For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 685 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The weather was too hot, but that's no one's fault. Our tour guides were casual and competent, moving us from place to place efficiently. This was a very complicated tour. We rode a bus, and had four short hot train rides and a cool boat ride, plus got to climb 400 or so stairs AND had an almost 3 mile hike, which, given the weather, was plenty. The hike started easy, but had enough up to be challenging. The towns were fun to see, but I wouldn't have enjoyed seeing them just by train or bus. If you want to see Cinque Terre and like to hike, this is great way to do both.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a once-in-a lifetime experience! The journey through the different fishing towns on the coast offered a lot of breath-taking views and opportunities for exploring and shopping. One of the benefits of this tour was that there was a lot of free time to roam, without the constraints of a guided tour. The only recommendation I have is to get there on a week day, instead of weekends or during heavy tourism months, because cruise ships drop off hundreds of people at once, which makes navigation through the towns difficult. If you happen to be traveling from a town outside of Florence, be mindful of train schedules, because the tour bus did not wait for us when our train made us late to the meeting point at 7 AM. The trip from Florence to Cinque Terre is long, and there are hardly any opportunities to stop for restroom breaks, so keep this in mind before you board the bus. The only suggestion for this tour that I have is to provide an itinerary with tentative train stop locations and times. With the heavy traffic, it was easy to lose the tour guide and confuse train boarding times and stops. If this is not provided to you on the trip there, I would highly recommend asking the tour guide to give you the times and locations, in case you decide to stay longer or lose your way. All in all, this was a great experience!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Angel and Sandra were awesome! Very enthusiastic about what they do and very informational! This is a great trip to take if you don't have multiple days in your schedule to stay within the Cinque Terre. We got to see all 5 towns and enjoy an great lunch overlooking the sea--Not to mention the hike was beautiful. I would highly recommend taking any tour with Walkabout!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome, so fun! Fabian was the best guide I've ever had, hope that you get him!! He had the best tips and helps you get the most out of the cinque terre trip. The hike was not difficult, much of it is shaded. Highly recommend it to anyone, and highly recommend Fabian as a guide.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are considering doing this tour, DO IT! We really enjoyed this tour! The day is perfectly planned out so you get to see and do the most possible in one day! Hiking, boat ride while sipping wine, shopping, lunch with a view, it was all great!

Just a small warning, the hiking portion of the tour is more difficult than we expected. They state that you should be of average-level fitness, however, I would say that you should be of good fitness to do the hike. The hike was steep and rocky and it took us about 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete. The views during the hike are unforgettable though!

Even though the hike was more difficult than we thought it would be my mom did it, but it was challenging for her and my aunt was unable to do the hike, the day was incredible and the guides were enthusiastic and fun! Fabian was Fabulous and kept us entertained! You can really tell that the guides love their jobs!

We give this tour two thumbs up and we would do it again in a heartbeat! Thank you for a Fabulous day Fabian he deserves a raise!!
We highly recommend WalkAbout tours as we have done several of their tours and loved all of them Cooking Class, Wine Safari, and Cinque Terre!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides were Freddie and Angel from Walkabout Florence Tours. Cinque Terre was on my must see list for visiting Florence. On this tour we travelled by bus, train, hiked and boat. Lunch was included - we ate a meal of seafood tasting plate followed by a pasta dish with pesto. Both were delicious. The restaurant in Corniglia looked out over the water and township - beautiful views and a taste of what was to come.

The hike between Corniglia and Vernazza was challenging in parts but the views over the coastline whilst we were walking made it truly worth it. You can hike the 4.5kms in your own time, we were advised the average time is 75 mins. I completed it in about 50mins still stopping along the way for photos. We were able to fill our water bottles from a fountain in the village before setting off. Make sure you take a water bottle to fill as it can be quite hot - you need to drink plenty!

Trains between the towns made travel efficient so that we could spend time exploring each town. The boat trip from Monterosso to Riomaggiore was a great way to see the towns from another aspect.

I loved everything about this tour and would recommend that you book it if you are of at least average fitness and wanting to see the Cinque Terre. Thank you so much Freddie and Angel.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

what an amazing place. the tour was a very easy and efficient way for us to get from florence to cinque terre. the guides were good and the destination amazing. next time i go i will stay overnight to enjoy cinque terre more. thank you to our tour company for a great day.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guides were excellent( Francesco and Julian). Very informative and helpful. Hiking was challenging but worth it for the scenery. Wish we were able to do the boat ride , but the Mediterranean did not cooperate. Cinque Terre was beautiful and a great family trip!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour cinque Terre is beautiful worth going to see but it is a long day

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guides Freddy and Francesco were amazing! Very knowledgeable, very enthusiastic, very organized. This tour is a must if you haven't seen Cinque Terre; views you get while hiking are jaw dropping. Be prepared to sweat as the hike is not easy, but so worth it!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to get a taste of Cinque Terre without having to plan it yourself. Our two guides were fantastic, keeping an eye on everyone and recommending the best places to go in each town.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I loved this trip! It was a great way to see Cinque Terre if you only have a day.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is my most favourite trip in my 11 days in Italy. With Walkabout Florence tour I had everything in Cinque Terre in a day. Our guide, Fransesco, was really nice, informative and friendly. He known every by name and extremely helpful. Lunch was delicious. The hiking part is not that hard. The longest route combine uphill, downhill and fantastic view so everyone could enjoy it. After that we spend our free time in Vernazza, and then ride the train to the next village. Very well organized tour. Highly recommend for everyone who want to see Cinque Terre. This trip is really worth for your money.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddy is a legend!! Great entertainment on the bus ride, knowledgeable, funny and approachable. Best tour! Highly enjoyed every moment. Plenty of time to explore each location. Hike was easy, can go at own pace with great views. Best way to see Cinque Terre in a day! Must do!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful day trip! I was staying in Florence for the week and wanted a day trip to get into the countryside. The Cinque Terre trip was perfect. Our guide and driver, Mauro, was wonderful informative and fun. We had a lovely taste of these beautiful 5 villages, topped off by a ferry ride so we could see them from the water.

I would not hesitate to book a Viator tour in the future.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip with viator was so great! Very well organized and well planned. We definitely saw as much of Cinque Terre as we could in a day, and our tour guide, Fabian, was excellent. Very energetic and informative!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day - Thoroughly enjoyed it all, lunch was fantastic and Angel was very informative, funny and helpful guide - highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the cinque Terre

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very relaxed tour, allowing us to see the towns of Cinque Terre in a small group, without too much walking. The guide was pleasant, and we liked how small our group size was. Plenty of time to poke around the towns, but not so much that we were waiting around. Loved taking the ferry, especially!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not only is Cinque Terre a fabulous place to visit, but it was made even better because of this tour. Our guide, Fabian, was knowledgable, sweet, and very funny. We had a great trip out to the coast and really enjoyed visiting all 5 villages. The lunch was tasty and the hike was beautiful! The 2.6 mile trek was tough since it's uphill, downhill, and jagged, so be prepared, but my mom completed it in an hour 10 minutes even with a sprained ankle. We loved this tour and the day is in our top 3 favorite days during our 10 day trip in Italy. It was a long, exhausting day, but it was worth every second!!!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Tamas D
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the hikinh part is a bit hard - it lasts around 1,5 hours. But the tour is amazing, Cinque Terre is a must

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Luka was charming and well informed. He showed us breathtaking views and pointed out incredible and interesting facts and things to see. Cinque Terre was a breath of fresh air. Paradise!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour - perfectly organised, rich in activity and sightseeing, perfect for a day-trip to Cinque Terre!!! Without this tour we would not have been able to enjoy the amazing experience of this remarkable part of the Italian Rivera.
From the moment we joined the group in Florence, through the entire day during which we enjoyed train-trips, hiking and a return boat trip, we were enthralled by the beauty of the scenery. Our tour Guide - Fabia - was young, enthusiastic and encouraging, especially during the hiking part. Talking of that, this tour is not a sit-in-coach and be taken to the required sights, but rather a join the locals and experience the life of these quaint coastal villages. It was pure bliss!
The tour included luncheon which was beautifully presented and included a mixed seafood first course followed by pesto pasta - just what we needed prior to the hike of some 4km! The hike was gruelling as we walked from one village to the next but the views around each corner were breath-taking and so worth each bead of sweat.
We returned to Florence some 11 hours after our start with remarkable memories of a unique day-trip which took our breath away. Thank you to Fabia for his amazing personality, his concern and encouragement and his quirky knowledge of the region.
Book this tour - you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour ! Although after this tour I wished I would have spent a couple days in the Cinque Terre, this day trip from Florence was incredible. Great guide, got to see all 5 villages. Make sure to wear tennis shoes!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a terrific way to do cinque terre in a day. Even though there were multiple trains and a boat the whole thing felt so easy, Julio was terrific - so organized, helpful and sweet - and he kept 60 people on track without anybody getting lost. I'd go on this tour again in a minute.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a a amazing day although it rained and blew a gale!!! Our guides Freddie and Sondra really made a difference with their knowledge of the area between Florence and the Cinque Terre. The Cinque Terre was beautiful as was the ouch that was provided. I would recommend this to anyone considering booking.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message