Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Giotto's Bell Tower

Giotto's elegant bell tower (Campanile di Giotto) flanks Florence's Duomo and Baptistery, rounding off Piazza del Duomo's prime attractions. Designed by Giotto in 1334, the Gothic tower is faced in the similar nougat-hued marbles of the Duomo. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was exceptional and our tour guide Lenora was amazing with her knowledge of Florence, her detailed explanation of Michelangelo David and other works of arts at the Academia was very enlightening, her enthusiasm brought with it a contagious appreciation of these wonders of the world that can never be felt by viewing a picture on television or book, please pass along mine and my Girlfriend appreciation for a great tour

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sharon Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fabulous tour! Antonella was sensational! As we walked through the streets she gave a very unique perspective and history on the changing of the people, the buildings and the culture throughout the centuries of this ancient but yet still so beautiful city! She even recommended trying the traditional Florentine street food, lampredotto, although a very different food selection, I was not disappointed! Thank you for contributing to the wonderful memories made while visiting!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

TammyJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The inferno tour was brilliant! The book was the reason I wanted to go to Florence and being able to go to the places from the book was fantastic. Our tour guide Mario was amazing, he really brought the story to life as well as teaching us some of the history of Florence. We done the full day tour, which just wasn't long enough, I did't want it to end. The afternoon is also an art tour, me and my partner are not art people but we found it very interesting and learnt a lot. We weren't able to use our ticket to go into the dome, bell tower or the crypt as we didn't have time. The ticket lasts for 24 hours but the next day we went to Rome so we couldn't use them then either. If we go back to Florence and I really hope we do, I would happily go on this tour again and would make sure that we had no other plans so we could do everything.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the Piazzella di Michelangelo, the panoramic view of the city was amazing! The art and history of Florence is well worth the visit and in our opinion, there is no better way to experience it than with a professional guide. Our guides, both on the bus and at the Galleria dell' Accademia, were very knowledgeable, professional, and informative. The artistic talents of Michelangelo are incredible, and nothing is a better example of that than his famous David. Seeing it in person and up close was the opportunity of a lifetime. I highly recommend this tour. An additional benefit is that it's also a great way to beat the long line for entry to the Galleria dell' Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Allyson K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very nice tour through Florence. I enjoyed going out of town a bit and seeing the different neighborhoods and views. Our guide was great. He was always making sure everyone was together and safely walking on the street even though we were a big group. He was very knowledgable about the city and the sights we were seeing. The guide we had after we got to the Uffizi and were split into smaller groups was also great. He really knew about the art that we saw and what made it special. All in all, great tour!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you can find her, ask for Franchesca. Wow! Not only informative but passionate about telling the stories of the artists and buildings she shows you. We walked away from the tour very appreciative of her and the Viator contacts. If we never go back to Florence we will always remember her and our day in Florence.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

wendyh2666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great guide, Barbara, gave us a lot of information and was very enthusiastic. The locations we visited, including internal visit to Palazza Vecchio Museum and the Baptisery were beautiful, unfortunately the tour was on a Sunday so we could not go inside the Duomo but were given a ticket to view later, recommend booking another day, not Sunday. Not only did we experience the Inferno story buit we learnt oa lot of historical factes and saw great sights.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour through Florence and Pisa with our tour guide Luigi. He picked us up on time at the port and drove us first to Pisa before the crowds hit so we could get our pictures with the leaning tower. Not really much more to do there than that so it was off to Florence! Tip: if you want to do anything in Florence get the skip the line card. I just got tickets for the Duomo online that didn't include the skip the line and when we got there it was more like a 4 hour wait so we didn't get to do that. Pretty much everything had a line so we walked around. Went into a few churches and did some shopping but would have loved to see some of the museums and sites. Luigi picked us back up and has us back at the ship in more than enough time to leave.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Giulia was great. We took this tour because it toured most of the buildings we wanted to see. The Inferno was a nice twist on the tour. Giulia's tour was informative as well as fun. The group was only 6 people and perfect!

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! My husband and I had both read the book and we took our two kids 9 and 14 with us. Our tour guide, Vanessa, was awesome!! She knew the plot of the book very well and was really animated in the way she retold the story as we retraced the steps of Robert Langdon. Our ticket came with access and a private tour of the Palazzo Vecchio, the Baptistry and a pass to climb the bell tower of the Duomo.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

drew d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Giovanni was great. He met us at the port with a spacious Mercedes-Benz van. He even had a carseat for our baby which was nice. We had purchased tickets to climb the leaning tower and were late. He volunteered to walk with us to the ticket counter to persuade them to let us in, and they did. After Pisa, he took us to a great spot where we got a panorama of Florence. Afterwards, we went to the city center and saw all of the main attractions. He recommended a market to eat at where the food was fantastic. Giovanni was very knowledgeable of the area, super enthusiastic and kind. We would love to have Giovanni and his wife over for dinner should they ever visit the states.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

Blain V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was an incredible experience but is not for the weak-hearted! We chose to do the full-day option, and it was very exhausting! I recommend wearing great walking shoes, because the tour bus leaves you, and you walked throughout Florence for quite some time. The tour guides were very helpful and knowledgeable, though there were problems with the audio system. If you have the opportunity, bring snacks and a drink. During the time that we traveled to Florence, the workers at the Academia museum went on strike, which pushed back our reservation time. We waited a total of an hour or so to get into the museum, which was very tiring! This does not normally happen, and you are able to walk in with shorter lines. Just in case, be prepared to wait a while for this. It was definitely worth the wait! We stopped at several beautiful viewpoints and got a lot of truly interesting information about the history and art of the region. If given the option to choose a lunch, I would eat lunch on your own, because the strike at the museum made it difficult to eat at the selected restaurant on time. If you are on a half-day tour, this is no problem, but since we were on the full day, we had to be back at the bus stop in time for the next part and would not have made it had we eaten lunch with the tour group. Thanks for the great opportunity!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lyle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booked private tour for family of 6. Wonderful experience. Would highly recommend a private tour if you're short on time and haven't visited this area before. We talked w/others on our cruise that did public transportation and they struggled w/heat and crowds. We had a clean, comfortable van that our driver maneuvered right up to the spots we needed to go. Got to pack the most into our short time in these spectacular cities.

About the day.. Our driver, Giuseppe, was waiting for us as we walked off the ship. Very professional, fluent in English, very friendly. We had bought tix to Accademia and Uffizi before we booked this tour so Giueseppe helped us work a quick stop by Pisa, visits to these two museums, and time to walk by the Duomo into our day. Pretty quick stops at the museums, but we got to see what we wanted to. As a side note, if you pre-buy your tickets, the reserved admission times seem to be suggestions. We waited about 35-40 minutes at the Accademia and got into the Uffizi about an hour early w/no questions. But as they said...You don't mind. It all worked out though. On the way back to port, Giueseppe took us back on a different route where we got some terrific views of the olive trees and vineyards and the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Grazie mille!! for a great tour!

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

cluzinski2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We appreciated the sculpture and painting knowledge that the guide shared in ways that were interesting for those of us who are not experts in art history. The half day tour included a bus ride and walking, with far less of a wait to get into the museum. Gave us enough of an overview to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

alinasanchez1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly enjoyed both tours from the young driver who took us to Florence and drove us to Pisa. He was so charming stopping by a beautiful park with breathtaking views once he found out we loved to take pics.
The tour guide Angela that took us to the museum to see the statue of David was fantastic, very knowledgeable and spoke Spanish, which is our first language. Florence was one of our favorite tours.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

joe.forbes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Not only did is cover the Inferno sights, but it gave a good overview of the entire city of Florence.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour. We did half day with Lunch so we could catch afternoon train to Venice. The half day got us the highlights of the city. Bus tour took us around much of Florence and to a nice scenic overview. This tour got a little tedious after a couple hours. Walking tour of the city was interesting. Wait to get into the Museum of Academia was somewhat long. Tour of the museum was good..we saw the highlights, including Michaelangelo's David. Awesome!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We met our guide, Chiara, for a private walking tour around Florence. Chiara studied art history and has been giving tours of Florence for 19 years. Another amazing tour guide, who speaks Italian, English, French, Spanish, and German though she doesn't give tours in German, she admitted and is learning Portuguese. The knowledge she shared about the history of the city, the powerful Medici family, and the breathtaking artwork in Florence really provided great perspective and background.


We visited the Piazza del Duomo - when approaching it is quite a shock, come from in between two buildings toward the square, step out into the open and boom! there is 3rd largest church in the world, which was 5 times bigger than any other church in the world when it was built starting in 1296.

We next walked to the Galleria dell'Accademia, which contains work by Ghiotto, some by Botticelli, 4 incomplete works by Michelangelo, and the prize of the Accademia, Michelangelo's David. We were lucky again to be here in the off season, as the crowds were not bad, and we were able to leisurely enjoy the room containing Michelangelo's works and discuss the David with our great tour guide.

Also located in the Academia, in a wing nearly empty most people go to the small museum just to see David, is a musical instrument museum. It was a small exhibit, but included several instruments made by well known luthiers such as Amati, Guarneri, and, of course, Stradivari. Of several of Stradivari's instruments on display, the most interesting is a one-of-a-kind tenor viola, made for you guessed it the wealthy Medici family.

Overall it was a fantastic tour with a fantastic guide. Chiara was very friendly and had a great knowledge of the artwork and history of the area. My Dad and I both commented that while we could have seen all of these things on our own, we would not have gotten much out of them without an expert guide. It makes all the difference. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Don R K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Monica, is the best! She is very knowledgeable and informative. We enjoyed every single minute with her, viewing Florence through her educated eyes o-

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bridget R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour! Bus trip to Pisa was comfortable and filled with helpful facts as we went past landmarks etc. The stop in Pisa was just long enough to see everything you needed to see. Not a town you need long in. And I'm not sure I'd bother climbing the tower. It's ok but not as impressive as is thought it would be. Keiko my guide was great!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Nicole T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our driver Giovanni was on time and very helpful. We were picked up in a nice spacious mercedes. He brought us to see a wonderful panoramic view of Florence. He described everything to us on the way. Although the car was a little pricey for the two of us it really made everything convenient for us. We were able to see Florence and Pisa and make it in time for the tour we wanted to do in Florence. Our driver had great meeting spots and gave us time to explore things at our own pace. He personally walked us to the meeting area of the tour. highly recommend especially if you are on a cruise and pressed for time.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

tamzro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great tour of Florence, definitely recommend for those who want to take part in viewing main sights and visit to galleries was awesome also.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview. Afternoon guides were very informative. It was a nice combination of bus, walking, and museum.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

sorelg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We ended up with a small group of only four people and our tour guide. Our guide was highly experienced, local and extremely knowledgeable about both the city and the museum. We saw the highlights and were given a very helpful overview of the city. We were in Florence for four days and our guide was very helpful in providing additional recommendations on how to spend our time. The David is incredible and her historical perspective made it all the more memorable. Awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

nikmin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an excellent day with Francesco who was very knowledgeable about the locations, best times for visit, and location for best views. We discussed and decided the sequence of our tour as he picked us up at the Livorno port and we went to Pisa first because we got lucky with 9:30 AM tower viewing tickets for Pisa while searching the previous night! I totally missed advance booking of the Uffizi gallery.... however, Francesco got us to the gallery and managed to take us into the reservation lines for a 12:30 PM entry, this was a miracle with the crowds we saw outside the gallery. We covered a lot of sights in Florence and also managed to get the to the best Gelato place in Florence before heading back to the ship! It was a well organized private tour with the right amount of flexibility that made this entire experience perfect. Kudos to Francesco!

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message