Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Giotto's Bell Tower

Giotto's elegant bell tower (Campanile di Giotto) flanks Florence's Duomo and Baptistery, rounding off Piazza del Duomo's prime attractions. Designed by Giotto in 1334, the Gothic tower is faced in the similar nougat-hued marbles of the Duomo. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 of us from California took the 1/2 day tour w/lunch and highly recommend it if you are limited on time (we were leaving that afternoon to join f/f in a Villa outside of Cetona). We had been in Florence two days before so had time to walk around (take other in-city tours) so taking a tour the last day that got us up-n-out of the city, was a great way to get another perspective of this amazing city (trees, hills, large homes, etc). And of course, ending up at the Accademia to see "David" with a personal guide, was far more informative than if we'd done this on our own and much shorter lines to contend with. My husband and I had been to Florence before but my sister had not. So we ALL learned so much on this tour than we didn't know before. And let's not forget the lunch which we had read had mixed reviews. We loved it!! The lunch was better than we had anticipated/far larger quantities and very tasty (only little glitch was our printed notes said coffee was included but our group was long gone by the time we finished up. And only my husband is the coffee drinker. The waiter said it wasn't included anymore: no problem, he just bought one). Hope your experiences are as wonderful as ours were.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a good overview of the renaissance area. Do this on the first day in Florence. We did it on the day after we had walked all over the city so some was redundant. We got a lot of good info though. The chianti tour was great! We did not have a car so this was a great way to get out of the city and into Chianti. It was beautiful! The wine was too!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Renaissance Walking Tour and Accademia Gallery plus Chianti Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We chose the morning half day tour. It began with amazing views of Florence from Piazzale Michaelangelo. We would never have seen that on our own. The rest of the tour was as described. Our guide Monica spoke fluent English and was easy to understand. She was a wealth of knowledge and gave a comprehensive tour of the high points of the Galleria including David. She moved at a pace that allowed us to pause frequently to enjoy the sights. The Duomo is open free of charge so plan to see the inside on your own at another time. There is an inexpensive ticket you can purchase that allows entry to the Baptistry, Museum and Bell Tower.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was my first day in Florence so decided to take half day tour to find out a little but then I always go off wandering by myself afterwards once I have found out the basics. The Guide was lovely pleasant, smart, courteous and friendly plus she knew all her historical stuff. The sightseeing tour started right on time and we were taken first to Michaelango Square where we could view the whole of Florence on the way up there the guide explained fully about the families and history of the area once we had finished we returned to Florence itself to see the Cathedral and the Statue of David - all in all well worth the trip and money. It was a good crowd on the trip mainly Americans / NZ / Australians and English about 25 plus a mixture of ages and the guide took on board all the different questions that were asked and she gave a full report of what people wanted to know. The coach facilities were clean and the driver smart - a lovely start to a lovely holiday thank you.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very informative tour of Florence city and history, with time for lots of questions. Antoinette (our guide) from adventure Bellissimo was exceptional. I will definitely add a review for her on trip advisor. A tour that shouldn't be missed if in Florence

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I especially loved the visit to the Accademia, with the David, which was definitely a must-see. Also the visit to the square with the panoramic view of Florence, which was outstanding. Our guide was also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide, Antonella, was excellent. She began with an overview of history and was very knowledgeable about all we saw and asked. Her English was easy to understand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour! I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a comprehensive overview to Florence's cultural and political history. A very educational day with
a knowledgable and entertaining guide. Also, the short lines into the Uffizi and
Accademia were definitely a major "plus".

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Enjoyed the scenic trip to the surrounding areas of Florence and the view of Florence from the top of the hills. Guide was knowledgeable. Thank you.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wonderful time of my life was in summer June 2010, when I enjoyed city of Florence. Old buildings and city streets filled in with parks and sculptures. City itself is like a museum under open skies. We have been walking old streets and with Michelangelo and Leonardo. We have enjoyed the arts of renaissance masters that have changed the world of art. This was a city where first banking system was established and developed. We enjoyed a Tuscan cuisine as well. This was like traveling back in time, and I would like to be back again...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

atnicko
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent to have our own guide. We were taken to the top of the hill overlooking Florence which was something new for us and gives a great view of Florence.

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This tour was a great introduction to Florence. It was perfect! The views above Florence were extraordinary!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message