Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo dell'Opera del Duomo

Despite the name, Florence’s Museo dell’Opera del Duomo has nothing to do with opera music - “opera” also being the Italian word for creative works, in this case the artwork that was once inside the cathedral. The Museo dell’Opera del Duomo is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Great friendly guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Sachin
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I will certainly recommend this tour for all the fitness fanatics. It is certainly not for the weak at heart, but the views from the top of the dome are spectacular. Go for it!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED THIS EXPERIENCE! I've been to the top of the dome before without a tour guide and this was definitely worth every penny. No standing in line AT ALL! Our guide took us to parts of the Cathedral that were off-limits without a security escort including a balcony just below the dome where we saw truly unique views of the architecture and the city. It was a highlight of our trip. My teen daughter enjoyed it as much as I did. REMEMBER to cover your shoulders and knees for the first part of this tour! We had to buy shawls at the last minute.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. We had access to portions of the church that weren't open to the general public. Our guide, Cristina, was wonderful.....friendly, funny, and very knowledgeable. The views of Florence from the dome are breathtaking! Book this tour and request Cristina as your guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was great and very friendly. She climbed up with us to the top of the duomo. With this tour you skip the full 2 hours entrance line. Once inside the cathedral you go to a closed to the public area where you can admire the inside of the duomo. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well informed guide great tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable. Informative guide, great views - and we even got a free ice-cream at the end !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this was a fabulous climb and had great photos-this is the only way to see the duomo as the line to get in was huge! beautiful views, Kristina was a great informative guide. the after event gelato was a real treat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular! We got to go to locations that were very special and not on other tours. The guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting once in a lifetime experience. Maya, our guide, made it thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, Vanessa our guide was most passionate about her beautiful city and went the extra mile to show us restricted areas. The climb is not for the faint hearted ! Overall Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide....well worth it....and to skip the line is a must....

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Astonishing views at the top. The climb was a challenge but worth it. My husband and I are in good shape but still found it difficult.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

On the day we were informed the dome was closed. The guide offered a tour of the tower instead. Our 24-hour ticket allowed us to visit The Dome the following morning ourselves. Tour also included a visit to the Baptistry (amazing). Our Guide was knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic! Fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour to climb the Florence Duomo, led by a knowledgeable young guide, Angelo. The tour ran with just three people, and I was told it will run with only one person, so according to the guide, no minimum number of persons required. I wanted to take a tour to give myself that extra push to climb the dome, and it turned out I was under the weather that day, but Angelo was so sweet and thoughtful in supporting my decision to climb or not climb that day, and then taking some photos of me and other tour members once we reached the top. 85% of the tour involves the climb up and down, with a short intro beforehand, and a good visit to the Baptistery and it's famous doors afterwards. I did not realize there would be no interior tour of the rest of the Cathedral, other than the dome, but that was OK.

One thing I would say is don't climb the dome in summer peak season. The heat and crowds would be awful. Go in Spring or Fall and see Florence when the weather is milder and the crowds are still present, but nothing like in summer.l

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Vanessa, was a local Florentine - full of information, enthusiasm, and pride for her lovely city of Florence. We saved lots of time by having a quick entrance to the Duomo - definitively worthwhile! Lots of stairs and narrow passages, but what a view at the top!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are planning on visiting the Florence Duomo, definetely do this tour! Cannot fault this tour, it was incredible, we had an energetic and interesting guide who made this afternoon so enjoyable. We climbed the duomo, took pictures of tjhe magnificent view of Florence, where our guide pointed out the main attractions and told us information about the building.
We also visited the Bapistry, where the guide told us fascinating stories about the building. Afterwards, we were taken out to a delicious gelateria, where the tour ended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Vanessa was a fabulous tour guide! Informative and enthusiastic. An amazing tour and I highly recommend!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved our guide Antonio, and the entire experience. There is no better way to see the Duomo. The phenomenal view of Florence from the top!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and well worth the climb. We had no issues with the "skip the line" format as they did it, but I understand it is not always easy. The view is incredible at the top! We were unable to see the Baptistery due to a religious event taking place, but our tickets allowed us to explore it in our own the next morning, and we went to San Lorenzo cathedral instead. The gelato at the end was a nice treat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. The guide was well informed and shared his knowledge freely
The view from the top is Awesome
I recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing and Mia handled the complaints of one guest superbly as they had clearly not read the itinerary or restrictions of activity levels. Her level of knowledge was excellent and the climb was easier than anticipated. The views of Florence from the top of the Duomo was well worth the vibrating leg muscles and the gelato afterwards was a welcome reward.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour given by Valentina, an excellent tour guide. The inside view of Brunelleschi's Duomo is breathtaking with the view of the frescos, Dante's interpretation of Paradise, Purgatory, and Hell in The Divine Comedy. Finally, walking up the Duomo is an exciting experience,added to Valentina's story of Brunelleschi's temperament and genius. In the end, the view of the city of Florence, an extraordinary moment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Not for the faint of heart since you do have to walk up over 400 steps, but that's part of ther adventure. Valentina our guide was quite informative about the history of the Duomo and kept a reasonable pace taking us up. I would love to have done the tower, too, if only to get a better photo of the Duomo's exterior, but that wasn't part of the deal and will have to be done on another trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant guide, effective skip the line, saved us 2 hours queing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message