• USD ($)
  • English
Built in 1564, the Vasari Corridor was designed to enable the Grand Duke Cosimo I de Medici to move between the Pitti Palace where he lived, the Uffizi where he had his offices, and on to the Palazzo Vecchio, the seat of Florentine government since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide Eleanora took us through the Piazza Vecchio to the Uffizi where she led us through a very crowded gallery to works of art. My favorites were the Botticelli paintings and the room dedicated to Micelangelo's work. The Medici sculpture room, which we could only look at from the entrance, was another favorite. Our guide was very knowledgable in the arts and you could see and hear her passion for the artists. Next she brought us to a locked door which was the entrance to the Vasari Corridor, a corridor built in the 1500s running from the Palazzo Vecchio, through the Uffizi Gallery, above the Ponte Vecchio across the Arno and ending at the Palazzo Pitti. The door was unlocked and guards (one in front and one in back of our tiny group) escorted us through the corridor filled with self-portraits of artists. Not many get to go through this corridor and we loved that we had the chance to do this. Dan Brown's book Inferno came to life with the Vasari Corridor, the little grey door and the secret side door of the Palazzo Vechhio. Unfortunately, no photos could be taken...even without flash. I would recommend this tour just for the chance to walk the steps of the Medici family through the Vasari Corridor!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you really, really want to visit the Vasari Corridor - this is the tour I can highly recommend!
The tour included a bit of sightseeing and explanations around the Piazza Signoria - so we were able to understand Florence (and Italy) in historic times.
As well, a brief tour of some of the highlights at the Uffizi (no waiting in line - we entered through a side entrance into the building) was included.
The Vasari Corridor, basically, is another section of an art gallery with very nice paintings of all ages.
However, for me it was just magical to walk in the footsteps of the Medici along the Vasari Corridor while the "common folk" was strolling underneath us in the streets.
We had a knowledgeable guide, and had additional guides in the Vasari Corridor - they were to make sure that no one took pictures in the corridor, but just through the windows to the outside...that was a little strange at first, but understandable.
Sure, everyone expects different things from a vaccation:
The Vasari Corridor was a true highlight for me on our visit to Florence!
I even would do it again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing!!!, Just came back from Florence and one on the highlights of our Vacation was this tour, when the tour guide described the art and the history she was very knowledgeable and passionate about it. the Uffizi is always busy and sometimes is challenging to go through the building, but when you enter the Vasari Corridor in this private tour it feels great to scape the crowns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was even better than I'd hoped, because Mario was such an engaging and committed guide to the art within the Uffizi. I'm a lifelong art student, and he brought ideas to me that were new. The Vasari Corridor was very interesting, full of great artists' self-portraits, many of them just superb. As it happened that day, the tour did not end at the Pitti, but returned us to the Uffuzi, where I personally spent another 2 to 3 hours. It was a thrill to enter this very private territory and think about Medicis passing through it every day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An extremely interesting and worthwhile experience that had been recommended by a friend. There is no other way of visiting the Vasari Corridor, and this small group was ideal. The very pleasant tour guide was extremely well informed and kept the whole process moving along and never dragging. The only comment to improve things that we would like to suggest is that the head sets have an ear piece for both ears, not just one. The noise from other visitors and other groups in the gallery itself is very distracting, and those with even a slight hearing problem had difficulties. A double earpiece would cut out much of this distracting noise greatly. We had the 2 ear piece system in the Viator tour we took in Venice a few days earlier to visit the parts of the Doge's Palace not generally open to the public, which included the Casanova gaol cell, amongst other attractions. This too was an excellent tour. We would highly recommend both these tours, and will look for other Viator special interest tours again on future trips.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a pretty incredible experience -- in that we ended up with a very private tour for just the two of us. We met Jessica at 8 AM, and she dove in right away with lots of Florentine history. She then walked us through the Uffizi and gave us a great understanding of the evolution of painting from the start of the middle ages through the height of the Renaissance. Breakfast had a lovely setting out on the terrace, but it was small and simple (a croissant and coffee). We then found the private guard and walked the distance of the Vasari Corridor for about an hour. There are 6,000 people a day who go to the Uffizi Gallery and that day there were just the two of us walking the corridor at 11 AM. Pretty amazing

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

VASARI Corridor

After reading Inferno, by Dan Brown and spending much time in Florence, we decided to do Florencetown’s Vasari Tour. Although the cost was 85 Euros it was well worth it for the incredible three hour tour that began in Palazzo Vecchio and ended in the Boboli Gardens. The main factor that made the tour so good was our amazing tour guide, Mario Gesu. Mario’s passion for the arts was contagious as he led us through the Palazzo Vecchio explaining how to identify when the various paintings were created, by which artist and who influenced whom. The entire tour was a class in Medieval, Renaissance, Post Renaissance and Reformation paintings. It was magical and we did not want the tour to end.
Walking through the Vasari Corridor (above the Ponte Vecchio) as the Medici did hundreds of years ago was an exhilarating step back in time. Mario’s descriptions of the self-portraits of famous artists were again splendid. He explained ‘color’ versus ‘drawing’ in such a way that everyone in the group understood and could identify which characteristic was being utilized.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was really impressed by this tour. Even if it starts very early, it was definitely well worth the early wake up. We entered the Uffizi Gallery the first ones, and managed to see the empty rooms before anybody else got on the museum, which was an amazing feeling, as the museum gets really busy afterwards when they open the doors. Our guide was probably one of the best guides I’ve ever had, and I’ve been on many tours! He was really passionate and instead of just explaining what the paintings were and who they were by, he made us live and breathe art. That was great, as there’s so much art in Italy that when we then went to another museum I could feel like I understood much better. We had breakfast at the terrace at the Uffizi, which was a great experience. And then the visit of the Vasari corridor, which is normally closed to the public, so we got a private visit for us, which was amazing. It’s impressing the amount and quality of art you get at the Vasari corridor, and felt very privileged that we could have access to this. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was fantastic. We had our early access to Uffizi Gallery which was great. We walked around the gallery while listening to our guide's explanation. Then we went for a breakfast and very deserve break. The terrace where we had breakfast is beautiful. After the break we were all ready to see the Vasari Corridors. It is absolutely amazing! It was only our group walking along the Corridor and our guide was giving us a lot of details about it. Absolutely amazing. Definitely a must do!

Doing what: VIP Experience: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour Including Terrace Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. I had always wanted to visit the Vasari Corridor and this tour really fulfilled my dream in many ways. In the early part of the visit the guide took us on a short tour through the history of art in Florence through the Renaissance. In each room we passed through in the Uffizi she would point out one or two painting and explain their significance to the development of art, e.g., illusions related to perspective and depth. Our guide was an art history major and had lots of interesting details and stories about the history of Florence and art.. I loved it when the guard from the Uffizi opened up the double door to the corridor and we decended down the staircase feeling like Alice in Wonderful going into the rabbit hole to visit a whole new world. The smaller group setting was ideal for me as I was able to ask the guide a few questions and learn a little more than I would have in another type of group. The views of the streets, bridges and Arno River from the corridor were amazing. The portrait gallery was probably my favorite area in the corridor presenting us with glimpses of what the different artists looked like (whose work we'd previously seen). Thanks again for a wonderful time. I can't wait to visit again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Die Tour war insgesamt sehr schön. Wir waren in einer kleinen Gruppe (5 Personen) unterwegs, was es deutlich entspannter machte, unserer Gruppenleiterin Elisa Lotti zu zuhören. Die Kunst in den Uffizien ist überwältigend!
Der Vasari Korridor war weniger spektakulär. Einfach ein sehr, sehr langer Gang, der teilweise über der Ponte Vecchio liegt. Ist jetzt nicht ein unbedingtes MUST.

Alles in allem eine interessante und lehrreiche Führung.
Danke noch mal an Elisa!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide, Vanessa, was extremely knowledgeable about all the art and the raison d'être of the Vasari corridor. It was amazing to be the only group (about 14 people) in the corridor. Such an interesting experience. Well worth the visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The guide was excellent and the tour through the Vasari Cooridor was great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What a great opportunity to see something few people even know about....the Vasari Corridor. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and patient. It was fascinating!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Michael L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We were very impressed with the guide whose name we think was Julia. She was excellent, considering the crowds and the heat , especially within the Uffizi itself ... she manoeuvred us through the Gallery so deftly under extreme conditions, and her commentary was excellent as well. The Vasari Corridor component was also excellent and we had a far more personal experience there as we were the only group going through at the time, and Julia's commentary was excellent, yet again! Would recommend this to anybody who is interested in art!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message