Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Pitti Palace (Palazzo Pitti)

The Pitti Palace was built by rivals of the powerful Medici family in the mid-1400s. A century later, the Medicis took over the huge Renaissance palace, and it was the home of Florentine rulers until the early 20th century. Today, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting and informative. Great for anyone interested in history or art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour Guides were extremely knowledgeable their insights into the history and back stories were enlightening, educational, and very entertaining.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

Julia G
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a fantastic tour and great way to learn more in depth about the Medici's. You have a real feeling of being behind the scenes and walking where others have walked over the centuries!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We learned a lot during the Vasari Corridor Tour and the Boboli Gardens was beautiful to walk through. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour. The guide was knowledgable and quite interesting. We would recommend doing this tour while in Florence!

Terry and Laurie

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide in a very small group of 5.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The Vasari Corridor was interesting, but it's difficult to take in, in the alotted time. The artwork is lovely, and is surprisingly composed of a lot of self-portraits of the artists. The guide was kind and explained much about the various styles employed, periods and motivations in a historical context. However, she made two things difficult - she didn't understand how a microphone worked, so she held it to her mouth instead of pinning it to her blouse. This made it very hard to understand her speaking and after a couple of people tried to help, she got irritated and we gave up. The second thing was that the guide was trying to be helpful and told us that we shouldn't visit the Gardens st 2:30 when the tour of the corridor ended, but at 8:30pm when it had cooled off. Good intentions, but the gardens closed at 7:30pm...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent evening....very informative, plenty of wine, good company.
well worth doing!!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was excellent. She had a deep fund of knowledge regarding the Pitti Palace and its artwork and she made the tour very entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy meeting point with obvious representatives waiting. Really interesting tour of the Vasari Corridor - knowledgeable guide. Set off at very fast pace through the Uffizi gallery which was a bit disconcerting but guide wanted us to be first of the tour groups to set off through the corridor they start off at approx 5 minute intervals - wish he had told us that at the start! The pace through the corridor itself was fine.
No queue to get into the Boboli gardens but well worth a visit to explore on your own. Very few signs in the garden itself - get a map.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we did this in 2 parts elena took us to the Uffizi which was amazing with the art work-it was very crowded but our small group skipped the line and had a fantastic time. the line was enormous even for those with Florence passes. great museum and the Vasari corridor was wonderful with all the selfportraits and frescoes
.
in the after noon we saw the pitti palace with Roberta who was excellent-we ended up with a private tour which was awesome! some wonderful rafeal,donattello etc paintings. it is a huge museum which we really loved.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Guide knew so much facts about the palace and the art inside of it. She was really nice and really enjoyed the tour. She made our visit to the palace more efficient and effective. We spend more time on the most important artworks with an extended background given by the guide. She gave us really good recommendations and was really nice to us. Take it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. If you have a short time in Florence, it's a great way to see everything.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Roberta has to be the best tour guide in Florence. Her knowledge of the Pitti Palace and Palantine Gallery is incredible. We were given a private tour of the apartments. There were only six people in our group. My husband and I enjoyed this gallery far more than the Uffizi and Accademia. This was due to Roberta's great enthusiasm and obvious love of art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour excellent and about the right length of time.
A map showing the meeting point would have been helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour - very informative and humorous guide. Lovely to have more space to look around than other museums too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was 1 hour. I think a great opportunity. I agree with other reviewers that it does seem hurried but the tour is advertised as 1 hour and there are many many pictures to view. We were given devices so that the group could hear the guide in the corridor. The guide gave an large amount of information. However, she did not use the microphone hand held correctly, often moving the microphone too close to her mouth and then moving the microphone away from her mouth. The static that this action created was ANNOYING. I was glad the tour was only 1 hour for that reason.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

There was a gap in our many experiences in Florence. We just had to do the Vasari Corridor. Yes it is a unique experience. The art is good, the stories are great and the views were superb

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

Mark I
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Corridor was very impressive, and the Palazzo had some impressive areas. Both tour guides were perfect.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Vasari corridor is quite amazing and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

Carissa E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a small group for this tour, there was plenty of opportunity for lots of questions! The guide was local and therefore very knowledgeable on Florence, provided us with a great deal of history and detail. Would highly recommend for an easy walking tour

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

After learning about the Vasari Corridor during my first trip to Florence 10 years ago, I always wondered what it must be like to walk the corridor. I was delighted to find out that the public now has access to the Vasari Corridor. I immediately bought tickets for myself and my travel group. I enjoyed walking the corridor and learning about its history. It was worth spending some time during our brief visit to Florence to do it. Our guide was really into art history, so she spent a lot of time discussing the art work in the corridor. Caution...it is hot in the corridor. There is no climate control. As a result, by the time we arrived at the Pitti Palace, we were wiped out. I wanted to see the Boboli Gardens, but we were too hot to do it. If you are interested in the Vasari Corridor, I highly recommend this tour for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. Learned several things. The guide was very good

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide knowledgeable

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message