Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gloria was the greatest host and tour guide. While walking through Florence to the markets to buy the food, she gave a tour of the city that wasn't about the food but other things which was nice. it showed me she has a passion for her work and her amazing beautiful city.

When we got to the markets, she toured us around and showed different things, things we don't see in the USA, like meat shops that cater to special types of meat like the organs. Very interesting for me. Maybe not for everyone, but I was fascinated.

When we got to the olive orchard, Gloria once again was the best. She helped us with our cooking and translated for Claudia. She became like family! I miss her!

THANKS GLORIA!

David Rose

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely the best tour I have been on! It was such a fun day led by amazing tour guide, Elisa. I enjoyed walking through the city hear some inside facts before going to the market to pick up a few items then showing up at the beautiful farmhouse. It was one thing after another that impressed me and was overall, an amazing day! My favorite day in Florence 100! I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and excellent cooking class. We first had a guided walk through Florence from the meeting point to the market with stops enroute for specific food purchases, then a short drive to the property. Georgeous location and setting. Excellent facilities. Carmela the cook/teacher provided very clear instructions - via our guide's translations - and was very knowledgeable and entertaining. And the food 'we' made was excellent! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

jerry.m.gentile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We've been to Florence multiple times and this experience was the highlight. This experience brought a unique Tuscan experience - we learned a lot about Tuscan cuisine long before we got to Carmella's beautiful farmhouse. Sandra did an incredible job in not only educating us about the food that we bought at the Central Market, but all her stories about Florentine history. I'm very leery about group tours but if you love history and eating Sandra brings a whole new energy and passion to this tour. And be prepared to work for your lunch. It's very hands-on experience and a full day of fun. Sandra and Carmella make a great team in bringing the food to life - everything from making bruschetta to your own personal pizza yes the dough too not to mention a pasta dish and two different desserts. Oh did I mention that we also made a pork roast with potatoes on top of everything else. Word of caution, DO NOT HAVE BREAKFAST FIRST! In fact, do not make dinner reservations. We promise you will not leave hungry. And if that wasn't enough you couldn't find a more beautiful place to spend the day. The kitchen and the staff were extremely nice and very professional. You may forget that you're not the real chef. It will be one of the best days you have in the Tuscan countryside.

Sally and Jerry

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Paden H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing cooking class! Best day we had in Florence. The day was perfectly planned. Our tour guides Valeria and Julian were awesome. Valeria knew a ton about the wine industry and was able to provide rich history and cool facts in her early morning market tour. We learned a lot. Julian looked the cooking process and was helpful in aiding us in the process throughout the day. I was honestly pleasantly surprised that they were able to get through all the recipes as promised. It was a lot, but with many glasses of wine and tasting throughout the day had a very great flow and you never felt rushed or pressured. 5 star experience. I would do it again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anne Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend Fleur and I thoroughly enjoyed our class from start to finish! The meeting location was very easy to find with your directions and once we arrived, Gloria, our guide, greeted up and we started our tour with the rest of our group. Gloria took us to the market to get the local ingredients for our cooking class, all the while filling us in on the history of Florence. We stopped for coffee along the way and then we were off the meet our bus which took us up to the hills to meet Chef Carmel. She was delightful and kept the group entertained! Gloria was great at translating and even helped with the food preparation. Everyone in our group were very involved and jumped right in to prepare the meal - pasta from scratch, bruschetta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu, pork and roasted potatoes! And of course there was the wine! A beautiful table was set and we feasted the foods of our labour, Upon receiving our diplomas, we boarded our bus and headed back down the mountain. This class with Gloria as our guide, definitely rated 5 star!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This cooking class was recommended by a good friend who raved about it after she went with her two grown sons. When my daughters and sister planned our trip to Florence I knew this was a must do!
I never imagined that it would be one of the most amazing experiences ever! Our total group consisted of about a dozen people from all over the USA. We met our guide Olivia for a walking tour of Florence and a shopping trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for our cooking class. Olivia was friendly and informative and we learned many interesting facts about Florentine history and traditions. We stopped in an exquisite bakery where, with Olivia's recommendation, I discovered my new favorite coffee drink! Machiatone is espresso with a little bit of cream and I am still going through withdrawal since I haven't found a good one back home. Anyway, we then took a short van ride to a gorgeous Tuscan farmhouse where we met Carmela, the chef, and her daughter. Carmela was obviously an amazing cook, but her sense of humor needed no translation. We broke into Italian song without notice while preparing our meal. She taught us, hands on, to make everything from bruschetta to fresh pasta to roast pork and tiramisu and gelato! We even learned how to make pizza dough and create personal pizzas in the outdoor brick oven with Carmela's nice and her assistant. They were adorable and very amusing. Finally we sat down in a beautiful dining room with an incredible view and enjoyed local wines along with the delicious foods we prepared. This was a perfect day and I would recommend this tour to everyone and already have to anyone who will listen! The experience was amazing, the people were unforgettable and the food was superb!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

hayden s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An incredible day and highlight of our Honeymoon.
My wife and I took this tour while in Florence and we both loved the entire day.
Our guide Sandra was amazing, sharing a lot of local history and stories with us on our way to the local markets which are a must visit just on their own. The Tuscan Farmhouse and was perched at the top of the Tuscan hills with incredible views down through the valley, our cooking experience was extremely memorable and filled with lots of fun, laughter and of course Tuscan wine. This was a day we will not forget and would highly recommend to anyone and everyone. Loved it

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Kathleen Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highlight of the trip so far!! We were just expecting a trip to the market and a fun cooking class, but was also a great tour of Florence. Eliza was amazing!! She was funny, engaging and helpful. Carmela was such as great teacher (and singer!). Fantastic tour, fun class, lovely setting! Must go!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Amie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My friend and I spent a week in Florence together and this class was definitely a highlight of our trip. Antonella, the guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable, friendly and sweet, she added a lot to the day. First we went on a walking tour of the food market and some shops along the way to buy everything we would be cooking. Then after a short ride to a beautiful farmhouse in Tuscany, we cooked a fantastic meal under the directions of Carmela. Although she spoke no English, with Antonella's translations and Carmela's enthusiasm, the day was fantastic. Lots of wine, fun people and a gorgeous backdrop, the day was very memorable. Would highly recommend to anyone that would like to experience something a little different while in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

dianelib1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you only book one tour in your lifetime, it must be this one! You will be transported to another world. First, Lavania took us on a leisurely walk to the Mercato Centrale. She made sure our journey was filled with fascinating historical and cultural tidbits as well as edible ones! At the market we learned about Italian meats and cheeses. Following this, our group of 16 was driven up to a magical setting in the Tuscan hills above the city. For the next few hours we cooked and drank wine and ate and drank wine and cooked more and ate more and drank more. Not only was Carmela an excellent instructor, she treated us all as very welcome guests. You will not believe the quality and quantity of the foods you will make and enjoy during this wonderful day, and they will only be matched by your magnificent surroundings and the hospitality of Carmela and Lavania. This is a 10 star experience!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Katelyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We did a 2 week trip to Italy Monterosso, Venice, Florence, and Rome and besides all of the wonderful sites we got to see, this cooking class was by far one of the best memories we will have. You start the tour off by walking through Florence stopping historic landmarks i.e., Michelangelo's house he grew up in!, one of the oldest bakeries in the city, the downtown market, and so much more.

Next you go off to a farmhouse outside of the city where the views are unimaginable. There you learn how to make a few dishes from the homemaker who lives on the property. This cooking class was so much fun and we spent the entire time laughing and chatting with the others in the group. The food was delicious!!

If we ever make our way back to Florence, we will definately sign up for this cooking class again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Susie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant fun and a superb value! Our guide, Alisa, took us on a short walk before taking us to the market to get the fresh ingredients for our class. She is very knowledgeable and put us at our ease immediately. Carmella, our chef, was a hoot! She likes to sing as she cooks, and we were all singing by the end of the day. Carmella made cooking fun and the end result was fantastico! Grazie mille, Walkabout Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I have spent the last three years in Firenze for an extended period of time in the fall. I have always wanted to take a cooking class and decided this year it was a top priority. I started looking on the internet and came across this class and after reading the description of the tour I registered. I was not disappointed!! The walking tour fo Firenze was very interesting taking me to streets, a small street market, a bakery/coffee shop and of course a stop at the Mercato Centrale to buy some of the things needed for the class some of which I had never been. The setting for the class was absolutely beautiful overlooking the city of Firenze. The food that we made and sampled through out the day was awesome. The bruschetta and the oven baked pizza were very good complimented with vino and an Italian beer. Making the homemade pasta was something that I will try when I get home as well as the bolognese sauce. We also made the pork roast and roasted potatoes, tiramisu and gelato. We all sat down for dinner after the class and tasted all of our hard work as well as having some Italian wine to go with dinner.

I just can't say enough about Sandra and Lavi our tour guides. I was in Sandra's group and she made everything so enjoyable. She shared information on the walking tour with us about the history of Firenze during the Medieval times, the Medici family and what to expect through out the day for the tour. Our chef at the farmhouse was awesome too. She didn't speak much English but through hand gestures and song we were all able to understand and follow instructions.

I would highly recommend this experience to anyone looking for a fun filled day and a great dinner experience with some of the most popular dishes of Tuscany

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

italytravels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Dec 1, 2015
Taste of Italy: Best Cooking Class Ever!!!!
I found this cooking class on viator.com along with several others and this one stood out to be one of the top rated. I have taken several cooking classes and this one was by far the best!!!!! The guides Gloria and Julian did an amazing job sharing history of the city during the market/city tour and also did a great job translating for the chef. During the course we learned to make several Italian dishes pork roast, gelato, bruschetta, pizza, pasta, and tirimisu which all turned out amazing. The class was very hands on and extremely entertaining. You are sure to have a lot of fun throughout the tour! The Italian chef can't remember her name was VERY vibrant, enthusiastic, and exhibited a true passion for cooking. Although the chef did not speak much English the guides did a great job translating everything. If you are ever in Florence do not pass up on the opportunity of taking this class. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! I would suggest taking any tour this local tour operator offers because it will be worth it. I am so glad I chose this tour. What a wonderful experience

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Melina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! It was the highlight of our 10 day trip in Italy. Our guide Lavinia was absolutely wonderful and full of knowledge. Before making our way to the farmhouse, our guide gave us an amazing historical food tour if you will, of some of Florence's oldest and most famous bakeries, markets, and granaries. We picked up local ingredients that we later used in the kitchen. The entire staff was magical and an absolute pleasure. I highly recommend this tour for anyone with a love of cooking and learning more about the Italian cuisine.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was, hands down, the best part of my month long Euro trip. Gloria was fantastic. From the market to the kitchen everything was extremely enjoyable. The food was fantastic and the experience of cooking it with everyone there made it even better. This is a must for those that are looking for a memorable and fun day in Italy.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

ck100 Egypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Julian for sure was best tour guide gave us a walking tour idea about Florence while market shopping for our food stuff as well enjoyed much the cooking class of Camilla which has her lovely spirts in way she cook and fantastic atmosphere for all of our lovely group , I have delay my review till I cooked all what we had to family which let all my family and friends wishing to have same chance for booking same cooking program with Julian and Camilla best regards for all especially Pizza great boss and her assistance

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mardell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I were on a two-week trip, and this was our final tour. We had been looking forward to it, and we were not disappointed! Gloria and Molly were our guides and did a fantastic job. The group of approximately 25 were divided into two, and we were with Gloria's group. Gloria led us on a great walking tour through the historic center of Florence. We stopped at a vegetable market to buy tomatoes and fresh basil for the bruschetta we would be making later that day. Then, off to a bakery to buy the bread for our bruschetta and to enjoy a cappuccino. Our final stop before heading to the farmhouse was the Mercata Centrale--what an amazing place! We bought Parmagianno Reggiano sampled some, too and the beef, which was ground fresh as we waited. Off to the farmhouse in Tuscany! Our chef, Carmella, was a ball of energy and thought us how to make bruschetta, pizza, homemade pasta, ragu sauce, roast pork, rosemary potatoes, tiramisu and gelato! The hands-on experience was so much fun! We were able to enjoy our new Italian culinary skills as we ate all of the amazing dishes we made--complemented nicely by plenty of Chianti Classico! I highly recommend this tour--you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Brad F.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I had an amazing time on this tour learning to cook and learning some history about Florence. Julian was our guide and took us around the city and showed us some of the local markets which my wife and I later visited during our time in Florence. He was friendly, informative and made the tour a lot of fun. The cooking experience at the local farmhouse was amazing. The food, the wine and the company made this experience one of the highlights during our trip to Italy. We would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

KimTrang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing time learning to cook and shop around Florence. Jullian was our guide. He was very informative on the city history and spoke English well. The view of the farmhouse was amazing! It made the cooking class more enjoyable. We were able to shop around the market for our ingredients which was great. Good wine and company

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Chris J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The cooking class tour with Walkabout Florence was truly one of the most amazing experiences of our European trip. The staff went above and beyond for us since we were initially lost in the city, not able to find a place to park to meet up with the group - so one of their staff Nickoli came out to find us, took us to meet up with the group and drove our rental car all the way up to where the cooking facility was so we could join the group in the bus! We truly were overwhelmed with joy and endless gratitude! The class was absolutely incredible - educational as we walked around Florence learning the history of the city and background for all the local ingredients we would be using in our class as we toured through the bustling marketplace. Our guide Antonella was an absolute joy the entire time, she made us feel extremely welcome and even took time to catch us up on what my husband and I had missed since we joined the group a bit late. She was incredibly informative, knowledgeable, and so warm you felt that you've known her for years. After the tour in the city we all took a bus up to the gorgeous Florence hills where they have renovated a state of the art cooking facility that overlooks the valley, it's stunning! And we had the pleasure of learning how to cook from Carmella - a wonderfully seasoned local Italian cook who's charm and wit made everyone smile and laugh the whole time along with her wonderful translators Antonella and Levi that all made us feel at home. We had the pleasure of making bruschetta, fresh pasta, ragu, roasted pork, our own pizze napolitana in a wood burning ovens worked by the professionals : and gelato and tiramisu! And of course all was accompanied by incredible Chianti wine the entire time. We got to dine in the beautiful floor to ceiling glass dining room with amazing Tuscan views. What a phenomenal experience this was - cooking with wonderful people in a gorgeous setting- the AMAZING staff - this is highly recommended!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Christopher L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Oh my god! This tour and cooking class vastly exceeded our expectations.
Julian, our guide, was engaging, interactive and entertaining. He gave us a personal florentine experience of the food markets and the city.
When we got to the walkabout estate, we were blown away by the view and the amazing kitchen!
Carmella, our cooking instructor, made us feel so welcome and she taught us how to make every component of our meal using traditional Italian techniques.
Making pizza in the traditional forno was a bonus - the instructors taught us how to toss the dough and tear the basil to make the best Napoli style pizza we've ever had!
When we finally got to eat our meal, we were blown away by every course. We are vegetarians but we happily enjoyed the Tuscan ragu and roasted rosemary pork tenderloin. The tiramisu didn't disapoint either!
If you love food and wine and everything Italian, this is the tour for you!!!!
Julian and Carmella made it the best experience we've had in all of our 3 weeks in Tuscany.
We only wish we had booked more tours with the tour company specifically Julian.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Joseph and Chelsea United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you are in Florence, this tour is an absolute must do! My husband and I never do anything touristy when we travel and typically skip tours, but this is unlike any other! Gloria from Walkabout Tours was a fantastic guide, sharing fun and interesting food facts about Florence. Because they split the group in half for the tour, it feels more intimate and you get to experience delicious coffee and samples from the markets. From there we took a bus to the farmhouse and what a beautiful setting! Surrounded by olive trees and such a wonderful kitchen to learn! The setting is breathtaking and the perfect backdrop to learn and eat. Carmella was an absolute joy to learn from, she's very funny and very patient and also very knowledgeable! Gloria and Lavi will translate when needed, but honestly you learn so much just by watching! They also brought in a local pizza maker to teach you all the secrets of getting that thin crust in just a few minutes. You will not be disappointed by this experience and you will leave full and happy. When you get home I guarantee all your friends and family will ask you to cook for them! And you can because the recipes are emailed to you! We'd rate this 10 stars/5 if we could!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

OntheRoad United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was all wonderful. Gloria and Molly from Walkabout were the greatest. The best experience of the several tours and classes we signed-up for our first trip to Italy. I can't imagine how it could be improved upon. Everything was first rate, and so professional, while still keeping it fun.

The class was informative and concise, as only a hands-on mini apprenticeship can be, I think it's the best way to learn anything. It was a privilege to work with a chef like Carmella who is extremely talented and passionate about her cooking. The walking tour with Gloria to the market and other vendors was a lesson in Italian cookery and history, and the coffee was superb during a brief break for coffee and pastries. The variety and quality of the meat and vegetables is what makes all the difference in the final product, i.e. the great meal we enjoyed at the end of the day. The farmhouse was the surprise of the day for me. The kitchen was beyond anything I could image and in such beautiful surroundings. I am so pleased by my day with Carmela, Gloria, Molly and all of the dedicated people who made this possible as well as the other very interesting guest participants!

I wouldn't hesitate to book another event with Walkabout, it was truly a memorable day. Thank you!
Ray from California

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message