• USD ($)
  • English

Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Giotto's Bell Tower

Giotto's elegant bell tower (Campanile di Giotto) flanks Florence's Duomo and Baptistery, rounding off Piazza del Duomo's prime attractions. Designed by Giotto in 1334, the Gothic tower is faced in the similar nougat-hued marbles of the Duomo. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a good overview of the renaissance area. Do this on the first day in Florence. We did it on the day after we had walked all over the city so some was redundant. We got a lot of good info though. The chianti tour was great! We did not have a car so this was a great way to get out of the city and into Chianti. It was beautiful! The wine was too!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Renaissance Walking Tour and Accademia Gallery plus Chianti Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We chose the morning half day tour. It began with amazing views of Florence from Piazzale Michaelangelo. We would never have seen that on our own. The rest of the tour was as described. Our guide Monica spoke fluent English and was easy to understand. She was a wealth of knowledge and gave a comprehensive tour of the high points of the Galleria including David. She moved at a pace that allowed us to pause frequently to enjoy the sights. The Duomo is open free of charge so plan to see the inside on your own at another time. There is an inexpensive ticket you can purchase that allows entry to the Baptistry, Museum and Bell Tower.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was my first day in Florence so decided to take half day tour to find out a little but then I always go off wandering by myself afterwards once I have found out the basics. The Guide was lovely pleasant, smart, courteous and friendly plus she knew all her historical stuff. The sightseeing tour started right on time and we were taken first to Michaelango Square where we could view the whole of Florence on the way up there the guide explained fully about the families and history of the area once we had finished we returned to Florence itself to see the Cathedral and the Statue of David - all in all well worth the trip and money. It was a good crowd on the trip mainly Americans / NZ / Australians and English about 25 plus a mixture of ages and the guide took on board all the different questions that were asked and she gave a full report of what people wanted to know. The coach facilities were clean and the driver smart - a lovely start to a lovely holiday thank you.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very informative tour of Florence city and history, with time for lots of questions. Antoinette (our guide) from adventure Bellissimo was exceptional. I will definitely add a review for her on trip advisor. A tour that shouldn't be missed if in Florence

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I especially loved the visit to the Accademia, with the David, which was definitely a must-see. Also the visit to the square with the panoramic view of Florence, which was outstanding. Our guide was also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide, Antonella, was excellent. She began with an overview of history and was very knowledgeable about all we saw and asked. Her English was easy to understand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour! I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a comprehensive overview to Florence's cultural and political history. A very educational day with
a knowledgable and entertaining guide. Also, the short lines into the Uffizi and
Accademia were definitely a major "plus".

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Enjoyed the scenic trip to the surrounding areas of Florence and the view of Florence from the top of the hills. Guide was knowledgeable. Thank you.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wonderful time of my life was in summer June 2010, when I enjoyed city of Florence. Old buildings and city streets filled in with parks and sculptures. City itself is like a museum under open skies. We have been walking old streets and with Michelangelo and Leonardo. We have enjoyed the arts of renaissance masters that have changed the world of art. This was a city where first banking system was established and developed. We enjoyed a Tuscan cuisine as well. This was like traveling back in time, and I would like to be back again...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

atnicko
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent to have our own guide. We were taken to the top of the hill overlooking Florence which was something new for us and gives a great view of Florence.

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This tour was a great introduction to Florence. It was perfect! The views above Florence were extraordinary!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We took both the morning and afternoon tours. It was disappointing that the tour did not allow us to have a closer look at Fiesole and the tour guide who led the tour to view David was prone to talking too much and lecturing. Overall however, this was an excellent way to get a an overall view of Florence in one day. We plan to return and explore Florence in detail -this tour is enough to whet the appetite.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We had taken this bus tour 6 years ago and enjoyed it. Last week while in Florence for only 1 day, it was the perfect overview of the City and we all enjoyed the tour. Our guide was terific.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message