Historic Palazzo Vecchio ('old palace') has been at the political heart of Florence for more than 7 centuries. With its late-medieval crenellated roofline and soaring defensive tower, it dominates the lovely buildings and sculptures of Piazza ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a dream tour for an art or history buff. I was lucky to have an almost private tour of the Palazzo Vecchio, there was only another couple on the tour that morning. Our guide Roberta was really knowledgeable and a lot of fun to listen to. She made the Palazzo Vecchio come alive with tales of the Medici family and artistic rivalries between Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. I have visited the Palazzo before but really felt this tour gave it another dimension. Funnily enough however my personal highlight was after the end of the visit to the Palazzo when we had a quick coffee break. Roberta directed us towards one of the fancier cafes in Piazza de la Signoria and explained how we can get an excellent cappuccino for a bargain price by drinking it standing at the bar, rubbing shoulders with locals. A great introduction to what real Florentines do on their morning break!
After the quick refreshment Roberta took us to the Uffizzi where we joined a much larger group for the second part of the tour to the Vasari Corridor. This required a lo of organisation and squeezing past bewildered tourists in the gallery. Once we entered the corridor it felt really special and exclusive to get a glimpse of the huge collection of artists' self-portraits. Maurizio, our guide for this section, was also very knowledgeable however he did not have Roberta's lightness of touch and tended to overload us with information.
Overall this was a fantastic morning and quite intense, lasting from 9am to almost 1pm. It is a bit pricey but this is due to the Vasari Corridor fee and I did think the whole experience was worth it.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time walking the city of Florence with Helma at the end of our 1st day in Firenze. The tour focused on the history and stories of Florence, focusing on buildings, and architecture, monuments and art, as well as fascinating people and what they did in that city. The tour was a couple of hours on your feet at the end of the day, so folks with museum feet should take that into consideration. We started at the Palazzo Strozzi and wound our way through the city, over the Ponte Vecchio, and past the Palazzo
Pitti. One point, the stories were more focused on Renaissance Flirenze rather than Medieval Firenze, but those were likely more interesting times. All in all a wonderful night, topped off with terrific gelato at a gelaterria south of the Arno.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Michele (how he told us it was spelled, though he pronounced it Me-kel) was excellent. One of the "ideas" of the tour is to emulate the famous "Jack the Ripper" evening walking tours in London, and Michele did his best to do that. Of course, the Medicis killed lots more people than Jack ever did, but they did it in pre-sensationalist-newspaper days and so there were no gory stories and hype written anywhere that could be preserved (though I'm sure the rumor-mill of the day did much the same). Fortunately, after mentioning the deaths (and their usual politically complicated contexts), Michele moved right on to explain the city and its sights, and the little peculiarities -- 15-story towers in pre-elevator days, little "wine windows" -- that make it so interesting. And the 2.5-hour tour ended with a stop for excellent gelato (included in the price!) where we got to sit and speak with Michele for a while and learn what it is like to live in Florence (a difficult place economically).

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

If you're looking to try something fun and different while also enjoying some fantastic views of Florence at night, then definitely give this a go. This was my first time on a Segway and felt comfortable as our guide provided us with great instructions on how to use the machine and plenty of practice. The tour actually starts a little later in the evening which is good as you avoid crowds. Do this on your first night in Florence as a way to get a feel for the inner city.

Doing what: Florence Night Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The decision to book this tour was probably the best decision taken during our Florence trip. Having your own guide gives you the attention and level of detail and knowledge that you want. When you have possible the best guide ever, Ms. Anna Ristori, you cannot go wrong. She proved to be a wealth of information and knowledge about EVERYTYHING: history, art, culture, and even shopping and the best places to eat. Despite the fact that she literally poured out information, she was also extremely generous with all of our questions and we had lots of them Florence is quite a crowded city with tourists vying for the best spot to appreciate a work of art; Ms. Ristori took great pains to ensure that we had the best spot from which we could appreciate what we were looking at and also to be comfortable and hear her explanations clearly over the noise ofthe crowds. Most importantly, she is a kind and considerate person - my mother is quite elderly and cannot walk easily nor stand for long periods. Ms. Ristori made sure that my mother was always comfortable, found places for her to sit when we had been standing for a while. At the Uffizi Gallery, she made sure that my mother had access to the elevator and talked to the people in charge to make sure they were available to help, if need be. Cannot thank her enough!! She is the best. I do not know if you can ask for her by name. Also special thanks to our driver who assisted my mother getting in and off the car, and who himself was extremely kind and knowledgable. Thanks to both!

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The decision to book this tour was probably the best decision taken during our Florence trip. Having your own guide gives you the attention and level of detail and knowledge that you want. When you have possible the best guide ever, Ms. Anna Ristori, you cannot go wrong. She proved to be a wealth of information and knowledge about EVERYTYHING: history, art, culture, and even shopping and the best places to eat. Despite the fact that she literally poured out information, she was also extremely generous with all of our questions and we had lots of them Florence is quite a crowded city with tourists vying for the best spot to appreciate a work of art; Ms. Ristori took great pains to ensure that we had the best spot from which we could appreciate what we were looking at and also to be comfortable and hear her explanations clearly over the noise ofthe crowds. Most importantly, she is a kind and considerate person - my mother is quite elderly and cannot walk easily nor stand for long periods. Ms. Ristori made sure that my mother was always comfortable, found places for her to sit when we had been standing for a while. At the Uffizi Gallery, she made sure that my mother had access to the elevator and talked to the people in charge to make sure they were available to help, if need be. Cannot thank her enough!! She is the best. I do not know if you can ask for her by name. Also special thanks to our driver who assisted my mother getting in and off the car, and who himself was extremely kind and knowledgable. Thanks to both!

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Guide was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the sights and sites of Florence. We had the god fortune of having very small group (just 2 of us for most of the time) and so had a very personal tour. Guide did not rush, spoke excellent English and allowed plenty of time for conversation and questions. A map of our route and the features we saw would have been helpful being newcomers to Florence. Would strongly recommend this tour, early in your visit as it is helps to orientate the visitor to the key attractions.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Mark I
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Corridor was very impressive, and the Palazzo had some impressive areas. Both tour guides were perfect.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good walking tour for those interested in learning about Florentine medieval history. It was a small group of 7 people, and a interesting guide who was passionate about Florentine history, especially the Medici family and epic Italian love stories! we went off the beaten track, going to lesser known places in the city. we also learnt information about well known sites, like Ponte Vecchio, they most tourists dont know. The tour was unique as the guide used multiple resources to discuss florentine history including videos and pictures, different from other tours we have done so this was good. The tour finished with a delicious gelato and a great night view of Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

The guide spent too much time on historical minutiae and dates that eventually become muddled in the listener's mind. Visitors are interested in the family stories of the Medici and others. I would have liked to have visited Santa Croce, and perhaps just strolling the back streets of Florence. We spent time hiking over to the Pitti Palace, but were not taken in. That time was wasted. Discussing current life in Florence would have been interesting, such as the flooding in 20th century. More time was spent walking that visiting inside historic spaces.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The value for money was terrible. Our guide, while a lovely woman, spoke rather limited English. I asked the tour to be mindful of our three children aged 14,11 and 8 when tailoring the tour, which didn't really happen. I expected, for a full day private tour, a nice intro explanation into Florence's history and how it became the capital of the Reneassance. Instead we got sporadic highlights of a church here, a palazzo there. It even got to a point when asking about a gorgeous hillside building, we got the response it was a historical structure! The best part was the Uffizzi and the Accademia tour as our guide clearly appreciated art but didn't make up for the rest. The lunch at the selected restaurant was efficient and good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was lovely but I didn't find this as interesting as I expected. I had hoped for more information and historical facts including the Ponte Vecchio history.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I was so disappointed about this tour. Previous similar tours have been excellent. Unfortunately this tour was in French and English despite being advertised as English. As a result, we spent half the time waiting for the French translation to finish instead of getting any history of Florence.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message