Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was two tours in one. The meeting point was very easy to find and our morning guide was Chiara. She was great, very knowledgeable and personable. We went to the Accademia to see the David, to the Duomo so beautiful and detailed, and a few sights along the way, ending up near the Ponte Vecchio. The afternoon guide don't recall his name took us from there to the Uffizi Gallery. There was a beautiful Botticelli exhibit while we were there. The Uffizi is huge, and very beautiful on its own. The guide was very art-savvy and gave us a lot of details. Our group of 4 really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Seeing Florence from the top of the Duomo was breathtaking! The stair climb was fun, although there were some very tight spots! Especially with other tours coming down while we were going up. But to see the dome fresco so close up was well worth the climb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was exactly what we wanted--someone knowlegeable about what we were seeing. We had two great guides, Rose in the morning for the walking, Accademia and Duomo. In the afternoon we had Angelo, passionate about art and a great story teller. We highly recommend this company and these guides. May you be so lucky.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Christina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Showed us the David, saw the highlights of the Uffizi, Duomo, and the city itself with recommendations for food and Gelato. Very knowledgeable guides! I will say, this does not include climbing the Duomo tower.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A highly enjoyable walking tour. We stayed just 2 blocks from the Duomo and joining the tour was easy access for us. The tour guide was wonderful and gave a lot of information about the history of Florence and the buildings. I highly recommend taking the tour!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow! What a great tour. I did the tour on Sept 12th. The meeting point was easy to find. Only a short 5min walk to the Duomo. Our guide was Vanessa. She was very knowledgable and informative, without giving us too much information. The walk to the top of the Duomo is not easy, but if you're reasonably fit, you will get there. The steps are small and the area is confined. Sometimes you have to wait on the stairs whilst people coming down have to pass. The climb is well worth the effort. A bonus is being able to access the Terrace mid way through the climb. The views over the city are great from the top, and there is plenty of time to take it all in before the decent. The close up views of the paintings inside the Duomo are unforgettable, and the guides help in interpreting them is very helpful. To top it off after the Duomo tour there's a look inside the Baptistry next door. Overall, a great afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

w.huber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the outside the Duomo is awe-inspiring. The interior is much less so. But from up-close, both inside and outside, the dome is incredible. Even without knowing the creativity required to build the dome, its size, beauty and height are impressive. The 360 steps, often narrow and dark, are not a big problem, as our guide stopped often for rest and photos. We got to go outside to view the dome and Florence from a unique vantage point. Our guide was informative, funny and encouraging. Overall this was a great and inspiring tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great intro to Florence. Seeing David was wonderful, as well as the Duomo. Florence is not nearly as large as Rome, but it was great to have someone show you around to really get your bearings. The guide was well informed and energetic. Great tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Pam United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get the lay of the land of the three tourist sites. Sara was an amazing guide, giving us historical background about the city, political figures and the artists as we toured from the Accademia Gallery to the Duomo to the Uffizi. We were really happy to get paired with her on the second half of this tour. She was very practical, organized, knowledgeable, fun and friendly. While we saw the highlights of the Accademia and the Uffizi, we're glad our tickets give us three days to return in our own. There is no way to see everything in a guided tour: keep your tickets and go back. When the tours have cleared out, it's so much easier to roam calmly.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The only down side is trying to find Segway HQ to meet the tour guide. It would have been easier to meet at the Duomo.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was definitely worth all the walking. Our morning tour with Alessandra was awesome. She was born in Florence and is so passionate and knowledgeable about the history of Florence. Literally, I don't know if there was more than a minute of silence the entire time of the 3 hour tour with her. She was just awesome. The morning was the Academia were they have Michelangelo's David and then also we toured the Duomo. Both highly recommended. But Alessandra also gave us a history lesson on Florence itself and all the places we walked through til the end of our tour. In the afternoon, we met up with our guide Federico who took us through the Uffizi Gallery. If you love art, you will love this place. Federico did an awesome job giving us a history lesson on the building itself as well as all the major works of art there. At the end of our tour, we have the rest of the afternoon to continue to tour the Uffizi on our own. I would say if you only have one day to spend in Florence, this is the tour to take.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a really great afternoon, tour guide was very knowledgeable and good fun. Not having to stand in the long queue is worth every penny with the bonus of getting to visit parts of the Duomo that normal tickets do not get to visit.
Would recommend this tour to all :-

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

CHot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Skip the Line - well worth the money - ample time to view the David and the Accademia- Ciana was so very informative - the Duomo breathtaking. Well orchestrated tour and the shopping tips and suggested areas were very much welcomed.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Debby United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent walking tour of the Accademia, the Duomo, and the Uffizi Gallery. Our guide in the morning was excellent, and she provided incredibly interesting art history facts about the art we saw in the Accademia. Huge accolades for Angelo, our tour guide for the Uffizi, who has clearly studied art history and is passionate about art and art education. He made every single artwork we saw come alive with his analysis, which translated art concepts into language that everyone, with or without an art background, could appreciate. His tour was the best art museum tour I have joined in Europe.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

No Duomo but still a really worthwhile way to see and learn about Florence. Our guide was informed, professional and really friendly. The tour of the Accademia Gallery was a highlight!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Josko V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. Frederica was our guide and made the tour interesting.
Well worth the price being able to skip the lines at the Duomo and especially at the Accademia Gallery to see David!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Dominic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Giovanna was our tour guide - she was phenomenal and made the tour interesting for us and our two teenage sons. It was very hot and we were happy to have the afternoon tour. We had already seen the Duomo in the morning on our own, so the exterior only of the cathedral was perfectly ok with us. The group size was not too big and she kept the tour moving with good information about Florence history and sights. Would recommend

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Roberto O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was great and very friendly. She climbed up with us to the top of the duomo. With this tour you skip the full 2 hours entrance line. Once inside the cathedral you go to a closed to the public area where you can admire the inside of the duomo. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Caryn Jenkin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the walking tour of Florence. If you are new to the city, I would highly recommend. It allowed us to get our bearings and a good feel of the city. The guide was informative and we learned a lot about the history. It also gave us direct entry into the Duomo and Accademia Gallery as opposed to waiting on lengthy lines, as it was the height of the season. I liked that we were outfitted with headsets so that we could hear the guide clearly even when we were not standing right near her.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Ral W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Paul, our tour guide, was the best guide we've had in 3 weeks in Europe on this trip. He was entertaining and educational, and gave insight and meaning to the many things we were seeing. I had been to Florence before, but now I get so much more! The skip the line part didn't work so well getting into the Accademia to see the David, but Paul spoke to someone after we had been waiting for some time, and then we got right in. The Duomo was closed due to it being a Florentine holiday -- would have been nice to know when we booked it. Aside from those two negatives, it was a great tour, and we certainly recommend Paul as a guide.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide knew her subject and provided a good overview of the Galleria, the Duomo, and quite a number of the buildings and churches in the historic area. It was an excellent introduction to Florence.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this was a fabulous climb and had great photos-this is the only way to see the duomo as the line to get in was huge! beautiful views, Kristina was a great informative guide. the after event gelato was a real treat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

TOM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of the major sites of Florence including the Duomo, the Basilica, Uffizi, Accademia Michelangelo's David, Piazza Republica.... you name it. Our guides Federica a.m. and Vanessa p.m. were terrific. Very knowledgable and plenty of personality. The tour is thorough but not overwhelming and paced well. Tip the guides. Most do not but the guides are very appreciative of those who do.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message