• USD ($)
  • English
San Gimignano is famous for its towers. As you approach this small, walled town, the fourteen towers dating from the 13th century – there were once seventy-two – demand your attention; if you were an attacking warrior in the middle ages they would ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We spent the day with Barbara, our informative tour guide, and Yuri, our friendly bus driver, touring Tuscany. It was a packed day, seeing all of Tuscany that we could see in 12 hours. It moved a little faster than my husband and I would have typically toured places, however we both realized that we would have never had the time to see all these places if we hadn't done a bus tour (since we were limited on time in the Florence area and did not want to rent a car). The first stop was Siena, which ended up being one of our favorite towns that we saw in Italy, we just wished we had a little more time there, guess we'll just have to go back someday :). The next stop was for lunch at a winery in the Chianti Region. This gave us the opportunity to meet some of the other travelers while we ate lunch together and tasted 4 different wines. After lunch we went on a brief tour of the winery, then loaded back onto the bus to head to San Gimignano. We had some free time in San Gimignano to explore. The tour guide told us about a place in San Gimignano where we could get "the best gelato," however the line was so insanely long that we would have used up all of our free time waiting for gelato. Don't waste your time in a gelato line (you can get amazing gelato anywhere you go in Italy), enjoy exploring San Gimignano, it's a great town! The last stop on our day trip was Pisa. I definitely recommend climbing the leaning tower, it's a crazy sensation when you are climbing it, and there is a great view at the top! If you climb the tower, that is pretty much all you will have time for on the Pisa stop, but it's worth it. All in all, I'd say it was quite a memorable day :) Thanks Barbara and Yuri!!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great teaser of Tuscany. You see Sienna, Chianti, San Gimignano, Pisa in enough time to take pictures, walk around and see everything. The highlight for me was driving around the wine country and visiting the vineyard. Of course, I could have spent the entire time in just the countryside and taking pictures and trying the food. Our tour guide Olivia was very personable and nice, gave us good info about the places we were visiting which was the opposite of the tour guide I had for the small group Cinque Terre through FlorenceTown. If you have a day to spare, this Tuscany day trip is worth it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

harleyfxr
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Met at the main train station @ 8am start and everyone was on time so onto the brand new and clean bus for the day's adventure. Stefano our guide was a fun and easy going person with a wealth of knowledge on everything and everywhere we went on the day. An easy drive through the countryside to Siena where the local guide took us on a walking tour of the city central showing us the main plaza where the famous Palio horse race is conducted as well as the history of banking. Stopped at the beautiful Cathedral and had enough time to wander around as well as free time. Another beautiful and educational drive to our lunch stop at a winery/farm. Amazing fresh food for lunch all accompanied with matching wines then a quick tour of the boutique winery as well as the farm animals. Stopped at the beautiful city of San Gimignano - given free time to either wander the shops, stop for a gelato or just take in the scenery. Bit of a drive but last stop of the day Pisa. Again enough time to wander around for photo's and see all the market stall selling touristy stuff or just time to sit and relax. Bonus was the little trip on the train that took you through the town with commentary throughout. Back to Florence late in the day. Well worth every cent and even though a long day thoroughly enjoyable and recommend to anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I found Viator from Baidu.com. At first I doubt if this company is real or not. After reading the comments from many people, I know it is a really good tourist company. So I booked Tuscany in one way. On 24 July, at about 8:05am, I walked to Forenze SMN station for its left side. A girl like a tour guide was waiting there. After seeing my paper she said yes it is with me. Then she showed me the way to the coach which has Walkabout blue letters on its side. The coach is very comfortable and to my surprise, many people like me join the tour. Great! Our tour guide is a pretty young girl from Poland who studies and does research in Forenze. Her English is quite good and she knows a lot about Italy and Tuscany. She is always willing for help and answer any questions. We visited Siena city center, Plaza and Dom. Then we go to visit a farm with grape plant and many cow. The lunch is very good, with four kinds of red wine, and one kind of white wine......Then we go to San Gimignano. We have only one and a half hour there, so I have no time to wait in the long line for the best icecream of the world because I am busy in shopping and taking photos. Then we go to the last stop, Pisa. Although the tour takes 12 hours, we don't feel tired because we can have a sleep in the coach when going to the next town. In a word, this day-trip is very good and worthwhile. Walkabout company is a small and new company but with very good service. I strongly recommend you join this tour if you visit Florence. I will recommend this tour to my Chinese friends.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great tour and well worth the money. It is a full day with a return to Florence after 8pm. It is quite a good balance of guided tour and free time (especially in San Gimignano and Pisa) and Siena is such a beautiful town. The tour is operated by a young tour company (Walkabout Tours) and our tour guide, Agata was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable, interested, organised and efficient. The only minor criticism is that there is such a lot to cover in one day some locations are possibly cut a little short (especially at Siena. However, overall this is an excellent tour and I highly recommend it to all.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

If you are a wine lover, you have to join this tour. This tour takes you through Siena and San Gimignano, or the Chianit wine region. The tour starts off at Siena, a beautiful Medieval town that is fill with culture and tradition. Our tour guide, Beatrice, gave us a nice little history and background between the Siena and Florence; they have a long history of rivalry and hate each other to death, even to this day. After Siena, we had lunch at a local farm near San Gimignano. The lunch was pretty much all organic food and products of the farm (including the wine), except the cheese. We got to taste 4 different wine to go with the food: a white, then 2 reds, and finally a desert wine. The next stop was San Gimignano, the city of Medieval skyscrapers, and the BEST gelato in the world! Pisa was the last stop. Although Pisa is nice, but it just can't compete with the other two towns.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This has been a lovely trip, one of the best that we have ever done. My fiancee and I would probably take more trips around Tuscany with this group, if we only had more time in Florence. Our tour guides were excellent, very professional, informative, friendly and with a great sense of humor. All of it has been great, one of our favourite parts of the day was the lunch on the farm and the free time in San Gimignano, the lovely medeval town, where we could wander the streets for about an hour and enjoy the World Competition winning Gelato. Highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Viator booked us on Walkabout Tours and the bottomline is that it was a perfect day. Our meeting spot just outside the train station in Florence, our coach was on time, clean and extremely comfortable. Our guide was the best. She was extremely engaging and knowledgeable about all things Tuscany even though she was from Great Britain! With a bit of a drive to Siena, she made it a point to keep us interested in the region by telling us about the Medici family and their influence on the area. Siena and its central square which doubles for a race track for its very famous horse race that runs twice a year was a perfect stepping off point into what I now think of as Tuscany. The Gothic Duomo of Siena is not to be missed. Its reliefs and works from young Michelangelo are great but the marble floor and its craftsmanship are amazing. Our next stop was the perfect lunch at a family run organic wine estate. Our pasta ragu, bread and olive oil were delicious expecially with all of the estates variatals in our glasses. Luckily my wife was looking elseware so I could order a case of wine which should be home any day! She will be surprised we can have a little bit of Tuscany back home. San Gimignano, our next stop was another surprise. Someone on our trip called it the Medieval Manhattan. I wonder the stories this town could tell throughout the centuries! I do know one of the newest stories is the Gelato shop is world class! Stop on in and have a photo with the owner who is old school. Our last but certainly not least stop was Pisa. We opted for the skip the line climb of the Leaning Tower and glad we did. The worn stairs tell a great story of fellow pilgrams visions of the past and future. Our requisite holding up the tower photo in hand it was back to Florence and an end to a perfect day. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get the flavor of Tuscany and like me look forward someday returning with more time to explore it all in more depth.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour, though booked with Viator, was given by Walkabout Tours in Florence. Our guide, Elisa, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and friendly. Talked about areas we drove through on our way to Siena. Our guide in Siena was a native who spoke with obvious love for her home town as she gave us insight into the culture and the horse race that takes place twice a year. We had a lovely tour, wine tasting, and lunch at an organic winery where we had a chance to get to know the other tourists on our bus. We then had a stop in San Gimignano, another medieval town in the Tuscan region before our last stop in Pisa.
I highly recommend this full day tour that includes lots of walking...uphill. Bring comfortable shoes and be prepared for uphill cobblestoned treks.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was nice to leave florence for a day to see what the outskirts have to offer.Again lovely little villages and towns.Highlights of Siena definitely going to the museum and seeing where they race the world famous Palio.
Then we went to San Gimignano amazing place and churches.

Doing what: Siena and San Gimignano Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Just beautiful, a must see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was by far one of the most comprehensive day trips we could have asked for! We saw all the sights in enough detail and were able to really have a taste of Tuscany. The Tour Guide Babara was very efficient, and knowledgeable. The typical Tuscan lunch and wine tasting was delicious, this took place on an Organic Farm in the breathtaking setting of the rolling Tuscan Hills. I would recommend this tour to everyone travelling to Florence: Siena and Pisa are must see towns, and the 'typical Tuscan' village of San Gimignano is home to some of the best ice cream in the World, most picturesque views and beautiful winding, cobbled streets. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a long day--12 hours, but well worth it. The tour group, Walkabout, does only two tours in Florence, and both tours have very knowledgable tour guides who are also very personable. The stop for lunch at an organic farm that grows grapes as well as some organic food for their restaurant was wonderful, with a gorgeous hill view scene of Tuscany area. The trip on to Siena was beautiful, the city itself is spectacular, and the Cathedral is spectacular, well worth the trip by itself. Outside in the famous Piazza del Campo, you can actually imagine the Palio, or annual horse race, as it is run, without having to deal with the crushing crowds! A great place to buy pottery, also. On to the town of San Gimignano, you experience the feeling of the Romans by the various entrances to the enclosed city. The famous towers were worth the pictures we took, and the buildings themselves were interesting. Onto seeing the Leaning Tower of Pisa, as the last stop, to me, was anticlimatic. It was interesting to see it in person, and everyone seems to want to take the photos of their holding it up, but once you have seen it, after all the other things in Tuscany, it seemed oh hum....

The trip to and back, just through the countryside, are spectacular.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We did this tour the day after 30 hours of travelling from New Zealand. The fact that we only fell asleep on the way home that evening is testimony to what a great trip it was! Knowing nothing about Siena, we found it was a highlight of our 6 days in Tuscany. The cathedral there is simply breath-taking. Our bus tour guide, Stefano, was perhaps the best guide we encountered in Italy (though all were good): funny, informative, friendly and helpful. The Siena guide was also witty, proud of her home town, and excellent. San Gimignano was interesting and both it and Siena felt "authentic" - like they were little changed from hundreds of years ago. Pisa was a little disappointing by comparison - though it didn't help that it poured with rain while we were there! (Plus our jet lag was starting to get the better of us...) Though it's a better known town (for its leaning tower), I'd recommend Siena if you had to choose one or the other. That said, the whole trip was excellent and we were pleased to have taken the advice of a friend and got out of Florence to explore the surrounding towns and countryside. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent trip! We stayed in Florence for 4 days and did this one on day two. Be advised it is a long day ( 12 plus hrs.) but definetely worth it. Siena was the first stop, toured the city with a local tour guide (Barbara). Nice overview of the city and its famous horse races. Then went to a vineyard outside of San Gimignano for lunch, wine tasting and a tour of the grounds. After that we went to San Gimignano for a self guided tour of the town. Then to Pisa. We opted for the climb of the tower of Pisa. Only 1 hour was alloted for Pisa but in my opinion the tower climb is the most important thing to do there in a short time, crossed it off my bucket list. Back to Florence by 8:30 pm. Walkabout tours organized the tour, excellent job! It was well planned, organized, and executed. Hats off to Stefano our tour guide, outstanding job! BTW, we did the Cinque Terre trip the next day, very doable if you are in fairly good shape...Joe

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message