Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything about this tour was exceptional! There was a great walking tour of Florence to start out. The guides gave us historical information about the city and we stopped at markets to buy the food we would be cooking. We then took a bus to the house where we would cook. The house and the property were amazing! We made a great variety of food and they were all great! The guides and the cook were also wonderful. I would absolutely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was so special and is not to be missed whether you are a foodie or just enjoy a wonderful meal with great atmosphere, Our guides Gloria and Val were so helpful and filled us with information about the traditions and local foods of Florence. After buying all the needed ingredients in the local markets, we proceeded to a lovely country farm house where we met Carmela. She is quite an amazing person as well as an experienced home grown Italian cook. It is not a cooking show and everyone in the group learned, cooked and drank together. We prepared a delicious meal including Gelato, It was a wonderful time for all. Thank you for the fabulous experience, Regina

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. With just a day to experience Tuscan cooking and landscape, we signed on to let Carmella and Martina show us how it was done. The instruction was great, the food was great and Martina was a bonus with her walking tour of Florence as we went to market with her. All in all, well worth the time and money even if you have more time.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My sister and I absolutely loved this tour. A must for any foodies that want to experience more authenticity in their Italian holiday. Starting the day with a Florence/market tour with Valerie was super valuable and gave lots of historical and cultural background to the city and the ingredients we were sourcing. The Tuscan Farmhouse was an idyllic setting for making fresh pasta, pizza, sipping Chianti wine and so on. Camilla is the most warm and hospitable woman and her passion is shown in all of the food she makes or helps others make. Thank you Camilla, Valerie and Molly. We had an amazing day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We highly recommend this experience. This trip started off with a very knowledgeable walking tour through the streets of Florence. From small corner fruit stands to large city markets, our guide, Martina, provided a view into the food culture of Florence. And yes, it even included a much needed stop at a local cafe for and espresso or cappuccino.

After the walk, we met up with another small group and we took a short drive out of the city to a local farmhouse where we were introduced to one of the best people we had ever met, the energetic and exuberant, Carmela. There we got our hands dirty, after special instruction from Carmela, as we chopped veggies, sliced bread, kneaded dough and whisked away as we sipped wine and sang with Carmela and the guides.

Now the best part, sitting and enjoying every dish we created by hand as we met new friends and enjoyed the amazing scenery surrounding us. My then fiance and I were treated like family and the staff took every second to congratulate us on our engagement. As advertised, we left with perfect memories and stuffed bellies

About three weeks later, after returning home to the States, we pleasantly received an email from Martina asking about our wedding, which took place in Italy a few days after this tour. The fact she remembered us and took the time to ask meant so much.

We want to thank the staff for creating one of the most memorable portions of our trip.

Carla and Michael Mendez

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

MJ
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this all-day cooking tour and class. Valeria was our primary guide and Martina was the other guide and both assisted and translated for Carmella the Italian chef that shared her joy and passion for Italian cooking with us. They all made it an enjoyable and fun experience. We left promptly at 10am from the Walkabout Office in Florence for which we appreciated the timeliness. We had a 1 1/2 hour walking tour of Florence which included a treat to coffee of our choice, learning some of the history related to food and other relevant info about Florence as well as a trip to the Central Market to purchase the goods to prepare our meal. We met our bus around 12pm to take us to an estate about 20 minutes outside of Florence where there was a beautiful kitchen and gorgeous views. The walk to and from the bus was steep but manageable. All who wanted to participate in the preparation for the bruschetta, ragu for the pasta, pork, tiramisu and gelato were able to. There were 25 of us as individuals who wanted to jump in did. Each of us made our own handmade pasta and pizza which was fun. They did provide me with pasta pomodoro and cheese as a vegetarian option and did provide an option for another person who was a vegan. The cooking class itself was from about 12:30 to 4:30 with a short break to eat the pizza we prepared. We were offered wine and water through out the class and beer with the pizza. We ate our main lunch meal around 4:45pm 16:45 overlooking the beautiful Tuscan hills and left the estate around 5:30pm back to Florence. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an amazing time! Both Lavinia and Carmella were outstanding hostesses! The day started with a trip to the markets, all of which were beautiful. There was plenty of hands on cooking time and the wine and food were amongst the best we had. I would strongly recommend this for anyone looking to spend a great day with talented and fun people. Also, the site - complete with beautiful gardens and scenery and a kitchen that caused me great envy. Loved this and would do it again without hesitation!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Cooking Class and Lunch at the farmhouse was well worth the money. We started with a walking tour of the city, which I didn't expect. It was fun but I would have worn walking shoes. The market and the cooking class was so much fun and I learned a lot! We had a great group, great tour leader, Molly and Carmella, the chef and teacher could not have been nicer or more gracious! A great day! I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a group of three that attended the Tuscan Farmhouse cooking class and local market tour. We really enjoyed the market tour with our guide Molly as well as the great cooking class in which we made fresh pasta, caprese, tiramisu, gelato, and pizza. All the guides and instructors were a pleasure and it was a nice addition to our visit.

One of us accidentally left our camera on the bus and the guides were so helpful in us being able to quickly get it back. I would highly recommend the class!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour and the guides - we had Mollie, are great. I enjoyed the cooking school very much. But beware this is a long day - 10am to 6.30pm and you are on your feet for most of that time. The first two hours were walking through some of Florence sights and the markets which I was not expecting hence had on unsuitable shoes. There is no shortage of food, wine and even some beer. Carmello our chef kept us very entertained even though she did not speak English. Loved her singing as she worked. A fun day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Cathy Q
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and two teens Boy, 13 yrs, girl 18 yrs did the Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse tour. The title does not do the experience justice. We started with a small group 11 people quick walking tour through Florence with our tour guide Molly an absolutely GREAT energetic, friendly, informative tour guide!, with stops to get cappuccino, and go through the market place where we picked up the fresh ingredients for the meal we would make. Then a short bus ride to the farmhouse where we met with the other half of the group and met Carmela, our chef and the Italian grandmother everyone wants. Even though she doesn't speak English, she is so expressive and Molly and Martina did a great job interpreting everything else for us. The language barrier was no barrier at all! Then we spent the rest of the afternoon learning to make the most delicious dishes and snacking along the way with plenty of water, wine and beer. We made bruschetta, pasta and sauce, pizza, a pork roast and potatoes, and finally gelato and tiramisu. All of it from scratch. Everything was amazing, but the pork roast was the absolutely best I've ever tasted. Carmela informed and entertained with song, everyone participated, and even my 13 yr old son had a great time and learned a lot. This ended up being my family's favorite experience of our entire two-week European vacation. Oh, and a word of advice - DON'T make any dinner reservations for that evening, because you will be absolutely stuffed from all the delicious food you ate throughout the day! The bruschetta and pizza serve as an early lunch, and the final foods are served around 4:00 or so, returning to Florence around 6:00.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Martina and Molly from walkabout.com were FANTASTIC! My sister and I loved the 7 hr day which included a little walking tour of the town Martina was very knowledgeable and funny, a coffee stop, a visit to the market to get our ingredients and a comfortable ride on a private bus to the estate.
The view and kitchen we worked in was AMAZING! We loved Carmella, our chef, she didn't speak much English but she was a lot of fun and it was easy to communicate with her.
People could get involved as much or as little as they wanted except we all made our own pasta with plenty of assistance available for anyone who may have been nervous. The atmosphere was totally relaxed and light-no judgement!
I was absolutely in heaven! The food and staff were excellent. I loved getting the apron, cookbook, certificate and recipes from the day! My sister and I were making some of the things for our family the day after we returned!

LOVED! LOVED! LOVED! Our day with the tour company and their staff-very well organized and FUN!Thanks Martina, you were great!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to Italy! A really fun day, full of food and wine, and really good value too. You start with a market tour, but our guide Molly also gave us a mini historical tour on the way which was a great bonus. This part was great, d a great way to see a more local side of the city. The class itself takes place in the most stunning setting of the Tuscan hills. Carmela the chef was absolutely fantastic and was so passionate about cooking that her lack of english skills didn't matter at all. We had a great group of people, 24 of us but that really wasn't too many, we all bonded really quickly and had great fun together. We learnt so much on the day and i've already used some of the recipes we learnt at home! The class is very relaxing, despite all the cooking that was happening, it was all very hands on and we didn't stop laughing all day. Throughout the day we made and ate loads from bruscetta to pizza, roast pork, pasta, ragu to tiramisu and gelato, this was accompanied by lots of wine and beer and we finished the day with a four course meal of the food we had cooked in a lovely outdoor dining room. I simply cannot recommend this tour highly enough, if you do one thing in Florence it should be this!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was absolutely the highlight of our trip. It is six hours long, includes a walk around Florence to different markets and information concerning many historical things. After a short air conditioned bus ride to am estate we were amazed by how much we learned in making Italian foods, eating unlimited food until we were ready to burst and lots of wine and beer to go around while at the estate. Our tour guides were excellent, very friendly, and the estate owner/chef was great. They even brought in professional pizza makers to assist in making our pizzas and baking them in a wood burning over at 800 degrees! Would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a highlight of our trip. Our tour guides Martina and Molly were so genuine and knowledgeable. We feel like they became our friends as they were so warm and charming. The facility was beautiful and clean and the cooking experience was so fun. My husband enjoyed it and he doesn't like even like to cook. Our instructor Carmela did a great job with instruction making everything so easy. The food was delicious and was served at various times throughout the day finishing with our main course which we all enjoyed together. There were added surprises along the way and walking through Florence and going to the market was such a great experience. Don't hesitate on this one. It is a must!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely the highlight of our two weeks in Italy! Livinia was our tour guide and she was amazing - so friendly and knowledgable, an absolute delight to spend the day with. Carmela, our chef, spoke no English but it didn't matter a bit. We had a so much fun and ate like pros. In seven very short hours we toured the market, bought the ingredients for our menu, made bruschetta, bolognese sauce, homemade pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato - and not to mention, drank more than our fair share of chianti. A fantastic day with the nicest people you could meet. I can't recommend this tour more highly!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I agreed that this tour was the highlight of our trip to Florence. Molly, our guide, gave us an interesting walking tour to the fascinating Central Market. Chef Carmela is a dear, and the other guide, Antonella, was also informative. We are definitely going to try homemade pasta again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't say enough about this cooking class. Wife and I really enjoyed the whole experience from selecting the ingredients at the Central Market to preparing all the different courses under the watchful eye of Carmela, our cooking class chef. Molly, our tour guide was exceptional. She gave us a great walking tour of Florence on the way to the Central Market and did a great job translating Italian to English during Carmela's cooking instructions. All in all a great day and time well spent.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class was the highlight of our 3 week Italian vacation. We were promptly met by our guide Gloria and as the group got together we started the day by walking through the street of Firenze stopping to buy tomatoes at a vegetable market. Gloria explained the differences in tomatoes and their uses - very interesting. Then stopped at a bakery/coffee shop to purchase the ciabatta for the bruschetta, as well as enjoying our morning cappucino. Then walked to the 'Mercato Centrale' where we picked up cheese for the pizza beef for the ragu, and the pork roast. Again, Gloria was a wealth of information as we went from stall to stall. She was an awesome tour guide! Then caught a bus to take us into the countryside where we were to prepare our meal. Met Carmella, our host, who had the most bubbly of personalities. We started by each making the bruschetta which we thoroughly enjoyed, followed by making pasta all by hand. It was so much fun, that we will never buy packaged pasta again. We also helped making the ragu sauce which would be served later on with the pasta. Next came the pizza where each of us pressed out the dough, selected our toppings before putting the pizza in an authentic wood fired oven again another great experience.I forgot to mention that while we were cooking, we enjoyed our Chianti, while others could have beer. The pork roast and roasted potatoes were prepped and put in the oven and while we waited for that to cook, we made tiramisu and gelato from scratch. Finally the meal was ready and we all sat down to enjoy the feast that we prepared. DELICIOUS!!!! Even if we say so ourselves. Both Carmella and Gloria were awesome, can't thank them enough for this exceptional experience. If you are able to participate in one tour while in Firenze - this is the one!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I went on the Walkabout Florence cooking class and had a great time. Two guides split the total group of 25 and took us on a walk through Florence stopping to get an espresso, pick up some meat and produce at the markets, and get to the bus stop. Our guide Molly was fun and engaging and we were grateful for her knowledge of the city and funny British accent.
The cooking class was a good mix of hands on and observation. The facility was nice and well set up for the class. We learned how to cook a variety of foods and sat down for a great dinner afterwards. The value of the class was very good. I couldn't eat another thing after pizza, bruschetta, pasta, beer, wine, gelato, tiramisu... I highly recommend this class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. I can't say enough about our guide Lavi. She was wonderful! We had a great time shopping at the market and then learning to cook Italian with Carmela. This was my favorite tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My partner and I took this tour on May 27, 2015. We started the day with our tour guide, Martina, who was wonderful, personable and full of great facts about the city of Florence. Martina took us to local business and the central market to purchase some fresh ingredients for cooking later in the day, while also teaching us about some of the historical highlights of the city. We then joined the other tour group and headed to the farmhouse that overlooked Florence, which was just beautiful on a sunny day. Carmella was the chef teaching us the basics for putting together all of the delicious dishes. Carmella spoke no english, but was vibrant and full of energy, language was no barrier since Sandra and Martina interpreted for us the entire day. All three ladies were such a pleasure to listen to and watch as they taught us how to make a variety of dishes from bruschetta, pizza, tagliatelle with bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. There was so much food and wine! We were stuffed by the end of the day, that we couldn't even go out for dinner later in the evening. They gave us a certificate as well as a cookbook with traditional Tuscan recipes. Overall it was a glorious day and a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I checked out a few classes before deciding on this one and picked it because of the glowing reviews. I am so glad I did because the reviews were so right the class was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.
We had the best time with our guides Gloria and Molly and Chef Carmen. First, we met in the morning and Gloria took us on a walking tour of the markets while we shopped for the ingredients, all the while she shared little tidbits of interesting stories about the history of Florence and Tuscany. Then we bused to a nearby picturesque farmhouse where we spent the rest of the day having fun, cooking, laughing, drinking wine and totally enjoying ourselves. The cooking class was hands on, friendly, well paced, not intimidating, and the food was delicious. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was a nice change of pace from visiting museums, ruins, and churches. I highly recommend taking this class we had a wonderful time and would do it again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous day, Lavinia was excellent, organised , funny but knowledgable. The walking tour around Florence markets was informative, she got to know everyone in the group. Once we got to the farm to cook, the venue and facilities were outstanding. Everyone was included, and we cooked and drank all afternoon. Camilla and Lavinia ensured the cooking was organised and everyone had success. We all sat down to eat and by the end of the day we all became great friends. It was a highlight of our trip t Florence. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!!!!

We started off with a mini tour and history lesson on the food of Florence. Our tour guide, Antonella, was hilarious, engaging, warm and welcoming. Loved her!

After stopping by several markets to pick up groceries, we went onto the bus for our ride to the farm. Oh, the farm... Absolutely breathtaking! I wish I could take it back to New York with me. There is a modern kitchen and dining room covered in glass windows that overlooked the acres of beautiful green hills as far as the eye can see.

The chef/cook teaching the class was an enthusiastic, boisterous, and hilarious Italian lady who's husband used to own the farm. She decided to sell it to the tour company in exchange that she be allowed to work in the kitchen whenever she wanted. Good deal!

We made bruschetta, tiramisu, pizza, gelato, pasta, bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes. Really hands on class where you have to roll your own pizza and pasta doughs and make your own tiramisu. Other times, it was relaxing, where you just watched several volunteers do all the chopping, cutting, and mixing. No worries about being bored though! There was plenty of red wine and beer flowing. If you're not a drinker, you could just watch the chef dance and sing happy Italian songs.

After you stuff your face with all the food, they send you off with a cookbook, apron and certificate. Then it's nap time on the bus...

Definitely do this if you're in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message