Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour to climb the Florence Duomo, led by a knowledgeable young guide, Angelo. The tour ran with just three people, and I was told it will run with only one person, so according to the guide, no minimum number of persons required. I wanted to take a tour to give myself that extra push to climb the dome, and it turned out I was under the weather that day, but Angelo was so sweet and thoughtful in supporting my decision to climb or not climb that day, and then taking some photos of me and other tour members once we reached the top. 85% of the tour involves the climb up and down, with a short intro beforehand, and a good visit to the Baptistery and it's famous doors afterwards. I did not realize there would be no interior tour of the rest of the Cathedral, other than the dome, but that was OK.

One thing I would say is don't climb the dome in summer peak season. The heat and crowds would be awful. Go in Spring or Fall and see Florence when the weather is milder and the crowds are still present, but nothing like in summer.l

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Vanessa, was a local Florentine - full of information, enthusiasm, and pride for her lovely city of Florence. We saved lots of time by having a quick entrance to the Duomo - definitively worthwhile! Lots of stairs and narrow passages, but what a view at the top!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are planning on visiting the Florence Duomo, definetely do this tour! Cannot fault this tour, it was incredible, we had an energetic and interesting guide who made this afternoon so enjoyable. We climbed the duomo, took pictures of tjhe magnificent view of Florence, where our guide pointed out the main attractions and told us information about the building.
We also visited the Bapistry, where the guide told us fascinating stories about the building. Afterwards, we were taken out to a delicious gelateria, where the tour ended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved our guide Antonio, and the entire experience. There is no better way to see the Duomo. The phenomenal view of Florence from the top!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing and Mia handled the complaints of one guest superbly as they had clearly not read the itinerary or restrictions of activity levels. Her level of knowledge was excellent and the climb was easier than anticipated. The views of Florence from the top of the Duomo was well worth the vibrating leg muscles and the gelato afterwards was a welcome reward.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

fantastic tour with fantastic guides who were clear and showed/explained the magnificent sights of Florence.
the morning part of the tour took in the Accademia and Duomo which were just breathtaking and our guide was more than happy to answer any questions that was asked.

the 2 hr break in the middle of the day came at just the right time and then we enjoyed the history of the Uffizi Gallery

well worth the money and would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide for this tour was Angelo, a archaeologist by education and experience. He had a good sense of humor and was entertaining as well as informative. By the end of the tour, we had not only seen Michaelangelo's David and the Duomo, but we knew the history and background of the art and architectural works, had a great overview of Florence history and contemporary aspects. This was an oustanding tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour we've done in 9 weeks of holidays! All thanks to our morning guide, Paul Costa! He was very engaging and managed to enthuse everybody about the history, art and religion of Florence. He continually asked us questions about our general knowledge as well as what he'd told us earlier, so we were kept on our toes, but not in a threatening or intimidating way...he even encouraged us to have wild guesses. Paul was not only passionate and very knowledgable but very entertaining as well. Often other toursits would try to join us to listen in on his speil. in such cases he handed them his business card and suggested they hire him at some time in the future -as we had done today. ( We all thought that was clever of him.)
We learnt much about the influence of the Medici family in Florence as we ambled through the streets they one ruled.
We spent 30 mins on Michelangelo's statue of David at the Accademia and every moment was worthwhile. A short visit into the duomo (cover up ladies as no sarongs available to use here) and then some time in the Piazza Vecchio before finishing at the Ponte Vecchio.
We then had a 2hr break before a different guide took us on our afternoon tour of the Uffuzzi Gallery. Lots of tour groups and tourists with Firenze passes were trying to enter at the same time so we didn't get in until at least 230pm (tour started at 2:15). We were given lots of information about different artists and different styles of art, as it evolved through history. We spent extra time on a few worthwhile pieces and went through most of the second floor. At 4:00 Barbara left us to our own devices to explore the first floor-pointing out some ' must see' pieces before she finished. Not quite the two hours scheduled, but probably enough time if you're not an art lover.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best way to see all that Florence has to offer. You can see the major sights in Florence in half a day and skip the very lengthy lines to see the Statue of David and at the Duomo. The tour guide was fantastic explaining the history behind these major accomplishments. He was also great at pointing out and explaining structures all over Florence as we walked through the streets...things I probably never would have seen and enjoyed without this tour. I highly recommend this tour. You will get more than your money's worth on this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour given by Valentina, an excellent tour guide. The inside view of Brunelleschi's Duomo is breathtaking with the view of the frescos, Dante's interpretation of Paradise, Purgatory, and Hell in The Divine Comedy. Finally, walking up the Duomo is an exciting experience,added to Valentina's story of Brunelleschi's temperament and genius. In the end, the view of the city of Florence, an extraordinary moment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Not for the faint of heart since you do have to walk up over 400 steps, but that's part of ther adventure. Valentina our guide was quite informative about the history of the Duomo and kept a reasonable pace taking us up. I would love to have done the tower, too, if only to get a better photo of the Duomo's exterior, but that wasn't part of the deal and will have to be done on another trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. The guides were fantastic. Just felt bad that our tour was not able to go inside the Duomo because of a holiday. Other than that couldn't ask for anything better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul Costa was an amazing, engaging, informative guide for our Academia/Duomo/Ponte Vecchio walking tour! I learned so much about the Medicis, Michaelangelo, and the history of Florence! Paul really made Florence come alive by engaging our group with questions, legend, and humor! A must do!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Duomo tour was fabulous. We'll worth paying extra and skipping the line. Highly recommend. Our guide was a wealth of information. Information you just don't get from a book but from her tour guide and life experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour, was incredible. First of all, the tour guide was AWESOME. He was super outgoing and really told the stories well of the Duomo being built, as well as getting us to the front of the line to do the tour. (Skipping the line, isn't really a thing in italy, you basically just have someone wait in line for you and cut when they get to the front...slightly awkward) However, this was my favorite tour that we did of Florence. The climb, is not that bad, you take a few stops on the way up to catch your breath. The view is incredible of Florence, 360 degrees, and you are given ample time to take pictures and talk to the guide about what your are looking at. Then he took us to the baptistry, also beautiful. His explanations were clear, concise, eliminating anything uninteresting, and keeping the group together and completely engaged. It was the BEST tour!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message