Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Santa Croce Basilica

Work on this beautiful basilica began in 1294, though the facade and bell tower are 19th-century additions. The world's largest Franciscan church, it houses 16 chapels and famous frescoes by Giotto. On the inside, the church is a classic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

My husband and I only had one day in Florence. We took the full day tour with lunch. It was amazing. We pretty much covered everything: Il Duomo, the Baptistery, the Accademia, the Uffizi, and Santa Croce, as well as a bus tour through Fiesole. Lunch was great because we met so many wonderful people. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour especially the morning session because of the nice view at piazza michelangelo and also seeing 'David' at the accademia gallery. Our favorite in the afternoon session was going to the Uffizi gallery. The tour also gave a good introduction to the Duomo and Church of Sta. Croce covering the exterior of these sites. If you want to see the inside, you would have to return another time. Overall the tour was great. :-)

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

This was a really good tour. We opted for the full day. The Churches, Galleries, and sites were amazing. The tour guides were very informative and knowledgeable. the headsets the guides give you for your chosen language are very clear so you never miss out on anything. The guides bring you in so you are never caught up in long queues.
What did let down the full day tour for us was the lunch, it was a cheap and basic, we were given 45 mins to eat and had to remind the waiter of this several times as the service was slow, needless to say we had to take our dessert with us to eat on the coach!. I suggest you do this trip in two halfs and exclude the lunch. You are not given access to the Sante Croce Cathedral you only see the facade.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The guides knowledge of art was superb, she really brought the Uffizi Gallery to life and exceeded my expectations. Would be nice to see inside Santa Croce as well as just the outside. Although this may extend the tour by half an hour I think it would prove worthwhile.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

The tours were great, although the website needs to be updated. Our afternoon tour stated that we would be visiting the Franciscan Church of Santa Croce interior. This was not the case and we had to pay an extra 10 euro to go into the interior. Many in the group planned on going in and were unhappy when they found out that the website was wrong, therefore we agreed to pay the extra to go in.

On the other hand the lunch was outstanding and even included both red and white wine which was not stated on the website. Our afternoon tour guide was very passionate about the paintings in the Galleria del Uffizi and went into a bit too much detail.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Great tour! Wish we had more time up on the hill and to enter the basilica.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Very interesting, but it was disappointing when we didn't actually go inside the Duomo and Santa Croce

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Very interesting, but it was disappointing when we didn't actually go inside the Duomo and Santa Croce

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

very disappointing.

the tour of florence hills was a brief bus drive to the top of a hill, view and drive back.
no real content.
viewing exterior of santa croce - what a laugh.
guide did his best with the Piazza Signoria, which was occupied by dancing flag throwers as it was May 1.
But we were in florence for one night only. not until we got on the bus on our last afternoon were we told that May 1 was considered a Monday and the Uffizi was closed. The interior tour of the Palazzio Vecchio was not a great alternative.

I should have been informed of the iterinerary variation when I was booking or as part of the buying process. I felt blackmailed into taking the Palace tour instead.

Most of the bus got off except two couples (inc US!)

If this happens every year, why do tour companies like Viator not take proper responsibility for customer care?
Looks to me like a bank holiday scam to squeeze money from a limited and in my case trapped market.

Guide quite knowledgable but repetitious and superficial, especially about pallazio vecchio and Santa Croce.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Overall we enjoyed the tour but were disapointed in the bus trip as we didn't stop for a photo oportunity at the top nor on the way down. It would have been good to have visited Piazzale Michelangelo and Santa Croce Basilica. We seem to have enough time. Overall I was dis apointed in you Florence Tours and guides.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

On morning tour we started late and then had to put up with commentary in three languages on the bus. I paid a lot of money for an ENGLISH tour. After the bus ride the guide seemed to be in a rush and just took us down tourist filled Streets, just stopping briefly at the basilica. Then , on this no waiting in line tour, we had to wait one hour twenty minutes to get into the Accademia. Just had time to see David but didn't have time to see anything else, as we had to go for lunch. Lunch was rushed, as we had to get to the start of the afternoon tour.
Afternoon tour started with another three language bus tour which was so boring I fell asleep.
thank goodness for the great afternoon guide. Took us round narrow streets explaining the history and where to visit. Then straight into Uffizi with only a short wait and an interesting and entertaining tour inside.
it made a difference that the afternoon guide had a radio microphone, so we could hear her.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

We chosen the afternoon tour. First part was in a coach and it wasn't too bad, the views were stunning and one of the guides gave us an interesting talk about architecture and culture of Tuscany. Although, we didn't visit the Church of Santa Croce, we barely seen it in the distance and we were only allowed to get off the coach literally for 2 min to take a picture of the panorama. Second part was a walking tour and they split all people in two groups. We were unlucky, our guide turned out to be terrible, she was more interested in telling unfunny jokes and anegdotes about Italian government than interesting facts about things we could see. Quite few people decided to quit as they found some mistakes in what the guide was talking about. When we got to Uffizi Gallery things got even worse, the guide was repetitive and sound like she's really making things up, we decided to continue on our own.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

The description stated that you would not wait on a line at the museum. We waited for over 25 minutes. We couldn't hear the tour guide very well. Also, it was advertised that we were to see the tombs at the Church of Santa Croce, but we were told that the website hadn't been updated and the tombs weren't part of the tour anymore. They were the reason we booked the trip.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

In the morning seeing the David was fantastic, and we had a great guide. The afternoon was a complete waste. We spent two hours eating a so-so meal. Taking the bus to Fiesole, then not getting out and being told to take a city bus up on our own later if we wanted to see it was terrible and a rip-off. We had a guide who walked very slowly, and we saw places from the outside and were told we should go into them on our own someday. He waited for us to take photos of the outside of Santa Croce church for a long time. Then we finally went to the Uffizi, and we did not get in until 5 p.m. The guide disappeared and later returned with the tickets after we had let two more groups go ahead of us in line. Once in, we waited again for everyone to go to the bathroom. My boys and I just could not wait any longer for the slow guide and the group. We did not understand the guide's English very well, either. We decided to break off from the group and see the museum on our own because he was so bad. It was a waste of an afternoon in Florence because when it was finally time to see a museum in the late afternoon, we were exhausted and tired of not knowing what and when things would happen.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I didn't enjoy this tour -its a waste of my money. I had to go trough torture of listing to other language during our coach bus trip to some place which was not even part of the tour. Also, I thought our guide will take us to the Basilica of Basilica of Santa Croce inside but did not - took us only surrounding - outside of the place. We only went to Uffizi galary inside but didn't get chance to see entire museum because our tour guide spend lots of time on one picture at a time - so end up seeing 1/4 of the museum in 1.5 hrs - entered almost at 4:45 and out by 6:15. I can't forget to mention that the picture of the church displayed in the tour is Santa Maria Novella church but we were not even taken to that place.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message