Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

San Miniato al Monte

There are so many churches worth visiting right in the streets of central Florence that you might think it’s no big deal to skip San Miniato al Monte, sitting as it does high above the city in the hills. But couple the fact that it’s an incredibly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 497 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Without a shadow of doubt this tour was the best thing I have ever done. From start to finish I was in awe! Florence itself is a city of beauty but to view it whilst riding a vespa is unreal! Angel the tour guide was both pleasant and knowledgeable whilst the meal is worth the price alone. Amazing.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Andres L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour went far and beyond my expectations. This was one of the highlights of my trip. I enjoyed going through the small streets riding the Vespa. I did not want it to end. I highly recommend this tour. Angel, our tour guide, was great. The lunch at the end of the trip was an amazing surprise. I knew there was a lunch, but the place where it took place was awesome!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Dino F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a blast. Despite the cold, rainy weather, this was the highlight of the trip. Angel, our guide, was great. The lunch in the villa at the end was worth the wait. Plus we met Falco, the villa's snoozing watchdog!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Vera N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Vintage Vespas indeed! These bikes were classics from the 1980s. Being a Vespa owner back in the States, I had to acclimate myself with the handling of these scoots bouncing my mother on the back. My cousin had never ridden a scooter and had to do the same. That being said, what a blast! Angel took us on some amazing, sidewinding, hill climbing, hair-raising roads through the Tuscan countryside. By the time we arrived at our scenic, authentic, panoramic, Tuscan hillside lunch destination we were excited and ready to indulge. The homemade pasta magically appeared before our eyes! Angel, our tour guide, was a plethora of local knowledge. He gave us an interesting, comprehensive, historic insight into the Chianti region. Needless to say, this tour did not disappoint and is a most do for adventure seekers! It exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

roastedjessnut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I made the mistake of going in the morning when it was 0 degrees Celsius. Riding the Vespa was fun and not a problem at all...until my glove-less hands were freezing to the point that it felt like they were ready to detach from the rest of my body. Luckily, the guy took pity on us and let us take the Vespas back to trade for a Fiat manual transmission car instead - it was much warmer! We only got lost once, but the tour guide found us and all was fine thereafter.

Lunch was great! Really good homemade tomato sauce pasta with red wine I assume homemade because they were holding a cooking class in the same place we had our meal, followed by a platter of brushcetta, egg quiche, meat, and cheese, and then espresso and cookie/biscuit to finish the meal off. Very filling and very satisfying.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great day! Such fun riding a Vespa out of Florence into the hills, with beautiful scenery, guided along with a pack of baby Fiats! White knuckled grip negotiating the streets and remembering which side of the road to use, for this old girl a bucket list item ticked off!!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was simply an amazing experience. Do it!!!! The guide was friendly and informative and the views we saw were gorgeous. At the end we had lunch in an incredible setting. Loved it!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Steve Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time.Angel was a very friendly and knowledgeable guide and we saw Florence and thye hills of Tuscany from a very privileged viewpoint.
The Vespas were easy to drive and everyone on the tour had a fantastic time.
One of the highlights was the rustic restaurant made of wood and glass with the most amazing view of the surrounding countryside.
We cannot recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Dori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This Vespa tour was amazing with driving within Florence and the beautiful Tuscany countrysides. Stefano was a fabulous tour guide keeping all safety concerns in check. The lunch at Carmela's Tuscan farm house was a delicious treat along with the stops we made during our drive to take the most breathtaking pictures. Definitely recommend this exciting and wonderful experience while visiting Florence!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

cng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. Must do in Venice. Wish it was longer

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Julian was the best tour guide we have ever had. He is knowledgeable of Italian history and geography, is down-to earth, funny and fun. The tour structure in itself was already amazing, but Julian and the local tour operator made this experience truly unbelieveable. thanks!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Matthew M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended, but in the off season as we had only one other scooter, Great ride into the hills and country side of Tuscany followed by a most satisfying diner. Our tour guide was young and energetic, living a dream many have no idea exist, what a step ahead in life he has, not to mention meeting people from around the globe.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was such a blast! We had a quick training session in the streets of Florence and were then on our way into the Tuscan Countryside. Our guide, Angel, was very friendly and showed us all of the best sights around Florence and the countryside. We travelled through great small towns and stopped at a number of vantage points along the way. The lunch towards the end of the tour was to die for - great Italian feast and red wine in a beautiful Italian home - I was expecting a sandwich on the run and this was completely unexpected. If you are looking for a truly unique experience then this tour is for you. It certainly was a highlight of our European trip.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Dawne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was well organized. Agency person I met was very friendly and helpful. Great day trip.

Doing what: Independent Florence Day Trip from Venice by High-Speed Train

fontaine_pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had such a great time!!!! The tour guide was wonderfull and took us to places that the tour buses couldn't go. We had a delicious meal in a private kitchen in the Tuscany hills. Coming back into the city people loved the site of 6 vintage fiats . Many were taking pictures of us and filming the fiat caravan. We felt like we were being chased by paporazzi. The day was great from beginning to end.

Doing what: Self-Drive Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Florence: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

suzrob1314

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the highlight of our trip to Italy! Julian, our tour guide, was fantastic from start to finish. We weren't sure what to expect when we signed up but this certainly did not disappoint. He gave everyone a brief tutorial and the drivers had to navigate a small course prior to departure. We wound through the beautiful Tuscan countryside and stopped along the way to take photos and Julian gave us some great historical facts about the area. There were five couples in our group and we stopped at the end for some great food and wine. Matteo, who I believe was training with Julian, aided us all throughout the day as well. I would highly recommend taking this tour... it really is a blast!!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent experience. Location of the company in the middle of town. Julian was an excellent guide and had a great love for and knowledge of Florence. A fun must do experience followed by a beautiful lunch.

Doing what: Self-Drive Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Florence: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour guide and unforgettable Vespa ride and lovely dinner at an Italian countryside cooking school. Beautiful farm location and great conversation!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The highlight of our time in Florence. Our tour guide, Julian, was extremely knowledgable and friendly. We felt completely at ease on our Vespa as he made sure to wait for us after intersections and keep an enjoyable pace. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to see the countryside and also eat an amazing dinner at the end of your day!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I had a blast driving one of the vintage fiats through the surrounding hills of Florence! Our guide, Angel was a terrific and knowledgeable guide sharing some of Florence's rich history with us. The lunch provided was wonderful and the scenery to and from was stunning.
Definitely a highlight of our stay and we would recommend this tour to anyone.
Pick a nice day and enjoy the tiny country roads in a tiny Italian car!

Doing what: Self-Drive Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Florence: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Jeannie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a fantastic tour! Our guide was kind, professional, and very knowledgeable. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous at times driving thru traffic, but the whole experience is something not to be missed. Thank you Walkabout tours!!!

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Jill M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I couldn't wait to drive a Vespa, but I'm very short and light in weight so I didn't fit it well enough. I was really disappointed but Fabio, our optimistic tour guide was great, he suggested that I switch to a 500 classic Fiat and that worked out well for me in fact I'd like to find a car in the U.S. that would fit me as well.

The whole day turned out so fun, driving around a busy city like Florence felt fine too after we got the hang of it and became convinced that Fabio definitely had our backs. Driving out in the country was really great, we stopped at various landmarks in the Tuscan hills and Fabio imparted his extensive knowledge making it extremely interesting. The tour was topped off by a fabulous Italian meal enjoyed with a countryside view. Fabio took great pains to make us safe! We would definitely recommend this tour for fun, value, and interest.


Jill and Ralph
Michigan, U.S.A.

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

nigel b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing!! A must do for Florence and Tuscany trips
Never riden a moped/scooter before and it was great.
Angel, our guide, was superb! A lovely guy. Our group of 4 were just lovely and got on great.
Dinner was beautiful and the ride was just amazing.. an unforgettable day thank you
Sarah and Nigel

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Angela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of our favorite events on our Italy trip! Fabian was very charming, capable and knowledgeable. Excellent English which was very helpful. He helped me get going on my scooter when I was having an issue, and was very encouraging all the way. We ended up having a great time, and lunch at the villa was so pleasant and relaxing. The scooters are older and have sticky throttles, but after I practiced for a few blocks I was fine. A memorable and fun experience...now I want a scooter here at home!

My only feedback would be to have each person practice on their own scooter at the beginning of the tour, to give everyone a longer time to get the feel for their individual throttles and brakes because each scooter is a little different.

A great experience that I have recommended to several people already!

Thank you,
Angela

Doing what: Florence Vespa Tour: Tuscan Hills and Italian Cuisine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message