Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. The guides were fantastic. Just felt bad that our tour was not able to go inside the Duomo because of a holiday. Other than that couldn't ask for anything better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul Costa was an amazing, engaging, informative guide for our Academia/Duomo/Ponte Vecchio walking tour! I learned so much about the Medicis, Michaelangelo, and the history of Florence! Paul really made Florence come alive by engaging our group with questions, legend, and humor! A must do!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Duomo tour was fabulous. We'll worth paying extra and skipping the line. Highly recommend. Our guide was a wealth of information. Information you just don't get from a book but from her tour guide and life experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour, was incredible. First of all, the tour guide was AWESOME. He was super outgoing and really told the stories well of the Duomo being built, as well as getting us to the front of the line to do the tour. (Skipping the line, isn't really a thing in italy, you basically just have someone wait in line for you and cut when they get to the front...slightly awkward) However, this was my favorite tour that we did of Florence. The climb, is not that bad, you take a few stops on the way up to catch your breath. The view is incredible of Florence, 360 degrees, and you are given ample time to take pictures and talk to the guide about what your are looking at. Then he took us to the baptistry, also beautiful. His explanations were clear, concise, eliminating anything uninteresting, and keeping the group together and completely engaged. It was the BEST tour!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best tour guide of my whole three week trip across Italy. Really enjoyed seeing David (totally worth it) and the Duomo is stunning. Although, completely covered in scaffolding. If you go to Florence you should really do this. And never try to go by yourself, the lines looked like they would take 6 hrs. Totally worth it just to skip in front!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Another fabulous tour. Our guide was Paulo, and he was an art historian who loves Florentine art and Michelangelo. At the Academia Gallery, he spoke to us about Michelangelo's David with such passion and knowledge. We learned so much walking around the city, learning about the Duomo and its construction. Very well done and presented.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Frederica was an excellent guide. Very informative and enthusiastic! Well worth the price being able to skip the lines at the Duomo and especially at the Accademia Gallery to see David!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Valentina was above and beyond a great guide. She was patient, knowledgeable, and helped us understand the history of this magnificent architectural masterpiece. She was very personable with my wife and I while the other members of our tour needed to rest and she finished the tour by taking us for Gelato. She went above and beyond her duties when she guided us and translated for us to a local Photographer when we wanted to purchase a professional photograph of the Duomo. She was great and would recommend this tour to anyone;-) 5 Stars Plus!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We Loved this Tour - we could tour Florence at our own leisure/ pace. We were unaware that all of the Museums besides the Duomo were closed on Mondays, so I would let future tourists know that. I would definitely recommend the Double Decker Bus Tour to everyone that visits Florence - It was nice to sit on the top deck and soak in the sun and beautiful surroundings.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our time was relatively short in Florence so this tour was a great way for us to be efficient in our visit. The morning part of the tour was especially enjoyable. Starting on the historic and scenic Ponte Vecchio we began our stroll through the city center. Our guide Costanza was wonderful in explaining all that we saw not only at the major sights like the Duomo and the Accademia Gallery but all the piazzas in between. To top it off, we had the best gelato of our entire trip. Uffizi Gallery with a different guide in the afternoon was informative and a must see in Florence also but can't compete with the variety and interest of the morning tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our walking tour in October was the highlight of our three-day stay in Florence. Our guide, Fedorica, was most knowledgeable about the amazing history of Florence and provided us with more than our full of interesting information and anecdotes not usually in the tourist guides. Since it was Sunday we were unable to go into the Duomo but our memories were truly filled with the history of the buildings and the people, especially the artists and sculptors, who have left their indelible imprint on the churches and museums of the beautiful city of Florence. I highly recommend this tour to anyone spending even a short time in Florence.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The best way to see the city! We did the full loop on two different lines, and they were fantastic! We ended up going up into the mountain area and stopping at the most beautiful town, Fiesole. It had the best views in all of Florence, so we stayed and had a wonderful dinner there! Deffinitely one of the highlights of our time in Florence! Also, the bus lines drive through the wooded area on the other side of the Arno - this road (Machiavelli?) is one of the prettiest drives EVER! They stop at Piazzale Michaelangelo, which is also amazing for views of the city and Duomo. Don't go to Florence w/o this pass! :)

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vicki burn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Really enjoyed this informative tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend to see the real David! Lots of other amazing artifacts to enjoy along the way. the Duomo was amazing.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Lorraine J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our walking tour of Florence was an absolute delight! Our tour guide was full of enthusiasm and knowledge as she led our group around the streets of Florence pointing out places and statues of interest. We saw the Ufizzi Gallery, the Duomo, the Palazzo, the Pitti Palace and she pointed out many other interesting sites including taking us across the Ponti Vecchio. Our tour guide explained the history behind the landmarks we visited including how the Medici family died out eventually and the last remaining member of the family left the entire Medici estate to the City of Florence in perpetuity. The whole tour was very interesting and ended up with a welcome ice cream included! A great morning.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message