Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Vasari Corridor

Built in 1564, the Vasari Corridor was designed to enable the Grand Duke Cosimo I de Medici to move between the Pitti Palace where he lived, the Uffizi where he had his offices, and on to the Palazzo Vecchio, the seat of Florentine government since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 344 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour of the gallery and the private corridor! The art lesson given by Mario was incredible and informative. He helped us connect medieval, Renaissance, and Neoclassical artistic periods in Firenze and Venezia, while also teaching us a bit about the Medici family. I was saddened to hear they're possibly moving the art out of the Vasari Corridor next year and opening it to the public. Take the tour while you can!

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Pamela U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide! Small group perfect. Vasari Corridor fascinating. Breakfast welcome break and plenty. Expensive tour but worth it.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Victor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting, informative and memorable tour which took place on June 14, 2016. One of the highlights. This tour is a must. Roberta Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Tours and Mauritzio Accademia Gallery Tour were excellent knowledgeable guides from whom someone could learn a lot.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

kim s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Francesca, our guide, was so great- we were the only group in the Vasari Corridor and it was a special experience!

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. The tour guide met us in the Piazza della Signoria and gave us information about the Piazza and its statues, the Palazzo Vecchio in addition to the history of the Medici family. We went straight into the Uffizi without queuing and the tour guide continued to explain about the art we saw right up until we got to the Vasari Corridor. We were then passed on to another guide who took us through the corridor to the Boboli Gardens explaining about the corridor and the art we saw along the way. The art is mostly self portraits. We saw the other sights in Florence using a Firenze Card but are really glad we booked this trip and would recommend it to anyone except those who despite being told not to, stand too close to the walls and bump into the priceless paintings which one guy did on our trip!

Doing what: Vasari Corridor and the History of the Medici Family

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour of the Vasari Corridor was a very pleasant surprise. Once you know the history of Florence this was a special part of our trip. Guilia was our guide and did a wonderful job. Very entertaining and gave us a multitude of interesting facts and anecdotes..

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

kate.gilbert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely tour of the Uffizzi and the Vasari Corridor. Our guide was Giulia and she was wonderful. I would definitely take a Viatour again--they were extremely efficient, good natured, and capable. They did everything they said they would do. I was a bit skeptical before I signed up because, after all, it seemed so large and anonymous and generic compared to the tours I usually book. But they absolutely gave us a wonderful tour even though there were fifteen people on it. I was very impressed and would definitely book again.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Peter Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was outstanding. She is a PhD in art history and took us though renaissance art and the accompanying history of the region as seen through the Uffizi gallery collection. The Vasari Corridor was great since there were no crowds only our group and our guide sent us though the local history with stories of the many portraits in the gallery. Best art museum tour I have ever been on!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Olivier B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour !!

We had access to one of the most secret place in Florence. The Vasari corridor which connect two palaces.
We have learnt a lot from our guide Lucia B who really knew the subject and could give an answer to our questions. She really made our day.

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

Lindsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely fabulous - would definitely recommend. In the Uffizi the guide focussed on only a small number of items but as a result you were able to appreciate and learn a lot more than just wandering around and trying to take in everything all at once. The groups were small only 4 for accademia and tour guides very knowledgable and engaging. It was a priviledge to visit the Vasari Corridor. And yes, beating the queues is a very significant benefit!

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

helenappleyard Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant. This was so informative and interesting. I feel so lucky to be one of the few that has the opportunity to visit the Vasari Corridor. Our guides were fantastic. Doing this tour has really helped me start to put together the pieces of the history of this truly wonderful city. I loved it and if you get a chance, do it! Definitely once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Vasari Corridor and the History of the Medici Family

Ian Alexander P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What was the guide's name? Veronica? Allisandra?
I only know she was excellent - providing a highlighted sense of the Uffizi while bringing the Corridor to life. I wasn't yet in tourist mode so didn't think until it was over that she should have been tipped. Sometimes we're a slave to our culture... If you're reading this, I apologise.

I'd read my Vasari before the holiday, but it's not enough: the Uffizi is like the Louvre - if you like art you could spend months in there. When I return to Florence I'm certainly going to look for a longer, specific tour.

Paradoxically, the combined tour is too much and not enough. I felt 'art-bombed' even as we were moved steadily on past artworks that I could almost name, towards something equally familiar.
My only regret is that by taking the tour, I didn't get a chance to visit the Uffizi Bookshop...and the rooftop cafe. If the tour allowed a gelato-break, I would certainly demand 6 stars!

I've heard that the Corridor might be changing - at least the content might as it's not properly climate controlled. As the paintings are a unique collection of artists portraits, I fully recommend a visit before it's turned into a 'sculpture tour'.
Mind you, it's not as though Florentine Sculpture is actually bad. Kind of jaw dropping actually.

Expensive? Yes. And worth every Euro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Adrienne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Uffizi Gallery was fantastic! Plus, once in a lifetime walk on the Vasari Corridor with marvelous paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I had a great experience during our Vasari Corridor tour! We were the youngest in the group as normal but the tour guides made all ages feel included and interested. The artwork in the passage is amazing not to mention the stories behind the building of the corridor. If you're in Florence, don't miss the chance to walk where few get to walk.

Doing what: Vasari Corridor and the History of the Medici Family

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrific tour with our very knowledgeable guide Sara, who is a professor in art history. She escorted us through key works and rooms and works in the Uffizi and then into the Vasari Corridor. While the whole concept of the corridor and being able to walk it is a treat in itself, so too are many of the artworks including the huge collection of artist self portraits. These span centuries including some more modern ones by Marc Chagall, Joseph Beuys and Robert Rauchenberg. This tour was one of the best things we did in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

anna v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide, Mario was absolutely contagious with excitement and knowledge about the arts and how we can appreciate it more. The vasari Corridor was somehting exceptional and much expertience. The crowds at Ufizi are overwhelming and to have access to the Corridor, behind the closed doors is a great escape.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Frederica was so knowledgable on art, history and architecture. We visited the Piazza first and the the Uffuzi gallery. She gave us a highlight tour but with great detail. This was a great way to do such a large gallery. We stopped for a light breakfast tea and croissant where we got to know each other better. Then to the Vasari corridor too see how the Medici's traveled from the Pitti palace to the city offices. She talked about art, politics, history, and family trees, and many other things. We learned so much and felt lucky to get into such a unique space.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Manya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful experience with a small group. The Vasari Corridor is not widely known which is a plus for visitors. Excellent guide using headphones so that we could look and listen. Along the walls are the most wonderful self-portraits of all the well-known artists from earlier times to modern. Wonderful views from all the windows along the way with plenty of time to photograph, not at all hurried.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Vasari Corridor with Optional Boboli Gardens Ticket

Marichu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Katerina was knowledgeable and engaging and we truly enjoyed our tour. The Vasari Corridor was a true privilege to see! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Jeanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant tour of the Gallery and the Vasari Corridor. Not to be missed if you are in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Yuka F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful time at the Uffizi Gallery. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgable. The Vasari corridor makes this tour even more special! Highly recommended for art lovers.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic experience well worth the time and money. Our guide, Mario Gesu was superb He was articulate, entertaining and engaging for the entire 4 hours of the tour including breakfast at the gallery - he really brought the tour to life in a well paced and balanced manner. Our group ranged from 9 yrs to 80 years old and we never felt rushed or hurried. Getting in to the Uffizi Gallery as it opened and then a veritable private tour of the Vasari Corridor and it's beautiful art collection and views were a wonderful treat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I loved this tour. We were expertly guided through many of the major works by the lovely Federica. The Botticelli room was and absolute highlight for me and the privacy of the Vasari Corridor was a very special experience. It was nice to escape the crowds in the main parts of the Uffizi Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Lorraine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

While just seeing the Vasari Corridor rates as five stars, your guide Caterina, made it a truly unforgettable experience. She was extremely knowledgeable, very funny and engaging. My group loved her and wish she could be our guide all over Italy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

John O. A. T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Worth every penny. The tour guides are very informed and entertaining. The Vasari Corridor makes your whole trip to Florence worth all the expense alone.

Doing what: Florence Combo: Skip-the-Line Uffizi Gallery, Vasari Corridor and Accademia Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message