Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day, encompassing so much it felt like several different tours. Travelling with my two older teens, this was one of our favourite days on the entire trip. On top of the welcoming and friendly staff, this was such an exceptional value. I knew what was to be included per the write up but the actuality of it all far surpassed my expectations - the estate, gardens and kitchen so much more beautiful, the tour more informative, market shopping more inclusive, more hands-on prep, and so much food we could not eat another bite. But the real value here are the stars -Martina, Antonella and Carmella! Such a young and vibrant team, so interested in everyone which made us all feel part of a Tuscan family for the day. i am sure any tour by this young and energetic company, specifically this one, would not disappoint anyone.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had such a great experience. The gentleman, Filippo, who booked the tour for me by phone was very helpful providing advise on where to park. Our guide Gloria was fantastic. We learned a lot about the history of Florence during the market tour. And a quick drive to the beautiful location where we dawned our aprons and got to work learning about the food of Tuscany. We made pasta and pizza and so much more!! Carmella the chef was wonderful. Our tour guides from Walkabout did a fantastic job. Thank you.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and Florence was our first of three stops. This experience was probably the highlight of our entire trip in Europe. Our tour guide Martina was absolutely lovely! She brought us through the nooks and crannies of Florence showing us many highlights and telling us about the history of the city while we shopped for fresh ingredients and sipped on coffee. Her knowledge and friendly persona definitely helped us to appreciate the culture even more. After our walking tour through the city and marketplace, we were brought by bus to an absolutely beautiful private estate where we met our charismatic and wonderful chef, Carmela. Through singing and laughter, we learned to make and cook many authentic and delicious Italian food. We absolutely had a blast cooking with Carmela and her team!! The food we made ALL 8 DISHES!!!! and endless supply of Chianti wine was phenomenal! Make sure you come with an appetite!! Thank you, Martina, for making this experience so memorable!! :

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fabulous cooking class with Chef Carmella. Carmella does not speak much english, but the two tour guides with us Molly and her associate did all the interpreting necessary. The tour included much more touring of the sites of Florence before heading tot he farmhouse than we anticipated, but the guides were very knowledgeable. We stopped to pick up ingredients at a produce stand, had coffee and picked up bread from a coffee house, and went to the market for cheese and meats. We learned how to make bruschetta, homemade pasta that we rolled out and cut ourselves, pizza that was cooked in an outside pizza oven, pork and potatoes along with the best tiramisu I have ever eaten and home made gelato. My only negative about this tour was that we did it in August and it was hot and there were lots of mosquitoes. This is a tour not to miss!! Our guide Molly was fabulous!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Learning to cook in Tuscany.....WOW!!! what an experience. This tour is a must do if travelling to Florence, the Walkabout group tours are very well thought out and cannot fault any aspect of the tours and would recommend everyone take a Walkabout tour wherever they are as these guys really know what the traveller wants.
Our wonderful cooking experience started out in the Walkabout office that in itself set the tone for the rest of the day as the staff were sooo welcoming and friendly. We then took off for a walking tour of Florence to the Mercato to buy our ingredients for our cookings class. Martina our tour guide was beautiful, friendly, engaging, inclusive and so knowledgeable and patient. It was wonderful to walk through the streets and get an insight into what we were actually looking at, we found for us it brought the city alive, thankyou Martina your story telling left us in awe. The cooking class itself well what can I say....the best and most fun experience...Carmela the chef was the quintessential Italian cook, so much fun and laughter as well as learning could not have asked for a better day, the villa was superb, our tour group were all very friendly and that I believe is due to Martina who ensured everyone interacted and was introduced. Thank you Martina you were amazing as was your colleague on the day and Carmela was beautiful and fun and we will not forget our cooking experience thank you for making it so memorable. Thank you to Walkabout for being such a great tour company.
Sina, Grace and Shirley Australia

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing day with Molly and Gloria our guides who accompanied us for our walking tour through the city, shopping at the local shops and market and translated for our wonderful chef Carmela!!
The city walk was very informative, the Farmhouse beautiful, and the food delicious. Everyone made their own pasta, pizza, bruschetta and more. At the end we all sat together and enjoyed a delicious meal...
A really unforgettable experience also due to the recipes, cookbook and aprons we got yo keep -.
Thanks again!!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WALKABOUT provides a great cooking class and visit to local market...one of the best tours we have ever taken!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our whole family had a very nice time here with Molly and Carmela and our other guide sorry missed your name :- The food was all very nice and my favorite the pizza oven was a real blast. The market trip was fun.
I thought it was great they accommodated the vegetarians and the non drinkers very nicely. Its a full day and well worth it. We have done some other cooking classes that were not up to par but this one had everything just right with clean aprons and plenty of wine and water for all. Highly recommend and do go there hungry and ready to get some good photos of the beautiful country and olive trees.
Grazie Mille!!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From start to finish, this tour was phenomenal! We started the day meeting our wonderful guide, Lavinia, at their central location which happened to be a garage with cute 1960s vintage Fiats. Lavinia was friendly, funny, and very informative. The tour she gave us through Florence focused not only on the food history but also Florence's general history as well. The information she provided at the local market as well as the large central market was amazing. She gave us the best tidbits to find the best authentic food around. We stopped off at a local cafe to pick up amazing tuscan bread for our meal, in addition to learning about how Italians really feel about coffee! Even though we couldn't drink coffee due to the heat, the iced tea was refreshing and delightful! After that, it was a short 20 minute air conditioned bus ride to the Tuscan farm house up in the hills just outside the city where we would meet our cook, Carmela, and truly have one of the most amazing experiences yet.
The cooking class at the Tuscan farm house was outstanding! It was rustic, yet modern, and making pasta overlooking the Tuscan Hills was truly unforgettable. Carmela was funny, caring, and boy does she love to sing! Our meal also included pizza making with a true pizza artist, Arla, who showed us how she makes her pizza aka her babies in the massive wood burning oven that was located outside the farmhouse. Our menu consisted of homemade bruschetta, our personalized pizza, homemade pasta with beef ragu, roast pork with potatoes, homemade gelato and authentic tiramisu so delicious! We made every one of these dishes from scratch...fantastic!! oh yeah the wine was free-flowing!!! Dont be fooled by the four-glasses per person. Some may have had 4 bottles themselves.
All in all, you should definitely book this cooking class!! It was truly phenomenal!!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour of the Florence markets and time in the kitchen of a local home farm in the Tuscany region. Trully was a life dream and we met some lovely people and cooked together. The passion of Gloria in all areas brings the culture ooen to us of some of Florence history and lively markets and warm hearted welcome and singing by owner of home and business Carmelita is genuine. The team of staff were happy and well provided for set up a great atmosphere laced with keen cooks of all abilities and interests. Highly recommended. Blessings upon this business. See you always as the dreams are alive.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the most fun tour of our vacation! We wandered the streets of Florence looking for the perfect cup of coffee and learning about how food played an important part in the history of Italy. Then we got to experience the City Market and found ingredients that would later be transformed into the most wonderful Italian meal. The hands on approach in making those delicious foods and interacting with Carmela and our guides is truly a memorable experience!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First, Sandra took us for a walk by the streets of Florence, explaining some history obout the tuscan cuisine and places. We enjoyed some coffee at a local cafeteria, brought some fruits and meat at local markets and recomend us places to eat typical food. She was great! Then they took us to a beautiful place in the hills of Florence. Had a great time with people from arround the world, cooking, drinking wine and birra. The chef Carmela was wonderful, she was very enthusiastic... she even had us sing! Valeria was also very nice, she speaks english, italian and spanish, she was very outgoing. This experience turned out to be much more fun than I could have imagined.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything about this tour was exceptional! There was a great walking tour of Florence to start out. The guides gave us historical information about the city and we stopped at markets to buy the food we would be cooking. We then took a bus to the house where we would cook. The house and the property were amazing! We made a great variety of food and they were all great! The guides and the cook were also wonderful. I would absolutely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was so special and is not to be missed whether you are a foodie or just enjoy a wonderful meal with great atmosphere, Our guides Gloria and Val were so helpful and filled us with information about the traditions and local foods of Florence. After buying all the needed ingredients in the local markets, we proceeded to a lovely country farm house where we met Carmela. She is quite an amazing person as well as an experienced home grown Italian cook. It is not a cooking show and everyone in the group learned, cooked and drank together. We prepared a delicious meal including Gelato, It was a wonderful time for all. Thank you for the fabulous experience, Regina

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. With just a day to experience Tuscan cooking and landscape, we signed on to let Carmella and Martina show us how it was done. The instruction was great, the food was great and Martina was a bonus with her walking tour of Florence as we went to market with her. All in all, well worth the time and money even if you have more time.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My sister and I absolutely loved this tour. A must for any foodies that want to experience more authenticity in their Italian holiday. Starting the day with a Florence/market tour with Valerie was super valuable and gave lots of historical and cultural background to the city and the ingredients we were sourcing. The Tuscan Farmhouse was an idyllic setting for making fresh pasta, pizza, sipping Chianti wine and so on. Camilla is the most warm and hospitable woman and her passion is shown in all of the food she makes or helps others make. Thank you Camilla, Valerie and Molly. We had an amazing day!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We highly recommend this experience. This trip started off with a very knowledgeable walking tour through the streets of Florence. From small corner fruit stands to large city markets, our guide, Martina, provided a view into the food culture of Florence. And yes, it even included a much needed stop at a local cafe for and espresso or cappuccino.

After the walk, we met up with another small group and we took a short drive out of the city to a local farmhouse where we were introduced to one of the best people we had ever met, the energetic and exuberant, Carmela. There we got our hands dirty, after special instruction from Carmela, as we chopped veggies, sliced bread, kneaded dough and whisked away as we sipped wine and sang with Carmela and the guides.

Now the best part, sitting and enjoying every dish we created by hand as we met new friends and enjoyed the amazing scenery surrounding us. My then fiance and I were treated like family and the staff took every second to congratulate us on our engagement. As advertised, we left with perfect memories and stuffed bellies

About three weeks later, after returning home to the States, we pleasantly received an email from Martina asking about our wedding, which took place in Italy a few days after this tour. The fact she remembered us and took the time to ask meant so much.

We want to thank the staff for creating one of the most memorable portions of our trip.

Carla and Michael Mendez

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

MJ
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this all-day cooking tour and class. Valeria was our primary guide and Martina was the other guide and both assisted and translated for Carmella the Italian chef that shared her joy and passion for Italian cooking with us. They all made it an enjoyable and fun experience. We left promptly at 10am from the Walkabout Office in Florence for which we appreciated the timeliness. We had a 1 1/2 hour walking tour of Florence which included a treat to coffee of our choice, learning some of the history related to food and other relevant info about Florence as well as a trip to the Central Market to purchase the goods to prepare our meal. We met our bus around 12pm to take us to an estate about 20 minutes outside of Florence where there was a beautiful kitchen and gorgeous views. The walk to and from the bus was steep but manageable. All who wanted to participate in the preparation for the bruschetta, ragu for the pasta, pork, tiramisu and gelato were able to. There were 25 of us as individuals who wanted to jump in did. Each of us made our own handmade pasta and pizza which was fun. They did provide me with pasta pomodoro and cheese as a vegetarian option and did provide an option for another person who was a vegan. The cooking class itself was from about 12:30 to 4:30 with a short break to eat the pizza we prepared. We were offered wine and water through out the class and beer with the pizza. We ate our main lunch meal around 4:45pm 16:45 overlooking the beautiful Tuscan hills and left the estate around 5:30pm back to Florence. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an amazing time! Both Lavinia and Carmella were outstanding hostesses! The day started with a trip to the markets, all of which were beautiful. There was plenty of hands on cooking time and the wine and food were amongst the best we had. I would strongly recommend this for anyone looking to spend a great day with talented and fun people. Also, the site - complete with beautiful gardens and scenery and a kitchen that caused me great envy. Loved this and would do it again without hesitation!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Cooking Class and Lunch at the farmhouse was well worth the money. We started with a walking tour of the city, which I didn't expect. It was fun but I would have worn walking shoes. The market and the cooking class was so much fun and I learned a lot! We had a great group, great tour leader, Molly and Carmella, the chef and teacher could not have been nicer or more gracious! A great day! I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a group of three that attended the Tuscan Farmhouse cooking class and local market tour. We really enjoyed the market tour with our guide Molly as well as the great cooking class in which we made fresh pasta, caprese, tiramisu, gelato, and pizza. All the guides and instructors were a pleasure and it was a nice addition to our visit.

One of us accidentally left our camera on the bus and the guides were so helpful in us being able to quickly get it back. I would highly recommend the class!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour and the guides - we had Mollie, are great. I enjoyed the cooking school very much. But beware this is a long day - 10am to 6.30pm and you are on your feet for most of that time. The first two hours were walking through some of Florence sights and the markets which I was not expecting hence had on unsuitable shoes. There is no shortage of food, wine and even some beer. Carmello our chef kept us very entertained even though she did not speak English. Loved her singing as she worked. A fun day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Cathy Q
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and two teens Boy, 13 yrs, girl 18 yrs did the Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse tour. The title does not do the experience justice. We started with a small group 11 people quick walking tour through Florence with our tour guide Molly an absolutely GREAT energetic, friendly, informative tour guide!, with stops to get cappuccino, and go through the market place where we picked up the fresh ingredients for the meal we would make. Then a short bus ride to the farmhouse where we met with the other half of the group and met Carmela, our chef and the Italian grandmother everyone wants. Even though she doesn't speak English, she is so expressive and Molly and Martina did a great job interpreting everything else for us. The language barrier was no barrier at all! Then we spent the rest of the afternoon learning to make the most delicious dishes and snacking along the way with plenty of water, wine and beer. We made bruschetta, pasta and sauce, pizza, a pork roast and potatoes, and finally gelato and tiramisu. All of it from scratch. Everything was amazing, but the pork roast was the absolutely best I've ever tasted. Carmela informed and entertained with song, everyone participated, and even my 13 yr old son had a great time and learned a lot. This ended up being my family's favorite experience of our entire two-week European vacation. Oh, and a word of advice - DON'T make any dinner reservations for that evening, because you will be absolutely stuffed from all the delicious food you ate throughout the day! The bruschetta and pizza serve as an early lunch, and the final foods are served around 4:00 or so, returning to Florence around 6:00.

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Martina and Molly from walkabout.com were FANTASTIC! My sister and I loved the 7 hr day which included a little walking tour of the town Martina was very knowledgeable and funny, a coffee stop, a visit to the market to get our ingredients and a comfortable ride on a private bus to the estate.
The view and kitchen we worked in was AMAZING! We loved Carmella, our chef, she didn't speak much English but she was a lot of fun and it was easy to communicate with her.
People could get involved as much or as little as they wanted except we all made our own pasta with plenty of assistance available for anyone who may have been nervous. The atmosphere was totally relaxed and light-no judgement!
I was absolutely in heaven! The food and staff were excellent. I loved getting the apron, cookbook, certificate and recipes from the day! My sister and I were making some of the things for our family the day after we returned!

LOVED! LOVED! LOVED! Our day with the tour company and their staff-very well organized and FUN!Thanks Martina, you were great!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to Italy! A really fun day, full of food and wine, and really good value too. You start with a market tour, but our guide Molly also gave us a mini historical tour on the way which was a great bonus. This part was great, d a great way to see a more local side of the city. The class itself takes place in the most stunning setting of the Tuscan hills. Carmela the chef was absolutely fantastic and was so passionate about cooking that her lack of english skills didn't matter at all. We had a great group of people, 24 of us but that really wasn't too many, we all bonded really quickly and had great fun together. We learnt so much on the day and i've already used some of the recipes we learnt at home! The class is very relaxing, despite all the cooking that was happening, it was all very hands on and we didn't stop laughing all day. Throughout the day we made and ate loads from bruscetta to pizza, roast pork, pasta, ragu to tiramisu and gelato, this was accompanied by lots of wine and beer and we finished the day with a four course meal of the food we had cooked in a lovely outdoor dining room. I simply cannot recommend this tour highly enough, if you do one thing in Florence it should be this!

Doing what: Best Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message