Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

There are no words to summarize the great experience of cooking class. That day designed by professional and was the highlight of our trip to Tuscany. Lavinia our guide was amazing! Carmela was so nice, funny, singing and it was her birthday! We were a group of 24 people from around the world, the morning tour was very interesting going in Florence on the way to the market while Lavinia explains with lots of patient about everything. The farm is 10 minutes from Florence and there is a bus that wait for you at the end of the market and take the group. The farm is amazing, best equipment, VERY CLEAN and we used best materials. The Pizza oven and team that made the Pizza with us was very professional. Bottom line if you go to Tuscany don't miss that cooking class. All was perfect !!!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful time in this tour/class. The teacher Carmela is a very enthusiastic Italian homemaker and the guide Lavinia is a friendly girl.
The tour started with an amazing walk in Florence to buy some ingredients that we needed. We went to the bakery and to the Local Market. During the walk, Lavinia gave us a lot of history information about Florence/Tuscan and advices on how to buy fresh ingredients.
The Tuscan Farmhouse has a huge and amazing kitchen where we had the cooking class. We learnt how to make bruschetta, pasta, pizza, desserts, among others. Of course, we had some typical wine Chianti while we were cooking.
We had an excellent time there and we really recommend this cooking class!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The day was raining off and on and that was the downside. The upside made you forget the rain. Whenever we needed to be outdoors pizza making the rain stopped and the sun shined for all of us. Martina was our guide for the walking part of this tour and she was charming, knowledgeable, and very attractive in her farm girl style. She treated us to a coffee of choice at one of the oldest coffee shops in Florence and then took us to the historical Florence food market before we moved on to the Farmhouse and Carmella, our wonderful and gracious chef and teacher. We made Bruschetta, Pasta, Ragu meat sauce, pizza and Roast Pork with roasted potato's followed by Tiramisu and Gelato phew!. And the wine kept flowing except for the pizza...you must drink beer with pizza, not wine. Martina and Lavi she was the tour guide for the other group and just as informative and gracious...yes, attractive too gents assisted Carmella throughout the day. There are no words to describe Carmella. She spoke ZERO English but communicated with us with love and food. Martina and Lavi interpreted for Carmella but most of the time it wasn't necessary since she had a way with a simple gesture or a look to tell us what we needed to do. Overall it was an experience everyone should take at least once in your life. If you are in Florence and don't take this tour you are cheating yourself. The tour is well worth the price and you are paid back in food, wine, and a great experience. Thank you Martina, Lavi, and most of all Carmella for memories that will stay with my wife Joyce and me for the rest of our lives.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We can't speak highly enough about this tour! The entire day was fabulous, starting with Antonella's walking tour through Florence. Her knowledge about the history of Florence was a welcome addition to our tour of the market. She was sweet, engaging, and made the entire day an experience we'll never forget! The Walkabout Estate was breathtaking- the perfect backdrop for our day of cooking. Carmella, the chef, was a doll. Her energy was fantastic, and she kept us laughing all day long! The food- what can we say? Simply incredible. Every course was absolutely delicious, and we were so excited to learn to make each one. This day was the most memorable part of our week in Tuscany, and we are so glad we decided to take part. Don't skip this experience!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful class in a beautiful setting. The information does not say there is a great walking tour before in Florence . The trip to Mercator centrale is very special. I have taken many classes in Italy and this was a great value good hands on and Gloria, Molly and Carmilia are fantastic!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour! The walk to the market and local coffee shop was awesomethe day at the farmhouse was wonderful. Plenty of food and drinks and the best company. Met a lot of great people and we loved our tour guide Lavinia. The hostess and owner of the kitchen Carmella and her staff were fabulous! So great, very energetic and fun! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great day!! Our tour guide Lavi was wonderful as we walked along the streets of Florence, pointing out sights and then visiting the markets to purchase the food. When we arrived at the Tuscan kitchen and met Carmella, it was so beautiful and fun! I learned a lot and enjoyed every second of it. Thank you!! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a wonderful time in this cooking class. We started in the city center and thoroughly enjoyed the market tours while shopping for our foods ingredients. Our guide, Olivia, was fantastic. I LOVED the Tuscan house we spent the day cooking in, and Carmela was wonderful. We made dishes we never though we were capable of making! Olivia and Antonella were amazing guides and we would recommend this class to everyone!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was outstanding. In addition to the cooking portion, we received a guided walking tour on the way to the market where we learned about some of the history of Florence and the impact of food and wine. We cooked pizza, pasta, Bolognese sauce, bruschetta, meat, potatoes, gelate and tiramisu. The beer and wine was poured generously and we left stuffed. This is a full day 9:30 to 6:30. If I could take only one tour, this would be my pick.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Not sure why it's called a cooking class with a local market tour. It was so much more than that. From the moment I met Carmela, Olivia and the rest of the staff, I know I was going to be in for something special. Olivia, our tour guide and translator spoke perfect English and gave a really great walking tour. From the short pit stop at the cafe to taking a tour of the local market, I would have been satisfied with that alone. We were shuttled up the hills of Florence to the most picturesque farmhouse. The kitchen alone was to die for. Then we met Chef Carmela. She didn't speak English, but it didn't matter. She was so much fun!!!! And I learned a great deal from her. Nice touch when her staff served all of the food we made in a nice, fancy setting. I made almost every dish we learned at home. Came out perfect! The group I took the class with were great! I highly recommend anyone visiting Florence to take this class. Even if you don't cook! Best cooking experience I have had!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Not far from the city. Fantastic experience! Learned how to prepare fresh pasta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu, brochettasp. This was the best ever. I would highly recommend this tour. Walk about tours are the best and are tour guides We'll never forget Lovi was are guide. We started with the walking tour. Fresh veggies picked up at the local market, than fresh coffee and dolce break, than the fresh cheese picked up with samples of course, than the fresh meat from the butcher all from the local market. than onto the bus to the villa. Are chef/cook was the most wonderful Italian women.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our once in a lifetime cooking to class in the hills of Tuscany. We walked through the streets of exciting Florence, visiting several markets to gather our fresh ingredients to make our lunch pizza and a hugh several course dinner. We than boarded a very comfortable van to ride to Tuscan hills. They have a beautiful setup to cook and eat our meal in the heart of Tuscany. Our guide was wonderful and it was definetly worth they money!!! Thank you Walk About tours! .

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A must-do! This was a standout for my husband and me on our recent visit to Florence. We cannot praise our tour guide highly enough for her passion, charm and warmth. We learnt so much about Italian food traditions we now feel like experts. Never again will we order a cappuccino after 10am! The walking component of the tour, and visit to the markets, was fascinating but the real highlight was meeting our teacher Carmelo at the beautiful Tuscan farmhouse and getting stuck into making our own pasta.The resulting meal was superb and one we will always remember. A great day and one which has brought a new dimension to our love of Italian food. Thanks!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Eliza, our tour guide and Carmella, the chef were fantastic! This tour was the best part of our trip to Florence. The walking tour was very educational, as was the coffee break and the market visit. It's amazing that the countryside is only 15-20 mins from downtown. Eliza is on so lovely and Carmella is so funny. We made a lot of food and we were stuffed! We started with bruschetta, then learned and made our own homemade pasta and bolognese sauce. Then we learned how to make pizza and made individual ones with pre-made dough since you have to let the dough rise. We also made roast pork, potatoes, gelato and tiramisu! I am stuffed just thinking about it all over again. You must book! You WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day starting with a tour around the markets of Florence and the history behind the delivery of food and wine to houses in the 1800s. The cooking class out at the farm was well worth the money - very clear explainations and a lot of fun as well. I have since made the pasta from memory (recipes are sent out to you after completing the tour) and after errors on the 1st batch, produced a more eatable batch. We left the day very full, and happy. Strongly recommended!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! My boyfriend and I holidayed in Italy for New Years and booked this tour for the end of our trip! We had an amazing time picking out our food at the local market and cooking with our adorable cook Carmella! The food was incredible, and the atmosphere cannot be bought! Do this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Forrest
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

THIS IS A MUST BOOK TOUR! My girlfriend and I took a four day break in Early December, and when we booked this tour there were less than 50 reviews, to our amazement all five star- now we know why! The lovely Mara was our guide for the day, so friendly and extremely passionate about the food and history of such in Florence and its fine buildings. Her walkabout with us was very informative whilst gathering fresh produce from the local markets for us to use that day. After a welcome coffee break we took to a minibus for a 15 min journey to the farmhouse in the hills with lovely views of the city, especially at night on the return (Winter months). The purpose built kitchen, diner and surroundings is any chef's dream and as most of the day is spent here they have certainly got the atmosphere spot on. Our group size was eleven and we had so much fun together all shared by Mara and our chef Camella who were just brilliant. We ate everything we cooked during the day, (so keep breakfast to a minimum) and the wine and beer were part of the deal as were the apron we had worn and the cookery book presented on departure. How they do it for this price is beyond me, we both agreed we would have happily paid double and not felt cheated. MARA and CAMELLA are so passionate about what they do and are an absolute credit to their employers, WALKABOUT. We had a fantastic day and if you get a good group you can't fail to enjoy it, you may even leave feeling sufficiently inspired to build a Pizza oven in your own garden!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

On our last visit to Florence we decided to experience the Tuscan Farmhouse cooking class and local market tour. This was one of the best organized events, catering to a small group that I have ever experienced. You might think that taking a day to spend on this tour is a lot of time but let me tell you it goes by way too fast. At the end of the day you are wanting more. You first start out by meeting your tour guide and the other guests in what is generally a small group of persons (our group was 6). Elisa, our tour guide, could not have been more interested in making each and every person feel as if she was your personal tour guide. We first walked about Florence and Elisa pointed out some historic building, churches, streets, traditions and tragedies. This was happening all the while we were enroute to visiting a few local markets including a stop at the central market to pick up the ingredients we would be using in our cooking class. Before I forget, what is a morning in Italy without coffee "Italian Style"? So while traversing the city streets Elisa introduced us to a very nice local pastry and coffee shop. But what's most important about this stop is that in order to blend in Elisa taught us the secrets of drinking coffee "Italian Style" (take the tour to learn). After a nice walkabout the city we jumped into two taxis and headed out of the city walls and up the hill to the Farmhouse. We walked through the gates and came upon a wonderful view overlooking the city of Florence through a notch in the olive trees adorning the property. Now as you move further onto the property you start to smell the smoke of the wood burning pizza oven. We next met our two celebrated chef's (another secret) who embraced you like you were their long lost Italian brother or sister. Out of space but the kitchen is wonderful; we cooked, Bruschetta, homemade pasta, Ragu Meat Sauce, Pizza (so much fun), Roast Pork, Patata al rosamarino, Tiramisu and Florentine Gelato. Great

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

When all the other reviewers said that this was the highlight of their trip in Italy, they weren't kidding! I spent 10 days in Italy, 3 days in Florence and this was definitely the best activity I did. Lavinia was a great tour guide with excellent spoken English, very friendly and knowledgeable about the local culture and cuisine. We went through the markets where she explained what are some of the highlights and must-trys of Florentine food. The farm house was beautiful (my dream kitchen) and we had so much fun with the chef despite her not being able to speak English nor us, Italian. Lavinia was a superb translator and we managed really well. We made pasta from scratch, pizza in a wood-fired oven, roast pork, gelato and tiramisu! It's all very hands-on so you'll definitely learn how all the ingredients come together. Be sure to eat very little for breakfast as you'll be munching non-stop throughout the tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was by far the highlight of the Florence portion of our trip. What made it special? The people (both the leaders and the attendees), the atmosphere, the surprise of what we learned on the walk to the market, and the food.. just overally a really fun day that we would all (there were 8 of us) highly recommend

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From beginning to end this experience was the high point of our trip. Our tour guide met us right on time, we walked through the streets of Florence and she told us some interesting facts about Florence itself as well as even pointing out a building where Michaelangelo lived at one time. We stopped at a bakery to pick up the bread for the bruschetta and sat there for a bit to also enjoy an espresso. Next we stopped and bought some fresh tomatoes and basil for the bruschetta and the potatoes. Then on to the meat market for the beef for our bolognese sauce as well as the roast pork. We also bought the fresh mozzarella for our pizza. Upon arrival where our class was to take place the setting looked like something out of a picture book. Our chef along with the help of our tour guide/ translator got us going on our cooking. We were all having so much fun drinking chianti, making home made pasta, sauce, bruschetta, roast pork, potatoes, pizza, gelato and tiramisu. Once all the food was prepared we sat down and enjoyed the marvelous food and wonderful company. I should also mention that the kitchen had all the modern conveniences as well as a view looking over the rolling hills. The dining room where we ate was a beautiful glassed in room again looking out ate the gorgeous view. I seriously can say that everything was done perfectly and I would not have changed a thing!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing and fun! My wife, I, and two adult daughters had the privilege of experiencing the cooking class and tour during our visit in November 2014. Lavinia is superb as the overall tour guide and interpreter, speaking in English for our group of native speaking English folks. The tour in Florence was unique and interesting as well as the market encounter where we purchased our cooking supplies for the day's adventure. Arriving at the Farmhouse we were greeted by the ever attentive staff and our Master Chef Carmela, who speaking only Italian, guided us through the most entertaining and informative cooking endeavor that we have ever encountered. Our group of 14 was engaged and we laughed all day .. Meeting several friends that we now stay in touch with.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was the highlight of our time in Florence! The tour guide was informative and charming as she took us around town to the markets. The location in the Tuscan hills was gorgeous, with wood fired outdoor pizza oven, large marble cooking surfaces to play on and glass walled dining room over looking the hills outside Florence. We learned to make a full Italian meal, (too much food) all while enjoying wine and each others company. We made bruschetta appetizer, small pizza, pasta noodles and meat sauce, pork roast and potatoes, and gelato and tiramisu for dessert. My daughter and I had a wonderful time and would love to go back!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I recommend not leaving Italy without doing this tour. Whether you are a regular cook or not at all, it is a lot of fun and recipes are relatively easy to do. I appreciated the market tour in the morning and the history lessons along the way. I enjoyed going to the markets as part of the experience.
The setting and kitchen in the Tuscan countryside was wonderful and unique.
I had so much fun and the food we made was outstanding. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Olivia was awesome. We started off buying ingredients at the market. When we arrived at the beautiful Tusacan farmhouse I knew it was going to be an amazing day! What a great kitchen to work in! The food we made was delicious and had a great time with our Chef and group.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message