San Gimignano is famous for its towers. As you approach this small, walled town, the fourteen towers dating from the 13th century – there were once seventy-two – demand your attention; if you were an attacking warrior in the middle ages they would ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went as a family and greatly enjoyed the day. Lavi was very pleasant and informative. She started the tour explaining about the founding of Florence and about some of its attractions. We loved beautiful Siena and the tour guide, Maria Elena, was interesting and informative. We enjoyed learning about the annual horse races from the guide and from the movie shown on the bus. We had lunch at a beautiful Tuscan farm where they make wine and olive oil amongst other things. First we toured the farm then ate a delicious lunch in a beautiful setting. Next we went to San Gimignano a quaint and charming medieval town on top of a hill. Finally, we went to Pisa, saw the tower and toured the beautiful church and the baptistery. While there was not much time in each town, we enjoyed seeing each and hearing about their history.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Florence to see the beautiful Tuscan countryside and two lovely hill towns. Our guide Lucia on the bus was informative. Everything was very well-organized and Lucia made sure we all knew when and where to meet so that no one got left behind. Siena is gorgeous. I really enjoyed our guided tour of the city with Sylvia, she had such passion for her town and we learned a lot about the town's history and the Palio horserace. San Gimignano is a lovely town with a lot of towers and hills to climb. We had enough time on our own to explore both cities. I heartily recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Siena and San Gimignano Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed our sightseeing tour - the best day we had while on holiday in Florence. We felt like we'd learnt and experienced more in a single day than we did in the other three days of our trip combined! Siena is a fascinating town and San Gimignano is beautifully preserved. We were so pleased to have visited both - something we wouldn't have done if the tour hadn't been available. We're also glad to have ticked the Leaning Tower of Pisa off our list of places to see. We paid extra to climb the tower, which was quite gentle (although a little expensive) in comparison to both Il Duomo and Giotto's Campanile in Florence, the latter two also offering more spectacular views. The meal and wine tasting were excellent - and the farm shop was great value for money, certainly compared to the airport shop on the way home! I'd recommend it to anyone - it was a long day (over 12 hours), but with plenty of time to relax on the coach between stops. Our guide - Antonella - was fun, friendly and helpful throughout the day. Thanks for some great memories.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I took the Tuscany in a Day Tour with Lavinia (Lavi), a San Gimignano native who made the day unforgettable. We met at the train station and boarded a comfortable air-conditioned bus, with Lavi giving us plenty of information about Florence and surrounding sights as we drove to Siena. At Siena she passed us off to a local guide who gave us a short tour of the city and cathedral and then allowed us some free time before meeting her to head out of town. The next stop was an organic farm outside of Sam Gimignano for lunch, wine tasting, tour, and did I mention the wine? All great, the views were incredible, and some of the wine was quite good. We next hit up San Gimignano itself and had time to ourselves to explore the town and eat the best gelato in the world at Gelateria Dondoli. Next up was Pisa, where they allowed prebooked Leaning Tower tours, free time, and ended the trip with a train on wheels tour of the city. Then it was back to Florence after a stunning day with a wonderful guide who made sure to stop by and personally talk to each of us on the drive back. Couldn't recommend this and Lavi enough! Do yourself a favor and book this!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Walkabout's Best of Tuscany Tour is not to be missed. From the time that Stefano greeted us at the tour pick-up point in Florence to the moment 12 hours later that we exited the bus, we had a wonderful time. It encompassed some of our favorite time spent in Italy, especially the wonderful tour and lunch at Poggio Alloro, the organic farm. We loved Siena, and Stefano provided a wealth of information about the Palio horse race. The trip to San Gimignano was fascinating, and we loved the scenic ride to Pisa. While Pisa was somewhat disappointing (besides laughing at the people doing contortions in the field beside the Leaning Tower as they "held up" the structure), we enjoyed the ride through town as other historical sites were pointed out.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fabulous tour! We chose to do this tour on the last day of our honeymoon in Italy and it was the perfect relaxing day to enjoy all Tuscany has to offer! Our tour guide Michelle was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the towns and the surrounding areas. We really learned a lot during our travels! And it was great to have a resident of Siena give us the tour of her own town. The lunch and wine tasting was great while the views of the vineyard and countryside were beautiful. San Gimignano really was home to the best gelato in the world (or at least on our trip!) And of course, climbing the tower of Pisa and seeing it in person is something I'm so glad we got to do. We couldn't have seen and done everything we did without this tour with Walkabout Florence. What an amazing value, great people, so well run and organized... I only which we had had time to visit Lucca as well! Just another reason to go back!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing...no other words to describe what a great experience from the second we sat on our luxury bus (with panoramic windows to ensure a spectacular view was always available) till the end with a fun fact filled tour of Pisa before we returned to Florence. Siena was breathtaking and so rich in history that I will one day return to spend more time there. The wine tour and farm was incomparable to anything else I experienced on my trip other than being in the presence of the Pope. Food was excellent and the tour and scenery was superb! The wine ....well needless to say we shipped home over 12 bottles and wished we had ordered more. San Gimignano was another storybok town with its towers and shops to some of the best Gelato Italy has to offer for sure. And Pisa....forever etched in my mind . We went with a group of 7 including my 13 year old who had a great time as well! Our tour guide Antonella was a doll...very knowledgeable and friendly, as was Mauro our bus driver. 5 stars plus! Do not hesitate to book this tour and have a glass of Chianti for me!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We spent the day with Barbara, our informative tour guide, and Yuri, our friendly bus driver, touring Tuscany. It was a packed day, seeing all of Tuscany that we could see in 12 hours. It moved a little faster than my husband and I would have typically toured places, however we both realized that we would have never had the time to see all these places if we hadn't done a bus tour (since we were limited on time in the Florence area and did not want to rent a car). The first stop was Siena, which ended up being one of our favorite towns that we saw in Italy, we just wished we had a little more time there, guess we'll just have to go back someday :). The next stop was for lunch at a winery in the Chianti Region. This gave us the opportunity to meet some of the other travelers while we ate lunch together and tasted 4 different wines. After lunch we went on a brief tour of the winery, then loaded back onto the bus to head to San Gimignano. We had some free time in San Gimignano to explore. The tour guide told us about a place in San Gimignano where we could get "the best gelato," however the line was so insanely long that we would have used up all of our free time waiting for gelato. Don't waste your time in a gelato line (you can get amazing gelato anywhere you go in Italy), enjoy exploring San Gimignano, it's a great town! The last stop on our day trip was Pisa. I definitely recommend climbing the leaning tower, it's a crazy sensation when you are climbing it, and there is a great view at the top! If you climb the tower, that is pretty much all you will have time for on the Pisa stop, but it's worth it. All in all, I'd say it was quite a memorable day :) Thanks Barbara and Yuri!!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great teaser of Tuscany. You see Sienna, Chianti, San Gimignano, Pisa in enough time to take pictures, walk around and see everything. The highlight for me was driving around the wine country and visiting the vineyard. Of course, I could have spent the entire time in just the countryside and taking pictures and trying the food. Our tour guide Olivia was very personable and nice, gave us good info about the places we were visiting which was the opposite of the tour guide I had for the small group Cinque Terre through FlorenceTown. If you have a day to spare, this Tuscany day trip is worth it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

harleyfxr
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Met at the main train station @ 8am start and everyone was on time so onto the brand new and clean bus for the day's adventure. Stefano our guide was a fun and easy going person with a wealth of knowledge on everything and everywhere we went on the day. An easy drive through the countryside to Siena where the local guide took us on a walking tour of the city central showing us the main plaza where the famous Palio horse race is conducted as well as the history of banking. Stopped at the beautiful Cathedral and had enough time to wander around as well as free time. Another beautiful and educational drive to our lunch stop at a winery/farm. Amazing fresh food for lunch all accompanied with matching wines then a quick tour of the boutique winery as well as the farm animals. Stopped at the beautiful city of San Gimignano - given free time to either wander the shops, stop for a gelato or just take in the scenery. Bit of a drive but last stop of the day Pisa. Again enough time to wander around for photo's and see all the market stall selling touristy stuff or just time to sit and relax. Bonus was the little trip on the train that took you through the town with commentary throughout. Back to Florence late in the day. Well worth every cent and even though a long day thoroughly enjoyable and recommend to anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I found Viator from Baidu.com. At first I doubt if this company is real or not. After reading the comments from many people, I know it is a really good tourist company. So I booked Tuscany in one way. On 24 July, at about 8:05am, I walked to Forenze SMN station for its left side. A girl like a tour guide was waiting there. After seeing my paper she said yes it is with me. Then she showed me the way to the coach which has Walkabout blue letters on its side. The coach is very comfortable and to my surprise, many people like me join the tour. Great! Our tour guide is a pretty young girl from Poland who studies and does research in Forenze. Her English is quite good and she knows a lot about Italy and Tuscany. She is always willing for help and answer any questions. We visited Siena city center, Plaza and Dom. Then we go to visit a farm with grape plant and many cow. The lunch is very good, with four kinds of red wine, and one kind of white wine......Then we go to San Gimignano. We have only one and a half hour there, so I have no time to wait in the long line for the best icecream of the world because I am busy in shopping and taking photos. Then we go to the last stop, Pisa. Although the tour takes 12 hours, we don't feel tired because we can have a sleep in the coach when going to the next town. In a word, this day-trip is very good and worthwhile. Walkabout company is a small and new company but with very good service. I strongly recommend you join this tour if you visit Florence. I will recommend this tour to my Chinese friends.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great tour and well worth the money. It is a full day with a return to Florence after 8pm. It is quite a good balance of guided tour and free time (especially in San Gimignano and Pisa) and Siena is such a beautiful town. The tour is operated by a young tour company (Walkabout Tours) and our tour guide, Agata was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable, interested, organised and efficient. The only minor criticism is that there is such a lot to cover in one day some locations are possibly cut a little short (especially at Siena. However, overall this is an excellent tour and I highly recommend it to all.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

If you are a wine lover, you have to join this tour. This tour takes you through Siena and San Gimignano, or the Chianit wine region. The tour starts off at Siena, a beautiful Medieval town that is fill with culture and tradition. Our tour guide, Beatrice, gave us a nice little history and background between the Siena and Florence; they have a long history of rivalry and hate each other to death, even to this day. After Siena, we had lunch at a local farm near San Gimignano. The lunch was pretty much all organic food and products of the farm (including the wine), except the cheese. We got to taste 4 different wine to go with the food: a white, then 2 reds, and finally a desert wine. The next stop was San Gimignano, the city of Medieval skyscrapers, and the BEST gelato in the world! Pisa was the last stop. Although Pisa is nice, but it just can't compete with the other two towns.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This has been a lovely trip, one of the best that we have ever done. My fiancee and I would probably take more trips around Tuscany with this group, if we only had more time in Florence. Our tour guides were excellent, very professional, informative, friendly and with a great sense of humor. All of it has been great, one of our favourite parts of the day was the lunch on the farm and the free time in San Gimignano, the lovely medeval town, where we could wander the streets for about an hour and enjoy the World Competition winning Gelato. Highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Viator booked us on Walkabout Tours and the bottomline is that it was a perfect day. Our meeting spot just outside the train station in Florence, our coach was on time, clean and extremely comfortable. Our guide was the best. She was extremely engaging and knowledgeable about all things Tuscany even though she was from Great Britain! With a bit of a drive to Siena, she made it a point to keep us interested in the region by telling us about the Medici family and their influence on the area. Siena and its central square which doubles for a race track for its very famous horse race that runs twice a year was a perfect stepping off point into what I now think of as Tuscany. The Gothic Duomo of Siena is not to be missed. Its reliefs and works from young Michelangelo are great but the marble floor and its craftsmanship are amazing. Our next stop was the perfect lunch at a family run organic wine estate. Our pasta ragu, bread and olive oil were delicious expecially with all of the estates variatals in our glasses. Luckily my wife was looking elseware so I could order a case of wine which should be home any day! She will be surprised we can have a little bit of Tuscany back home. San Gimignano, our next stop was another surprise. Someone on our trip called it the Medieval Manhattan. I wonder the stories this town could tell throughout the centuries! I do know one of the newest stories is the Gelato shop is world class! Stop on in and have a photo with the owner who is old school. Our last but certainly not least stop was Pisa. We opted for the skip the line climb of the Leaning Tower and glad we did. The worn stairs tell a great story of fellow pilgrams visions of the past and future. Our requisite holding up the tower photo in hand it was back to Florence and an end to a perfect day. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get the flavor of Tuscany and like me look forward someday returning with more time to explore it all in more depth.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message