Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazzale Michelangelo

If you want to catch those iconic, sweeping views of Florence you've seen in postcards, head to Piazzale Michelangelo. From an elevated position overlooking the city, the fabulous views take in the city's fortified walls, the River Arno, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were only in Florence for one day, the bus was a great way to see the whole city, especially seeing Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, before getting off to walk around specific areas.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed our evening with Stephano. Wish we could have seen the countryside, but we knew it would be dark. The food and wine were plentiful and very good. Stephano chose two special wines that were superb. Late night tour of Florence was fun, especially Piazzale Michelangelo.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Clearly one of the highlights of our Italy trip. The dinner was at an organic farm in San Gimignano, about an hour out of Florence. Stephano, from Walkabout Tours, is the best guide that we have ever encountered! He was extremely knowledgeable in all areas: wine (class 1 sommelier); food etiquette (it is against the law to have cappuccino after lunch or dinner); history of the country, current events, food preparations. In addition he was extremely entertaining and kept us laughing during the entire drive.
We had such a good time at dinner that we lost track of time. Stopped at the Piazza Michelangelo for a view of the city at night and a group photo. Good food and wine and new friends. Who could ask for more. Next time we must take the luncheon tour so we can see the countryside at the farm as it was dark by the time we arrived for dinner.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an excellent way to get an overview of Florence. Being able to transfer from an A tour to a B tour was a real plus.We used it all day and went back at night to the sunset at Piazza Michelangelo.We highly recommend this tour to become acquainted with Florence and to plan your other outings. The English audio was well done!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Carolina was very knowledgeable about our favorite city in Italy! The bus tour gave us a beautiful overview of the city and the walking tour gave us a closer look. Loved seeing the statue of David and learning so much about Michelangelo .. His life and his work

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way to see the main sites of Florence when you're tired of walking and need some relax time. My favorite part of the route was the drive up to Fiesole and Michelangelo Piazza. Such amazing views of Florence! I highly recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour to see big part of Florence. The access to the Accademia was so easy and all the details our guide gave us about the history of Michelangelo and the statue of David were amazing. Very good and complete tour.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I fell in love with this city. The Hop-on Hop-off took us to all the areas we wanted to see in 3 days. Make sure to get off at "Piazzale Michelangelo" where you will have an amazing panoramic view of the city. I took one of the best pictures of Florence from this plaza.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Good tour and interesting introduction to michelangelo's David.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a great way to see any City. I had been to Florence before but saw so many new things on this tour! Pazza Michelangelo was amazing...never new it was there and Fiesole was beautiful. Road the full route the first time and marked the stops we wanted to get off at and saw almost everything we wanted...you never get to see all that Florence has to offer in two days!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The English speaking guide was excellent. It was wonderful to see MIchelangelo's "David" sculpture in person.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Wonderful way to see Florence! We took the city tour twice and the Fiesole tour once. Path up to Piazzale Michelangelo is absolutely breathtaking with the trees and Florentine mansions. Highly recommended just so you can rest your legs and enjoy the views!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message