Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely the highlight of our two weeks in Italy! Livinia was our tour guide and she was amazing - so friendly and knowledgable, an absolute delight to spend the day with. Carmela, our chef, spoke no English but it didn't matter a bit. We had a so much fun and ate like pros. In seven very short hours we toured the market, bought the ingredients for our menu, made bruschetta, bolognese sauce, homemade pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato - and not to mention, drank more than our fair share of chianti. A fantastic day with the nicest people you could meet. I can't recommend this tour more highly!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I agreed that this tour was the highlight of our trip to Florence. Molly, our guide, gave us an interesting walking tour to the fascinating Central Market. Chef Carmela is a dear, and the other guide, Antonella, was also informative. We are definitely going to try homemade pasta again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't say enough about this cooking class. Wife and I really enjoyed the whole experience from selecting the ingredients at the Central Market to preparing all the different courses under the watchful eye of Carmela, our cooking class chef. Molly, our tour guide was exceptional. She gave us a great walking tour of Florence on the way to the Central Market and did a great job translating Italian to English during Carmela's cooking instructions. All in all a great day and time well spent.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class was the highlight of our 3 week Italian vacation. We were promptly met by our guide Gloria and as the group got together we started the day by walking through the street of Firenze stopping to buy tomatoes at a vegetable market. Gloria explained the differences in tomatoes and their uses - very interesting. Then stopped at a bakery/coffee shop to purchase the ciabatta for the bruschetta, as well as enjoying our morning cappucino. Then walked to the 'Mercato Centrale' where we picked up cheese for the pizza beef for the ragu, and the pork roast. Again, Gloria was a wealth of information as we went from stall to stall. She was an awesome tour guide! Then caught a bus to take us into the countryside where we were to prepare our meal. Met Carmella, our host, who had the most bubbly of personalities. We started by each making the bruschetta which we thoroughly enjoyed, followed by making pasta all by hand. It was so much fun, that we will never buy packaged pasta again. We also helped making the ragu sauce which would be served later on with the pasta. Next came the pizza where each of us pressed out the dough, selected our toppings before putting the pizza in an authentic wood fired oven again another great experience.I forgot to mention that while we were cooking, we enjoyed our Chianti, while others could have beer. The pork roast and roasted potatoes were prepped and put in the oven and while we waited for that to cook, we made tiramisu and gelato from scratch. Finally the meal was ready and we all sat down to enjoy the feast that we prepared. DELICIOUS!!!! Even if we say so ourselves. Both Carmella and Gloria were awesome, can't thank them enough for this exceptional experience. If you are able to participate in one tour while in Firenze - this is the one!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I went on the Walkabout Florence cooking class and had a great time. Two guides split the total group of 25 and took us on a walk through Florence stopping to get an espresso, pick up some meat and produce at the markets, and get to the bus stop. Our guide Molly was fun and engaging and we were grateful for her knowledge of the city and funny British accent.
The cooking class was a good mix of hands on and observation. The facility was nice and well set up for the class. We learned how to cook a variety of foods and sat down for a great dinner afterwards. The value of the class was very good. I couldn't eat another thing after pizza, bruschetta, pasta, beer, wine, gelato, tiramisu... I highly recommend this class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. I can't say enough about our guide Lavi. She was wonderful! We had a great time shopping at the market and then learning to cook Italian with Carmela. This was my favorite tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My partner and I took this tour on May 27, 2015. We started the day with our tour guide, Martina, who was wonderful, personable and full of great facts about the city of Florence. Martina took us to local business and the central market to purchase some fresh ingredients for cooking later in the day, while also teaching us about some of the historical highlights of the city. We then joined the other tour group and headed to the farmhouse that overlooked Florence, which was just beautiful on a sunny day. Carmella was the chef teaching us the basics for putting together all of the delicious dishes. Carmella spoke no english, but was vibrant and full of energy, language was no barrier since Sandra and Martina interpreted for us the entire day. All three ladies were such a pleasure to listen to and watch as they taught us how to make a variety of dishes from bruschetta, pizza, tagliatelle with bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. There was so much food and wine! We were stuffed by the end of the day, that we couldn't even go out for dinner later in the evening. They gave us a certificate as well as a cookbook with traditional Tuscan recipes. Overall it was a glorious day and a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I checked out a few classes before deciding on this one and picked it because of the glowing reviews. I am so glad I did because the reviews were so right the class was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.
We had the best time with our guides Gloria and Molly and Chef Carmen. First, we met in the morning and Gloria took us on a walking tour of the markets while we shopped for the ingredients, all the while she shared little tidbits of interesting stories about the history of Florence and Tuscany. Then we bused to a nearby picturesque farmhouse where we spent the rest of the day having fun, cooking, laughing, drinking wine and totally enjoying ourselves. The cooking class was hands on, friendly, well paced, not intimidating, and the food was delicious. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was a nice change of pace from visiting museums, ruins, and churches. I highly recommend taking this class we had a wonderful time and would do it again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous day, Lavinia was excellent, organised , funny but knowledgable. The walking tour around Florence markets was informative, she got to know everyone in the group. Once we got to the farm to cook, the venue and facilities were outstanding. Everyone was included, and we cooked and drank all afternoon. Camilla and Lavinia ensured the cooking was organised and everyone had success. We all sat down to eat and by the end of the day we all became great friends. It was a highlight of our trip t Florence. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!!!!

We started off with a mini tour and history lesson on the food of Florence. Our tour guide, Antonella, was hilarious, engaging, warm and welcoming. Loved her!

After stopping by several markets to pick up groceries, we went onto the bus for our ride to the farm. Oh, the farm... Absolutely breathtaking! I wish I could take it back to New York with me. There is a modern kitchen and dining room covered in glass windows that overlooked the acres of beautiful green hills as far as the eye can see.

The chef/cook teaching the class was an enthusiastic, boisterous, and hilarious Italian lady who's husband used to own the farm. She decided to sell it to the tour company in exchange that she be allowed to work in the kitchen whenever she wanted. Good deal!

We made bruschetta, tiramisu, pizza, gelato, pasta, bolognese sauce, roasted pork and potatoes. Really hands on class where you have to roll your own pizza and pasta doughs and make your own tiramisu. Other times, it was relaxing, where you just watched several volunteers do all the chopping, cutting, and mixing. No worries about being bored though! There was plenty of red wine and beer flowing. If you're not a drinker, you could just watch the chef dance and sing happy Italian songs.

After you stuff your face with all the food, they send you off with a cookbook, apron and certificate. Then it's nap time on the bus...

Definitely do this if you're in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you miss this moment in time you are cheating yourself out of an incredible life lasting memory. Our guide Molly was wonderful. Toured us around Florence markets sharing her knowledge of the area. We took a bus to the Farmhouse. We met our Hostess Ms. Carmela. She is a beautiful spunky little italian lady that you can't help but fall in love with. She has a beautiful home up in the hills above Florence and is quite proud of what she has created with the help of Viator. We learned to cook many things throughout the day. We shared in making Bruschetta, Pasta, Pizza, Pasta Sauce, a pork chop dinner w/roasted potatoes, Tiramasu, and Gelato. Also kept the wine and beer flowing which helped to relax and take in this very special moment. The cost is nothing compared to the experience. Treat yourself and you won't regret it.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a lovely day with our guides Gloria and Molly and Chef Carmen. The entire experience was unforgettable....from the walking tour/history lesson of Florence to the market shopping for ingredients to cooking in the most picturesque farm house. It was all such a spectacular experience. And of course, the food was delicious. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We absolutely loved this Cooking Tour in Florence!! So well done and such an amazing value. All of the people involved were so loving and genuine. So amazing going to the markets, hands-on cooking and delicious eating. Magnificent setting to just hang-out. It was a highlight of our trip. Superb!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had an amazing day with this Walkabout Florence tour. Our day started with our guide Molly and what we thought would be a simple market tour turned out to be a much longer-than-expected walking tour through quite a bit of historical/old city center Florence. Molly's art background also helped in that we got so much historical information and context on the sights we were seeing - it really helped us enjoy Florence so much during the days we spent there afterward. The cooking class was fantastic - everyone had fun, and together both Molly and Lavinia really pepped up the experience. The day really far exceeded our original expectations.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is absolutely the BEST tour in Florence. So Italian!! A great walk through the city with stops at interesting markets and a great Cafe for coffee that we went back to on subsequent days. Lavinia, our guide, was wonderful and there are no words to describe our chef Carmella!! A relaxed day of cooking and eating in the most beautiful setting! Wish I could have taken the stove back to the US with me!!! I will be making these meals again!! Everyone should take this tour!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is truly a fabulous tour! The initial walking/shopping tour including the Central Market to purchase the ingredients for your meal is made even better with a stop at a lovely bakery where you are treated to a delicious coffee. From there, you are taken to the fabulous country kitchen where your Florentine chef we had the pleasure of cooking with the wonderful Carmella teaches you how to prepare a delicious multi-course meal, all the while sipping wonderful Tuscan wine! You will also make your own pizza cooked in the wood fired oven and enjoy an Italian beer on the stone patio that boasts stunning views of the countryside. Everyone gets to participate and become acquainted in a wonderful, relaxing setting. Our guides, Lavinia and Marti, were terrific - both knowledgable and entertaining. The day is long but full of laughter and wonderful experiences and you won't want it to come to an end. If you wish for a very special memory to look back on your trip to Florence, choose this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing tour! It exceeded our expectations by far!! My father, mother, and myself did this tour together and we all loved it equally. If you don't do this tour while you are in Florence you are making a mistake! I am just going to copy and paste our blog we did while traveling, it sums up the experience well...


Fun, informative, relaxing, delightful and delicious day in Florence. We met our Walkabout tour guide Martina at 9:45am. We were not expecting the amazing walking tour that she took us on for the next two hours! We thought we would stop at a few shops for ingredients and then start cooking. Instead we were given an amazingly informative and intimate semi-private tour by a Florentine who was both knowledgeable and personable. We were shown interesting historical landmarks along with stories and details about Florence and its people. Along the way we were treated to a cup of coffee in an old world bakery where we also bought our bread for our bruschetta recipe. We stopped at a local fresh fruits and vegetables market and were given a description of some vegetables and how to cook and eat them. After the walking tour we were driven by a small charter bus to an estate just outside the city. The cooking and dining facility were very modern and set on a beautiful hill overlooking a valley and Tuscan hills beyond.
We spent the next six hours cooking, eating and drinking. We made bruschetta, homemade ragu, pasta from scratch, potatoes and pork loin which we had bought fresh from the meat market, pizza, gelato and tiramisu. We had a great time getting to know our fellow tour group members and eating and drinking Chianti, beer and water our way through an entire afternoon! We were driven to Piazzale Michelangelo which overlooks the city from across the river. It is amazing view of the entire city. Wonderful end to a wonderful day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the best tours i ever took. Guides were terrific and gave a great tour of the market and Florence. The cooking part as great.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

OUTSTANDING! This tour HAS to be the best bang for your buck. It lasts from 9:30am to around 5pm and includes so much! The tour is amazing, the food is delicious and view at the farmhouse is like a dream. It started when Gloria took us on a walking tour through the streets of Florence before arriving at the Central Market. Gloria is delightful, knowledgeable and beautiful. Then we joined Antionella's group and took a quick 20 minute ride to Walkabout Estates Farmhouse. It is not really a farmhouse, but rather a customized commercial kitchen and an eating area with a breath taking view. It reminded me of something you would see in a movie. Although Carmella speaks very limited English she surely is an excellent communicator: she speaks though the universal language of joy and food! We learned how to make: sauce, pasta, pork and potatoes, pizza and 2 desserts. And of course, we had a pleasure of eating it all while overlooking the Florence hills. The wine was following and meeting others from around the world who were also on this tour was excellent as well. My husband who is a chef learned a few new tricks, yet those with no cooking experience will have a ball as well. It is an entire day of cooking, drinking, dancing, laughter and fun. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

There are no words to summarize the great experience of cooking class. That day designed by professional and was the highlight of our trip to Tuscany. Lavinia our guide was amazing! Carmela was so nice, funny, singing and it was her birthday! We were a group of 24 people from around the world, the morning tour was very interesting going in Florence on the way to the market while Lavinia explains with lots of patient about everything. The farm is 10 minutes from Florence and there is a bus that wait for you at the end of the market and take the group. The farm is amazing, best equipment, VERY CLEAN and we used best materials. The Pizza oven and team that made the Pizza with us was very professional. Bottom line if you go to Tuscany don't miss that cooking class. All was perfect !!!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful time in this tour/class. The teacher Carmela is a very enthusiastic Italian homemaker and the guide Lavinia is a friendly girl.
The tour started with an amazing walk in Florence to buy some ingredients that we needed. We went to the bakery and to the Local Market. During the walk, Lavinia gave us a lot of history information about Florence/Tuscan and advices on how to buy fresh ingredients.
The Tuscan Farmhouse has a huge and amazing kitchen where we had the cooking class. We learnt how to make bruschetta, pasta, pizza, desserts, among others. Of course, we had some typical wine Chianti while we were cooking.
We had an excellent time there and we really recommend this cooking class!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The day was raining off and on and that was the downside. The upside made you forget the rain. Whenever we needed to be outdoors pizza making the rain stopped and the sun shined for all of us. Martina was our guide for the walking part of this tour and she was charming, knowledgeable, and very attractive in her farm girl style. She treated us to a coffee of choice at one of the oldest coffee shops in Florence and then took us to the historical Florence food market before we moved on to the Farmhouse and Carmella, our wonderful and gracious chef and teacher. We made Bruschetta, Pasta, Ragu meat sauce, pizza and Roast Pork with roasted potato's followed by Tiramisu and Gelato phew!. And the wine kept flowing except for the pizza...you must drink beer with pizza, not wine. Martina and Lavi she was the tour guide for the other group and just as informative and gracious...yes, attractive too gents assisted Carmella throughout the day. There are no words to describe Carmella. She spoke ZERO English but communicated with us with love and food. Martina and Lavi interpreted for Carmella but most of the time it wasn't necessary since she had a way with a simple gesture or a look to tell us what we needed to do. Overall it was an experience everyone should take at least once in your life. If you are in Florence and don't take this tour you are cheating yourself. The tour is well worth the price and you are paid back in food, wine, and a great experience. Thank you Martina, Lavi, and most of all Carmella for memories that will stay with my wife Joyce and me for the rest of our lives.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We can't speak highly enough about this tour! The entire day was fabulous, starting with Antonella's walking tour through Florence. Her knowledge about the history of Florence was a welcome addition to our tour of the market. She was sweet, engaging, and made the entire day an experience we'll never forget! The Walkabout Estate was breathtaking- the perfect backdrop for our day of cooking. Carmella, the chef, was a doll. Her energy was fantastic, and she kept us laughing all day long! The food- what can we say? Simply incredible. Every course was absolutely delicious, and we were so excited to learn to make each one. This day was the most memorable part of our week in Tuscany, and we are so glad we decided to take part. Don't skip this experience!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful class in a beautiful setting. The information does not say there is a great walking tour before in Florence . The trip to Mercator centrale is very special. I have taken many classes in Italy and this was a great value good hands on and Gloria, Molly and Carmilia are fantastic!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour! The walk to the market and local coffee shop was awesomethe day at the farmhouse was wonderful. Plenty of food and drinks and the best company. Met a lot of great people and we loved our tour guide Lavinia. The hostess and owner of the kitchen Carmella and her staff were fabulous! So great, very energetic and fun! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message