For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 540 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danielle v
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a fabulous action packed and eventful day!

Our tour guides were amazing and made the day thoroughly enjoyable! The hike wasn't too hard and we got to enjoy a delicious lunch at the end of the hike which was a great incentive! We got to visit all Five of the Towns and were even able to spend about an hour looking around at each of them. Each town is stunning and unique in it's own way.

If you have limited time in Italy and want to get a taste of what Cinque Terre is about, I thoroughly recommend this tour! Next time we visit Italy we will dedicate more time to Cinque Terre to really experience each of the towns thoroughly.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent! Cinque Terre is amazing. The hike is not impossible, but tougher than most might expect. The tour guides split the hike into two. You can have the option to skip the second part of the hike and take the train into the next town instead.
The tour guides are friendly and knowledgeable. There are usually two tour guides as the group is split into two to make it more manageable. They were from a company called Walkabout Florence. Freddy was great! He's pretty funny. Lavinia is awesome as well. They will even give you "local's" advice so you can enjoy Florence even more without falling for tourist traps that hotel concierge reps recommend.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an awesome trip. Martina and Angel were our guides and they were truly amazing. I got sick on the trip and they went out of their way to take care of me. My mother never did a better job!! The scenery on the hikes is just spectacular. Cinque Terre is a truly wonderful setting, a once-in-a-lifetime experience, not to be missed if you are staying in Florence. The views are absolutely incredible and seeing all the farms on the sides of the hills and alongside the tracks we walked on was fantastic as well. I took so many photos my camera battery went flat.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing full day trip with an incredibly well informed and very nice guide, Jaconarmo. We saw the most amazing scenery, the whole trip was well paced and a lot of fun. I would recommend this trip to everyone visiting Florence, the beauty of the Cinque Terre will take your breath away. DON'T MISS THIS TOUR!!
Wendy. Perth W.Australia

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Amy
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Julio (hope I didn't spell his name wrong) was superb. He's one of the most attentive and responsible tour guides we have met.

It was a fine day but the sea was a bit rough. We were told there is no boat ride in the morning. To our surprise, after our visit in Riomaggiore, Julio brought us good news that the boat operator may resume the boat service in half an hour. When we arrived the gather point for the boat, yet the boat operator changed their mind again and said the boat will not be resumed. All of us were very disappointed as the boat ride was obviously a highlight of the trip.

Julio was so kind to negotiate with the boat operator for us. We could feel that he really hoped to present the best of Cinque Terre to his guests to make it a perfect tour. At the end, we had spent around an hour extra in Riomaggiore in order to join the boat ride, however, it's all worth it as the ride was great and you can look at the whole Cinque Terre coastline like what you see in postcards. It was because of this incident that the tour ended up overrun for an hour, but Julio didn't mind to work OT at all and gave us enough time in each village as originally scheduled. We were so glad that we had Julio as our tour guide. Without him we must have left Riomaggiore by train and missed the scenic boat ride.

Agree with some previous comments that not too much information was given on the area or history. However, in such scenic spot, I think to experience it with your senses is the best way to get to know the place. Also, the villages were all so small that we could easily scroll along ourselves without being guided and meet up with the group at the scheduled time and place. Lunch was fine with extremely efficient service which saved us time to explore Monterosso on our own. Scenery was picturesque as expected, among the best in Italy. Highly recommend this tour if you have limited time for the destination and wish you meet Julio. He is just amazing.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day trip from Florence to the Cinque Terre. This trip was by far the favorite of everyone in our group and we all would highly recommend Viator. We were a small group of 6 friends who initially thought we could manage the planning ourselves but thankfully, smarter heads prevailed and we booked with Viator. Our guide was "Jack"....he was fabulous. He arrived on time, the van was clean and had plenty of room for everyone to be comfortable. During our drive to and from the Cinque Terre, Jack shared interesting information about the history and economy of the various communities we passed through. The Cinque Terre was stunning - a must see for anyone traveling to Italy. We chose to only visit three villages in the Cinque Terre so Jack suggested a quick visit to the Leaning Tower of Pisa on our way back to Florence. What a delight!! It was a long day but well worth well the time.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I absolutely loved this hiking tour in Cinque Terre! Our tour guide, Martina, was so knowledgeable, personable, and fun. We weren't able to do the morning hike due to bad weather, but the afternoon hike was beautiful. I highly recommend this trip, don't hesitate to book it. Also, the lunch at Cecio's was amazing!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guides were very engaging, friendly, and informative. I left cinque terre feeling I got to experience a little but from each town. The weather and trains are unpredictable, but the guides did a great job offering us options to keep the tour fun. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Martina and Angel were terrific tour hosts. They kept us informed and entertained throughout the day. The day was awesome and the views along the Cinque Terre trail were amazing. It rained a lot the day we went and the trail was slippery so please bring good foot ware and a walking stick is recommended. It took us about 1 hour 45 minutes. I definitely need to plan a longer stay in this amazing part of Italy. Highly recommend you add this to your trip planning.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I had a great time on this tour. Beautiful weather . I have hiked the Cinque Terre before, but it was nice to see the small towns from a different perspective. Our guide was very nice, and knowledgeable about the whole area. The only downside was how crowded it was.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had heard so much about Cinque Terre that during our Florence trip, we just had to go. This was a great tour, we were with a group of 12 but divided up into 2 vans, very comfortable a nice roomy van with only 6 people in each and our driver was very knowledgeable about the area. We were going to visit 5 of the 6 cities and left Florence in the morning around 9 and returned back at 7:30. The drive in the mountains is beautiful, if you are at all squeamish about heights or get quezy in car rides, this may not be for you, or take Bonine because it is definitely worth the trip. We also had a lot of walking to do, no problems with that but you must be able to climb steep roads, yes up and down because the van would leave us near the tops of a village, then we would hike down or up, depending on the town. The views are just amazing, all that we imagined it would be plus more. I wish we would have had a little more time in each town but then it would have been an extremely long day. Just a good excuse to go back and spend more time in this beautiful, charming area though. We had time for a fantastic lunch in Corniglia, right by the sea. The water was very rough the day we were there so no boats were in the water so we could not do the boat trip to another town. If you look at some of the pictures of this area, the water is calm, this day the waves were breaking the rocks, quite beautiful. The cities are charming and just what you would think Italian villages would be, we would do it again and highly recommend it. .

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day at Cinque Terre, The only way to go is by tour, our tour guide Freddie was awesome, Its a long day but really worth it, there is a lot of walking and hiking involved including 400 step up. I am very average fitness and at 48 years old was one of the oldest to do the hiking up and around mountains, but did it better than expected, especially since it was a hot day. The views were spectacular, visited all 5 villages and spent time in some, had a dip in the water, train rides and speed boat rides. Lunch was delicious with great views. A great day, highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful wonderful, took our three college grandsons on a tour of Italy and cinque terre was their favorite spot. loved the cities, the hiking, (they were surprised at the relative difficulty of the hike!) the beach, not so much the lunch, yuk anchovies! but the view from the restaurant was fantastic! a wonderful trip, with wonderful kids!! Sheila troutman

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved this day trip to Cinque Terre. What unique and picturesque villages. Yaris, our guide, couldn't have been nicer. My only wish was that we had more time to spend in each town we visited.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour. Cinque Terre was beautiful and our guides Freddie and Angel were amazing!! They really had lots of knowledge and were loads of fun! My only little complaint is that the little towns were quite crowded..I was just expecting them to more quaint. Of course, I was there at peak season.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message