For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 737 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip to Cinque Terre was the highlight of our trip!
The scenery/views are spectacular and NOT to be missed - just do it!
Words just don't do it justice.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

OMG!!!! Johnny what a fantastic tour guide, fun, caring, passionate about his job and very serious about ensuring ALL his guests are well looked after. The Cinque Terre Hiking day trip was the highlight of our trip, not only did we challenge ourselves by doing the hike but we met such wonderful people along the way. The sights were amazing and the villages beautiful. Every step of the way our tour guide Johnny made sure everyone on the tour was okay and accounted for, escpecially when it was time to get on the busy trains!! Johnny you were amazing and if I ever do this hike again I will definitely be asking to be on your tour and Walkabout what can I say we booked 3 tours through your company during our Europe journey and each and everyone of them were unforgettable experiences with tour guides who really care and really know their stuff. Congratulations on a great company.
Sina, Grace and Shirley Australia

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Robin C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a small tour, which I liked, as it was very personal. The tour guide was very nice and informative, and I appreciated his heartfelt explanations of the life in Cinque Terre and their efforts to preserve it. The vineyards were beautiful, as were the views! I learned a lot while thouroughly enjoying the setting. Lovely wine tasting at the end!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Winery Tour in Manarola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was very professional. Everything ran smoothly and was on time. We saw 4 out of the 5 villages. Lorenzo, our guide, was very nice and informative. Cinque Terre is so breathtakingly beautiful! A Must See!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Jerry
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our driver and tour guide, Adriano, was simply outstanding. The villages of Cinque Terre are very picturesque and memorable. It was quite a full day as we traveled by van, train and boat and visited 4 of the 5 villages, but Adriano was an excellent driver, very knowledgeable and gave use very useful tips at each step along the way. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Cinque Terre is gorgeous. Wanted to check it out to see if it will be a good destination in the future. Now I want to go back and stay.
Our guide was great, although now I cannot remember his name.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip! A packed day that included an informational bus ride to Cinque Terre about 2 hours - but time went by quick with the guides' great historical comments, two train rides, a 90 min hike thru the hills, and a 20 minute boat ride. Also about 30-60 minutes of free time in each village. Given all of the above logisitcs, I couldn't be more impressed with our two guides, Gloria and Lavinia. They were very sharp, friendly, and caring. Seemed more like our friends than our guides. One final note....the Cinque Terre itself is stunning!
I will highly recommned this trip to any of my friends going to Tuscany.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Phenomenal tour! It takes all the hassel out of seeing Cinque Terre, train or car? how long is the drive? where do we park? what's the route? This tour gives you plenty of time to experience Cinque Terre and the bus ride is very entertaining with the outstanding and funny Fabio and Angel. These two guys are fantastic and made our bus ride seem like one hour. Additionally, they know the history, facts, and stories of Italy and truly care that you have memorable experience. Awesome tour!!!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There is no doubt about Cinque Terre....it's a magnificient place to visit! Breath taking views in each town and extremely resilient people. We highly recommend this tour, but be prepared to a full day, fast pace with LOTS of people in each location. It's just too bad we could not stay a little longer in two of the four towns. We would like to go back but spend a few days and enjoy the people and the scenery a little longer. Caroline, Martin and Marianne

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I really enjoyed this tour! Yes, the scenery and towns were beautiful, but our guide made the logistics easy to follow to ensure that we ran on time. I enjoyed the hike, which took us about 55 minutes, though it was very warm. The guide/tour were flexible with the varying levels of interest in the cities or physical abilities ie: amenable to making changes for people with knee pain, fatigue, etc. My only complaint was that it was difficult to find the meeting spot in the morning and had to scramble to find other lost-looking Americans to find where we needed to go. However, my friend and I both agree that we would recommend this trip to anyone interested in Cinque Terre from Florence. Thanks Johnny!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Andriano, if I have his name right, was excellent host. He made the day trip worthwhile and I would recommed him to anyone for Cinque Terre villages. Tell him his Kapitano says hello!! Viator has an excellent ambassador in Andriano and he should be appreciated by the company. Bangu Masisi from Netherlands and South Africa.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best tour EVER! Cinque Terre is as amazing in reality as the photos were. But Stefano made the tour a lot more meaningful with his jovial personality and the stories he brought along. He took such good care of each one of us and truly is the best guide one can ever have! Thank you Stefano!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour incorporated a train ride, boat ride and just enough hiking to give you the best views of Cinque Terre. Our guide was knowledgeable, gave us free time in all of the cities to wander and eat gelato and the specialty of the town. The lunch was wonderful. I would recommend seeing Cinque Terre via Viatar.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did the Cinque Terre Hiking Day trip on June 19th with Fabian as our guide. This is a fabulous day trip!! It is a long day but totally worth it because you get a taste of what each town is like so you can start planning your next trip to see more of the 5 towns.

Fabian was a fabulous tour guide and really nice guy!! He is very entertaining and really makes a point to get to know each person on the trip. We saw him the next day when he was meeting that day's group and chatted with him. He actually remembered our names.

On the drive there Fabian told us about the regions we were driving through and told us what to expect when we arrived. He was very good about keeping our big group together and making sure everyone was present before we continued on. The lunch was delicious at a very nice restaurant on a nice patio. They offered a salad to anyone who didn't want the appetizer fish which is what I did. The pasta with pesto was like nothing you can get in the US and it was amazing!

The hike was a good hike and not easy but as long as you take your time they give you lots of time to get to the next town and take pictures and enjoy it, you won't have any trouble making it to the next meeting place. Make sure you bring your bathing suit and towel so you can thoroughly enjoy the beaches. It was a very hot day when we hiked and we forgot our suits. Swimming in the Mediterranean is the highlight.

There were other guides with us who had other groups. In the other group there was a couple who were in their 70's and going slower than the rest of us. Their guide Sandy was so nice and caring. She stayed with them to be sure they were alright. I heard her telling them interesting facts about the area and encouraging them. Sandy was so good to them! We saw them later in the day and the wife was delighted with the way Sandy helped them.

I would highly recommend Fabian and Walkabout Tours!! They were professional, safe and Fabian was lots of fun!!!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day, was just a taste of Cinque Terre but well worth the time.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great way to see Cinque Terre! Lovely to see by boat. Also fun to take the train from town to town.
We felt we made the perfect choice in taking this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing time on the tour with our fabulous tour guide Fabian. He was knowledgable, outgoing, and managed to make all the train boardings and transitions between towns smooth despite crowds of people. The hike was a workout especially because it was hot, but the stunning views were absolutely worth it. Definitely recommend this tour for anyone who is curious to explore Cinque Terre but pressed for time!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was tiring but the views you get of Cinque Terre during the hike are worth it! As well as the dive afterwards if you get the chance! The guides are knowledgeable and take care of everything, just make sure you keep up with the group and the time frames/meeting points so that you won't get lost. All in all, a great experience!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! Freddie and Johnny were wonderful guides, and their charisma and knowledge of the area only brightened an already wonderful place. The tour had a nice balance of activity and downtime. Would recommend this tour as a day trip from Florence to see Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day trip was definitely worth it. I booked a few days in advance and showed up at the appointed location and time where I was met by several representatives from Walkabout Florence. We were taken to Cinque Terre on a very comfortable, air conditioned bus, and were accompanied by two guides, Stefano and Fabian. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and funny, keeping us informed and entertained as we made the almost three hour trip to Cinque Terre. Everything we were to do that day was clearly and perfectly explained by our guides. When we arrived at Cinque Terre our group was split in two, and I had Stefano as a guide. I have been on many tours like this over the years and I can say that Stefano was top notch. He was attentive to everyone, and made the day fantastic. We hiked a bit about an hour in the morning to the town of Corniglia. Corniglia is one of the towns of Cinque Terre, and by the time we reached the town it was time for a delicious lunch of seafood and pasta. We were given ample bottles of water it was about 90 degrees F and allowed time to rest before continuing on to the other towns of Cinque Terre. The second hike is not for the faint of heart it is grueling in some places, but totally doable for anyone who is in somewhat good shape. Everyone in our group was OK, though some people struggled a bit. Again we were given ample time to shop, eat, swim, and walk around each town of Cinque Terre. We took the train from one town to another, and I must warn you that in high season the train is PACKED with people. At times we were like sardines. Luckily the trips are short and Stefano made it very clear that we should watch for pickpockets on the train. He was the most vigilant of all. We made it back to Florence by bus at 9:00 p.m. after a wonderful day. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fabulous way to quickly see the Cinque Terre area. The hiking was not too difficult, despite the heat there was a nice breeze the day we were there. Our guides, Lavinia and Molly were amazing. They knew the area, warned us about the conditions on the trail well, and had great suggestions for things to see in each town as well as places to grab food and/or snacks along the way.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both my wife and I really enjoyed the hiking trip. We are really lucky to have Fabio as our walking tour guide. He is really passionate about his job, know the area very well, care about every single tour members, has a great sense of humor and the list goes on. We would definitely recommend Fabio and his company to all our friends who plan to visit Florence and Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day was outstanding in every way! The guides were knowledgable, personable, and great fun. The tour itself took us to stunning places in the Cinque Terre. I loved the hike though it was strenuous for some. The included lunch was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour and, in fact, will buy it as a gift for my son who will be in Florence in a few months.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is amazing! If you have a day in florence and are trying to decide what tour to take I highly recommend this one. My wife and I absolutely loved it. Our tour guides, Julian and Johnny were informative, funny, and extremely accommodating. It is a hiking tour, but there are people who have no business hiking who still completed it in their late 60's and not in hiking shape. The great thing for us was that we were able to go at our own pace, which was ahead of the group, so we had more time in each village. Julian and Johnny pointed us in the right direction and then stayed with those who hiked slowly while most went ahead. The Cinque Terre is beautiful, probably the most gorgeous place I have ever been. We were able to get some great local food, swim in three of the villages, and enjoy some great shopping opportunities my wife told me to write that. This was our 2nd trip to Europe and it was by far the best tour we have ever done.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've been home for two weeks now and I have raved about this tour to everyone I've talked to. I can't say enough good things! This tour exceeded my expectations in every way: we were able to go to all five towns in Cinque Terre, the guides were super fun and very knowledgable, and the tour was organized with superb efficiency. It was great to be able to hike and boat between some of the towns, and everything was paced nicely to were I felt like I had enough time to see and do what I wanted without feeling rushed. I would say with fair warning that the hike is probably more enjoyable if you're in better shape, but doable if you take your time. This tour was the highlight of my entire trip to Italy!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message