The ancient Ponte Vecchio bridge is as much a symbol of Florence as the red dome of the Duomo. Ponte Vecchio means old bridge, and indeed it dates back to the 14th century. The three-arched bridge is picturesquely lined with several stories of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent introduction to Florence. In fact, before I took this tour, I had my doubts about liking this city afterwards, I was in love with Florence...that's saying something! Our guide, Rose, was friendly and knowledgable and made the city really come alive. Lots of walking, but it gives you a feel for the entire layout of the center of the city from Piazza San Marco to the Ponte Vecchio, a complete orientation to all the major attractions. So glad I booked this tour at the beginning of my stay.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour and opportunity to see the lovely Tuscan countryside when in Florence. We booked this on our first day in Florence, and it afforded us a great opportunity to orient ourselves to the city and escape the oppressive crowds of tourists in the downtown core. We met in front of a coffee shop near the Piazza della Signoria and Alyssia led us the block or two to their bike office. It took only a couple of minutes to get the hang of them in their quiet street as we had never tried them before. Although it was a scorching hot day, the e-bikes allowed us to sail in the breeze and up into the hills of Fiesole with minimal effort. You wont believe how easily you ascend relatively steep terrain! In addition to visiting the organic olive oil farm Fiesole which, unluckily for us was closed, due to it being a Sunday, we whipped over to the opposite heights and views from Piazzale Michelangelo, as well as the monastery: San Miniato al Monte. There we heard the hauntingly beautiful Gregorian chant tones emanating from the church which had begun evening vespers. There is a little shop there which sells goods made by the monks. We were able to take some astounding pictures throughout due to our birds eye views. We had ample opportunities to take breaks, drinks, and pictures. To cap it off, we were given wine and snacks at the foot of Ponte Vecchio. Alyssia was a lovely, friendly tour guide and we really appreciated the way she shared information about her life in Italy. We wish her and her partner much success in their business.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I were impressed by the history of the barchettos and the novel way we cruised on the Arno River. Our Italian tour guide was delightful and easy to understand, and the three men supplying our power were quite informative about the Ponte Vecchio and surrounding buildings. We took this tour on the first night of our 4 night stay and we felt it was a good introduction to Florence.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Riding in these wooden boats was interesting, but the ride was not very long down 2 bridges or so and back. The guide gave us good information about where to eat locally etc, but didn't give us any information on the city or landmarks - instead wanted us to sing, etc. With a different guide this could have been more interesting.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of my favorite memories of Florence! It was absolutely delightful to slip gently down the Arno River early in the evening, being poled along by our boatman in traditional fashion. We even cooled our feet in the water as our personable guide explained the sights we viewed as we glided under the Ponte Vecchio and other bridges on a lovely evening. Out guide popped the cork of our bottle of Prosecco as we approached a bridge, delighting a group of teenagers on the bridge who caught our cork and cheered. What fun! I'd definitely take this short cruise again if I return to Florence.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I thought this tour would be phenomenal, but it was just ok. We went down under three of the Arno's many bridges on barchetto boats that are now only used for this purpose. The guide was ok, but language could have been better and interesting stories could have been better. We went on the evening cruise, and the time of day and weather were great for the boat ride, but at the end of the day it was a 10 minute walk to a 30 minute ride on a boat and there's not really any river life in Florence to speak of, so the tour mostly consisted of pointing out which buildings were which. I guess it was okay, but compared to the Uffizi tour we had earlier in the day which was half as much it was a letdown.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A delightful experience. Our guide Caterina was lovely and very funny. The trip was relaxed and informative. Cruising along the Arno with a glass of Prosecco is just the best way to see the Ponte Vecchio...away from the crowds and the bustle of the tourists. Just lovely! So glad we did it. And Caterina's fun approach added just the right note. Do it!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Initially, the visit to the Accademia saw an extremely interesting, informed and considered presentation of the meaning behind some of the world's most famous sculptures. It guide was really good and passionate about the subject!

The second part - the walking tour - was more limited, since we were left wanting a bit more and, in fact, you invariably discover most of the sites (if not more) by simply walking around the compact centre of Florence.

Please note that if you book this tour for a Sunday, you'll not get internal access to the Duomo. This isn't obvious at the time of booking. There were some unhappy faces in the group when this statement was made at the beginning of the tour.

In summary, the insight provided by the guide at the Accademia was excellent and deserves 5 stars. I already can't remember much about the walking tour and feel that you might get more from good tour guide book, although at the expense of not being able to ask questions. The walking tour gets 3 stars because it just doesn't quite deliver... and we were disappointment in not being shown inside the Duomo and neither did we "cross the Ponte Vecchio... and then rub il Porcellino's nose for luck". Unfortunately, something was missing in that the walking tour didn't live up to its billing!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good walking tour for those interested in learning about Florentine medieval history. It was a small group of 7 people, and a interesting guide who was passionate about Florentine history, especially the Medici family and epic Italian love stories! we went off the beaten track, going to lesser known places in the city. we also learnt information about well known sites, like Ponte Vecchio, they most tourists dont know. The tour was unique as the guide used multiple resources to discuss florentine history including videos and pictures, different from other tours we have done so this was good. The tour finished with a delicious gelato and a great night view of Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was a bit worried about this trip after reading some of the reviews but my sister and I had a wonderful time. Our guide was lovely, the sunset was beautiful and the Prosecco wasn't bad either. There was only 4 of us on the evening we went. It was a lovely way to see Florence from a different view point, especially sailing under the Ponte Vecchio Bridge as the sun is setting. I would recommend this trip and I would go again.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an awesome way to see the highlights of Florence in a short period of time. My wife and I only had 1.5 days in Florence so we did this our first night. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant and the tour route was great. We took a few extra minutes one bridge up from Ponte Vecchio while the sun actually set and it was spectacular. And the tour was capped up with delicious gelato at the end!

Doing what: Florence Sunset Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time walking the city of Florence with Helma at the end of our 1st day in Firenze. The tour focused on the history and stories of Florence, focusing on buildings, and architecture, monuments and art, as well as fascinating people and what they did in that city. The tour was a couple of hours on your feet at the end of the day, so folks with museum feet should take that into consideration. We started at the Palazzo Strozzi and wound our way through the city, over the Ponte Vecchio, and past the Palazzo
Pitti. One point, the stories were more focused on Renaissance Flirenze rather than Medieval Firenze, but those were likely more interesting times. All in all a wonderful night, topped off with terrific gelato at a gelaterria south of the Arno.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely, gentle boat ride along the Arno. It was fun to see the sights from the water and to travel under the famous Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fun over with extensive walking and information. Ones joe issue is on the paperwork it said two seperate places to meet at the same time to start - at the Rialto bridge and also at Accademia Gallery; picked the first and were wrong. Had to run to the other spot for 20 minutes - annoyed.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in transit to Cinque Terre with only a few hours to spare. The tour was very informative and interesting. Beyond the obvious sites such as the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, the guide took us to a local market, sharing with us some interesting facts along the way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was great and we went to areas not covered in the tourist guide which were residential areas South of the Academia Bridge. I have to say that the nightime gondola ride was one of the most romantic settings I've experienced. Great Tours, and thank you very much!!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our tour started in the middle of the Ponte Vechio and we were escorted by an excellent guide through Florence visiting many famous locations including the Duomo (Cathedral). After a welcome ice cream we entered the Academia Gallery to marvel at the fantastic sculptures and were spellbound by Michelangelo's "David"
.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Florence - really how can you go wrong and this idea is brilliant. Bike riding around Florence is the way to go and our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgable and engaging. Her recommendations about what to see, the bargains and local knowledge stood us in good stead. It is not a strenuous ride so I encourage everyone who can ride a bike to do this. However they need better processes in keeping everyone together as some got lost on our tour due to crowds and the confusion caused by getting through the Ponte de Vecchio. So in the instructions before the ride know what to do if you fall behind and get lost. Miss Florence so much!,

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was lovely but I didn't find this as interesting as I expected. I had hoped for more information and historical facts including the Ponte Vecchio history.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide, Francesca, made this tour the incredible and comprehensive experience that it was. She shared her passion for and extensive knowledge of Florence, its history, and its art with us. She went above and beyond to include suggestions on how to complement our tour with additional activities afterward. She was completely open to any and all questions. She gave us the BEST recommendation for authentic gelato in Florence (Santa Trinita Gelateria at the end of the Santa Trinita Bridge - ask for buonatalenti and Santa Trinita both made the original way with mascarpone cheese). She is a great story teller and made Florence's history and attractions come alive. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant Tour....our guide Rose? was excellent, very passionate about her city and passing on lots of helpful hints for us, eg where to buy 'real' leather bags.....having a free gelato was a treat too and most welcome after walking for a couple of hours.....easy to locate on the Ponte Vecchio.....highly recommend

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Lovely late-afternoon tour in the city. It was great to have a guide, Omar who knew so much about Florence. The river cruise itself was great, the water in the river cools the air down a little bit (which is great – we visited during a heat wave!) to a far more comfortable temperature in which we could sit back, relax and take in the sights. Our pictures of the Ponte Vecchio from the river are “postcard perfect”. Many thanks to Omar for an unforgettable experience

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

AlexB
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Such a great way to start your evening in Florence! The light on the River Arno at the time the tour takes place is beautiful, really soft, meaning we were able to take some great pictures of the Ponte Vecchio as we sailed. Our guide, Omar was really friendly and had lots of interesting tales to tell about the city! Finishing with a glass of Prosecco, this boat ride was a lovely early-evening experience.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

I was looking forward to this tour but was rather dissapointed by the experience. It was quite a bit shorter than advertised. We cycled to a few main sites.... Once there our friendly and knowledgeable guide gave us some information about the site... then we cycled off to somewhere else. The main reason i booked this tour was so that i would get a feel of the city before tackling it by foot the next day- I didn't feel any better orientated after the tour. Secondly the description promised great views at sunset --- we did stop over a bridge at sunset but this was the only point. This tour could be improved by commentary during the ride and a briefing of where we will be going before the tour starts. but there were just 2 of us in the party

Doing what: Florence Sunset Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Beginning with Ponte Vecchio and ending in the Accademia a pleasure the entire time. The complimentary Hot Chocolate was incredible!!!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message