Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Pitti Palace (Palazzo Pitti)

The Pitti Palace was built by rivals of the powerful Medici family in the mid-1400s. A century later, the Medicis took over the huge Renaissance palace, and it was the home of Florentine rulers until the early 20th century. Today, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant Palazzo. Highly recommend Roberta as a guide, she is passionate and very knowledgable and a lovely sense of humour. Such a privilege to see the legacy left by the Medici dynasty.
As a tip, if you pre-book a guided tour and are using a e-voucher don't go to the ticket office. The ticket office will only issue you with a ticket if you are not taking a guided tour. Look for a 'tour guide', holding a folder, near the entrance line. You will be issued with a paper ticket by that person and introduced to your tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Christopher B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The Palazzo Vecchio is a spectacular building and our guide was quite informative. The Vasari corridor proved to be rather over rated.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

Louise R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was good and the tour was interesting, but it was really just a short walk through a corridor lined with paintings by mostly unknown artists. The Boboli Gardens were a disappointment as although it was spring, there was no colour or flowers, the fountains weren't working, and the whole place looked like it needed some serious work.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

JACQUELINE C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a Skip the Line, but there was a special line for the tours. By the time we waited on line, went through security, and the group met a lot of time was wasted. The information about the Corridor was very interesting, but we had a sense that the guide was rushed. She seemed to be knowledgeable, but did not spend a lot of time talking about the artists and self portraits. There was little time to answer questions. The Corridor is unique and interesting and we would have liked to spend more time learning more aspects about it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Leah C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Did not start on time. Actual tour and tour guide was very good. Was difficult to find group, need to have a flag

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Karin M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was an interesting walk through the Vasari Corridor , the guide was knowledgable and very friendly..
But all in all it was not worth the 85.... Overpriced

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Gisele Simone L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I loved the Vasari corridor. The tourist guide was very polite and also with knowledge about history of the place and arts

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I initially booked this tour, as I have in Barcelona with Viator, to avoid queuing but as in Barcelona we found our tour not only got us straight in to the attractions but was also most informative and our guides , Sylvia and Roberta, were terrific. As it was January and there were only four of us on this tour we were asked to substitute The Uffizi for Pitti Palace. We were happy to do this but it was made very clear that to stay with the original itinerary was not a problem. Would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

Brenda C B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had never seen this section of the Pitti Palace before and was so thrilled to see it. Our guide is an art expert and was full of information. The Pitti is much more beautiful in the interior than Versailles. Of course the exterior grounds and exterior architecture of Versailles are superior, yet the Pitti wins the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Julius C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Guide was well documented and had an interesting presentation during the tour.
Very happy to having included this tour in our trip.
A unique and valuable experience in broadening our knowledge about Florence history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Manya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful experience with a small group. The Vasari Corridor is not widely known which is a plus for visitors. Excellent guide using headphones so that we could look and listen. Along the walls are the most wonderful self-portraits of all the well-known artists from earlier times to modern. Wonderful views from all the windows along the way with plenty of time to photograph, not at all hurried.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. We would never have appreciated the real and hidden wonders of the Pitti Palace without him. It was great and I will not hesitate to recommend the tour to my friends.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience with the guide enhancing the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

FRANCIS EDWARD H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable visit. Our guide, Maurizio, was excellent. He was extremely well-informed and added greatly to our visit.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

JANE W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A really enjoyable tour, informative guide. Probably a little pricey, but still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Vincent F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative of the history and culture of Florence. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting the city.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Moira F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Roberta, the guide, was terrific. For a start she identified us as her guidees amongst a sea of fellow touristsas soon as she walked up to the front of the Pitti Palace. The next two hours were spent lapping up her knowledge and enthusiasm. They flew by. By the end we felt both educated and entertained. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

lex

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Since my husband and I had a tour of Uffizi before this tour, we were hoping for more information on the Boboli Gardens than what was offered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

thichvu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very good

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Leonard L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour however it was heavy on the art, I would have liked to hear more about the scandals!! Great opportunity for different photo ops.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Audra T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was good. We had already done a night tour and there was A LOT of the same information. The way Viator describes the tours, it appears as though you are getting two different tours. Not really.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message