For travelers who consider themselves to be hiking specialists, a trip to Italy’s Cinque Terre is well worth your time. ‘Five Towns’ in English, this region  surrounding the compilation of quaint towns boasts a terrain that houses some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 885 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Venus D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

During an 8 day trip to Italy, this may have been my favorite! Cinque Terre was breathtaking. I loved every minute of our day trip, as did my family.

We traveled via minivan, train, and boat to complete this adventure. There was also a lot of walking. My mother, who struggles with walking, came along, but struggled. Our tour guide was exceptional, though, and made sure that no one got left behind.

I would highly recommend this tour, as every part of it was amazing!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Tour by Minivan from Pisa

Drew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddy and Molly were fantastic. Their insights provided context and detail for the day in Cinque Terre and their advice on what to do in each village was always perfect. The hike provided wonderful views of the villages and made the best gellato I've ever had taste even better at the end of it. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking to make the most of a single day in Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

perianjay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide Stefano I think that's how you spell it was a really great guide, had some funny jokes and did really well with making sure that everyone was ok during the hikes.
This is the best way to see the cinque terre in one day and enjoy it's beauty. Definitely would only recommend to someone who is active and can handle a almost 10km hike through steep mountainous regions with lots of stairs and unbalanced terrain. It was a challenge, but very exhilarating. My husband and I loved it.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour with Walkabout Tour company was fantastic! Our guide Fabian was informative, personable rembered all our names!! and pleasant! Would definitely do this again!
Cinque Terre was beautiful- only wished we had more time in each town to explore!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

judith d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a beautiful day for our hike. I was a bit nervous about being too out-of-shape to keep up with the group. As a 64yr old with 2 artificial hips and 20 extra pounds I did just fine. The promise of THE BEST gelato kept me going. Our guides Molly and Stefano were great. We learned a lot about the area on our drive to Cinque Terre. I would recommend this hike to anyone who likes hiking and is in average shape. However, I would not recommend doing this in the rain unless you are very fit. You have the option to take the train for the hiking portion. The boat ride was a great finish to our time in Cinque Terre.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fun and convenient way to see the Cinque Terre.
The whole day came together without any snags, the guides were fun, friendly, and informative.
I would highly recommend this day trip to anyone.
A big shout out to Mateo and his partner for this wonderful day hiking along the coast through the colorful villages.
Thank you!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

gocaesars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cinque Terre is beautiful. We were able to see 4 of the 5 cities and each had their own character. It was so nice to enjoy time by the water. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Denise P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organized tour and fantastic tour guide. A great way to experience Cinque Terre in one long day!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

seconomou14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was everything we wanted out of Cinque Terre. Our guides Fabiana and Freddy were phenomenal.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Emily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything about this tour was fantastic. Although the scenery itself is just amazing the tour guide made this tour enjoyable and unique. Fabian has spent a lot of time in America so his English is excellent. He was personable, funny, genuine, engaging and very enthusiastic about his country and the tour. Walkabout Florence Tours kept the tour very small and even had 2 buses with two separate guides for the overflow smart idea when navigating the small towns in Cinque Terre. These folks are very organized. If you only have a day to see the Cinque Terre there isn't any other tour that can match this one from Florence.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was so much fun. We were not following around some old staunchly tour director holding an umbrella shouting out facts. Our leaders were Molly and Freddie, who briefed us on the bus ride to Cinque Terre, as to interesting facts and what to expect. The lunch was fresh and tasty and the other participants were friendly. I would def recommend this outing to anyone who's out for an adventure.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Marco G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an Amazing experience! This was the highlight of our vacation and it did not disappoint. The Cinque Terre was absolutely stunning. The five villages are all unique, full of character and offer some stunning views of the Mediterranean. Lunch is included with the tour an, which was delicious. Pesto was offered by default but We choose Pasta al Pomodoro which was delicious. Now on to the hike, what can I say other than you must do it! Gorgeous views, plenty of good photo opportunities and a good workout! You'll be rewarded with some great gelato at the conclusion of the hike. A special shout out to our guide Freddy who made the tour lots of fun, told us some interesting facts and history along the way, and offered encouragement to those who were unsure of the hike. He was the best guide I had on all the tours I took in Italy this time! This tour earns my highest recommendation!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

howcj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We used Walkabout Tours to visit Cinque Terre. The bus ride to and from Cinque Terre was good. Fabian was a hilarious guide who gave us detailed information about the sites we visited. We really enjoyed the lunch in the restaurant just before the hike. Each town we visited had an amazing view of the landscape and colorful houses. The hike was challenging but fun.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Jenna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was easily one of if not our favorite activity during our two weeks in Italy and France. Our tour guides, Fabian and Freddy were both amazing and so full of knowledge and humor! The Cinque Terre region is one of the most beautiful in the world, and this was a great way to see it. The hiking is not easy, but it is very do-able for anyone who is active, and everyone is able to go at their own pace since the longest amount of free time is in Vernazza which is the town your hike ends at. Lunch in Corniglia was delicious with options for any dietary restriction. Probably the best things about this tour are the views you get during your hikes. We were able to take some amazing photos and really enjoy a region that we had heard so much about. We will recommend this to everyone we know who is going to Florence!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Anthony D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful day excursion my 16 year old daughter and I undertook from Florene. The Bus picked us and 28 other people up from the main railway station in Florence. The bus was comfortable and the driver very good. The Tour Guide - Freddy - really added to the experience. He was knowledgeable, insightful and welcoming. The 2 hour bus trip to Cinque Terre Trail was made interesting by Freddie our Tour Guide. He gave colourful insight into the life and times of high profile people dating back to the Roman times as well as insight into there way of life. Stories of Puccini and Michaelangelo also come to mind.

We started the walking tour at the first of five towns and enjoyed browsing through the town before a hike up some step steeps to our destination for lunch. Lunch was at like 12 noon at a ristorante with panoramic views of the coastline. Lunch was a mixed seafood selection for appetiser followed by penne pasta with a pesto sauce for secondi just outside the town of Corneglia. If you're allergic or don't like any of this Freddie makes a note of this in advance, rings to the ristorante and you have something else. Expression is 1 Euro extra and a glass of the local white wine Buenissimo is 4 Euro.

The big hike now begins. It took my daughter and I just 48 mins but we are fit experienced hiker. Most did it in lik a hour to hour and half. It's rough track in parts and whilst we did it in runners recommend hiking boots if possible to stabilise ankle. Not necessary just desirable.

The scenery is panoramic and the fauna very interesting. Quite a few people doing the walk from the other direction as well. We entered the town of Vernazzo. Wow. Very picturesque. The Gelato is amazing and we rewarded ourselves with this given the strenuous hike just prior.

We took trains between the other towns and got to admire the views. I even bought a bottle of the white wine to take back. Freddie advises to buy the white only.

Enjoy

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

tiger1gator2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If I could give this day 6 stars I would. It was a perfect way to see Cinque Terre with a great mix of hiking, local trains and a boat ferry to see the towns from the water. The bus ride from Florence was beautiful as well. Our group was just 11 people which was perfect - even so, everyone could hike at their own pace. Lunch overlooked the ocean and was delicious. I can't imagine a tour guide better than Martina. She clearly loves what she does and makes sure every stage of moving the group goes smoothly. Thank you, Martina!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What not to like about Cinque Terre? We visited 4 of of the 5 cities in the Cinque Terre area and loved the sights. The multicoloured buildings and the history behind them was quite interesting.

In terms of the tour, we were given a short brief of each area before we were given some free time to roam around the city and explore some of the specific attractions of each provided by the tour guide.

It would have been nice to get all 5 of the cities, but 4/5 is still good. If you're looking for hiking/biking/vespa-ing in this area, I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite tour of the trip! Our guides, Johnny and Sondra, were truly amazing. Not only were they extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of Cinque Terre, they kept us on schedule, assisted some of the slower hikers, and recommended great hidden gems of each town that we took full advantage of i.e.- best place to get pesto, fresh pasta-to-go, good photo spots etc. The hike was moderately strenuous, and I would not recommend it for those that can't climb at least 200 steps/stairs. Johnny even pointed out local herbs and flowers along the hike which my wife loved! Sondra was extremely patient with all of the hiking abilities within the group, and didn't make us feel rushed at all. We even saw her the next day on a different tour and she treated us like seeing family. The crew at Walkabout is one of a kind and this is a must-do tour for those interested in getting the very best out of Cinque Terre! Flying back to the States I was looking over Frommer's and Rick Steve's travel guides about Cinque Terre highlights, and this tour hit them all. Amazing!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Per my two daughters, this was the best day of our entire Italy vacation. I agree. Words cannot do justice to this experience. Regardless, Johnny and Freddie the tour guides are great people who set a very positive tone from the start. Add the beauty of Cinque Terre on top of that and you have a recipe for awesomeness! I only had one day of our trip allotted for Cinque Terre, and the logistics of the visit weren't simple... so I opted for a tour. When I get back to Italy, I will work to spend two or three days chillaxing and hiking around this incredible place.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Amanda R Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on! We were worried when we arrived early in the morning at the train station that we wouldn't know where to find the group, but they were there with a sign out front and everything was organized and began right on time! The drive out to Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of my trip, as our tour guide, Freddie, provided so much interesting and entertaining history and information about the surrounding areas. Freddie is so knowledgeable about everything Italy and also made some great suggestions for us as far as what to buy and where to eat! Cinque Terre is absolutely beautiful, too! We arrived by bus into the second village of Manarola, had some time to look around, then took a quick train ticket provided to Corniglia, where we explored the town and then ate a fancy and delicious seafood then pasta lunch if seafood/gluten/etc isn't your thing, other options are available, and Freddie will ask in advance. After our meal, we hiked about an hour to the next village of Vernazza. The hike was not too strenuous, but it's a lot of uphill and uneven ground. Some visitors on our tour chose to take the train, and had a bit of extra time in the next village. The walk was beautiful though, with fantastic views over the coastline. Freddie stopped a few times to let us catch our breath and to provide lots of interesting facts about not only the villages, but the flora and fauna, too! We learned so much! After an amazing gelato in Vernazza, we took another short train to Monterosso and sat on the beautiful beach! The beachy end has some restaurants, but is mostly homes, so a walk into the old part of town was a must! We tried some Limoncino it was horrible if you ask me! But I for some reason thought it was lemonade...I must have been daydreaming when I was told it was 95 alcohol!! :P. Next up was a train back to the first village of Riomaggiore to explore there before heading back to Florence! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Amanda R Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on! We were worried when we arrived early in the morning at the train station that we wouldn't know where to find the group, but they were there with a sign out front and everything was organized and began right on time! The drive out to Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of my trip, as our tour guide, Freddie, provided so much interesting and entertaining history and information about the surrounding areas. Freddie is so knowledgeable about everything Italy and also made some great suggestions for us as far as what to buy and where to eat! Cinque Terre is absolutely beautiful, too! We arrived by bus into the second village of Manarola, had some time to look around, then took a quick train ticket provided to Corniglia, where we explored the town and then ate a fancy and delicious seafood then pasta lunch if seafood/gluten/etc isn't your thing, other options are available, and Freddie will ask in advance. After our meal, we hiked about an hour to the next village of Vernazza. The hike was not too strenuous, but it's a lot of uphill and uneven ground. Some visitors on our tour chose to take the train, and had a bit of extra time in the next village. The walk was beautiful though, with fantastic views over the coastline. Freddie stopped a few times to let us catch our breath and to provide lots of interesting facts about not only the villages, but the flora and fauna, too! We learned so much! After an amazing gelato in Vernazza, we took another short train to Monterosso and sat on the beautiful beach! The beachy end has some restaurants, but is mostly homes, so a walk into the old part of town was a must! We tried some Limoncino it was horrible if you ask me! But I for some reason thought it was lemonade...I must have been daydreaming when I was told it was 95 alcohol!! :P. Next up was a train back to the first village of Riomaggiore to explore there before heading back to Florence! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Amanda R Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on! We were worried when we arrived early in the morning at the train station that we wouldn't know where to find the group, but they were there with a sign out front and everything was organized and began right on time! The drive out to Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of my trip, as our tour guide, Freddie, provided so much interesting and entertaining history and information about the surrounding areas. Freddie is so knowledgeable about everything Italy and also made some great suggestions for us as far as what to buy and where to eat! Cinque Terre is absolutely beautiful, too! We arrived by bus into the second village of Manarola, had some time to look around, then took a quick train ticket provided to Corniglia, where we explored the town and then ate a fancy and delicious seafood then pasta lunch if seafood/gluten/etc isn't your thing, other options are available, and Freddie will ask in advance. After our meal, we hiked about an hour to the next village of Vernazza. The hike was not too strenuous, but it's a lot of uphill and uneven ground. Some visitors on our tour chose to take the train, and had a bit of extra time in the next village. The walk was beautiful though, with fantastic views over the coastline. Freddie stopped a few times to let us catch our breath and to provide lots of interesting facts about not only the villages, but the flora and fauna, too! We learned so much! After an amazing gelato in Vernazza, we took another short train to Monterosso and sat on the beautiful beach! The beachy end has some restaurants, but is mostly homes, so a walk into the old part of town was a must! We tried some Limoncino it was horrible if you ask me! But I for some reason thought it was lemonade...I must have been daydreaming when I was told it was 95 alcohol!! :P. Next up was a train back to the first village of Riomaggiore to explore there before heading back to Florence! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Amanda R Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on! We were worried when we arrived early in the morning at the train station that we wouldn't know where to find the group, but they were there with a sign out front and everything was organized and began right on time! The drive out to Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of my trip, as our tour guide, Freddie, provided so much interesting and entertaining history and information about the surrounding areas. Freddie is so knowledgeable about everything Italy and also made some great suggestions for us as far as what to buy and where to eat! Cinque Terre is absolutely beautiful, too! We arrived by bus into the second village of Manarola, had some time to look around, then took a quick train ticket provided to Corniglia, where we explored the town and then ate a fancy and delicious seafood then pasta lunch if seafood/gluten/etc isn't your thing, other options are available, and Freddie will ask in advance. After our meal, we hiked about an hour to the next village of Vernazza. The hike was not too strenuous, but it's a lot of uphill and uneven ground. Some visitors on our tour chose to take the train, and had a bit of extra time in the next village. The walk was beautiful though, with fantastic views over the coastline. Freddie stopped a few times to let us catch our breath and to provide lots of interesting facts about not only the villages, but the flora and fauna, too! We learned so much! After an amazing gelato in Vernazza, we took another short train to Monterosso and sat on the beautiful beach! The beachy end has some restaurants, but is mostly homes, so a walk into the old part of town was a must! We tried some Limoncino it was horrible if you ask me! But I for some reason thought it was lemonade...I must have been daydreaming when I was told it was 95 alcohol!! :P. Next up was a train back to the first village of Riomaggiore to explore there before heading back to Florence! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Suttha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This had to be one of the best and enjoyable tour I have taken.

The views, the hike, the food and everything about Cinque Terre is great, but greatest of all was the personal touches that our guide Fabian/Fabio provided for everyone in our group.

He was funny, knowledgeable, caring, well very amazing.

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence

Julianne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Christina was a fabulous guide. The transport was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of time to look around at each place. The Cinque Terre speaks for itself, we didn't do the boat trip, but it would have been the best way to see it in my opinion. All up, a very enjoyable day, arrived back in Florence right on time.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message