For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 717 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was tiring but the views you get of Cinque Terre during the hike are worth it! As well as the dive afterwards if you get the chance! The guides are knowledgeable and take care of everything, just make sure you keep up with the group and the time frames/meeting points so that you won't get lost. All in all, a great experience!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! Freddie and Johnny were wonderful guides, and their charisma and knowledge of the area only brightened an already wonderful place. The tour had a nice balance of activity and downtime. Would recommend this tour as a day trip from Florence to see Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day trip was definitely worth it. I booked a few days in advance and showed up at the appointed location and time where I was met by several representatives from Walkabout Florence. We were taken to Cinque Terre on a very comfortable, air conditioned bus, and were accompanied by two guides, Stefano and Fabian. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and funny, keeping us informed and entertained as we made the almost three hour trip to Cinque Terre. Everything we were to do that day was clearly and perfectly explained by our guides. When we arrived at Cinque Terre our group was split in two, and I had Stefano as a guide. I have been on many tours like this over the years and I can say that Stefano was top notch. He was attentive to everyone, and made the day fantastic. We hiked a bit about an hour in the morning to the town of Corniglia. Corniglia is one of the towns of Cinque Terre, and by the time we reached the town it was time for a delicious lunch of seafood and pasta. We were given ample bottles of water it was about 90 degrees F and allowed time to rest before continuing on to the other towns of Cinque Terre. The second hike is not for the faint of heart it is grueling in some places, but totally doable for anyone who is in somewhat good shape. Everyone in our group was OK, though some people struggled a bit. Again we were given ample time to shop, eat, swim, and walk around each town of Cinque Terre. We took the train from one town to another, and I must warn you that in high season the train is PACKED with people. At times we were like sardines. Luckily the trips are short and Stefano made it very clear that we should watch for pickpockets on the train. He was the most vigilant of all. We made it back to Florence by bus at 9:00 p.m. after a wonderful day. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fabulous way to quickly see the Cinque Terre area. The hiking was not too difficult, despite the heat there was a nice breeze the day we were there. Our guides, Lavinia and Molly were amazing. They knew the area, warned us about the conditions on the trail well, and had great suggestions for things to see in each town as well as places to grab food and/or snacks along the way.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both my wife and I really enjoyed the hiking trip. We are really lucky to have Fabio as our walking tour guide. He is really passionate about his job, know the area very well, care about every single tour members, has a great sense of humor and the list goes on. We would definitely recommend Fabio and his company to all our friends who plan to visit Florence and Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day was outstanding in every way! The guides were knowledgable, personable, and great fun. The tour itself took us to stunning places in the Cinque Terre. I loved the hike though it was strenuous for some. The included lunch was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour and, in fact, will buy it as a gift for my son who will be in Florence in a few months.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is amazing! If you have a day in florence and are trying to decide what tour to take I highly recommend this one. My wife and I absolutely loved it. Our tour guides, Julian and Johnny were informative, funny, and extremely accommodating. It is a hiking tour, but there are people who have no business hiking who still completed it in their late 60's and not in hiking shape. The great thing for us was that we were able to go at our own pace, which was ahead of the group, so we had more time in each village. Julian and Johnny pointed us in the right direction and then stayed with those who hiked slowly while most went ahead. The Cinque Terre is beautiful, probably the most gorgeous place I have ever been. We were able to get some great local food, swim in three of the villages, and enjoy some great shopping opportunities my wife told me to write that. This was our 2nd trip to Europe and it was by far the best tour we have ever done.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've been home for two weeks now and I have raved about this tour to everyone I've talked to. I can't say enough good things! This tour exceeded my expectations in every way: we were able to go to all five towns in Cinque Terre, the guides were super fun and very knowledgable, and the tour was organized with superb efficiency. It was great to be able to hike and boat between some of the towns, and everything was paced nicely to were I felt like I had enough time to see and do what I wanted without feeling rushed. I would say with fair warning that the hike is probably more enjoyable if you're in better shape, but doable if you take your time. This tour was the highlight of my entire trip to Italy!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day! The hike was perfect- challenging but manageable. The guides did a great job of keeping up with us but letting us roam, and finding stops along the way. Extremely well managed. Worth every penny. Cinque Terre is gorgeous and the tour was fantastic!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First things first....this tour does involve a good amount of physical exertion. The beginning involves climbing up multiple flights of stairs to get to the top where the hike begins. You must have good footwear and be in reasonably good physical shape. That being said....this trip was excellent and we had a wonderful time with Martina as our guide. She was very personable, took the time to get to know each person in her group, and kept track of each one of us as we did the hike at our own pace. She also managed to get us all on and off the very crowded Saturday trains, which was no small feat. Thanks for a great trip Martina! We were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunny day for our trip and the scenery was amazing! If you are interested in seeing Cinque Terre in a day, this trip is the way to do it. Some of the best pictures from our trip to Italy came from this trip.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Giacomo was a great tour guide and driver. . He made the long drive from Florence to Cinque Terre go fast by pointing out the sites to us and sharing interesting information on Italy. He was an exceptional driver, managing the curvy narrow roads with skill as we navigated our way along the coast. We stopped in three cities. He made sure to tell us where to meet and made sure we made our train and boat connections between the cities. Each was unique and lovely. Lots of photo opps for great memories. The boat ride between Rigomaggiore and Vernazza was the highlight of our trip. We got a great view of the cities from the water. We had lunch in Vernazza and then on to Corniglia before getting in the van for the drive back to Florence. Wonderful experience. Highly recommend

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful day and trip to Cinque Terre! Everything I expected and more. Our guide, Francesco was a delight and very informative. Thank yoU!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Cinque Terre is breathtaking - don't miss it! Our guide, Fabrizio, was excellent. He navigated our group of 8 through the summer crowds effortlessly. He recommended that we have lunch in the Bell Tower restaurant and called ahead and made a reservation for our family of four. When we arrived, we found the best table in the restaurant reserved for us. The service was extremely friendly and the food was fantastic. I am so glad that we booked this day trip. It was a wonderful day and meeting Fabrizio was a treat!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Cinque Terre is beautiful! The guides did a nice job of making sure everyone moved from point A to point B in a timely manner. The guides were also pleasant and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The day trip to Cinque Terre was fantastic. It is such a beautiful part of Italy and it was lovely the way it was done as a combination of train and boat with an optional section to hike as well. The tour guide was interesting and very good with how he kept the group together, and gave clear instructions on what to do if we were separated for any reason.
A trip well worth doing.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Visually stunning! Our driver/ guide, Sergio, was knowledgeable, interesting, and a terrific driver no mean feat on those winding roads. Really glad that I went in the van with a small group, especially after walking the hilly terrain in Cinque Terre. I was able to get terrific photos and spent a wonderful day in the company of six friendly tourists. Had a wonderful lunch at the outdoor restaurant suggested by our guide. I LOVED this day trip!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Do this! Cinque Terre is absolutely worth a day trip from Florence. Just Beautiful.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible, Breathtaking and enjoyable experience. I recommend Cinque Terre 100 to everyone who goes to Italy. It's absolutely spectacular. I regards to the tour... our driver was very friendly and fun. The dinner was delicious and the wine was fantastic.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we made this trip! Cinque Terre is beautiful. Each city is unique and we really enjoyed getting to know them. Our guide was knowledgable and a master at keeping a large group traveling on buses, trains, boats and foot all together. It's a long day though and we almost passed on visiting Vernazza so we could just rest, but we rallied and were happy we did. It ended up being our favorite.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jonathan made this tour more than I could have hoped for!!! His knowledgable and helpful approach always had us in the best position to really enjoy our limited time at the Cinque Terre! I could not recommend this tour highly enough, the area is awe-inspiring and breathtaking! I would definitely ask for home when I return to Florence again for another tour!
Thank you to all the staff for making it such a great day!
Peter Sutherland
Perth Western Australia

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of four loved our day in Cinque Terre. This was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Italy. Our guide, Martine, was lovely, knowledgeable, helpful, and extraordinarily charming. The hike was spectacular, the food delicious, the views magnificent. We road buses, trains, ferries, and walked and hiked ourselves to a comfortable exhaustion. I urge people to consider this tour. A great value. A great experience. And a source of lasting memories.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of mine and my boyfriend's trip (June 19th)! Nick and I had an amazing time with our guide Fabian who shared fantastic knowledge about all the sites, provided great comic relief and made everyone feel right at home. Highly recommend this trip for Cinque Terre first-timers!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The weather was too hot, but that's no one's fault. Our tour guides were casual and competent, moving us from place to place efficiently. This was a very complicated tour. We rode a bus, and had four short hot train rides and a cool boat ride, plus got to climb 400 or so stairs AND had an almost 3 mile hike, which, given the weather, was plenty. The hike started easy, but had enough up to be challenging. The towns were fun to see, but I wouldn't have enjoyed seeing them just by train or bus. If you want to see Cinque Terre and like to hike, this is great way to do both.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a once-in-a lifetime experience! The journey through the different fishing towns on the coast offered a lot of breath-taking views and opportunities for exploring and shopping. One of the benefits of this tour was that there was a lot of free time to roam, without the constraints of a guided tour. The only recommendation I have is to get there on a week day, instead of weekends or during heavy tourism months, because cruise ships drop off hundreds of people at once, which makes navigation through the towns difficult. If you happen to be traveling from a town outside of Florence, be mindful of train schedules, because the tour bus did not wait for us when our train made us late to the meeting point at 7 AM. The trip from Florence to Cinque Terre is long, and there are hardly any opportunities to stop for restroom breaks, so keep this in mind before you board the bus. The only suggestion for this tour that I have is to provide an itinerary with tentative train stop locations and times. With the heavy traffic, it was easy to lose the tour guide and confuse train boarding times and stops. If this is not provided to you on the trip there, I would highly recommend asking the tour guide to give you the times and locations, in case you decide to stay longer or lose your way. All in all, this was a great experience!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Angel and Sandra were awesome! Very enthusiastic about what they do and very informational! This is a great trip to take if you don't have multiple days in your schedule to stay within the Cinque Terre. We got to see all 5 towns and enjoy an great lunch overlooking the sea--Not to mention the hike was beautiful. I would highly recommend taking any tour with Walkabout!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message