San Gimignano is famous for its towers. As you approach this small, walled town, the fourteen towers dating from the 13th century – there were once seventy-two – demand your attention; if you were an attacking warrior in the middle ages they would ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for experiencing Tuscany on a limited budget and time. You get multiple stops in small villages as well as lunch and wine tasting at a working vineyard in the picturesque rolling hills you probably have in your imagination.

The tour itself is well organized, well run, informative and enjoyable. It is run locally by Walkabout and our guide was the charming and enthusiastic Gloria. She was well prepared, obviously enjoys her job San Gimignano is her hometown, and very efficient. The tour is over a large area and traveled via bus. Our driver Marco was very capable and made the trip smooth.

If you don't have the time or resources to stay directly in Tuscany during your Italy vacation, then staying in Florence and taking this tour is a great option.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the ancient towns. Martel was a great guide and it wasn't hard to find the bus stop near the train station. We got about an hour to explore San Gimignano which isn't hard - it's quite small. As Martel recommended, it's better to visit the fort for the views than climb the towers. After all, better to get pics of the towers than pics from the towers. Siena was much larger and we had much more time there. The square where the Palio takes place is amazing. We had time to get lunch and walk around and then got a walking tour and we got some great views of Siena on the walk. The day ended with a visit to a winery through a very scenic area and after a short stop in Greve, we headed back to Florence.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Jenna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My wife and I loved this tour! Sandra was an absolutely fantastic guide and made the tour both fun and educational with her history and facts about each location we visited. Also, during the bus rides between places she seemed to know the history about each place we passed which made for a much more interesting ride! In each town Siena, San Gimignano, and Pisa you will have free time to explore, shop, see sights or do whatever you want to which was very nice. Lunch was absolutely DELICIOUS at the family vineyard/farm and they were very good about providing gluten free options for my wife that she really enjoyed as well. Also, when they say wine tasting they mean that they put four bottles of wine on the table for each group of four people which makes the tour even more entertaining. We would highly recommend this tour if you have any interest in seeing some of the Tuscan countryside and sights of the great towns outside of Florence.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Gloria and driver Mauro were fabulous! The day was perfect for our family, who really wanted to get out into the Tuscan countryside, but didn't have a lot of time. The day itself was cold, windy and a bit rainy, but that did not dampen our spirits. We first stopped in Siena where we heard about the horse race from a local guide who was also fabulous and could give us a detailed explanation of what it must be like to be there during that time. We moved on to lunch at a farm where all the food was grown there. The meal was wonderful and the wines were great. The view was absolutely stunning. We moved on to San Gimignano to see the small town with all the towers. We ate some great gelato and did a little shopping as well. The views going into town were spectacular. We then traveled to Pisa on a very narrow and winding road take note, those of you with any motion sickness....might be a good idea to take some Dramamine!. The tower was lovely as the sun set and the cathedral there was beautiful as well. After about an hour, we were back in Florence. It was a long day, but we saw lots of things and got a good appreciation for the Tuscany area. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I simply cannot say enough about the quality, value, and excellence of this tour. Our tour guide Keyko was superb. She was lively, cheerful, entertaining, and interested in us as well as the points of interest on the tour. She had accurate descriptions of the city that we were passing as we were leaving. She explained what the day would be like and gave us details all along the way. Our first stop in San Gimignano was perfect. Keyko took us to the very top of the city for an amazing view. She gave us options and opportunities to do what interested us the most. As we boarded the bus for Siena, she explained what the tour of that city would be like. She then offered us options for lunch and told us when to meet our local guide. The local guide Maria was phenomenal. She truly loved her city and exposed us to many places that were off the paths and not available to most tourists. As we boarded the bus for our stop at a winery, we saw the beautiful rolling landscape of Tuscany. The winery stop consisted of plentiful 'tastings' of wine, explanation of the wine, and some delicious local salami and cheeses. We then boarded the bus for a stop at Greve. Even though it was low season and later in the day, the town still welcome us and the quaintness of it was heartwarming. We then boarded our bus for our trip back to Florence where Keyko gave us dinner suggestions and even walked us to some excellent restaurants. Our bus driver Franco was an excellent driver, making us feel very safe and well taken care of. All in all, one amazing day!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

nancy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A delightful way to get out of the busyness of Florence and see a lot in a day! The tour of Siena was great, although it would have been nice to go inside the duomo. San Gimignano is a great little town. The dinner was absolutely wonderful. And our tour guide, Elizieo, was very kind and full of interesting information about the area, history, etc.

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

JeJoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour, with Gloria as a wonderful guide. Leaving Florence we went first to Siena,with a nice tour by Sylvia, then to lunch at a winery and farm. with lots of food and wine. From there on to a neat old hilltop town of San Gimignano, and eventually Pisa. As great as this tour was, there wasn't enough time to spend in all of them, and even to shop. Other than the leaning tower, we could have done with out this stop, and the trolley ride, and spent more time in the other towns. Still, Gloria was a fabulous guide and this is a great tour with great views of the Tuscan countryside.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a great tour that covers a lot of ground in the Tuscan countryside from Florence: Siena, a lunch/wine tasting at a vineyard, San Gimignano and Pisa. Our guide for the day, Olivia, was excellent - well-informed and friendly, with a good sense of humor. Siena has a spectacular cathedral and the story of how Siena goes crazy over each summer's Palio horse races is very interesting. The lunch and wine were very good, in a pleasant countryside setting, and on the tour of the vineyard and organic farm, you can even pet the cows if you want. At San Gimignano, a charming walled village famous for its towers, I recommend climbing up the one public tower that's open - it's not too hard a climb and the views of the countryside are wonderful. Pisa isn't the greatest town to look at, and you're getting tired by the time you get there, but you get to see the leaning tower get advance tickets if you want to climb it and the sunset drive around the historic part of town afterward was a pleasant surprise. Much of Pisa was wiped out in WWII, which is why it's not nearly as charming as the rest of the itinerary. The bus we rode on looked brand new and was very comfortable It's a long day but worth it...take some snacks so you are ready for a late dinner by the time you get back approx 8:30 pm. And take advantage of any chance you have to use a bathroom - there's not always going to be one when you need it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Robert S Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour one of the best that we have ever taken and well worth the price. We had Lynn for our tour guide and she was fantastic. As soon as she stepped on the bus and started talking, we knew that this would be a great tour. She was funny, energetic, upbeat and very knowledgeable about the places that we visited. Our first stop was Siena, where we had an hour tour with Allessia, who grew up in Siena. She was outstanding, and very knowledgeable about Italian history particularly the history of Siena. You cannot do better than having a tour by someone who grew up in the city that you are touring and is so passionate about the history of the city. We then drove to an organic wine estate in the Chianti region and had a short tour of the winery, followed by a terrific all-you-can-eat lunch of salad, pasta, dessert and four different wines.
The food was great and the people that ran the winery were very gracious and accommodating. We then drove to San Gimignano had another tour, and finished the day at Pisa before driving back to Florence. It was a full 12 hour tour and we didnt get back to Florence until after 9:00. The bus driver also did an excellent job of expertly negotiating some difficult driving in these hill towns. The three towns that we visited were really must-see and we were happy to have booked this tour. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It is a full packed day 12 hours tour to Sienna, San Gimignano, and Pisa with lunch along the way at a Tuscan winery. Our tour guide was Antonella, and she was excellent at explaining what we would be seeing and answering our questions. She talked with us individually at end of trip to see if we had other questions where she could provide information. This is an excellent tour to get outside of Florence on a comfortable bus and see the country side and smaller towns. We definitely liked the tour of the vineyard, lunch and wine tasting.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our most memorable tour in Italy. We're still talking about it! Started from Florence on a very comfortable , air conditioned coach. Our tour guide Elisa was terrific throughout...personable, helpful, knowledgeable and there for you throughout the entire trip. Elisa is a true professional guide, dedicated to making your trip outstanding. Our bus driver was also a very safe driver.We toured Siena with a local guide. They were preparing for the Paleo horse races we saw part of actual race on the bus TV screens!. Brought home many delicacies. Our visit to incredible town of San Gimignano was memorable...BEST award winning gelato yes, not all gelatos are the same . We stopped for lunch at an organic farm Poggio Alloro. We toured the olive groves, vineyards and cow barn. Poggio served the best food we had in Florence. The servers wanted you to have a good time and offered everyone a 2nd helping. They wanted to please their guests , which they accomplished. Lunch was outdoors on a shaded balcony, overlooking the rolling hills/Cypress trees. We started w/ antipasto that was delicious. The pasta came hot to the table with delicious sauce/cheese. They offered a vegetarian option for the entrée and it was all paired with their wines, incuding one for dessert with home made biscotti cookies you dip into the wine. Even the cookies were delicious. if only I bought a few bags to take home. Their olive oil was had just the right tang in the back of your throat when swallowed and their creamy balsalmic vinegar was worth buying. I am so glad I bought their olive oils several types and balsamic vinegars....no regrets there! The only wine I liked was the dessert wine, like a Marsala not too dry. Our table company was excellent as well. A short stop in Pisa for the traditional climb and other buildings worth investigating for their artwork, history etc. Comfortable bus ride home . This tour, with Elisa, is an absolute MUST DO and worth the .

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Susan A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour and our guide Olivia was great. Siena was a fun town to tour, lunch and wine were incredible at the vineyard, loved the towers of San Gimignano, as well as climbing the leaning tower of Pisa. The entire day was lovely. Highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Florence area.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Silvany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect to see the towns around Florence like Siena, San Gimignano and Pisa. Tasty lunch with an awesome view and very good wine. Stefano was an incredibly helpful guide, very knowledgeable and funny. The bus was comfortable with a/c. I only wish I had a little more time in Pisa. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Brian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was AMAZING! For being a coach bus tour which we typically do not like, it was comfortable and the entire day ran so smoothly. Siena was beautiful. The lunch and wine tasting on the farm was delicious and the views were amazing. We got to see some of their cows and walk along the vineyards as well has have a great lunch of olive oil made on the farm and bread, salamis and cheese, a penne meat sauce pasta and try their very sweet desert wine - along with sampling 3 different kinds of wine that they make. They are not stingy with anything, so you can eat and drink as much as you please! San Gimignano is the Tuscany that you see in photos - absolutely breathtaking - and it was my most favorite place that day. You MUST pay to go to the top of the tower to overlook the entire town and the surrounding land - it is unlike anything I've ever seen! Pisa was great to see just to say I've seen it I'm glad it was tacked onto a tour and was only given the time it was given because after you see the leaning tower, there isn't much else to do! We opted out of going up in it and sat on a patio with a glass of wine instead, which we enjoyed. This day was long but didn't feel long thanks to our fabulous tour guide Gloria, who talked about the history of the places we visited the entire bus ride except for when she gave us a siesta on the way to Pisa, which was needed!. She was extremely knowledgeable, helpful, funny and just adorable. We loved her! Our driver Francisco was also great I never felt unsafe in that huge bus on the windy roads! He was a great driver.
We obviously loved our day in Tuscany and would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the beauty of the towns and land outside of Florence.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

JACKIE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommended. Olivia was just brilliant. Loved that she told us some stuff about herself as well for a more personal touch. She coped brilliantly with the adjustments she had to make for each stage of the tour, following the traffic jams caused in Florence by the Inferno film crews. Her concerns were that the tour didn't suffer as a result.
Siena duomo was a surprise and just stunning, Definitely worth a visit, as was the town itself. The wine tasting itself was quite brief and done at the table and there was no pushing us to buy anything. After the wine, everyone was more relaxed and chatty and it made for a very convivial atmosphere for the rest of the trip.
San Gimignano was very quaint and pretty with unusual shops for plenty of gift shopping! We didn't feel rushed at any of the stops and had time to explore a bit for ourselves. Pisa did what it said on the tin...it's all about the tower! Time enough to take lots of photos and have an ice cream etc!
Thanks Olivia...great host for the day!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour of Tuscany with Walkabout was absolutely a highlight of our entire Italy trip. Our tour guide, Olivia, was so knowledgeable and did a wonderful job of keeping us updated throughout the day of the plans, timing, etc. This tour was the perfect combination of being guided but also having your own time to roam about the new towns. San Gimignano was our favorite, and we know we would never have even known about it if it weren't for this tour. The chianti winery and lunch was a blast, absolutely breathtaking views! We loved this tour and definitely wished we had more time in Florence to check out some more of the great tours offered.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

PLD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a fantastic adventure trough the Tuscan countryside despite the light drizzle that developed during the afternoon! Our guide, Sandra, was born in Tuscany, so provided great insight into the area. She spoke English clearly and was easy to hear and understand. Our driver, Sergio, navigated the hilly countryside with ease. Visiting the little towns of Sienna and San Gimignano was a wonderful get away from the hustle and bustle Florence. The lunch and wine tasting provided at the organic farm was delicious and plentiful. This is an area I would definitely return to if I am able to visit Italy again!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Ricando S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Gloria was a wonderful tour guide from our host WALKABOUT. She was very chatty too and gave us interesting insights to the various medieval towns that we visited.
Wonderful host. Great bus too. We went to a few other tours, and the buses were always so cramped that our shoulders were always rubbing against each other. :( But this bus by WALKABOUT was big and spacious. PERFECTO!

We went from Florence to Siena then to the Chianti Vineyards and to San Gimignano. The food at the vineyard was okay, the wine was good but the experience was fantastic. My family and I enjoyed this trip very much.

Thumbs up!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kristine Renna United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely worth it! I am so glad I took the time to take this tour! I had Sandra as my guide and she was so knowledgable and had a wonderful, bubbly personality. We started our tour with Siena and got to walk around on a guided tour then had about 30 minutes to explore on our own. After we had the most delicious 4 course lunch with 4 different wines at a stunning and picturesque farm in Chianti. Even in the winter the views of Tuscany were surreal. After we took a short drive to San Gimignano and had about an hour to explore the town. The town is like stepping back into the medieval period. I recommend going to the Rocca of Montestaffoli and climbing the stairs for the most gorgeous panoramic view of Tuscany. We ended the tour in Pisa. I paid the extra to climb the tower. There is no elevator and there are 8 flights of steep, narrow, spiral stone steps which gives you quite a workout. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that has trouble walking. At the end of our time in Pisa we took a tram ride around the town of Pisa then got back on the bus to return to Florence. What I appreciated most about this tour was it stuck to the schedule and time table of the day. I would recommend this tour to ANYONE. The best day I had in Italy!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Scott B F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family of three thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our main guide, Michelle, was tremendous! Her native English language made our trip even more enjoyable. When we book a tour in English we expect to be able to understand our guide. Our Siena guide, Sylvia, a native Sienan, was also wonderful, and her grasp of the English language was marvelous. Both women were a font of information and quite humorous, making the information provided even more interesting.

This trip started in Florence on coach bus, driven by the excellent Sergio, and narrated by Michelle, and made its way through beautiful Tuscany, stopping in gorgeous Siena first. The history of Siena and the annual Palio race was fascinating. The Duomo di Siena was the most beautiful Duomo we saw in Italy and the city itself is breathtaking.

Next we stopped for lunch at an organic farm, Fattoria Poggio Alloro, where we toured their winery and vineyards and enjoyed delicious pasta and wine. We even purchased gifts for family back home like the organic Saffron they sell. Just hearing the labor that goes into harvesting Saffron made us want to buy it! From there we headed to San Gimignano, a beautiful ancient town for history, shopping and the best gelato in Italy.

The last stop on the tour was Pisa. What's nice about this tour is it isn't about the leaning tower. After we had plenty of time for photos at the tower, we went on a trolley tour of the city. Learning about the botanical gardens, the University of Pisa, founded in 1343, and seeing the beautiful River Arno at night were a wonderful way to end this walking tour.

This tour is worth every penny, filled with history, beauty and exercise!. I recommend it highly!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Francisco V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went as a family and greatly enjoyed the day. Lavi was very pleasant and informative. She started the tour explaining about the founding of Florence and about some of its attractions. We loved beautiful Siena and the tour guide, Maria Elena, was interesting and informative. We enjoyed learning about the annual horse races from the guide and from the movie shown on the bus. We had lunch at a beautiful Tuscan farm where they make wine and olive oil amongst other things. First we toured the farm then ate a delicious lunch in a beautiful setting. Next we went to San Gimignano a quaint and charming medieval town on top of a hill. Finally, we went to Pisa, saw the tower and toured the beautiful church and the baptistery. While there was not much time in each town, we enjoyed seeing each and hearing about their history.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Florence to see the beautiful Tuscan countryside and two lovely hill towns. Our guide Lucia on the bus was informative. Everything was very well-organized and Lucia made sure we all knew when and where to meet so that no one got left behind. Siena is gorgeous. I really enjoyed our guided tour of the city with Sylvia, she had such passion for her town and we learned a lot about the town's history and the Palio horserace. San Gimignano is a lovely town with a lot of towers and hills to climb. We had enough time on our own to explore both cities. I heartily recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Antony I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed our sightseeing tour - the best day we had while on holiday in Florence. We felt like we'd learnt and experienced more in a single day than we did in the other three days of our trip combined! Siena is a fascinating town and San Gimignano is beautifully preserved. We were so pleased to have visited both - something we wouldn't have done if the tour hadn't been available. We're also glad to have ticked the Leaning Tower of Pisa off our list of places to see. We paid extra to climb the tower, which was quite gentle (although a little expensive) in comparison to both Il Duomo and Giotto's Campanile in Florence, the latter two also offering more spectacular views. The meal and wine tasting were excellent - and the farm shop was great value for money, certainly compared to the airport shop on the way home! I'd recommend it to anyone - it was a long day (over 12 hours), but with plenty of time to relax on the coach between stops. Our guide - Antonella - was fun, friendly and helpful throughout the day. Thanks for some great memories.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I took the Tuscany in a Day Tour with Lavinia (Lavi), a San Gimignano native who made the day unforgettable. We met at the train station and boarded a comfortable air-conditioned bus, with Lavi giving us plenty of information about Florence and surrounding sights as we drove to Siena. At Siena she passed us off to a local guide who gave us a short tour of the city and cathedral and then allowed us some free time before meeting her to head out of town. The next stop was an organic farm outside of Sam Gimignano for lunch, wine tasting, tour, and did I mention the wine? All great, the views were incredible, and some of the wine was quite good. We next hit up San Gimignano itself and had time to ourselves to explore the town and eat the best gelato in the world at Gelateria Dondoli. Next up was Pisa, where they allowed prebooked Leaning Tower tours, free time, and ended the trip with a train on wheels tour of the city. Then it was back to Florence after a stunning day with a wonderful guide who made sure to stop by and personally talk to each of us on the drive back. Couldn't recommend this and Lavi enough! Do yourself a favor and book this!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

tommye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Walkabout's Best of Tuscany Tour is not to be missed. From the time that Stefano greeted us at the tour pick-up point in Florence to the moment 12 hours later that we exited the bus, we had a wonderful time. It encompassed some of our favorite time spent in Italy, especially the wonderful tour and lunch at Poggio Alloro, the organic farm. We loved Siena, and Stefano provided a wealth of information about the Palio horse race. The trip to San Gimignano was fascinating, and we loved the scenic ride to Pisa. While Pisa was somewhat disappointing (besides laughing at the people doing contortions in the field beside the Leaning Tower as they "held up" the structure), we enjoyed the ride through town as other historical sites were pointed out.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message