Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo dell'Opera del Duomo

Despite the name, Florence’s Museo dell’Opera del Duomo has nothing to do with opera music - “opera” also being the Italian word for creative works, in this case the artwork that was once inside the cathedral. The Museo dell’Opera del Duomo is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1369 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour we've done in 9 weeks of holidays! All thanks to our morning guide, Paul Costa! He was very engaging and managed to enthuse everybody about the history, art and religion of Florence. He continually asked us questions about our general knowledge as well as what he'd told us earlier, so we were kept on our toes, but not in a threatening or intimidating way...he even encouraged us to have wild guesses. Paul was not only passionate and very knowledgable but very entertaining as well. Often other toursits would try to join us to listen in on his speil. in such cases he handed them his business card and suggested they hire him at some time in the future -as we had done today. ( We all thought that was clever of him.)
We learnt much about the influence of the Medici family in Florence as we ambled through the streets they one ruled.
We spent 30 mins on Michelangelo's statue of David at the Accademia and every moment was worthwhile. A short visit into the duomo (cover up ladies as no sarongs available to use here) and then some time in the Piazza Vecchio before finishing at the Ponte Vecchio.
We then had a 2hr break before a different guide took us on our afternoon tour of the Uffuzzi Gallery. Lots of tour groups and tourists with Firenze passes were trying to enter at the same time so we didn't get in until at least 230pm (tour started at 2:15). We were given lots of information about different artists and different styles of art, as it evolved through history. We spent extra time on a few worthwhile pieces and went through most of the second floor. At 4:00 Barbara left us to our own devices to explore the first floor-pointing out some ' must see' pieces before she finished. Not quite the two hours scheduled, but probably enough time if you're not an art lover.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved the front of the line experience and the transmitters really helped us to hear the tour guide over the sometimes noisy conditions. Both our morning tour of Accademia with Anise and Angelo was filled with fascinating details. They brought history, art and the artist alive for us.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a beautiful City a must see but I think persons should be advised of how much walking on this tour you have to walk miles to get to Bus many people where complaining but it was wonderful I just think people should be made aware ( I have a bad knee ) and it was wearing ... Judy O'Sullivan

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great combo set of tours ... will keep you occupied for the entire day! Really enjoyed all of them. Our tour guide was outstanding as she had such a great historical as well as artistic perspective. This tour combo a great value for the money if you want to see all the major venues and have the day to spend doing it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best way to see all that Florence has to offer. You can see the major sights in Florence in half a day and skip the very lengthy lines to see the Statue of David and at the Duomo. The tour guide was fantastic explaining the history behind these major accomplishments. He was also great at pointing out and explaining structures all over Florence as we walked through the streets...things I probably never would have seen and enjoyed without this tour. I highly recommend this tour. You will get more than your money's worth on this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing!! We went in July, so skipping the line was wonderful with all the crowds. Our tour guide was so great (sorry I waited so long to review I can't remember her name), but she was so informative and great sense of humor, that she made the tour wonderful!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour changed my life. It might sound like a big statement, but it's hard to see art from the masters without reflecting on life. Michelangelo's David was stunning... hard to believe you're seeing THE David in person. The Uffizi is much larger than I thought it would be and I found myself staying there a good hour after the tour was over. The art from Raphael was my favorite, Botticelli is always a crowd favorite and there was an excellent collection of religious art. Seeing Michelangelo's unfinished pieces, or "the prisoners," was also enlightening as well. To think of what he could have finished...

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both the morning and afternoon tours were very informative and done professionally but also with lots of humor. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Caitlin was an excellent guide, skip the line is the way to go as the crowds get there early. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Transportation from cruise ship to start of tour a squeaker. Great tour of Accademia, time to study "David" and other sculptures, not enough time to see all paintings. Afternoon with new guide to Uffizi-wish I could have spent the afternoon there, but had to hurry out for transportation to ship on time. Better to spend an afternoon or whole day at Uffizi ! As with any tour, buy a VIP skip the line !

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. The guides were fantastic. Just felt bad that our tour was not able to go inside the Duomo because of a holiday. Other than that couldn't ask for anything better.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an excellent day with Francesco who was very knowledgeable about the locations, best times for visit, and location for best views. We discussed and decided the sequence of our tour as he picked us up at the Livorno port and we went to Pisa first because we got lucky with 9:30 AM tower viewing tickets for Pisa while searching the previous night! I totally missed advance booking of the Uffizi gallery.... however, Francesco got us to the gallery and managed to take us into the reservation lines for a 12:30 PM entry, this was a miracle with the crowds we saw outside the gallery. We covered a lot of sights in Florence and also managed to get the to the best Gelato place in Florence before heading back to the ship! It was a well organized private tour with the right amount of flexibility that made this entire experience perfect. Kudos to Francesco!

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message