Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Vasari Corridor

Built in 1564, the Vasari Corridor was designed to enable the Grand Duke Cosimo I de Medici to move between the Pitti Palace where he lived, the Uffizi where he had his offices, and on to the Palazzo Vecchio, the seat of Florentine government since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrific tour with our very knowledgeable guide Sara, who is a professor in art history. She escorted us through key works and rooms and works in the Uffizi and then into the Vasari Corridor. While the whole concept of the corridor and being able to walk it is a treat in itself, so too are many of the artworks including the huge collection of artist self portraits. These span centuries including some more modern ones by Marc Chagall, Joseph Beuys and Robert Rauchenberg. This tour was one of the best things we did in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

anna v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide, Mario was absolutely contagious with excitement and knowledge about the arts and how we can appreciate it more. The vasari Corridor was somehting exceptional and much expertience. The crowds at Ufizi are overwhelming and to have access to the Corridor, behind the closed doors is a great escape.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Frederica was so knowledgable on art, history and architecture. We visited the Piazza first and the the Uffuzi gallery. She gave us a highlight tour but with great detail. This was a great way to do such a large gallery. We stopped for a light breakfast tea and croissant where we got to know each other better. Then to the Vasari corridor too see how the Medici's traveled from the Pitti palace to the city offices. She talked about art, politics, history, and family trees, and many other things. We learned so much and felt lucky to get into such a unique space.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Manya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful experience with a small group. The Vasari Corridor is not widely known which is a plus for visitors. Excellent guide using headphones so that we could look and listen. Along the walls are the most wonderful self-portraits of all the well-known artists from earlier times to modern. Wonderful views from all the windows along the way with plenty of time to photograph, not at all hurried.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Marichu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Katerina was knowledgeable and engaging and we truly enjoyed our tour. The Vasari Corridor was a true privilege to see! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Jeanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant tour of the Gallery and the Vasari Corridor. Not to be missed if you are in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Yuka F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful time at the Uffizi Gallery. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgable. The Vasari corridor makes this tour even more special! Highly recommended for art lovers.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic experience well worth the time and money. Our guide, Mario Gesu was superb He was articulate, entertaining and engaging for the entire 4 hours of the tour including breakfast at the gallery - he really brought the tour to life in a well paced and balanced manner. Our group ranged from 9 yrs to 80 years old and we never felt rushed or hurried. Getting in to the Uffizi Gallery as it opened and then a veritable private tour of the Vasari Corridor and it's beautiful art collection and views were a wonderful treat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I loved this tour. We were expertly guided through many of the major works by the lovely Federica. The Botticelli room was and absolute highlight for me and the privacy of the Vasari Corridor was a very special experience. It was nice to escape the crowds in the main parts of the Uffizi Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Lorraine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

While just seeing the Vasari Corridor rates as five stars, your guide Caterina, made it a truly unforgettable experience. She was extremely knowledgeable, very funny and engaging. My group loved her and wish she could be our guide all over Italy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

John O. A. T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Worth every penny. The tour guides are very informed and entertaining. The Vasari Corridor makes your whole trip to Florence worth all the expense alone.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a guide who managed to get our group in straight away. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining! We particularly enjoyed the Vasari corridor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was one of the very best tours my wife and I have ever taken. The Vasari Corridor Walking Tour and Pitti Palace tour with Florence Pass and Roberta were exceptional. We were one of two couples on the Pitti Palace Tour and were spoiled. Wow, what a big difference a small group makes. Even I learned things! You can hear the guide, ask questions and literally stand right next to them as they describe the art work. Thank you so much Florence Pass and Viator for making this all come together. Richard

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Palazzo Vecchio and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour with Optional Pitti Palace Palatine Gallery Visit

Korie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tours can be made or broken by the guide and this one was led by Maurizio of Florence Pass tours and he was great! Funny, knowledgeable, obviously passionate and proud with a real love for the city, it's history, it's art and it's people. The private tour of the Vasari Corridor was not to be missed and I got the feeling he would have stayed there much longer if we could. It was also a small group of 8-10 which made it very personal. Awesome and inspiring! I came away wanting to read the biographies and histories of many of the artists because of his engaging and charming portrayal of the art we were witnessing. Book it and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderfull tour and superb guide Giulia. This is my third visit to Firenze and first tour with the local tour operator. It was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour for the knowledge imparted and experience of seeing the fantastic Uffizi and wonderful Vasari corridor.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Gregory R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My first Group tour and it was totally fantastic!
The guide was charming and very knowledgeable about art history
Vasari Corridor itself was well worth visiting and a group is the only way to do so
Easy walk and very reasonably priced
Viator makes everything easy, directions are precise and easy to follow

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Uffizi is excellent and the Vasari Corridor is very special. Have your coffee before the tour, breakfast is nothing special croissant and capuchino but the rest is excellent. Combine this tour with the Academia tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

S J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

the ufizzi docent roberta is very knowledgeable about the gallery, paintings, and history of medici. she's very professional and has the ability to waltz us right into the gallery while a long line of people waiting. the afternoon vasari corridor and accadeia gallery tour was led by maurizio. he's a florentine and is very proud of the city and its history. he knows his michelangelo by heart. also, with him you can also waltz into accademia without waiting like all the single ticket holders.

if you love art and history, not content to just take a quick photo of david and birth of venus, do this tour with this company, florence pass!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour. Mauricio was very knowledgable and having access to the Vasari Corridor was amazing. Greatly way to use a full day in Florence without wasting time figuring out where to go or what to see. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Kaydub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a wonderful tour made all the more enjoyable by our guide Vanessa. She was truly gifted at making the history and culture come alive. Her passion for the subject was infectious. I particularly loved her descriptions of the self portraits through the Vasari Corridor and her knowledge of the great art was a stand out. This was a highlight for me.
The Corridor itself is truly worth the visit not just for the history but also for the surprisng and spectacular views gained along the way.
If you get the chance, do this tour and in particular see if you're lucky enough to have Vanessa as your guide! She is pure joy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Lesley m perry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a wonderful tour of the amazing UFFIZI GALLERY and the VASARI CORRIDOR is a must,
The early start was great as the weather had been very hot. The light snack in the very nice cafe was very well organised.
BARBARA our guide was excellent as she is very knowledgeable about history and art plus she ischarming and very bubbly her passion for art truly shows through.

The only glitch we had were the instructions for meeting the guide were not clear therefore I emailed VIATOR the previous day requesting clear instructions on where to meet - to date I still have not had a reply.
We were lucky in that we happened upon another family who were ibooked on the same tour who also
Did not have clear instructions - luckily by default we found our tour . Thank you BARBARA for a wonderful tour.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic experience, this was the best way to see this place and get the best out of it. Our guide was knowledgable and informative, I recommend this as the best way to see the Uffizi gallery and Vasari corridor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

paulette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide and outstanding visit of the Gallery and the Vasari Corridor!

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Mark United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic tour of history and art through the ages. What a contrast from the crowds and noise of the Uffizi galley to the silence of the Vasari corridor. A helpful tip though- the Vasari corridor is not climate controlled and can get very hot. Also, the Vasari corridor has many sensitive paintings- that can not be touched. DO not bring children on this tour. It will only get you in major trouble. For adults, this is a not to be missed glimpse into the past. Fascinating also to hear of the corridors role in WWII. The Academia Gallery is worth it for the walk through Florence as you follow the path of David when it was moved in 1575. They moved it 50cm at a time! On the walk you will see works by Donatello among other things. Just be alert and don't get so wrapped up in the tales of the guide that you get in the path of traffic. Note: there is a lot of ground to cover and its a fairly brisk pace. Again, maybe not the best tour for small children but awesome for adults who can appreciate what is told.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

marlene.zwerin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide, Mario, was very knowledgable and made it a truly memorable experience. I highly recommend this to anybody traveling to Florence as the best way to see the Uffizi. Then you get the added benefit of experiencing the Vasari Corridor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message