Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

San Lorenzo Market

When you hear people talk about shopping in the San Lorenzo Market, there are actually two markets they may be referring to. One is the popular-with-tourists outdoor market full of leather goods as well as Tuscan and Florentine souvenirs. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 703 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour we've done in 9 weeks of holidays! All thanks to our morning guide, Paul Costa! He was very engaging and managed to enthuse everybody about the history, art and religion of Florence. He continually asked us questions about our general knowledge as well as what he'd told us earlier, so we were kept on our toes, but not in a threatening or intimidating way...he even encouraged us to have wild guesses. Paul was not only passionate and very knowledgable but very entertaining as well. Often other toursits would try to join us to listen in on his speil. in such cases he handed them his business card and suggested they hire him at some time in the future -as we had done today. ( We all thought that was clever of him.)
We learnt much about the influence of the Medici family in Florence as we ambled through the streets they one ruled.
We spent 30 mins on Michelangelo's statue of David at the Accademia and every moment was worthwhile. A short visit into the duomo (cover up ladies as no sarongs available to use here) and then some time in the Piazza Vecchio before finishing at the Ponte Vecchio.
We then had a 2hr break before a different guide took us on our afternoon tour of the Uffuzzi Gallery. Lots of tour groups and tourists with Firenze passes were trying to enter at the same time so we didn't get in until at least 230pm (tour started at 2:15). We were given lots of information about different artists and different styles of art, as it evolved through history. We spent extra time on a few worthwhile pieces and went through most of the second floor. At 4:00 Barbara left us to our own devices to explore the first floor-pointing out some ' must see' pieces before she finished. Not quite the two hours scheduled, but probably enough time if you're not an art lover.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved the front of the line experience and the transmitters really helped us to hear the tour guide over the sometimes noisy conditions. Both our morning tour of Accademia with Anise and Angelo was filled with fascinating details. They brought history, art and the artist alive for us.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great combo set of tours ... will keep you occupied for the entire day! Really enjoyed all of them. Our tour guide was outstanding as she had such a great historical as well as artistic perspective. This tour combo a great value for the money if you want to see all the major venues and have the day to spend doing it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great, informative with yummy food what a combination, plus took us round the back streets and to the market. We had great fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Florence Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing!! We went in July, so skipping the line was wonderful with all the crowds. Our tour guide was so great (sorry I waited so long to review I can't remember her name), but she was so informative and great sense of humor, that she made the tour wonderful!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was fun! Alessandro led a mixed group of Australian and American tourists through the Mercato Centrale and then back to the kitchen to make (and eat) lunch. He was charming and funny and very patient with us. Our family all had a great time, and I think the others in the group did as well. I can't wait to try making pasta again.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Course and Local Market Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had so much fun segwaying through the city and learning a great deal about Florence at the same time! Valentina was an awesome, fun, and friendly guide who would answer all of our questions. My husband and I (age 65) had segwayed before and just needed a refresher. Two ladies in our group had never segwayed before but with Valentina's teaching they picked it up very quickly. You're a little nervous at first, then after about five minutes, you completely forget you're even on a segway--it becomes second nature. And the headsets allow you to hear everything your guide says clearly at all times. There is a bag on the front of the vehicle where you can store a few items like a camera, e.g., since there are so many photo ops. With a segway you can cover a lot more ground with less energy--it the way to go!

Doing what: Florence Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour changed my life. It might sound like a big statement, but it's hard to see art from the masters without reflecting on life. Michelangelo's David was stunning... hard to believe you're seeing THE David in person. The Uffizi is much larger than I thought it would be and I found myself staying there a good hour after the tour was over. The art from Raphael was my favorite, Botticelli is always a crowd favorite and there was an excellent collection of religious art. Seeing Michelangelo's unfinished pieces, or "the prisoners," was also enlightening as well. To think of what he could have finished...

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both the morning and afternoon tours were very informative and done professionally but also with lots of humor. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Transportation from cruise ship to start of tour a squeaker. Great tour of Accademia, time to study "David" and other sculptures, not enough time to see all paintings. Afternoon with new guide to Uffizi-wish I could have spent the afternoon there, but had to hurry out for transportation to ship on time. Better to spend an afternoon or whole day at Uffizi ! As with any tour, buy a VIP skip the line !

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent introduction to Florence. Our guide Roberta was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Well done to Viator for going ahead with this tour as there were only four of us on it.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best tour of the trip!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Course and Local Market Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message