Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazzale Michelangelo

If you want to catch those iconic, sweeping views of Florence you've seen in postcards, head to Piazzale Michelangelo. From an elevated position overlooking the city, the fabulous views take in the city's fortified walls, the River Arno, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was exceptional and our tour guide Lenora was amazing with her knowledge of Florence, her detailed explanation of Michelangelo David and other works of arts at the Academia was very enlightening, her enthusiasm brought with it a contagious appreciation of these wonders of the world that can never be felt by viewing a picture on television or book, please pass along mine and my Girlfriend appreciation for a great tour

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the Piazzella di Michelangelo, the panoramic view of the city was amazing! The art and history of Florence is well worth the visit and in our opinion, there is no better way to experience it than with a professional guide. Our guides, both on the bus and at the Galleria dell' Accademia, were very knowledgeable, professional, and informative. The artistic talents of Michelangelo are incredible, and nothing is a better example of that than his famous David. Seeing it in person and up close was the opportunity of a lifetime. I highly recommend this tour. An additional benefit is that it's also a great way to beat the long line for entry to the Galleria dell' Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

mthaldeman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The villa was close by but felt like it was far above Florence. The views overlooking the orchards made the beautiful gathering space even more spectacular. Dinner and wines were phenomenal. The ride back to Florence was lovely- particularly the stop at Piazza Michelangelo. We are so glad that we took this tour!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

dnmlanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I wish I could rate this tour and our tour guide Alicia spelling? a 6 5 is not high enough!! She was so kind and informative and made sure we understood the easy electric bikes thoroughly before we left. These bikes made the ride through the Tuscan hills so easy! Anyone can do this trip and should. Seeing the hills, mansions, and hilltop farms made us understand why so many people love Tuscany. We enjoyed seeing the city from the Michelangelo plaza and the Wine Bar was wonderful!! Alicia keeps the tour small to give personalized attention and we really appreciated that - it was like a private tour! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat! Thanks for a wonderful time.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

CLAUDE J P D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful and enlightening...spending a day with the likes of David, Leonardo, Michelangelo, Botticelli, Dante, ....what more could you ask for on a beautiful summer day? One of the many highlights of our Italian tour.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Angelica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour and opportunity to see the lovely Tuscan countryside when in Florence. We booked this on our first day in Florence, and it afforded us a great opportunity to orient ourselves to the city and escape the oppressive crowds of tourists in the downtown core. We met in front of a coffee shop near the Piazza della Signoria and Alyssia led us the block or two to their bike office. It took only a couple of minutes to get the hang of them in their quiet street as we had never tried them before. Although it was a scorching hot day, the e-bikes allowed us to sail in the breeze and up into the hills of Fiesole with minimal effort. You wont believe how easily you ascend relatively steep terrain! In addition to visiting the organic olive oil farm Fiesole which, unluckily for us was closed, due to it being a Sunday, we whipped over to the opposite heights and views from Piazzale Michelangelo, as well as the monastery: San Miniato al Monte. There we heard the hauntingly beautiful Gregorian chant tones emanating from the church which had begun evening vespers. There is a little shop there which sells goods made by the monks. We were able to take some astounding pictures throughout due to our birds eye views. We had ample opportunities to take breaks, drinks, and pictures. To cap it off, we were given wine and snacks at the foot of Ponte Vecchio. Alyssia was a lovely, friendly tour guide and we really appreciated the way she shared information about her life in Italy. We wish her and her partner much success in their business.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Allison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vanessa, our guide, was WONDERFUL! The whole tour from start to finish was like a dream. The perfect mix of touring and leisure. Riding through the city on our bikes was not only fun, but informative as well. The trip up to the Piazza Michelangelo was not too hard - very relaxing actually and scenic. Getting to the top was the best reward - what a view! Once we got back down we were treated to the most delicious gelato - YUM! It was the best we had on our visit to Italy. Can't say enough good things about Vanessa, this tour and company. If I could give six stars, I would!

Doing what: Panoramic Sunset Bike Tour

genecordova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Florence. It was great fun riding the Electric Bikes and the tour itself was amazing! You will visit a olive tree farm and also go to the top of Fllorence to Michelangelo's Piazza and the views are fantastic. Our guide was excellent and so very personable. She told us much about history and also made us feel right at home. The wine and snack at the end of the tour is a great way to wrap up the day. We HIGHLY recommend this tour! You will NOT be disappointed.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Gregor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were only in Florence for one day, the bus was a great way to see the whole city, especially seeing Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, before getting off to walk around specific areas.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mfred57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed our evening with Stephano. Wish we could have seen the countryside, but we knew it would be dark. The food and wine were plentiful and very good. Stephano chose two special wines that were superb. Late night tour of Florence was fun, especially Piazzale Michelangelo.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Bryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Clearly one of the highlights of our Italy trip. The dinner was at an organic farm in San Gimignano, about an hour out of Florence. Stephano, from Walkabout Tours, is the best guide that we have ever encountered! He was extremely knowledgeable in all areas: wine (class 1 sommelier); food etiquette (it is against the law to have cappuccino after lunch or dinner); history of the country, current events, food preparations. In addition he was extremely entertaining and kept us laughing during the entire drive.
We had such a good time at dinner that we lost track of time. Stopped at the Piazza Michelangelo for a view of the city at night and a group photo. Good food and wine and new friends. Who could ask for more. Next time we must take the luncheon tour so we can see the countryside at the farm as it was dark by the time we arrived for dinner.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an excellent way to get an overview of Florence. Being able to transfer from an A tour to a B tour was a real plus.We used it all day and went back at night to the sunset at Piazza Michelangelo.We highly recommend this tour to become acquainted with Florence and to plan your other outings. The English audio was well done!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jeanne Marie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Carolina was very knowledgeable about our favorite city in Italy! The bus tour gave us a beautiful overview of the city and the walking tour gave us a closer look. Loved seeing the statue of David and learning so much about Michelangelo .. His life and his work

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

mnorozco09 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way to see the main sites of Florence when you're tired of walking and need some relax time. My favorite part of the route was the drive up to Fiesole and Michelangelo Piazza. Such amazing views of Florence! I highly recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mlep8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour to see big part of Florence. The access to the Accademia was so easy and all the details our guide gave us about the history of Michelangelo and the statue of David were amazing. Very good and complete tour.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Fernando USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I fell in love with this city. The Hop-on Hop-off took us to all the areas we wanted to see in 3 days. Make sure to get off at "Piazzale Michelangelo" where you will have an amazing panoramic view of the city. I took one of the best pictures of Florence from this plaza.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

MARY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Good tour and interesting introduction to michelangelo's David.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Valerie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a great way to see any City. I had been to Florence before but saw so many new things on this tour! Pazza Michelangelo was amazing...never new it was there and Fiesole was beautiful. Road the full route the first time and marked the stops we wanted to get off at and saw almost everything we wanted...you never get to see all that Florence has to offer in two days!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The English speaking guide was excellent. It was wonderful to see MIchelangelo's "David" sculpture in person.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Wonderful way to see Florence! We took the city tour twice and the Fiesole tour once. Path up to Piazzale Michelangelo is absolutely breathtaking with the trees and Florentine mansions. Highly recommended just so you can rest your legs and enjoy the views!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gabrielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Loved the full day tour! Ida and Elvio were great guides, full of knowledge! Enjoyed the lunch -- wine, water, two kinds of pasta, bruschetta and tiramisu for dessert. Visits to the Uffizi Gallery and Accademia were highlights, as was the drive up to Piazzale Michelangelo. Be preparing for lots of walking/standing, but you will learn so much about Florence in a single day!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jessie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Did the Full Day Tour which was Excellent! Guide was excellent when we went to see Michelangelo's David at the Accademia. Afternoon tour to Uffizi was good as well. Guide was a little boring however. Piazza Del Michelangelo is the best place in the city for Pictures!!! MUST GO

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message