Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

D.bmitchell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super trip. Guides Alisa and Lavinia were superb, informative and helpful. Chef Isaac was warm and delightful. Trip starts with about a 90 minute walk from office through a couple of historical stops, vegetable market, bakery, espresso break and on to Mercato Centrale to pick up some cheese and meat. From there a bus ride to the hills overlooking Florence. In the modern kitchen we pitched in to make Ragusa sauce, then bruschetta. Made pizza dough, fashioned pizzas, made pasta, gelato and tiramisu. Ate pizza then at end of day enjoyed the meal of pasta with rage, roast pork and the desserts. Wine available all along. Food excellent and more than enough! Unforgettable. Need to be able to do the walking.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing experience that I keep raving to everyone about! Took a 19 day trip to Italy, and did this class on our second day. Started off with Olivia our guide, taking us throughout Florence by foot, showing us how to shop for produce, meats, cheese, and other local specialties at small local shops, and the HUGE Mercato Centrale. Throughout the tour she gave us plenty of interesting and useful information about Florence, Italy, and even tips like how to order coffee like a local which was appreciated and useful for the rest of our trip. After shopping, we took the bus up to the hills of Florence to a hillside farmhouse villa that is in a breath taking location, and also beautifully renovated with a gourmet kitchen, beautiful patio and floor to ceiling glass dining room with panoramic views of the hills of Tuscany. The food that we cooked was simple but the tips on how to make things more authentic were great. We loved being with Carmela and felt that we really learned from the best! Even though I am an advanced level home cook, I still felt like this was a very fun experience with my husband. Would definitely recommend this to everyone! Thank you Olivia, Martina and Carmela for being amazing hosts!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

pam.earl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Five stars is not enough! This was the best tour! We started in small groups of about 12 with our guides, ours was Elisa the other was Lavinia. We walked from near the Ponte Vecchio through the streets of Florence. As we went Elisa explained some of the customs, landmarks and food history of Florence. While we did this we also collected the food for our cooking class. We learnt about the tradition of coffee as well as had a cup Italian style. We went to the central markets where we learnt more about local food and made some more purchases. The two groups then joined together and we were taken by small bus to a Villa up in the hills to start cooking. Our chef for the day was Isaac. He made it all very easy. We made about six courses. Everyone had jobs to do and between eating the fruits of our labours and drinking the wine we had a fantastic day. All the staff were fabulous. We wish we had done this tour when we first arrived in Florence because it gave us a much better insight into Florence the people and the food. A big thank you to Elisa Lavinia and Isaac!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Connie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

5 stars in not nearly enough for this fabulous day!! This was, by far, the highlight of our trip. Our guide, Martina, took us on a walking tour of Florence, highlighting foodie spots such as a local cafe coffee bar, and some local vegetable markets and some food history like the reason why Tuscans don't put salt in their bread. Then we went to the central market to buy the rest of our ingredients for our cooking day fabulous, fresh meats, breads and cheeses. After gathering our ingredients, we took a short bus ride to an absolutely beautiful location in the Tuscan countryside, a converted farmhouse with a DREAM kitchen! We joined another group, led by Valeria, and started our cooking experience. Our chef, Carmela, was an absolute joy! We had some much fun making bruschetta, pizza, handmade pasta my favorite, sauce, pork roast, tiramisu and gelato. Then we sat down as a group to eat all of this wonderful food and drink some great Chianti. We met so many wonderful people and made many memories! Don't miss this one! Ask for Martina and Valeria...they were fantastic!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Nancy A N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day! And Valeria, our guide, was knowledgeable, patient, and had a great sense of humor. The tour started with a walk around Florence and Valeria was informative and helpful. We stopped at a small market to buy some of the ingredients for our class and then went to the Mercato Centrale to purchase meat, bread and cheese. After that we took taxis to the cooking site which was amazing - and indoor/outdoor space overlooking Florence. We cooked from about noon to 4, eating and drinking as we did so. Valeria translated for the cooking teacher who spoke no English to us but was incredibly lively and personable. At about 4 we all sat down to eat what we had created and it was all delicious. A great day and great fun!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laurie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great time we had, this was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Sandra our tour guide was wonderful she was so knowledgeable,very friendly, funny and just a great person. We started off with a food walking tour of Florence, stopping at a produce stand and then going to the market for the rest of the food for our cooking class, it was really fun. Then we boarded a small bus were we met Valerie another wonderful tour guide who was very sweet and friendly. At the Villa we met Carmella our chef who was so much fun. We all got a chance to help with all the courses which were delicious we then ate everything we made served with wine and beer with the pizza.
I just think this was such a great way to spend the day with the beautiful people of Italy.
This tour is for everyone men and women and seniors like us.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Alyanna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jullian, Molly and Carmela were great!! This is one of the highlights of our trip!! We went on a tour to the market, they took us for a cup of coffee at a bakery, we made our own pizza, pasta and cooked our dinner. So fun!! We already recommended this tour to a lot of friends that are visiting flore

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an amazing day. You start with a walk through the streets of Florence and shop at the local market for the ingredients. Our guide Elisa, was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the history of Florence. The bits of information she provided throughout our walk made it that much more interesting. The tour was so much more than what I expected, it wasn't just a meal, it was an experience. We loved this tour so much we booked another tour with Walkabout Florence and we were lucky enough to have Elisa as our guide.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Bryan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This experience was just spectacular. A special thanks to our guides Julian and Gloria for making our day so fun and amazing. I cannot recommend this tour enough. If you have a free day in Florence this is how you want to spend it. Walking through the market and then using your ingredients to make fresh delicious food is the perfect way to get the feeling of the authentic Italian day. The facilities are just beautiful and conversation and wine flowed easily. Last but not least, thank you Carmella for sharing your passion for food with us!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Claudia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Valeria, our guide, and Isaac, our chef/instructor, really made our day. They were very professional, but at the same time made the day such fun. Our cooking class was on a Sunday, so we weren't able to do the market shopping, but everything was ready for us at the Tuscan Farmhouse. Since we couldn't do the shopping, Valeria took us on a great 1 1/2 hour walking tour of some of the oldest parts of Florence, with a special emphasis on food and wine details. No doubt, this was a great highlight of our visit in Florence, and definitely the most fun day we spent there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

sibanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What great fun! We started out with a food walking tour guided by Valeria, ending up at the marketplace with various vendors to select our food to cook with . . . fresh cheese samples!, fresh bread, fresh meat, fresh vegetables--the marketplace was very lively and the various merchants showed us their wares. Oh, did I mention we stopped at a pasteria and enjoyed the BEST coffee I've ever had! Very comfortable bus ride to the farmhouse where Sandra joined us and talked about our upcoming experience. When we arrived in the countryside, I would not call the location a farmhouse, it was more like a beautiful villa or estate--lovely view of flowers, olive trees, and Florence in the distance. We met our chef, Carmella, who was very lively, entertaining, loved to sing, and knew how to cook and guide us in our efforts. We created many delicious dishes and enjoyed a lovely sit-down meal, of our making, overlooking the fabulous view. These three ladies each had their own role in this tour and all did an impressive job and were comfortable to be around when all was said and down, we realized we acquired a new extended family! We received an apron, a completion certificate, and a promise recipes will be sent in email in 3-4 weeks. It was approximately an eight hour day and we enjoyed every minute!! Ciao! simban

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Charles B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best day! We got to experience the outskirts of Florence in a way we would have never had done on our own. Everything was great, starting with our market tours and buying all our ingredients, and then a scenic bus ride up to the farm. We were wowed by the view and beauty of the farm itself. The kitchen and dining area we spent the day in was a pictures right our Homes Beautiful. It was perfect. The tour guides were so enjoyable and so was Carmella our chef.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Vibeke A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic experience. Highly recommended and would not change a thing! Market shopping, cooking, eating and drinking! Our guides, Julian and Sandra were fantastic and Carmella, our chef, so skilled, fun and charming! The farm house Is set in the most idyllic location above Florence in the hills of Tuscany. The views are fantastic and it was a true pinch me moment to sit outside in the sun enjoying our homemade pizza and beer and views. The day Culminated in a fantastic dinner of the dishes we had prepared set in a beautiful dining room with incredible views! ! Very educational and enjoyable! You can't go wrong with this one and the value for money is unbelievable! And finally, the olive oil was made from the local olive trees right there and delicious!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jkrause

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time with Val, Sandy and Carmella! The day was beautiful. Starting with the educational walk to the market through the streets of Florence, we knew that we were going to have a wonderful time. The view from the cooking area was absolutely gorgeous! Val and Sandy were so patient and kind with all of our questions, making us laugh. Carmella is an incredible force of nature! SO fun. We learned without even trying! I would do this class again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Dawnua V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of 4, highly recommends the WalkAbout Tuscan Farmhouse and Local Market Tour from Florence. It was Amazing!!! Our guide Olivia is excellent and very knowledgeable.
There is a serene feeling and beautiful view overlooking Florence at the Farmhouse. The Chef and staff are very friendly and fun. We actually had a hands on experience of making real homemade pasta, tiramisu and gelato with recipes. Excellent food and tour! Bravo! Ciao.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gloria was the greatest host and tour guide. While walking through Florence to the markets to buy the food, she gave a tour of the city that wasn't about the food but other things which was nice. it showed me she has a passion for her work and her amazing beautiful city.

When we got to the markets, she toured us around and showed different things, things we don't see in the USA, like meat shops that cater to special types of meat like the organs. Very interesting for me. Maybe not for everyone, but I was fascinated.

When we got to the olive orchard, Gloria once again was the best. She helped us with our cooking and translated for Claudia. She became like family! I miss her!

THANKS GLORIA!

David Rose

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely the best tour I have been on! It was such a fun day led by amazing tour guide, Elisa. I enjoyed walking through the city hear some inside facts before going to the market to pick up a few items then showing up at the beautiful farmhouse. It was one thing after another that impressed me and was overall, an amazing day! My favorite day in Florence 100! I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and excellent cooking class. We first had a guided walk through Florence from the meeting point to the market with stops enroute for specific food purchases, then a short drive to the property. Georgeous location and setting. Excellent facilities. Carmela the cook/teacher provided very clear instructions - via our guide's translations - and was very knowledgeable and entertaining. And the food 'we' made was excellent! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

jerry.m.gentile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We've been to Florence multiple times and this experience was the highlight. This experience brought a unique Tuscan experience - we learned a lot about Tuscan cuisine long before we got to Carmella's beautiful farmhouse. Sandra did an incredible job in not only educating us about the food that we bought at the Central Market, but all her stories about Florentine history. I'm very leery about group tours but if you love history and eating Sandra brings a whole new energy and passion to this tour. And be prepared to work for your lunch. It's very hands-on experience and a full day of fun. Sandra and Carmella make a great team in bringing the food to life - everything from making bruschetta to your own personal pizza yes the dough too not to mention a pasta dish and two different desserts. Oh did I mention that we also made a pork roast with potatoes on top of everything else. Word of caution, DO NOT HAVE BREAKFAST FIRST! In fact, do not make dinner reservations. We promise you will not leave hungry. And if that wasn't enough you couldn't find a more beautiful place to spend the day. The kitchen and the staff were extremely nice and very professional. You may forget that you're not the real chef. It will be one of the best days you have in the Tuscan countryside.

Sally and Jerry

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Paden H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing cooking class! Best day we had in Florence. The day was perfectly planned. Our tour guides Valeria and Julian were awesome. Valeria knew a ton about the wine industry and was able to provide rich history and cool facts in her early morning market tour. We learned a lot. Julian looked the cooking process and was helpful in aiding us in the process throughout the day. I was honestly pleasantly surprised that they were able to get through all the recipes as promised. It was a lot, but with many glasses of wine and tasting throughout the day had a very great flow and you never felt rushed or pressured. 5 star experience. I would do it again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anne Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend Fleur and I thoroughly enjoyed our class from start to finish! The meeting location was very easy to find with your directions and once we arrived, Gloria, our guide, greeted up and we started our tour with the rest of our group. Gloria took us to the market to get the local ingredients for our cooking class, all the while filling us in on the history of Florence. We stopped for coffee along the way and then we were off the meet our bus which took us up to the hills to meet Chef Carmel. She was delightful and kept the group entertained! Gloria was great at translating and even helped with the food preparation. Everyone in our group were very involved and jumped right in to prepare the meal - pasta from scratch, bruschetta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu, pork and roasted potatoes! And of course there was the wine! A beautiful table was set and we feasted the foods of our labour, Upon receiving our diplomas, we boarded our bus and headed back down the mountain. This class with Gloria as our guide, definitely rated 5 star!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This cooking class was recommended by a good friend who raved about it after she went with her two grown sons. When my daughters and sister planned our trip to Florence I knew this was a must do!
I never imagined that it would be one of the most amazing experiences ever! Our total group consisted of about a dozen people from all over the USA. We met our guide Olivia for a walking tour of Florence and a shopping trip to the market to pick up fresh ingredients for our cooking class. Olivia was friendly and informative and we learned many interesting facts about Florentine history and traditions. We stopped in an exquisite bakery where, with Olivia's recommendation, I discovered my new favorite coffee drink! Machiatone is espresso with a little bit of cream and I am still going through withdrawal since I haven't found a good one back home. Anyway, we then took a short van ride to a gorgeous Tuscan farmhouse where we met Carmela, the chef, and her daughter. Carmela was obviously an amazing cook, but her sense of humor needed no translation. We broke into Italian song without notice while preparing our meal. She taught us, hands on, to make everything from bruschetta to fresh pasta to roast pork and tiramisu and gelato! We even learned how to make pizza dough and create personal pizzas in the outdoor brick oven with Carmela's nice and her assistant. They were adorable and very amusing. Finally we sat down in a beautiful dining room with an incredible view and enjoyed local wines along with the delicious foods we prepared. This was a perfect day and I would recommend this tour to everyone and already have to anyone who will listen! The experience was amazing, the people were unforgettable and the food was superb!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

hayden s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An incredible day and highlight of our Honeymoon.
My wife and I took this tour while in Florence and we both loved the entire day.
Our guide Sandra was amazing, sharing a lot of local history and stories with us on our way to the local markets which are a must visit just on their own. The Tuscan Farmhouse and was perched at the top of the Tuscan hills with incredible views down through the valley, our cooking experience was extremely memorable and filled with lots of fun, laughter and of course Tuscan wine. This was a day we will not forget and would highly recommend to anyone and everyone. Loved it

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Kathleen Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highlight of the trip so far!! We were just expecting a trip to the market and a fun cooking class, but was also a great tour of Florence. Eliza was amazing!! She was funny, engaging and helpful. Carmela was such as great teacher (and singer!). Fantastic tour, fun class, lovely setting! Must go!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Amie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My friend and I spent a week in Florence together and this class was definitely a highlight of our trip. Antonella, the guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable, friendly and sweet, she added a lot to the day. First we went on a walking tour of the food market and some shops along the way to buy everything we would be cooking. Then after a short ride to a beautiful farmhouse in Tuscany, we cooked a fantastic meal under the directions of Carmela. Although she spoke no English, with Antonella's translations and Carmela's enthusiasm, the day was fantastic. Lots of wine, fun people and a gorgeous backdrop, the day was very memorable. Would highly recommend to anyone that would like to experience something a little different while in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message