merits a five-star rating in and of itself, but the experience and enthusiasm of our guide Martina merits at least a five as well. Martina's organizational and communication skills engendered confidence. Her knowledge and integration of natural science, culture, and engaging anecdotes enriched the trip from the minute our bus started rolling, and her attention to and care of each traveler was inspiring. The setting is spectacular, and, as far as guided day hiking treks go, I can think of none better.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Elaine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We took this trip with Livinia and Fabian from the local tour company in conjunction with Viatour. They were both great. The day was all that we could have hoped for. Viatour/The tour company is the only tour company that allows guests to see all 5 towns. The bus and train transfers worked out very well. Lunch in town 3 was traditional and tasty, giving up the energy to tackle the hike. The hike between towns number 3 and 4 was beautiful and pleasant - it is a hike on uneven trails, not a walk on a sidewalk. Weather cooperated so that we could take the boat from village 5 back to 1.
The value for the money was better than I could have done booking all parts on my own. Would definitely recommend spending a day in Cinque Terre with Livinia and Fabian.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Shaila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our hiking day trip of Cinque Terre was my favorite day of a two week visit to Italy!!! I cannot recommend this tour enough. The tour is run by Walkabout Tours, a small tour company in Florence. We did two tours with them, and the tour guides on both tours were THE BEST.

Our tour guides for Cinque Terre, Molly and Julian, were hilarious, kept the group moving from place to place, shared great information about the region, went down the bus and made an attempt to learn names and learn what brings people to Italy, checked on how people were doing throughout the day especially after the longest hike, and at the end of the day came down the bus again to find out if we liked the tour and if we had questions. Seriously awesome people.

As for the tour itself, I fell in love with Cinque Terre. My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We made stops to all five villages, getting there by either train, hike or a lovely boat ride for the last one. Lunch at an adorable restaurant with a great view in Corniglia gave us the option to try seafood from the region, including octopus.

The hike from Corniglia to Vernazza is a few miles, and should take about 50 minutes but we were given free time to hike at our own pace. We couldn't stop taking photos because the hike is so beautiful. It's a rugged, uneven path, sometimes steep and narrow, sometimes flat and wide - surrounded by greenery including olive and lemon trees, opening to stunning views of the Mediterranean and a couple of the villages in certain spots.

Each of the five villages are beautiful as well, and each have their own unique charm. Make sure to pick up a few jars of pesto Cinque Terre is in the Ligurian region, which is the birthplace of pesto. By the time we took the boat to Riomaggiore, we were exhausted from a fabulous day, but still loved that the boat stopped and gave us great views in front of each village. We had the best time on this tour!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fun way to see the Cinque Terre. Includes a train ride and ferry ride and lots of walking. You get to see 4 of the 5 towns.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message