• USD ($)
  • English

Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We Loved this Tour - we could tour Florence at our own leisure/ pace. We were unaware that all of the Museums besides the Duomo were closed on Mondays, so I would let future tourists know that. I would definitely recommend the Double Decker Bus Tour to everyone that visits Florence - It was nice to sit on the top deck and soak in the sun and beautiful surroundings.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our time was relatively short in Florence so this tour was a great way for us to be efficient in our visit. The morning part of the tour was especially enjoyable. Starting on the historic and scenic Ponte Vecchio we began our stroll through the city center. Our guide Costanza was wonderful in explaining all that we saw not only at the major sights like the Duomo and the Accademia Gallery but all the piazzas in between. To top it off, we had the best gelato of our entire trip. Uffizi Gallery with a different guide in the afternoon was informative and a must see in Florence also but can't compete with the variety and interest of the morning tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our walking tour in October was the highlight of our three-day stay in Florence. Our guide, Fedorica, was most knowledgeable about the amazing history of Florence and provided us with more than our full of interesting information and anecdotes not usually in the tourist guides. Since it was Sunday we were unable to go into the Duomo but our memories were truly filled with the history of the buildings and the people, especially the artists and sculptors, who have left their indelible imprint on the churches and museums of the beautiful city of Florence. I highly recommend this tour to anyone spending even a short time in Florence.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The best way to see the city! We did the full loop on two different lines, and they were fantastic! We ended up going up into the mountain area and stopping at the most beautiful town, Fiesole. It had the best views in all of Florence, so we stayed and had a wonderful dinner there! Deffinitely one of the highlights of our time in Florence! Also, the bus lines drive through the wooded area on the other side of the Arno - this road (Machiavelli?) is one of the prettiest drives EVER! They stop at Piazzale Michaelangelo, which is also amazing for views of the city and Duomo. Don't go to Florence w/o this pass! :)

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vicki burn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Really enjoyed this informative tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend to see the real David! Lots of other amazing artifacts to enjoy along the way. the Duomo was amazing.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Lorraine J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our walking tour of Florence was an absolute delight! Our tour guide was full of enthusiasm and knowledge as she led our group around the streets of Florence pointing out places and statues of interest. We saw the Ufizzi Gallery, the Duomo, the Palazzo, the Pitti Palace and she pointed out many other interesting sites including taking us across the Ponti Vecchio. Our tour guide explained the history behind the landmarks we visited including how the Medici family died out eventually and the last remaining member of the family left the entire Medici estate to the City of Florence in perpetuity. The whole tour was very interesting and ended up with a welcome ice cream included! A great morning.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a fabulous tour! Our tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised the tour included entering the Baptistry and Bell tour on top of climbing the Duomo! Climbing the Duomo and looking out over all of Firenze is an absolute must if you can!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I loved this tour. We took this tour on a Sunday which was a mistake as we were not allowed in the Duomo, but our tour guide was outstanding and was very compassionate with my husband who was experiencing some knee problems. Seeing the David statue was the high light of the tour and left me speechless. It is impossible to comprehend the magnitude of the statue unless you see if for yourself. It is absolutely impossible to believe the statue was once a chunk of marble. It is so beautiful This tour will be something I will remember the rest of my life. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide was Paul from Dark Rome Tours. He was an excellent tour guide. He was full of information and interesting anecdotes. He did a great job. The tour was worth doing, especially to avoid the long line to get in to the Accademia to see the statue of David. The line for tour groups is much shorter and Paul continued to give us interesting information while we waited to get in. I would have liked a few more minutes to see the Duomo.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Having used Viator/Dark Rome when I was in Rome, I was expecting high standards and wasnt disappointed. We had Patrizia as our guide - she was wonderful - she brought us through the history of Florence in easy steps, building the story and making it very interesting. Bringing us to the main sites, including the Duomo and the Academia Gallery to see the David, we even stopped for ice-cream on the way. The tour group was just 15 people which was the perfect size, making it easy to stay together. Patrizia, a native of Florence, was very engaging and spoke excellent English - my only complaint was the headsets, all our group (of 5) agreed that the sound quality wasnt great, I think because there was only one ear piece, whereas when we did the Vatican Tour we had ear pieces going into both ears - so it made hearing what she had to say, especially when we were walking down a busy street difficult to hear. something worth looking at for future reference. Otherwise an excellent tour, really recommend it, worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The meeting spot was interesting as via Lamberti is not named on some maps! But once there being part of a small 10 per group was very satisfying! Angela was great, very careful, emotional delivery of Florence info in an Italian accent - perfect. She took us to Sanmichele church which had a tower only open on Monday when all the museums,galleries were closed. But, not many tourists know this as it was very quiet up there on a clear day! We were shown parts of Florence not in the guides and explained why Uffizi, why Ponte Vecchia, why Duomo door etc.
This tour was great, she even finished in the covered area in front of the post office as rain started to come down! Recommend highly

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I took the tour immediately after arriving at Florence. It was a small group, only four of us plus a guide who climbed up 463 steps to the top of the Duomo! The view from the top of the dome was fantastic.The bonus was the visit to the museum where I saw the Michelangelo's famous Pieta. The tour guide was very friendly and helpful. She was cute, too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great way to see the highlights of Florence in one day. You see the Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Academia (statue of David and some other interesting pieces by Michaelangelo) and then the Uffizi in the afternoon. Guides were great. Frederica in the morning did a very nice job walking us through the city and Paul was great describing the key pieces in the Uffizi-would be overwhelming without a guide like him. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour had a morning session and an afternoon session. Our morning tour guide, Angelo, was the best guide that we had on any of the tours. He was knowledgeable, interesting and passionate about his subjects. We got an overview of Florence and visited the Duomo and the Academia Gallery where Angelo spent time enjoyably explaining the statue of David. We got an excellent overview of Florence. The afternoon guide, Francesca, was also very knowledgeable and interesting. She led us on the tour of the Uffizi Gallery and provided us with considerable information on the important paintings that we saw and on the relationships between them. Again, it was an excellent overview. On that day Francesca had a trainee, and, as it turned out, the trainee had to take on additional responsibility due to a mix up at the gallery. One couple on the tour complained strenuously to the trainee about the problem. The trainee handled the situation very well, and Francesca soon had it straightened out. This tour was the best of any that we took.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message