The ancient Ponte Vecchio bridge is as much a symbol of Florence as the red dome of the Duomo. Ponte Vecchio means old bridge, and indeed it dates back to the 14th century. The three-arched bridge is picturesquely lined with several stories of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Initially, the visit to the Accademia saw an extremely interesting, informed and considered presentation of the meaning behind some of the world's most famous sculptures. It guide was really good and passionate about the subject!

The second part - the walking tour - was more limited, since we were left wanting a bit more and, in fact, you invariably discover most of the sites (if not more) by simply walking around the compact centre of Florence.

Please note that if you book this tour for a Sunday, you'll not get internal access to the Duomo. This isn't obvious at the time of booking. There were some unhappy faces in the group when this statement was made at the beginning of the tour.

In summary, the insight provided by the guide at the Accademia was excellent and deserves 5 stars. I already can't remember much about the walking tour and feel that you might get more from good tour guide book, although at the expense of not being able to ask questions. The walking tour gets 3 stars because it just doesn't quite deliver... and we were disappointment in not being shown inside the Duomo and neither did we "cross the Ponte Vecchio... and then rub il Porcellino's nose for luck". Unfortunately, something was missing in that the walking tour didn't live up to its billing!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good walking tour for those interested in learning about Florentine medieval history. It was a small group of 7 people, and a interesting guide who was passionate about Florentine history, especially the Medici family and epic Italian love stories! we went off the beaten track, going to lesser known places in the city. we also learnt information about well known sites, like Ponte Vecchio, they most tourists dont know. The tour was unique as the guide used multiple resources to discuss florentine history including videos and pictures, different from other tours we have done so this was good. The tour finished with a delicious gelato and a great night view of Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was a bit worried about this trip after reading some of the reviews but my sister and I had a wonderful time. Our guide was lovely, the sunset was beautiful and the Prosecco wasn't bad either. There was only 4 of us on the evening we went. It was a lovely way to see Florence from a different view point, especially sailing under the Ponte Vecchio Bridge as the sun is setting. I would recommend this trip and I would go again.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an awesome way to see the highlights of Florence in a short period of time. My wife and I only had 1.5 days in Florence so we did this our first night. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant and the tour route was great. We took a few extra minutes one bridge up from Ponte Vecchio while the sun actually set and it was spectacular. And the tour was capped up with delicious gelato at the end!

Doing what: Florence Sunset Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time walking the city of Florence with Helma at the end of our 1st day in Firenze. The tour focused on the history and stories of Florence, focusing on buildings, and architecture, monuments and art, as well as fascinating people and what they did in that city. The tour was a couple of hours on your feet at the end of the day, so folks with museum feet should take that into consideration. We started at the Palazzo Strozzi and wound our way through the city, over the Ponte Vecchio, and past the Palazzo
Pitti. One point, the stories were more focused on Renaissance Flirenze rather than Medieval Firenze, but those were likely more interesting times. All in all a wonderful night, topped off with terrific gelato at a gelaterria south of the Arno.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

OUR DRIVER PAOLO WAS GREAT. HE WAS ON TIME, FRIENDLY AND PERSONABLE. HE TOOK US TO FLORENCE, WHERE WE BEAT THE TOUR BUSSES BY ABOUT AN HOUR. WE WENT INTO THE HISTORIC HEART OF THE CITY WHERE TOUR BUSSES CANNOT GO. HE HOOKED US UP WITH OUR GUIDE OF THE UFFIZZI GALLERY. THE GUIDE WAS INCREDIBLY GOOD. THE GUIDE HAD EVEN OUT 17,15 AND 10 YR OLDS ENTHRALLED AS SHE SPOKE TO THEM AND GOT THEM PERSONALLY INVOLVED IN LOOKING CLOSELY AT THE ART, SCULPTURES AND HISTORIC PIECES. PAOLO MADE GREAT LUNCH RESERVATIONS AT A BEAUTIFUL ALFESCO DINING ON A SMALL SIDE STREET JUST A SHORT WALK FROM THE CROWDS. IT WAS GREAT FOOD AND AMBIANCE. HE THEN DROVE US TO THE COVERED BRIDGE, ALLOWED USANOTHER HOUR TO EXPLORE. THEN DROVE US TO PANORAMIC VIEW HILL OF THE CITY AND IT'S HIGHLIGHTS. HE POINTED OUT AND TOLD US OF MANY POINTS OF INTEREST. HE THEN DROVE US TO PISA, ALLOWED US ANOTHER HOUR TO EXPLORE AND GET PHOTOS. HE SAVED US WALKING BY LETTING US OUT ONLY 100 YARDS FROM THE TOWER ITSELF, FAR CLOSER THAN THE BUSSES. WE SAW MORE, DID MORE AND HAD MORE FREE TIME, THAN WE EVER WOULD HAVE HAD ON A BUS/GROUP TOUR. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR, AND IT WAS ABOUT THE SAME COST AS THE BUS TOUR, BUT OURS WAS PRIVATE.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely, gentle boat ride along the Arno. It was fun to see the sights from the water and to travel under the famous Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fun over with extensive walking and information. Ones joe issue is on the paperwork it said two seperate places to meet at the same time to start - at the Rialto bridge and also at Accademia Gallery; picked the first and were wrong. Had to run to the other spot for 20 minutes - annoyed.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was great and we went to areas not covered in the tourist guide which were residential areas South of the Academia Bridge. I have to say that the nightime gondola ride was one of the most romantic settings I've experienced. Great Tours, and thank you very much!!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our tour started in the middle of the Ponte Vechio and we were escorted by an excellent guide through Florence visiting many famous locations including the Duomo (Cathedral). After a welcome ice cream we entered the Academia Gallery to marvel at the fantastic sculptures and were spellbound by Michelangelo's "David"
.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Florence - really how can you go wrong and this idea is brilliant. Bike riding around Florence is the way to go and our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgable and engaging. Her recommendations about what to see, the bargains and local knowledge stood us in good stead. It is not a strenuous ride so I encourage everyone who can ride a bike to do this. However they need better processes in keeping everyone together as some got lost on our tour due to crowds and the confusion caused by getting through the Ponte de Vecchio. So in the instructions before the ride know what to do if you fall behind and get lost. Miss Florence so much!,

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was lovely but I didn't find this as interesting as I expected. I had hoped for more information and historical facts including the Ponte Vecchio history.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide, Francesca, made this tour the incredible and comprehensive experience that it was. She shared her passion for and extensive knowledge of Florence, its history, and its art with us. She went above and beyond to include suggestions on how to complement our tour with additional activities afterward. She was completely open to any and all questions. She gave us the BEST recommendation for authentic gelato in Florence (Santa Trinita Gelateria at the end of the Santa Trinita Bridge - ask for buonatalenti and Santa Trinita both made the original way with mascarpone cheese). She is a great story teller and made Florence's history and attractions come alive. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant Tour....our guide Rose? was excellent, very passionate about her city and passing on lots of helpful hints for us, eg where to buy 'real' leather bags.....having a free gelato was a treat too and most welcome after walking for a couple of hours.....easy to locate on the Ponte Vecchio.....highly recommend

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message