Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was the highlight of our time in Florence! The tour guide was informative and charming as she took us around town to the markets. The location in the Tuscan hills was gorgeous, with wood fired outdoor pizza oven, large marble cooking surfaces to play on and glass walled dining room over looking the hills outside Florence. We learned to make a full Italian meal, (too much food) all while enjoying wine and each others company. We made bruschetta appetizer, small pizza, pasta noodles and meat sauce, pork roast and potatoes, and gelato and tiramisu for dessert. My daughter and I had a wonderful time and would love to go back!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I recommend not leaving Italy without doing this tour. Whether you are a regular cook or not at all, it is a lot of fun and recipes are relatively easy to do. I appreciated the market tour in the morning and the history lessons along the way. I enjoyed going to the markets as part of the experience.
The setting and kitchen in the Tuscan countryside was wonderful and unique.
I had so much fun and the food we made was outstanding. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Olivia was awesome. We started off buying ingredients at the market. When we arrived at the beautiful Tusacan farmhouse I knew it was going to be an amazing day! What a great kitchen to work in! The food we made was delicious and had a great time with our Chef and group.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great tour! We had Mara as our guide and Carmela was the cook. We took the tour on a rainy day but Mara was very entertaining and showed us many sites around Italy while making our way to the market and to the farm house. The cooking class was great, very informative, hands on and fun! I'm not a cook at all but enjoy cooking and eating of course and thought this class was a had a great mix of both! Carmela, even though she only speaks Italian, she was very welcoming, fun, and energetic. The farmhouse was beautiful, I wish it didn't rain so we could get a better view of the scenery but it was still fantastic. On our trip to Italy (Rome, Venice, Florence and Milan), this was definitely the best tour and the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This cooking class was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip.

Our guide Olivia took extra time to point out specific landmarks along the way to the market that we would have never found on our own. A special treat at a local bakery along the way was a nice surprise. The shopping at the market was so much fun. The people in our group were the best! We learned new recipes and how to make pasta from scratch and it was easy!! Carmella the chef was so energetic and fun. Carmella spoke only a little English but NOTHING was lost in translation because Olivia helped. They make a great team. We hope to one day do another tour with Olivia.

If you are even remotely thinking of signing up for this class... DO IT! You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If I could give this tour 6 stars, I would. Of a two week European highlights tour, the day we spent with Lavinia and Carmela is still the one my family talks about the most. It was fantastic. The first part of the tour was a walking tour around the markets of Florence where we learned about the ingredients that go into Tuscan cooking and where we picked up ingredients for our meal later in the day.

After we went to a beautiful farmhouse a short drive outside of Florence where we made and ate a fantastic 6 course meal complete with wine and beer. We even picked herbs for our meal in the farmhouse garden. Pasta, ragu, roasted potatoes, tiramisu, gelato, pizza...you name it. Can you say awesome?! Carmela, Carmela's niece, and Lavinia made for great hosts. All of the other tour participants were equally nice. By the end, everyone felt like family. Grazie mille tutti!!

If you can spare a day in Florence, this tour is well worth your while.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My wife Linda and I have traveled around the world and enjoyed many tours. However, this one ranks as one of the most enjoyable we've ever taken. Our guide Olivia was wonderful, informative and gracious. The Chef, Carmela, was an absolute joy. She made us all feel like family and her recipes were delicious. The trip to the market was terrific. The setting for the class, on a hillside in the Florence suburbs, was beautiful. There wasn't a person in our group who had a negative comment.
This is the 5th trip we've booked through Viator and it will not be the last. Good job !!
Only one small issue. We were promised copies of all the recipes and have not yet received them.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a highlight of our stay in Florence. I took this with my friend who I was traveling with and it was a fantastic day. Antonella, who ran the day was very friendly, knowledgeable and added a lot to the experience. Our walk through the market to buy the food to take to the farmhouse was interesting. The farmhouse where we did the cooking was absolutely a beautiful setting. The views were amazing and it was a great kitchen. The chef was a lot of fun even though she spoke no English, Antonella did all of the translating. We had a delicious meal, good wine and a really nice day with a great group of people. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fabulous time with Mara on this tour. Visiting the large market, stopping for a macchiato and talking about food was a great start. The location and facilities for the cooking class are first class! We made 7 or 8 dishes including fire oven pizza, handmade pasta and gelato. Our instructor, Camilla, was great. I could not expect more from this wonderful day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you're looking for a great Italian cooking class, look no further! I would have done this cooking class everyday while I was in Florence if I could have. It was that good! Starting off with our friendly and informative tour guide, Lavinia, you get a short tour through Florence on the way to the local markets. There's also a quick stop at a coffeehouse (the best coffee you'll ever taste!) and a local wine shop for a tasting (all included) before you head to the beautiful farmhouse with your fresh ingredients. You get to pick fresh vegetables and herbs from the garden and then meet Carmela, our host and teacher for the day. She doesn't speak any English (which isn't a problem) but she makes up for it with her great cooking skills and warm personality. Each dish you create is fun and easy, plus you get to drink wine all the while. Cooking the pizza in the woodfired oven was one of my favourite things. After you cook all your dishes you get to sit down altogether, drink some more wine and eat all your fresh and delicious food from the day. This is GREAT value for money, and you get a recipe book and apron to keep. A MUST DO!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour. Mara and Carmela were wonderful. This was the best part of our trip to Italy. The whole experience was great. We loved the tour of Florence, and all the food connections. Shopping the local markets was fun. The Tuscan farm house was amazing, and the view breathtaking. The food was the best. Fun to prepare and delicious to eat. We enjoyed getting to know the others on our tour. Mara was just so much fun. A truly engaging individual. We have great pictures of her laughing. They make us smile every time we look at them. I would recommend this tour to every one. Ciao!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day with our tour guide (Mara) and our instructor, Camilla, the lovely Italian lady at the farmhouse. We absolutely learned a lot (and plan to make homemade pasta when we get home!), and had a lovely time with the group. It was the highlight of our trip to Florence -- my husband and I both attended and I would HIGHLY recommend it. The setting is lovely, wonderful views, and we started off the day with a fun trip to the Central Market, took a short ride in a comfortable van to the farmhouse just outside Florence. We made pizza with all fresh ingredients, pasta from scratch with a wonderful sauce, a wonderful pork roast we bought fresh at the market, and homemade gelato and tiramisu! We drank wine, we cooked, we sang and felt like old friends by the time the day was done. Please do this if you have time, so much to enjoy!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Our tour guide Livinia took us on a short historical tour of Florence on our way to the market. We boarded Avery nice bus that took us to hills overlooking Florence. The kitchen was modern (I wish I had it at home) the Italian chef was wonderful as well as the food we cooked.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great fun! And well worth the cost. We started our day going to market and exploring some of the streets of Florence. We stopped for a cafe and then headed to the outskirts of the city picked up by a small bus to a local estate where we met our chef. Her beautiful kitchen with views of the hillside also sported an organic garden and outdoor pizza oven.

We proceeded to make a meat sauce (ragu), tagliatelle and roast pork and potatoes. We then started working on dessert: tiramisu and gelato. While waiting for the meal to cook, we enjoyed bruschetta we made and pizza as we met our professional pizza chef. After toasting some local wine and trying italian beer, we sat down with our newly discovered friends and enjoyed the feast. It was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was so much more than we expected! Loved the walking tour on the way to the Central Market...very informative...gave us a different perspective of Florence. Loved, loved loved the kitchen in the Tuscan hills... None of us wanted to leave. The cooking class was so much fun and the food was fabulous...this is a must do tour!!!!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message