• USD ($)
  • English

Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazzale Michelangelo

If you want to catch those iconic, sweeping views of Florence you've seen in postcards, head to Piazzale Michelangelo. From an elevated position overlooking the city, the fabulous views take in the city's fortified walls, the River Arno, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour to see big part of Florence. The access to the Accademia was so easy and all the details our guide gave us about the history of Michelangelo and the statue of David were amazing. Very good and complete tour.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I fell in love with this city. The Hop-on Hop-off took us to all the areas we wanted to see in 3 days. Make sure to get off at "Piazzale Michelangelo" where you will have an amazing panoramic view of the city. I took one of the best pictures of Florence from this plaza.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Good tour and interesting introduction to michelangelo's David.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a great way to see any City. I had been to Florence before but saw so many new things on this tour! Pazza Michelangelo was amazing...never new it was there and Fiesole was beautiful. Road the full route the first time and marked the stops we wanted to get off at and saw almost everything we wanted...you never get to see all that Florence has to offer in two days!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The English speaking guide was excellent. It was wonderful to see MIchelangelo's "David" sculpture in person.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Wonderful way to see Florence! We took the city tour twice and the Fiesole tour once. Path up to Piazzale Michelangelo is absolutely breathtaking with the trees and Florentine mansions. Highly recommended just so you can rest your legs and enjoy the views!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Loved the full day tour! Ida and Elvio were great guides, full of knowledge! Enjoyed the lunch -- wine, water, two kinds of pasta, bruschetta and tiramisu for dessert. Visits to the Uffizi Gallery and Accademia were highlights, as was the drive up to Piazzale Michelangelo. Be preparing for lots of walking/standing, but you will learn so much about Florence in a single day!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Did the Full Day Tour which was Excellent! Guide was excellent when we went to see Michelangelo's David at the Accademia. Afternoon tour to Uffizi was good as well. Guide was a little boring however. Piazza Del Michelangelo is the best place in the city for Pictures!!! MUST GO

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Did half day am tour. Easy to find tour meeting point. Guide was knowledgable. The view from piazza Michelangelo should not be missed and is too long a walk without transportation. Skipped the line to see David.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We go on every hop on/hop off bus in every city and this one was well worth it. The view from the top of the hill, Piazzale Michelangelo, is a must hop off for photos.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Frances
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

The Piazzale Michelangelo is an amazing viewing point to see the whole of Florence, its especially beautiful if you go at sunset! Views over the city are stunning!! You can easily get back into central Florence from this viewing point and the walk is along some very beautiful pathways... very romantic!! My boyfriend actually proposed to me whilst we were walking back into Florence after watching the sunset. It was perfect! Piazzale Michelangelo is a must for anyone visiting Florence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We had the best tour guide in Alessandra who made Firenze Florence come alive for our group of 6. I would strongly recommend a private tour with Alessandra as the guide. She was able to educate us on the art of the renaissance in an easy to understand yet brief manner. Her tour of the city began with an overview from the overlook at piazzale Michelangelo followed by the serene San Miniato and the Accademia, Uffizi, etc. Our entire group enjoyed her detailed explanation of the painers and evolution of their styles. Most of all she was able to infect us with her enthusiasm and love of Florence. Thanks Alessandra. Ciao!

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We did the bus tour on our first day in Florence which is a nice way to get acquainted with the city. They give you a little headphone thing and you just plug it in and there's a recording telling you about the history of the place you're passing by which was really cool. Be sure to take the bus that takes you up to the Piazzale Michelangelo up on a hill; the views of the city are absolutely breathtaking from there.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message