Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Pitti Palace (Palazzo Pitti)

The Pitti Palace was built by rivals of the powerful Medici family in the mid-1400s. A century later, the Medicis took over the huge Renaissance palace, and it was the home of Florentine rulers until the early 20th century. Today, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent evening....very informative, plenty of wine, good company.
well worth doing!!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy meeting point with obvious representatives waiting. Really interesting tour of the Vasari Corridor - knowledgeable guide. Set off at very fast pace through the Uffizi gallery which was a bit disconcerting but guide wanted us to be first of the tour groups to set off through the corridor they start off at approx 5 minute intervals - wish he had told us that at the start! The pace through the corridor itself was fine.
No queue to get into the Boboli gardens but well worth a visit to explore on your own. Very few signs in the garden itself - get a map.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we did this in 2 parts elena took us to the Uffizi which was amazing with the art work-it was very crowded but our small group skipped the line and had a fantastic time. the line was enormous even for those with Florence passes. great museum and the Vasari corridor was wonderful with all the selfportraits and frescoes
.
in the after noon we saw the pitti palace with Roberta who was excellent-we ended up with a private tour which was awesome! some wonderful rafeal,donattello etc paintings. it is a huge museum which we really loved.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. If you have a short time in Florence, it's a great way to see everything.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour excellent and about the right length of time.
A map showing the meeting point would have been helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was 1 hour. I think a great opportunity. I agree with other reviewers that it does seem hurried but the tour is advertised as 1 hour and there are many many pictures to view. We were given devices so that the group could hear the guide in the corridor. The guide gave an large amount of information. However, she did not use the microphone hand held correctly, often moving the microphone too close to her mouth and then moving the microphone away from her mouth. The static that this action created was ANNOYING. I was glad the tour was only 1 hour for that reason.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

There was a gap in our many experiences in Florence. We just had to do the Vasari Corridor. Yes it is a unique experience. The art is good, the stories are great and the views were superb

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

Mark I
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Corridor was very impressive, and the Palazzo had some impressive areas. Both tour guides were perfect.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Vasari corridor is quite amazing and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

Carissa E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a small group for this tour, there was plenty of opportunity for lots of questions! The guide was local and therefore very knowledgeable on Florence, provided us with a great deal of history and detail. Would highly recommend for an easy walking tour

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

After learning about the Vasari Corridor during my first trip to Florence 10 years ago, I always wondered what it must be like to walk the corridor. I was delighted to find out that the public now has access to the Vasari Corridor. I immediately bought tickets for myself and my travel group. I enjoyed walking the corridor and learning about its history. It was worth spending some time during our brief visit to Florence to do it. Our guide was really into art history, so she spent a lot of time discussing the art work in the corridor. Caution...it is hot in the corridor. There is no climate control. As a result, by the time we arrived at the Pitti Palace, we were wiped out. I wanted to see the Boboli Gardens, but we were too hot to do it. If you are interested in the Vasari Corridor, I highly recommend this tour for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. Learned several things. The guide was very good

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide knowledgeable

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Walking tour is correct -- we only got into one small chapel. Tour guide Deborah was very good and knowledgeable. Wouldn't do a walking tour like this again.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was good but the guide had a lot of trouble with English.

Doing what: Cycling in Florence

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was good but the guide had a lot of trouble with English.

Doing what: Cycling in Florence

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I was so disappointed about this tour. Previous similar tours have been excellent. Unfortunately this tour was in French and English despite being advertised as English. As a result, we spent half the time waiting for the French translation to finish instead of getting any history of Florence.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Could not find tour guide at stated site therefore missed out on tour. Paid extra for the gardens on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Rather late starting as a few people very late arriving but once we got going - absolutely brilliant! Very good guide with wonderful store of knowledge!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a dream tour for an art or history buff. I was lucky to have an almost private tour of the Palazzo Vecchio, there was only another couple on the tour that morning. Our guide Roberta was really knowledgeable and a lot of fun to listen to. She made the Palazzo Vecchio come alive with tales of the Medici family and artistic rivalries between Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. I have visited the Palazzo before but really felt this tour gave it another dimension. Funnily enough however my personal highlight was after the end of the visit to the Palazzo when we had a quick coffee break. Roberta directed us towards one of the fancier cafes in Piazza de la Signoria and explained how we can get an excellent cappuccino for a bargain price by drinking it standing at the bar, rubbing shoulders with locals. A great introduction to what real Florentines do on their morning break!
After the quick refreshment Roberta took us to the Uffizzi where we joined a much larger group for the second part of the tour to the Vasari Corridor. This required a lo of organisation and squeezing past bewildered tourists in the gallery. Once we entered the corridor it felt really special and exclusive to get a glimpse of the huge collection of artists' self-portraits. Maurizio, our guide for this section, was also very knowledgeable however he did not have Roberta's lightness of touch and tended to overload us with information.
Overall this was a fantastic morning and quite intense, lasting from 9am to almost 1pm. It is a bit pricey but this is due to the Vasari Corridor fee and I did think the whole experience was worth it.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

By and large, the tour was excellent. The tour guide, in particular, was outstanding. My only criticism would be the speed with which your escorts sped the group through the Uffizi to the tour meeting point. They did not check to see that the entire group was intact and were basically causing people of all ages to jog to keep up with them. Not a pleasant start. After that - could not have been any better. Superb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great artwork, knowledgeable tour guide. She talked non-stop about so many painters though, almost too much info at one time to digest. Good tour in general though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message