The ancient Ponte Vecchio bridge is as much a symbol of Florence as the red dome of the Duomo. Ponte Vecchio means old bridge, and indeed it dates back to the 14th century. The three-arched bridge is picturesquely lined with several stories of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

OUR DRIVER PAOLO WAS GREAT. HE WAS ON TIME, FRIENDLY AND PERSONABLE. HE TOOK US TO FLORENCE, WHERE WE BEAT THE TOUR BUSSES BY ABOUT AN HOUR. WE WENT INTO THE HISTORIC HEART OF THE CITY WHERE TOUR BUSSES CANNOT GO. HE HOOKED US UP WITH OUR GUIDE OF THE UFFIZZI GALLERY. THE GUIDE WAS INCREDIBLY GOOD. THE GUIDE HAD EVEN OUT 17,15 AND 10 YR OLDS ENTHRALLED AS SHE SPOKE TO THEM AND GOT THEM PERSONALLY INVOLVED IN LOOKING CLOSELY AT THE ART, SCULPTURES AND HISTORIC PIECES. PAOLO MADE GREAT LUNCH RESERVATIONS AT A BEAUTIFUL ALFESCO DINING ON A SMALL SIDE STREET JUST A SHORT WALK FROM THE CROWDS. IT WAS GREAT FOOD AND AMBIANCE. HE THEN DROVE US TO THE COVERED BRIDGE, ALLOWED USANOTHER HOUR TO EXPLORE. THEN DROVE US TO PANORAMIC VIEW HILL OF THE CITY AND IT'S HIGHLIGHTS. HE POINTED OUT AND TOLD US OF MANY POINTS OF INTEREST. HE THEN DROVE US TO PISA, ALLOWED US ANOTHER HOUR TO EXPLORE AND GET PHOTOS. HE SAVED US WALKING BY LETTING US OUT ONLY 100 YARDS FROM THE TOWER ITSELF, FAR CLOSER THAN THE BUSSES. WE SAW MORE, DID MORE AND HAD MORE FREE TIME, THAN WE EVER WOULD HAVE HAD ON A BUS/GROUP TOUR. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR, AND IT WAS ABOUT THE SAME COST AS THE BUS TOUR, BUT OURS WAS PRIVATE.

Doing what: Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence Private Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely, gentle boat ride along the Arno. It was fun to see the sights from the water and to travel under the famous Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fun over with extensive walking and information. Ones joe issue is on the paperwork it said two seperate places to meet at the same time to start - at the Rialto bridge and also at Accademia Gallery; picked the first and were wrong. Had to run to the other spot for 20 minutes - annoyed.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was great and we went to areas not covered in the tourist guide which were residential areas South of the Academia Bridge. I have to say that the nightime gondola ride was one of the most romantic settings I've experienced. Great Tours, and thank you very much!!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our tour started in the middle of the Ponte Vechio and we were escorted by an excellent guide through Florence visiting many famous locations including the Duomo (Cathedral). After a welcome ice cream we entered the Academia Gallery to marvel at the fantastic sculptures and were spellbound by Michelangelo's "David"
.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Florence - really how can you go wrong and this idea is brilliant. Bike riding around Florence is the way to go and our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgable and engaging. Her recommendations about what to see, the bargains and local knowledge stood us in good stead. It is not a strenuous ride so I encourage everyone who can ride a bike to do this. However they need better processes in keeping everyone together as some got lost on our tour due to crowds and the confusion caused by getting through the Ponte de Vecchio. So in the instructions before the ride know what to do if you fall behind and get lost. Miss Florence so much!,

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was lovely but I didn't find this as interesting as I expected. I had hoped for more information and historical facts including the Ponte Vecchio history.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide, Francesca, made this tour the incredible and comprehensive experience that it was. She shared her passion for and extensive knowledge of Florence, its history, and its art with us. She went above and beyond to include suggestions on how to complement our tour with additional activities afterward. She was completely open to any and all questions. She gave us the BEST recommendation for authentic gelato in Florence (Santa Trinita Gelateria at the end of the Santa Trinita Bridge - ask for buonatalenti and Santa Trinita both made the original way with mascarpone cheese). She is a great story teller and made Florence's history and attractions come alive. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant Tour....our guide Rose? was excellent, very passionate about her city and passing on lots of helpful hints for us, eg where to buy 'real' leather bags.....having a free gelato was a treat too and most welcome after walking for a couple of hours.....easy to locate on the Ponte Vecchio.....highly recommend

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Lovely late-afternoon tour in the city. It was great to have a guide, Omar who knew so much about Florence. The river cruise itself was great, the water in the river cools the air down a little bit (which is great – we visited during a heat wave!) to a far more comfortable temperature in which we could sit back, relax and take in the sights. Our pictures of the Ponte Vecchio from the river are “postcard perfect”. Many thanks to Omar for an unforgettable experience

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

AlexB
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Such a great way to start your evening in Florence! The light on the River Arno at the time the tour takes place is beautiful, really soft, meaning we were able to take some great pictures of the Ponte Vecchio as we sailed. Our guide, Omar was really friendly and had lots of interesting tales to tell about the city! Finishing with a glass of Prosecco, this boat ride was a lovely early-evening experience.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

I was looking forward to this tour but was rather dissapointed by the experience. It was quite a bit shorter than advertised. We cycled to a few main sites.... Once there our friendly and knowledgeable guide gave us some information about the site... then we cycled off to somewhere else. The main reason i booked this tour was so that i would get a feel of the city before tackling it by foot the next day- I didn't feel any better orientated after the tour. Secondly the description promised great views at sunset --- we did stop over a bridge at sunset but this was the only point. This tour could be improved by commentary during the ride and a briefing of where we will be going before the tour starts. but there were just 2 of us in the party

Doing what: Florence Sunset Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Beginning with Ponte Vecchio and ending in the Accademia a pleasure the entire time. The complimentary Hot Chocolate was incredible!!!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Angelo was our guide for the 5 of us. He was very funny and entertaining. We learned a great deal and did not find the walk too strenuous. The meeting point at the Bridge was perfect.Thank you

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message